125 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v11, Grexit or not, Europe will sail on...

Avangelice
post Sep 3 2015, 11:36 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Sep 3 2015, 11:30 AM)
Pls share the mechanism, thx!  thumbup.gif

Xuzen
if you own a house, just request the loan statement from your bank and they will send you a copy of it. BR charges you but my ocbc was FOC.

bring document to EPF and calculate how much your account 2 and divide by your monthly loan.

my epf 2 had 30k. divide by 2100=1.6 years.

they will credit to your bank account of your choice on a monthly basis.

some say im stupid for taking out my fund but with the current situation where the government is bleeding money, i do not trust epf.
Avangelice
post Sep 3 2015, 11:37 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Sep 3 2015, 11:35 AM)
My -2.9% portfolio loss is mainly due to my China exposure which on its own is a double digit loss, but is mitigated by my exposure in US mkt. I  am also getting out of China and going into a broad based multi-country diversified fund. The volatility of a single country fund is not my cup of tea.

Xuzen
this. also remember not to have the mentality to "buy all the eggs in the basket'. stream your portfolio to a good handful and inject cash into it.
wil-i-am
post Sep 3 2015, 01:56 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Sep 3 2015, 11:36 AM)
if you own a house, just request the loan statement from your bank and they will send you a copy of it. BR charges you but my ocbc was FOC.

bring document to EPF and calculate how much your account 2 and divide by your monthly loan.

some say im stupid for taking out my fund but with the current situation where the government is bleeding money, i do not trust epf.
Upon crediting to yo HL a/c, u will trigger re-draw facility to cash out?
Avangelice
post Sep 3 2015, 02:38 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Sep 3 2015, 01:56 PM)
Yeap. I took out and immediately put it into another bank account.
Avangelice
post Sep 3 2015, 02:40 PM

5,272 posts

Btw who made the mistake of taking advantage of the sales then only regretted it because funds went deep red this week
Vanguard 2015
post Sep 3 2015, 03:26 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(yck1987 @ Sep 3 2015, 10:11 AM)
so fast want to release ? hold on!
I have not released the china funds yet. But I hope to do so gradually.
Vanguard 2015
post Sep 3 2015, 03:30 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Sep 3 2015, 11:35 AM)
My -2.9% portfolio loss is mainly due to my China exposure which on its own is a double digit loss, but is mitigated by my exposure in US mkt. I  am also getting out of China and going into a broad based multi-country diversified fund. The volatility of a single country fund is not my cup of tea.

Xuzen
Eventually I plan to cut down my exposure to China funds as well. Even investors with high risk appetite like me find the china funds too volatile at times.
Vanguard 2015
post Sep 3 2015, 03:32 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Sep 3 2015, 02:40 PM)
Btw who made the mistake of taking advantage of the sales then only regretted it because funds went deep red this week
No regrets here. Both my new funds are in the red. Eastspring Global Leaders and TA Global Technology Funds.

Just continue practising DCA or Value Averaging.
SUSPink Spider
post Sep 3 2015, 03:33 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Sep 3 2015, 03:30 PM)
Eventually I plan to cut down my exposure to China funds as well. Even investors with high risk appetite like me find the china funds too volatile at times.
Volatility is one.

Remember my argument on "value"?

Ori LV bag is selling for thousands normally
But if sell at RM500 to an amoi, she'd scream "BARGAINNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN" and run to grab it
But to me, RM50 also I don't want

Apply this argument to investments wink.gif

ben3003
post Sep 3 2015, 03:47 PM

10,859 posts

i think ppl rush in and buy during merdeka promo, even drop 1%, u still earn 0.5% if u buy at normal charge 2%. That's y those buying with public mutual manurelife agent 5.5% sc, need how long to recover? summore i got fren enter at high, then msia drop like flies, his fund negative double digit until today also cannot recover. Even u buy bond also kena charge at those agent, 5 or 3% i forget oledi. i think is also 5%.

to me, less sc mean u squeeze more value/unit out of ur investment.
sam@bpp
post Sep 3 2015, 03:50 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Sep 2 2015, 11:45 PM)
Delivered gud returns since inception in 2012
All thanks to SG strong economy, appreciating SGD and depreciating RM.

QUOTE(dasecret @ Sep 3 2015, 08:52 AM)
Must it be foreign currency denominated funds? What about funds investing in foreign assets? Even though it's MYR denominated, the value of the assets are in foreign currency translated back to MYR at the closing rate of the day
Foreign currency denominated funds:
Pro
Eg. invest in SGD equities with SGD currency, potential to earn from fund returns and FX returns
[/U]Cons
Eg. invest in Japan equities with Yen currency, potential to earn from fund returns but may lose out on FX returns, if Yen devalue more than RM

MYR denominated funds:
[U]Pro

Invest in funds and potential to earn from fund returns and is not dependable on FX fluctuations.
Cons
Unable to take opportunity to earn from FX returns
yck1987
post Sep 3 2015, 04:34 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 3 2015, 03:33 PM)
Volatility is one.

