316 Pages « < 106 107 108 109 110 > » Bottom

[Home Appliances] Water Filter/Purifier Thread V2, Drinking Water Treatment System

hestati
post Jan 30 2018, 06:28 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 30 2018, 05:44 PM)
Isn't it the job of bacteria/viruses elimination is already done by chlorine in the water before the final carbon core stage ? In your personal opinion, do you think installing an extra UV or UF filter for additional disinfection is necessary ?
BTW, PM me the solution.
It's a good question. In theory, yes, chlorine does kill the bacteria and viruses, but there are some of them that are extremely tolerant to chlorine (therefore some nations started to use bromine, chloramine etc).

Without being paranoid, I would say if you take water coming out directly our of treatment plant, chlorine does the job and your water is more or less bacteria and virus free.

What happens though, is that it has to travel through pipes and sit in the tank, and chlorine, that works well in clean water, is not so effective in "dirty" water. Chlorine starts to react left and right with pretty much every contaminant and becomes a lot less effective.

And unlike popular believe, your water is not always the same. So one day you may find no bacteria, other day there may be some. So think about your filter as an insurance. If no filter, then just boil your water.

Yes, will PM the solution now.
Ch33r
post Jan 30 2018, 06:32 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ Jan 30 2018, 06:28 PM)
It's a good question. In theory, yes, chlorine does kill the bacteria and viruses, but there are some of them that are extremely tolerant to chlorine (therefore some nations started to use bromine, chloramine etc).

Without being paranoid, I would say if you take water coming out directly our of treatment plant, chlorine does the job and your water is more or less bacteria and virus free.

What happens though, is that it has to travel through pipes and sit in the tank, and chlorine, that works well in clean water, is not so effective in "dirty" water. Chlorine starts to react left and right with pretty much every contaminant and becomes a lot less effective.

And unlike popular believe, your water is not always the same. So one day you may find no bacteria, other day there may be some. So think about your filter as an insurance. If no filter, then just boil your water.

Yes, will PM the solution now.
Absolutely agree as our pipe and draining system is full of rusted and bacteria virus, chlorine may less effective through the way, unless household water straight come from water treatment plant directly ... thumbup.gif
Bobby C
post Jan 30 2018, 06:55 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ Jan 30 2018, 04:32 PM)
Ok, this time I will post without any links or any sales.

My background is water treatment. I worked in Canada, USA and South America on various water treatment projects mainly RO projects though. I was also appointed by one of my employers to go to establish manufacturing in China, which didn't go well, but whatever.

So what a good home system must have? Right now we're talking about 3 stage system only. Why 3 stage? Surprisingly, it's the most economical and easy solution. You can do 2 stage as well, but it's not worth it, I'll explain why.

Stage 1 MUST be a sediment filter. It's cheap and it takes the first hit and you should replace it often (3-6 month). There are 3 types, string, pleated and melt blown. Just use the melt blown one. Cost for a good, USA made one is roughly 20 RM, change it 3 times a year. So 60RM yearly for this one. Choose 1 or 5 micron (I prefer 5 for better flow)

If your system doesn't have a sediment filter as a first stage, then all the large kaka goes to your first filter and reduces it's lifetime and performance dramatically.

Stage 2 is your main filter. Normally it's sub-micron, hollow membrane or other technology (in USA they don't even make UF, they have other sub-micron filters). This is the heart of your system and it's also must have. Make sure it removes: bacteria, viruses, cyst, lead, arsenic, ferrous iron, mercury, pharmaceuticals and plastics. Pretty much everything except: fluoride, chlorine, bromine, iodine and VOC. Change once per year. Roughly 160-200RM for a very good one (US made)!

Stage 3 is your carbon block. This will remove chlorine, bromine, iodine and VOC. Change once a year, roughly 80-100RM for a very good one (US made, coconut activated carbon).

So you're looking at 300-350RM per year worth of outstanding quality filters.
So see the logic here: first, remove large particles. Then, remove all nasty stuff such as bacteria and heavy metals, then get rid of bad taste and odor.

