http://www.pcworld.com/article/2974664/com...-fury-nano.html

Waiting for actual ones from reviewers.
Does that mean the Nano is on 390x level at best? hmm.gif
arifhasim85
post Aug 26 2015, 06:47 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(cllee86 @ Aug 26 2015, 12:02 PM)
Hi Guys, I'm planning to upgrade my aging 6950 to R280X but I'm not sure if I can capitalize 100% of the performance with my equally old Phenom II 955BE.

I'm just planning to keep up with today's requirement and game at 1080p.
Thanks  notworthy.gif
i think cukup2 makan or maybe bottleneck a bit.. currently did you experience any game using your cpu like 85-100% all the time during gaming? try with bf4 and also dota2 and check your cpu usage with the current gpu..
if yes, then most probably 280x also will be bottleneck by the cpu..
chocobo7779
post Aug 26 2015, 07:24 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,674 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Aug 26 2015, 05:43 PM)
Does that mean the Nano is on 390x level at best? hmm.gif
Possible, but I'm still awaiting for the pricing... hmm.gif
TSAcid_RuleZz
post Aug 26 2015, 08:02 PM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Aug 26 2015, 07:24 PM)
Possible, but I'm still awaiting for the pricing... hmm.gif
Fury level pricing, 390x level performance and 270x power consumption.
Unseen83
post Aug 26 2015, 08:05 PM

TooFAT4U 2Handle!
2,337 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Aug 26 2015, 02:20 PM)
yeah CM212 was in my radar, il look it up the price also not too bad im not gonna OC the cpu as its already boosting at 4ghz, mainly wana OC the GPU clock now at 720mHZ if can hit 900MHZ superb already,  flex.gif
my work fwen got this A10 7850K RAM got 3000+ or something.. game BF4 1080p.. Med setting even manage High..
Unseen83
post Aug 26 2015, 08:11 PM

TooFAT4U 2Handle!
2,337 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Aug 26 2015, 08:02 PM)
Fury level pricing, 390x level performance and 270x power consumption.
and R9 nano level of cuteness = Attached Image
cllee86
post Aug 27 2015, 12:21 AM

540 posts

QUOTE(Gregyong @ Aug 26 2015, 05:42 PM)
depends on games really, CPU heavy games like BF4 or SC2 might not have that big an impact, though most games now are GPU heavy as seen in PS4/Xbone design.

IMO, just do it, though personally i'm now stuck with 2nd Gen i5 and CSGO, im contemplating whether i want if harga kasih sayang is not harga johnny waka black label or below. whistling.gif
Yea I think so too. Hopefully games won't utilize more than 4 cores now and in the near future biggrin.gif

QUOTE(arifhasim85 @ Aug 26 2015, 06:47 PM)
i think cukup2 makan or maybe bottleneck a bit.. currently did you experience any game using your cpu like 85-100% all the time during gaming? try with bf4 and also dota2 and check your cpu usage with the current gpu..
if yes, then most probably 280x also will be bottleneck by the cpu..
Erm..I did encounter a lot of lagging but I thought it was due to slow GC. I never track CPU performance while I game...worth trying.
Thanks bro notworthy.gif
khelben
post Aug 27 2015, 10:38 AM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

$650 for R9 Nano. That's close to RM3k laugh.gif

Ah wells.

http://wccftech.com/amd-radeon-r9-nano-unl...faster-gtx-980/
SUSHuman10
post Aug 27 2015, 10:42 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Aug 27 2015, 10:38 AM)
$650 for R9 Nano. That's close to RM3k laugh.gif

Ah wells.

http://wccftech.com/amd-radeon-r9-nano-unl...faster-gtx-980/
Trololol, FuryX pricing minus AIO (and 2 power phase).

Might as well get FuryX and undervolt own self?
khelben
post Aug 27 2015, 10:43 AM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Aug 27 2015, 10:42 AM)
Trololol, FuryX pricing minus AIO (and 2 power phase).

Might as well get FuryX and undervolt own self?
Yeah so the previous article about Nano having a premium price since it's the only awesome mini-ITX card, is right after all laugh.gif
antaras
post Aug 27 2015, 10:44 AM

196 posts

So this card is for those that have the moolah to burn and only want mini-ITX build? Hope to see some proper benches soon. smile.gif
SUSHuman10
post Aug 27 2015, 10:45 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Aug 27 2015, 10:43 AM)
Yeah so the previous article about Nano having a premium price since it's the only awesome mini-ITX card, is right after all laugh.gif
It's not bout premium, but priced the same as its biggest brother with full specs and premium of AIO, trololol.

I rather softmod FuryX myself than getting the Nano...

This post has been edited by Human10: Aug 27 2015, 10:46 AM
khelben
post Aug 27 2015, 10:51 AM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Aug 27 2015, 10:45 AM)
It's not bout premium, but priced the same as its biggest brother with full specs and premium of AIO, trololol.

