Lenovo Y400 randomly crashes, Especially while gaming

TSNetGi
post Apr 25 2015, 03:26 PM, updated 10y ago

95 posts

Hey guys,

My 2yr old Lenovo Y400 has been serving me well but since January it's been experiencing random crashes especially while gaming.

I'm a casual gamer and the games I played the most are usually Dota2 and GTA4. Before any of these crashes happen, I experience a stuttering/lag gameplay (even when minimized to desktop, sounds also stutter when this happens) for a few times, then the crashes start happening.

Initially it only crashes when I'm in the 2nd or 3rd game of Dota2, but it started to happen more frequently to the extend of only 30 seconds into the game. Currently I'm also experiencing random crashes while doing normal web browsing and surfing /k.

I have run a stress test on it and this is the result of the maximum temperature:
Intel i7 Quad-core: Reaches average maximum temperature of 85C
Nvidia GT 750M: Reaches maximum temperature of 95C

It achieves this temperature without crashing, I stopped the test to prevent frying the hardware lol.

This is the reading from HWMonitor prior to the crash:
Intel i7 Quad-core: Average temperature of 75C
Nvidia GT 750M: Average temperature of 68C

and it crashes without any warning? rclxub.gif

Now it's starting to crash while normal web browsing (rarely) with a reading of:
Intel i7 Quad-core: Average temperature of 58C
Nvidia GT 750M: Average temperature of 42C

The problem is these crashes occur randomly and there's no way to routinely recreate it. I've sent it to my retailer for checkup but he said he can't find the issue? cry.gif

Anyways I've called Lenovo Support regarding this issue and they asked me to send it to an Authorized Lenovo Service Centre and its a possible thermal/ motherboard issue. Just wondering if anyone else faced this issue before? It's so frustrating that it's driving me crazy vmad.gif Makes me wanna toss this so called "budget gaming laptop" out the window and get a macbook because #AppleMasterRace

UPDATE 1

UPDATE 2

This post has been edited by NetGi: Jul 7 2015, 05:32 PM
myway1985
post Apr 25 2015, 03:28 PM

12,089 posts

Thermal paste finish
myway1985
post Apr 25 2015, 03:30 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(NetGi @ Apr 25 2015, 03:26 PM)
Hey guys,

My 2yr old Lenovo Y400 has been serving me well but since January it's been experiencing random crashes especially while gaming.

I'm a casual gamer and the games I played the most are usually Dota2 and GTA4. Before any of these crashes happen, I experience a stuttering/lag gameplay (even when minimized to desktop, sounds also stutter when this happens) for a few times, then the crashes start happening.

Initially it only crashes when I'm in the 2nd or 3rd game of Dota2, but it started to happen more frequently to the extend of only 30 seconds into the game. Currently I'm also experiencing random crashes while doing normal web browsing and surfing /k.

I have run a stress test on it and this is the result of the maximum temperature:
Intel i7 Quad-core: Reaches average maximum temperature of 85C
Nvidia GT 750M: Reaches maximum temperature of 95C

It achieves this temperature without crashing, I stopped the test to prevent frying the hardware lol.

This is the reading from HWMonitor prior to the crash:
Intel i7 Quad-core: Average temperature of 75C
Nvidia GT 750M: Average temperature of 68C

and it crashes without any warning?  rclxub.gif

Now it's starting to crash while normal web browsing (rarely) with a reading of:
Intel i7 Quad-core: Average temperature of 58C
Nvidia GT 750M: Average temperature of 42C

The problem is these crashes occur randomly and there's no way to routinely recreate it. I've sent it to my retailer for checkup but he said he can't find the issue?  cry.gif

Anyways I've called Lenovo Support regarding this issue and they asked me to send it to an Authorized Lenovo Service Centre and its a possible thermal/ motherboard issue. Just wondering if anyone else faced this issue before? It's so frustrating that it's driving me crazy vmad.gif Makes me wanna toss this so called "budget gaming laptop" out the window and get a macbook because #AppleMasterRace
Trade in for xps 15.. add 4000 only..
TiF
post Apr 25 2015, 03:54 PM

1,192 posts

clean your heatsink, reapply thermal paste.
go youtube search for guide.

the stuttering/lag that you experience is mainly due to overheat and your cpu/gc throttle down the speed

i recently got an very old dell laptop, just youtubing can reach 90c. after clean it now max 50c
myway1985
post Apr 25 2015, 04:01 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(TiF @ Apr 25 2015, 03:54 PM)

the stuttering/lag that you experience is mainly due to overheat and your cpu/gc throttle down the speed

i recently got an very old dell laptop, just youtubing can reach 90c. after clean it now max 50c
got buyer wan xps 15?
TSNetGi
post Apr 25 2015, 05:36 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 25 2015, 03:28 PM)
Thermal paste finish
Where to buy? sad.gif

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 25 2015, 03:30 PM)
But is dell leh..