What's left? Normally it will be minerals and fluoride. But, sometimes you still have a bad taste, how come? Answer is chloramine. Nasty nasty stuff. Widely used in USA now instead of or together with chlorine, but can also form if ammonia is present in your water. You need a special chloramine carbon block and these are not cheap. EVEN THE BEST SYSTEM without chloramine filter will produce nasty water. Chloramine is not removed by any UF or sub-mic or anything else. If you have chloramine, your cost of carbon block (stage 3) becomes close to 160-200RM.

So say you don't have chloramine and let's assume you don't have any radiation (unless it's well water, hopefully not). Then what's left is fluoride. They do add crappy fluoride to our water in USA and in Malaysia (Western Europe banned it for example). You need a special filter if you want to get rid of it, so an extra stage. I personally don't care, but choice is yours.

Now to plastic leaching. If components of your system (not filters, but everything else) are made God knows where, then there are high chances that they leach chemicals into your water. Anything before stage 2, we don't care, since our stage 2 will take care of it, but anything after it goes straight to your cup. So know where each and every COMPONENT that touches the water is made. (example, does your faucet contain lead? if yes, then what's the point if filtering out all the lead before?)

Last but not least, I HIGHLY recommend a system with standard housings and filters. We call them 2.5 by 10, 2.5 by 20 and so on. Even if the manufacturer of your system jacks up the price for replacement cartridges or goes out of business, you can always buy cartridges from reputable US companies at reasonable prices.

This is it for now. If you have any questions, please let me know smile.gif
rclxms.gif good info out there.

I was offered GE sand filter as stage-1 filter install at the main intake to the house after metering while Stage-2 carbon filter as drinking water. Carbon filter (understand 0.5 micron) was made in China with NSF cert while option US made one is much more expensive.

Any comments? Need to find out the model number though if you need.

Better hear from the professional than sales ..

This post has been edited by Bobby C: Jan 30 2018, 06:57 PM
hestati
post Jan 30 2018, 07:40 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(Bobby C @ Jan 30 2018, 06:55 PM)
rclxms.gif  good info out there.

I was offered GE sand filter as stage-1 filter install at the main intake to the house after metering while Stage-2 carbon filter as drinking water. Carbon filter (understand 0.5 micron) was made in China with NSF cert while option US made one is much more expensive.

Any comments? Need to find out the model number though if you need.

Better hear from the professional than sales ..
Please PM me what was the offer. GE filter as stage 1 is what, 5 micron Puretrex? I need to know sizes that were offered. Assuming it's BB housings (4.5 by 20 inches?). PM me all details and we'll see.

Actually, from my experience, whole house systems rarely make sense, unless your water is horrible or you have like 5 bathrooms and 2 kitchens. Simply because you'll be using filtered water to flush toilets, wash driveways and your car etc.

And closer your filters are to the outlet better it is. Normally.
thailover
post Jan 30 2018, 10:49 PM

180 posts

What happened to my water. It is from my Water Tank.

This is my current setup:

Outdoor Prefilter - Sand Filter
Outdoor Filter - 3M AP902

Is this Lead or Mercury?

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
oyching88
post Jan 30 2018, 11:06 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(thailover @ Jan 30 2018, 10:49 PM)
What happened to my water. It is from my Water Tank.

This is my current setup:

Outdoor Prefilter - Sand Filter
Outdoor Filter - 3M AP902

Is this Lead or Mercury?
you might want to focus on the matter...
you referring to the brown spot or the silver like stuff or those sediment?

This post has been edited by oyching88: Jan 30 2018, 11:12 PM
thailover
post Jan 31 2018, 01:03 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(oyching88 @ Jan 30 2018, 11:06 PM)
you might want to focus on the matter...
you referring to the brown spot or the silver like stuff or those sediment?
Brown spots. Actually it is rust.
oyching88
post Jan 31 2018, 04:10 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(thailover @ Jan 31 2018, 01:03 AM)
Brown spots. Actually it is rust.
House main water tank? It's normal, sometimes you can find dead lizards biggrin.gif
hestati
post Jan 31 2018, 05:32 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(oyching88 @ Jan 31 2018, 04:10 PM)
House main water tank? It's normal, sometimes you can find dead lizards  biggrin.gif
This is why water filter must be as close as possible to water outlet.
hestati
post Feb 1 2018, 08:03 PM