I rather softmod FuryX myself than getting the Nano...
Nano has a premium price because it doesn't really have a competitor in the mini-ITX section of cards.

I guess I'll just wait for a proper DX12 card smile.gif
arifhasim85
post Aug 27 2015, 10:54 AM

351 posts

this one i think will really give a great challenge to 3rd party custom cooler.. we will know who have the best skills in making custom cooler for amd.. i bet its gonna be sapphire rclxms.gif
but dat MSRP... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by arifhasim85: Aug 27 2015, 10:54 AM
S4PH
post Aug 27 2015, 11:00 AM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Aug 26 2015, 08:05 PM)
my work fwen got this A10 7850K RAM got 3000+ or something.. game BF4 1080p.. Med setting even manage High..
U mean his ram 3000mhz?
c2_lover
post Aug 27 2015, 11:11 AM

I am DRAGAN-BORN!!!
742 posts

$649 for nano? Might as well get Fury or Fury X. Nano will get throttled once it past certain temp/power limit no? What the hell is AMD thinking? I doubt it can run at full speed 24/7 during gaming. That price for a mini itx gpu not worth it especially if it will get throttled in some way.
SUSTheHitman47
post Aug 27 2015, 11:21 AM

Nuke
1,053 posts

as usual people going to much with their own "feeling-train"...just like before fury/x was properly released.
JohnLai
post Aug 27 2015, 11:38 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Aug 27 2015, 10:51 AM)
Nano has a premium price because it doesn't really have a competitor in the mini-ITX section of cards.

I guess I'll just wait for a proper DX12 card smile.gif
This is not how premium pricing works. AMD marketing screws up here.
For HTPC user, there is no justification on buying nano as it doesnt support upcoming HEVC 10bit hardware decoding and HDMI 2.0 for proper UHD content.
Getting Skylake CPU/IGPU or GTX960/950 would be better alternative.

For gamer (majority with large chassis) , why settle for underperforming Nano when they can opts for Fury X AIO or GTX980TI with similar price?
Gamer with mini-ITX chassis are niche or very small market segment.

QUOTE(c2_lover @ Aug 27 2015, 11:11 AM)
$649 for nano? Might as well get Fury or Fury X. Nano will get throttled once it past certain temp/power limit no? What the hell is AMD thinking? I doubt it can run at full speed 24/7 during gaming. That price for a mini itx gpu not worth it especially if it will get throttled in some way.
If the leaked slides are to be believed.....Nano will run under 900Mhz or even less (700-800mhz) once temp/power limit is reached.
khelben
post Aug 27 2015, 11:41 AM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Aug 27 2015, 11:38 AM)
For gamer (majority with large chassis) , why settle for underperforming Nano when they can opts for Fury X AIO or GTX980TI with similar price?
I really don't think AMD made Nano for people who have casings that a GTX980Ti can fit.
chocobo7779
post Aug 27 2015, 12:24 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,674 posts

I guess most people doesn't seem to understand the Nano - it's intended for the mini-ITX/microATX crowd, where space is always a premium. I have a microATX gaming machine, and while it does fit a 980Ti (theoretically) laugh.gif , but it will be a very tight squeeze. sweat.gif
My 7950 does fit into the case, but it is a huge pain whenever I need to take it out for cleaning - I have to remove the HDD cage and the CPU fan from the case before removing the card, which is tedious. sweat.gif

It might not appeal to the HTPC crowd, but for those with tiny cases, this card is a godsend to them. icon_idea.gif

Don't write off a product just because it does not appeal to you. This is obviously a product that appeals to a very small crowd, and I happen to belong to that crowd. laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

Of course, the low yields of HBM may contribute to the high pricing - the pricing is likely to fall when there is better yields. hmm.gif

Addendum: If the Nano shares similar specs to the Fury X - then technically we can flash the VBIOS of the Fury X with a VBIOS from a Nano for greater power efficiency? hmm.gif

Also, this is a very niche product, highlighted by some reddit users:
I've been saying this the entire time, the nano is incredibly highly binned and will have low supply. It is the epitome of a niche product. These chips would be wasted as a fury x, and are probably binned higher than fury x2, so why not make extra margin on them if there's even a tiny bit of demand? And based on the hype all over the internet about them there indeed is that demand. Yes 90% of people are disappointed they can't afford /justify one. But amd doesn't have supply to sell to you, and will happily sell you a 390x if that's the performance and price balance you want. For those who can afford and or justify the price, amd is gladly going to sell these Fiji dice at an even healthier margin
https://www.reddit.com/r/AdvancedMicroDevic...full_fiji_chip/

A niche product is not going to be cheap... icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Aug 27 2015, 12:44 PM

130 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:25 PM