5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

DO NOT BUY Lenovo Laptops please.

icecreamcake
post Jul 5 2015, 10:58 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(wilsonphua @ Jun 30 2015, 07:23 AM)
Haha! Good luck to any future Lenovo owner. Either you take my advice or...you shall waste your hard earned RM3000 on a laptop that gets faulty after 1 year. RM3000 seems like a small amount to people who are working....but in my case, I'm still a university student. And i tried selling away the laptop, highest offer I got is only RM200. Stubborn people who don't want to learn from our mistakes, go ahead and buy and support your Lenovo laptops, good luck going through all these hassle in the near future.
RM200 or RM2000 for your y400 sli ? doh.gif

try to avoid this kind of unknown shop offered RM50-RM80 for cleaning and reapply thermal paste service.

you may search around the garage sales, some of the sellers have better reputation based on
their customer feedback review.
NetGi
post Jul 7 2015, 05:33 PM

95 posts

Fully supporting OP. My unit is also a Lenovo Y400, breaks down after 1 year of usage, not to mention DOA that haven't been discovered till recently, with a simple online research proves that it is a common issue among Lenovo laptops. My problems faced with Lenovo and their after sales service can be found here.
TSwilsonphua
post Jul 7 2015, 05:47 PM

Gear Up. Game On.
2,152 posts

QUOTE(icecreamcake @ Jul 5 2015, 10:58 AM)
RM200 or RM2000 for your y400 sli ?  doh.gif

try to avoid this kind of unknown shop offered RM50-RM80 for cleaning and reapply thermal paste service.

you may search around the garage sales, some of the sellers have better reputation based on
their customer feedback review.
Opps, sorry for the late reply to your comment. Yeap, some people actually offered me RM50 for the faulty Y400 laptop. I have sent the laptop for servicing at computer shops (Can't bring to Lenovo warranty cause warranty expired liao)....now bring back home, problem still have, now becomes more terrible....Earphone jack can no longer be used, when plug my speaker or headphone in, got electricity distortion sound. Temperature rise to 65 degree on idle around 5 minutes after switch on

QUOTE(NetGi @ Jul 7 2015, 05:33 PM)
Fully supporting OP. My unit is also a Lenovo Y400, breaks down after 1 year of usage, not to mention DOA that haven't been discovered till recently, with a simple online research proves that it is a common issue among Lenovo laptops. My problems faced with Lenovo and their after sales service can be found here.
Saw your thread on that. And you bought a Macbook now, which Macbook did you buy? I'm planning to buy a more reliable laptop for my assignments and studies purpose. Right now, the Lenovo Y400 sits there collecting dust whole day only, sometimes night time got use to try see how serious the problems...
shereen82
post Jul 7 2015, 05:54 PM

104 posts

How come I heard that many ppl say Asus and Lenovo are the top brand in Msia (or International?)

My 1st notebook was HP.. the main reason I bought was becos of the 3 years warranty.. however, i overcame overheat (thermal shutdown) problem and i did sent to HP HQ for repair.. But the problem still there after few months later...

So, now the main spec that im going for new notebook is the overheat issue... scared of this problem ady
TSwilsonphua
post Jul 7 2015, 07:24 PM

Gear Up. Game On.
2,152 posts

QUOTE(shereen82 @ Jul 7 2015, 05:54 PM)
How come I heard that many ppl say Asus and Lenovo are the top brand in Msia (or International?)

My 1st notebook was HP.. the main reason I bought was becos of the 3 years warranty.. however, i overcame overheat (thermal shutdown) problem and i did sent to HP HQ for repair.. But the problem still there after few months later...

So, now the main spec that im going for new notebook is the overheat issue... scared of this problem ady
That is just because these companies pay to advertise their products, making their products to be god-like, but they do have many problems, after sales services are poor.

Yeap, thermal shutdown is the worst nightmare after spending hard earn RM3000 on a laptop, im trying to look for a laptop without this problem, so far it is Acer, Apple, Toshiba...(Based on my own experience and my friends')
pandera999
post Jul 8 2015, 12:15 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(wilsonphua @ Jul 7 2015, 07:24 PM)
That is just because these companies pay to advertise their products, making their products to be god-like, but they do have many problems, after sales services are poor.

Yeap, thermal shutdown is the worst nightmare after spending hard earn RM3000 on a laptop, im trying to look for a laptop without this problem, so far it is Acer, Apple, Toshiba...(Based on my own experience and my friends')
Toshiba line-up getting shrink... i do agree that acer quality seems better than asus... i bought acer 4835G or wat.. not sure with specs i3+gt310m earlier than asus x42de, my asus x42de kaput liao... but acer now.. still can be use until now.. amazing shakehead.gif
TSwilsonphua
post Jul 8 2015, 12:32 PM

Gear Up. Game On.
2,152 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Jul 8 2015, 12:15 PM)
Toshiba line-up getting shrink... i do agree that acer quality seems better than asus... i bought acer 4835G or wat.. not sure with specs i3+gt310m earlier than asus x42de, my asus x42de kaput liao... but acer now.. still can be use until now.. amazing  shakehead.gif
Good lah Acer.......now Im planning to sell away my whole desktop system, give up gaming and go for one Acer laptop....desktop system quite hard to carry around also cry.gif
pandera999
post Jul 8 2015, 12:34 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(wilsonphua @ Jul 8 2015, 12:32 PM)
Good lah Acer.......now Im planning to sell away my whole desktop system, give up gaming and go for one Acer laptop....desktop system quite hard to carry around also  cry.gif
inb4 i carry my rig around like big bag... laugh.gif i gave up on expensive notebook.. so.. sacrifice for portability.. nw i feel mascular liao laugh.gif
SUSMatrix
post Jul 8 2015, 12:52 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

I have 2 Lenovo's lappy. One 2 yrs+. Another maybe 1 yr+. No problems also.