1,256 posts

Friends, not sure if allowed to ask this here, but let's suppose you have a choice between 2 identical systems, the only difference is that:

1. Filter housings and faucet are NSF certified, made in Taiwan.

2. Filter housing and faucet are NSF certified, made in USA.

Price difference is about 150 RM, of course USA is more expensive. What would you choose?
aeiou228
post Feb 1 2018, 11:24 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ Feb 1 2018, 08:03 PM)
Friends, not sure if allowed to ask this here, but let's suppose you have a choice between 2 identical systems, the only difference is that:

1. Filter housings and faucet are NSF certified, made in Taiwan.

2. Filter housing and faucet are NSF certified, made in USA.

Price difference is about 150 RM, of course USA is more expensive. What would you choose?
Even if it is made in China with same NSF certified standards but save RM200, I will buy China made. Just like I buy huawei phone or iPad.
I think confidence level of people buying China made products has improved tremendously, harping on US made or EU made to sell at the premium price may not be a selling point nowadays.
hestati
post Feb 1 2018, 11:54 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Feb 1 2018, 11:24 PM)
Even if it is made in China with same NSF certified standards but save RM200, I will buy China made. Just like I buy huawei phone or iPad.
I think confidence level of people buying China made products has improved tremendously, harping on US made or EU made to sell at the premium price may not be a selling point nowadays.
Yes, I would totally agree with you when talking about anything that has nothing to do with food or beverage. Let's put it the other way. If it cannot affect my health or safety, then I will buy Chinese. But if the price difference is only say 10% I'd still choose the one made outside of China

But I worked in China for too long and I know that standards are not respected. For example, we were trying to manufacture RO tank membranes in China. Our main issue was variance in raw materials. We managed to get them NSF certified, but then, doing our own tests on bladders from different batches, we concluded that it does not conform most of the time.

So we left China and opened a factory in Mexico, slightly more expensive, but never had quality issues since.

I personally trust Taiwan, but that's just me.

Maybe good idea is to offer both and let people choose.

This post has been edited by hestati: Feb 1 2018, 11:55 PM
thailover
post Feb 2 2018, 12:32 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(oyching88 @ Jan 31 2018, 04:10 PM)
House main water tank? It's normal, sometimes you can find dead lizards  biggrin.gif
Yes, the water tank was originally installed by the developer. I couldn't change it before of the limited space.

The water got bad smell
Bobby C
post Feb 2 2018, 01:45 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ Jan 30 2018, 07:40 PM)
Please PM me what was the offer. GE filter as stage 1 is what, 5 micron Puretrex? I need to know sizes that were offered. Assuming it's BB housings (4.5 by 20 inches?). PM me all details and we'll see.

Actually, from my experience, whole house systems rarely make sense, unless your water is horrible or you have like 5 bathrooms and 2 kitchens. Simply because you'll be using filtered water to flush toilets, wash driveways and your car etc.

And closer your filters are to the outlet better it is. Normally.
GE Pentair POE looks like this.

While the internal filter for drinking quality like the following link:-

http://www.cyaindustries.com/product/gsbf-1750-s-11/

What you said is true. Install for the entire house doesnt make sense hence think sand filter good enough if installed at the main and easier for maintenance / backwash I suppose. While drinking water go for premium ones. Too bad rm weak otherwise 3M no need hassle to search and research further.

Got bombard by the local sales team when approached them during the exhibition. Found out little bit more about ultra filtration. They recommend UF install at main intake but as you said not making sense. For washing and flushing toilet also 0.5micron or lower for what which is excessive and insane. Hope I am wrong, looks more like marketing gimmick for the rich and ignorant. When asked more about certification and details on the filters many will not tell the full stories where the source. UF will require daily flushing so lot of wastage and maintenance. So total easily cost 3.5k including timer to install UF for a terraced house which does not come with NSF certification which I think excessive in terms of cost, design, water quality etc etc.

This post has been edited by Bobby C: Feb 2 2018, 01:53 PM
oyching88
post Feb 2 2018, 03:54 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(Bobby C @ Feb 2 2018, 01:45 PM)
GE Pentair POE looks like this.