But if sell at RM500 to an amoi, she'd scream "BARGAINNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN" and run to grab it

You dunwan the LV/amoi but still have ppl want it leh, like me drool.gif
river.sand
post Sep 3 2015, 04:57 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Sep 3 2015, 03:47 PM)
i think ppl rush in and buy during merdeka promo, even drop 1%, u still earn 0.5% if u buy at normal charge 2%. That's y those buying with public mutual manurelife agent 5.5% sc, need how long to recover? summore i got fren enter at high, then msia drop like flies, his fund negative double digit until today also cannot recover. Even u buy bond also kena charge at those agent, 5 or 3% i forget oledi. i think is also 5%.

If you invest for long term, the 5.5% SC isn't a big amount, as you only pay once.
But if you keep buying and selling, then - except in the case of free switching - the SC indeed will eat into your return. See the table attached...

For people with little knowledge on trust fund, at least they get advice from their agents.
But of course among people in this thread, Pinky and Xuzen are better advisors thumbup.gif

ben3003
post Sep 3 2015, 05:07 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Sep 3 2015, 04:57 PM)
If you invest for long term, the 5.5% SC isn't a big amount, as you only pay once.
But if you keep buying and selling, then - except in the case of free switching - the SC indeed will eat into your return. See the table attached...

For people with little knowledge on trust fund, at least they get advice from their agents.
But of course among people in this thread, Pinky and Xuzen are better advisors  thumbup.gif
of coz in 10yrs 5% is nothing, but every top up u gonna pay 5%, and some agents is just selling for the sake of selling, no research one. Just tell u ok buy this growth fund, past performance ROI 10% annum. I am just saying that when u buy it high, 5% gonna eat ur investment alot.

The only good is that switching from fund to fund is FOC for a few times per year.
Vanguard 2015
post Sep 3 2015, 05:15 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 3 2015, 03:33 PM)
Volatility is one.

Thanks for the advice.

My current exposure to china linked funds are too high. That's why I plan to reduce it eventually.

The usual problem ....greed, over confident, too much cash lying around (haha, the last one is a joke). That was how my portfolio became like a car which is out of alignment. I need time to re-align it. smile.gif

I think china shares still have value and should form part of the overall portfolio. It is only a question of percentage forming the asset allocation.
Vanguard 2015
post Sep 3 2015, 05:17 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Sep 3 2015, 03:47 PM)

Tuan Pengerusi,

Saya sokong kenyataan anda 100%. rclxms.gif

akira de aimbuster
post Sep 3 2015, 05:46 PM

しごと~
3,500 posts

KGF price is exceeding my previous selling price cry.gif
MUM
post Sep 3 2015, 09:21 PM

14,867 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Sep 3 2015, 11:36 AM)

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Sep 3 2015, 01:56 PM)
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Sep 3 2015, 02:38 PM)
Yeap. I took out and immediately put it into another bank account.
hmm.gif after you had taken out the monies that had just banked into your OCBC bank, you will withdraw and use it to do a "8~10% return" investment....
then do you still need to use your own money of 2100 per month to pay the h/l?
isn't it the same as
let the EPF money auto pay the h/l thru OCBC then use your own money 2100 to invest in a 8~10% return investment?
(save the hazzle of having to got to the bank to withdraw and goto the bank to pay h/l again with own money)

pls correct if my vision is wrong here...
Avangelice
post Sep 3 2015, 09:26 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Sep 3 2015, 09:21 PM)
hmm.gif after you had taken out the monies that had just banked into your OCBC bank, you will withdraw and use it to do a "8~10% return" investment....
then do you still need to use your own money of 2100 per month to pay the h/l?
isn't it the same as
let the EPF money auto pay the h/l thru OCBC then use your own money 2100 to invest in a 8~10% return investment?
(save the hazzle of having to got to the bank to withdraw and goto the bank to pay h/l again with own money)

pls correct if my vision is wrong here...
In hokkien it's called lam pa pa lan. It's the same. But the main reason I took it was to get more buying power and not let the epf misuse the funds. Plus I'm young. I can afford to do it.
MUM
post Sep 3 2015, 09:28 PM

14,867 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Sep 3 2015, 09:26 PM)
In hokkien it's called lam pa pa lan. It's the same. But the main reason I took it was to get more buying power and not let the epf misuse the funds. Plus I'm young. I can afford to do it.
ohmy.gif blink.gif

125 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:16 AM