Lenovo FTW.
shereen82
post Jul 8 2015, 02:45 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(wilsonphua @ Jul 7 2015, 07:24 PM)

How come many of my fren said that Acer is even worse than Asus

This post has been edited by shereen82: Jul 8 2015, 02:45 PM
jasonsuna1
post Jul 9 2015, 05:57 PM

318 posts

So Lenovo joined the Acer family.
As a experienced IT services provider across malaysia, Worst case is LCD meltdown ( yes, smoke present ) or dead Notebook ( seal set )( factory damaged ) problem are all ACER brand and Few lenovos.
TSwilsonphua
post Jul 9 2015, 07:05 PM

Gear Up. Game On.
2,152 posts

QUOTE(jasonsuna1 @ Jul 9 2015, 05:57 PM)
So Lenovo joined the Acer family.
As a experienced IT services provider across malaysia, Worst case is LCD meltdown ( yes, smoke present ) or dead Notebook ( seal set )( factory damaged )  problem are all ACER brand and Few lenovos.
The most reliable brand goes to?
jasonsuna1
post Jul 9 2015, 07:30 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(wilsonphua @ Jul 9 2015, 07:05 PM)
The most reliable brand goes to?
Based on your luck. There's always a lemon.

Dell >> getting worst in their Products quality, compare to back in 2012. Hopefully service is still good.
HP >> already quit
Toshiba >> already quit
Acer >> still trying hard to get low cost productions look good. 4/10 is a fail.
Lenovo >> trying hard to lowering down costing = lowering down quality
Asus >> keeping price and quality balanced but failed in providing quality and professional services because of lazy and fresh man Malaysian after sales service provider.
TSwilsonphua
post Jul 9 2015, 08:01 PM

Gear Up. Game On.
2,152 posts

QUOTE(jasonsuna1 @ Jul 9 2015, 07:30 PM)

Dell >> getting worst in their Products quality, compare to back in 2012. Hopefully service is still good.
HP >> already quit
Toshiba >> already quit 
Acer >> still trying hard to get low cost productions look good. 4/10 is a fail.
Asus >> keeping price and quality balanced but failed in providing quality and professional services because of lazy and fresh man Malaysian after sales service provider.
So....which laptop should I invest? something that can last long? Asus? but my friend's Asus gpu also fried, and the LCD also got one dead pixels line...

so hard to get good laptops
jasonsuna1
post Jul 9 2015, 08:10 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(wilsonphua @ Jul 9 2015, 08:01 PM)
So....which laptop should I invest? something that can last long? Asus? but my friend's Asus gpu also fried, and the LCD also got one dead pixels line...
so hard to get good laptops
As i said, there's always a faulty device. based on your luck. Else check carefully before purchase.

Dead pixels on LCD, or TN panels are very common problem.
evofantasy
post Jul 9 2015, 08:19 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(jasonsuna1 @ Jul 9 2015, 07:30 PM)

HP >> already quit
Toshiba >> already quit 
I don't think HP quit and the latest HP Spectre x360 had one of the best review out there (even better than Dell XPS 2015)
jasonsuna1
post Jul 9 2015, 08:23 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jul 9 2015, 08:19 PM)
I don't think HP quit and the latest HP Spectre x360 had one of the best review out there (even better than Dell XPS 2015)
Yup, their products are getting fewer. The sales and profits are down falling + poor Malaysia economic status. Many products are holding and pulling their markets away.
evofantasy
post Jul 9 2015, 08:36 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(jasonsuna1 @ Jul 9 2015, 08:23 PM)
Yup,  their products are getting fewer. The sales and profits are down falling + poor Malaysia economic status. Many products are holding and pulling their markets away.
the Spectre just arrived and I have been seeing them around.
they do have their other products like printers.
don't think they would be going anywhere, especially with their enterprise solutions around.
myway1985
post Jul 9 2015, 09:12 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(jasonsuna1 @ Jul 9 2015, 08:23 PM)
Yup,  their products are getting fewer. The sales and profits are down falling + poor Malaysia economic status. Many products are holding and pulling their markets away.
hp sales dint go down la. infact their server business overtake Dell...

but they do some under counter deal oso... they hv some stocks parallel export to vietnam n cambodia...until the GM of hp Vietnam almost fainted.. total 10000units (2 containers) of malaysia stock appeal there... tat how bad malaysia economy is...

HP is no.1 server hardware manufacturer now...
jasonsuna1
post Jul 9 2015, 09:18 PM

318 posts

But their laptop are getting fewer month by month, only some models target for business and travelers are available locally. Not mentioning their other products la... Printers, servers of course la..
Will see again then.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0220sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:06 AM