QUOTE(TiF @ Apr 25 2015, 03:54 PM)

Thanks! thumbup.gif does the service centre do this for me? Cuz my laptop still under warranty better let them do rclxub.gif
kopifan
post Apr 25 2015, 05:40 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(NetGi @ Apr 25 2015, 05:36 PM)
Where to buy? sad.gif
But is dell leh..
Thanks! thumbup.gif does the service centre do this for me? Cuz my laptop still under warranty better let them do rclxub.gif
yes they do
myway1985
post Apr 25 2015, 06:05 PM

12,089 posts

Where to buy? sad.gif
But is dell leh..
wat wrong wif dell? no.1 after sales service in malaysia.. n i get u special discount.. haha
icecreamcake
post Apr 25 2015, 09:55 PM

307 posts

my y400 temperature more worst than urs..

even though i send to clean the whole laptop and replace thermal paste on both gpu and cpu..

the temp of gta v 3 hours rclxub.gif

gpu max 98'c blush.gif

edit: note the max temp

This post has been edited by icecreamcake: Apr 25 2015, 09:56 PM
myway1985
post Apr 25 2015, 11:42 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(icecreamcake @ Apr 25 2015, 09:55 PM)

even though i send to clean the whole laptop and replace thermal paste on both gpu and cpu..

the temp of gta v 3 hours  rclxub.gif

gpu max 98'c  blush.gif

Try wear latex jeans then u know ur laptop feel.. haha
evofantasy
post Apr 26 2015, 03:12 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 25 2015, 03:30 PM)
Where to buy? sad.gif
But is dell leh..
lol-ed
trade in + 4000 for a laptop which is having the same GPU as his current laptop.
might as well add in 300 more without trade-in to get a new Illegear with GTX 960M instead of that XPS's 750m doh.gif
myway1985
post Apr 26 2015, 03:14 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Apr 26 2015, 03:12 PM)
lol-ed
trade in + 4000 for a laptop which is having the same GPU as his current laptop.
might as well add in 300 more without trade-in to get a new Illegear with GTX 960M instead of that XPS's 750m  doh.gif
does princeJ wan to take trade in....
evofantasy
post Apr 26 2015, 03:19 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 26 2015, 03:14 PM)
does princeJ wan to take trade in....
why would you want to trade-in?

trade-in + 4000 = a xps with gt750m
vs
no trade-in + 4300 = illegear with gtx 960m

in other words, who in the right mind would trade-in a laptop for just 300 bucks to get another laptop of roughly the same spec (gt750m) after adding another 4000?
good luck in finding a fool like that.
evofantasy
post Apr 26 2015, 03:19 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

double posted somehow

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Apr 26 2015, 03:19 PM
myway1985
post Apr 26 2015, 03:44 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Apr 26 2015, 03:19 PM)
why would you want to trade-in?

trade-in + 4000 = a xps with gt750m
vs
no trade-in + 4300 = illegear with gtx 960m

in other words, who in the right mind would trade-in a laptop for just 300 bucks to get another laptop of roughly the same spec (gt750m) after adding another 4000?
good luck in finding a fool like that.
then ask princeJ how much he would likely to take y400 in... tat unit around 900... tat ts wasnt even interested to trade in...
evofantasy
post Apr 26 2015, 04:27 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 26 2015, 03:44 PM)
then ask princeJ how much he would likely to take y400 in... tat unit around 900... tat ts wasnt even interested to trade in...
once again, why would you want to take a trade-in for a totally inferior product?
http://gpuboss.com/gpus/GeForce-GTX-960M-vs-GeForce-GT-750M
comparing GT750M (not even a GTX) which is already in his 2year old Lenovo Y400 and also the XPS vs a totally superior GTX960M from Illegear (3.6k for 960M in Y50 etc).
he can get better products without even needing to trade-in (which is a net-loss for him). no idea how you would think trade-in as a net-gain from the way you are selling it

if you still can't comprehend the logic behind this, then I got nothing to say rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Apr 26 2015, 04:29 PM
evofantasy
post Apr 26 2015, 04:27 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

double psoted again

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Apr 26 2015, 04:28 PM
myway1985
post Apr 26 2015, 04:53 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Apr 26 2015, 04:27 PM)
once again, why would you want to take a trade-in for a totally inferior product?
http://gpuboss.com/gpus/GeForce-GTX-960M-vs-GeForce-GT-750M
comparing GT750M (not even a GTX) which is already in his 2year old Lenovo Y400 and also the XPS vs a totally superior GTX960M from Illegear (3.6k for 960M in Y50 etc).
he can get better products without even needing to trade-in (which is a net-loss for him). no idea how you would think trade-in as a net-gain from the way you are selling it

if you still can't comprehend the logic behind this, then I got nothing to say rclxub.gif
He wasn't interest in any trade in...he just wan to solve the heat...if he wan to trade in tat a different discussion...

Tat is nothing to talk bout trade in or which is superior when t's dun even bother looking at... solve his heat problem tat the main 1

This post has been edited by myway1985: Apr 26 2015, 04:55 PM
TSNetGi
post Apr 27 2015, 04:10 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(kopifan @ Apr 25 2015, 05:40 PM)
yes they do
Alright thanks! Shall notify them when I'm at the service centre smile.gif

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 25 2015, 06:05 PM)
wat wrong wif dell? no.1 after sales service in malaysia.. n i get u special discount.. haha
Yea but they are known to be not so good quality.. sad.gif haha it's okay I'm not interested in it

QUOTE(icecreamcake @ Apr 25 2015, 09:55 PM)

the temp of gta v 3 hours  rclxub.gif

gpu max 98'c  blush.gif

Wahh GTA V use so much resource? doh.gif I never pass 85C with the games I played but dunno why still spoilt cry.gif

P.S: Thanks @evofantasy for the heads up haha. But I'm not interested in new laptops just wanna get my laptop fixed thats all.. Jgnlah gaduh2 @evofantasy @myway1985 kita semua kan kawan2 kat lyn... icon_rolleyes.gif
syawalx
post Apr 27 2015, 04:22 AM

133 posts

Do inform after send for warranty claim. Cos im using y500.

Just wanna know the outcome. If still hve problem, i can do for you. No charge 😀

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0311sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:31 PM