While the internal filter for drinking quality like the following link:-

http://www.cyaindustries.com/product/gsbf-1750-s-11/

What you said is true. Install for the entire house doesnt make sense hence think sand filter good enough if installed at the main and  easier for maintenance / backwash I suppose. While drinking water go for premium ones. Too bad rm weak otherwise 3M no need hassle to search and research further.

Got bombard by the local sales team when approached them during the exhibition. Found out little bit more about ultra filtration. They recommend UF install at main intake but as you said not making sense. For washing and flushing toilet also 0.5micron or lower for what which is excessive and insane. Hope I am wrong, looks more like marketing gimmick for the rich and ignorant. When asked more about certification and details on the filters many will not tell the full stories where the source. UF will require daily flushing so lot of wastage and maintenance. So total easily cost 3.5k including timer to install UF for a terraced house which does not come with NSF certification which I think excessive in terms of cost, design, water quality etc etc.
UF, RO or membrane are always waste of water, daily flushing is insane.
POE filter sand media is good enough, easy maintenance and long lasting.
oyching88
post Feb 2 2018, 03:55 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(thailover @ Feb 2 2018, 12:32 AM)
Yes, the water tank was originally installed by the developer. I couldn't change it before of the limited space.

The water got bad smell
You may need check with your neighbor do they have similar issue? If have probably need ask PBA to check d.
Krv23490
post Feb 2 2018, 04:37 PM

2,175 posts

Hi guys, can anyone recommend a good brand for external and internal water filters ? What’s everyone’s thoughts on GE external filters ? Currently using Diamond in my old home , but this was installed many many years ago
xXwasabiXx
post Feb 2 2018, 04:51 PM

269 posts

can anyone recommend a good countertop water filter (hidden beneath the sink also can, open to suggestion), for my rental apartment.
Bobby C
post Feb 2 2018, 05:07 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(oyching88 @ Feb 2 2018, 03:54 PM)
UF, RO or membrane are always waste of water, daily flushing is insane.
POE filter sand media is good enough, easy maintenance and long lasting.
Correct.

RO is never suitable for drinking. Wonder why so many RO drinking machine out there?

UF install at main intake to the house where many vendors are promoting right now is insane. Only for rich and ignorant sorry be blant. Kena bombard by too much sales talk bit gila liau rclxub.gif Pls dont advise pangsai pun use UF quality punya water ya. Still sane not gila yet ... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Bobby C: Feb 2 2018, 05:16 PM
hestati
post Feb 3 2018, 01:19 AM

1,256 posts

Ok friends, I had PM conversation with few people, and it seems like people prefer outdoor filters. Well, let me add my 2 cents once again.

Outdoor filters are not such a good idea most of the time. There are 2 reasons for that:

1. You filter ALL the water now. You're now flushing toilets and mopping floors with filtered water. Depending on how much water you use, you may be wasting a lot of filter resources.

2. Your pipes and tank inside house are not perfect. May contain rush, lead, dirt, bacteria, dead lizards etc.

So making pure drinking water outside doesn't make sense at all, but if you ABSOLUTELY want outside filter, then this is what you can do.

1. 5 micron pleated polyester sediment filter. You just buy 20"BB (black/blue) industry standard housing and you add quality, industry standard pleated filter. A good US made one will be washable and should last you 2 or even 3 years (take it out, inspect, if looks ok, wash and put back). This will remove particles, rust, iron, pretty much everything above 5 micron with very low pressure drop.

2. I would stop on #1, but if your water has way too much chlorine in it and smells horribly even to take a shower, then keep on reading. Second filter is radial flow granulated carbon. Will last about 2 years, will take out most of chlorine, bad smell and taste. And, because of radial flow, you will not experience large pressure drop. Now you can take shower with no chlorine, rust and all other nasty stuff.

Now, to the cost. These things are more expensive, this is why it's extremely important to use industry standard components. Again, same logic, you do not want to depend on one manufacturer, who may go out of business or raise the price because "bro, Ringgit is low nowadays".

Now, how much it SHOULD cost

- A quality 20"BB housing with pressure release should cost you more or less 400RM and it will last lifetime.

- US made, quality sediment filter will cost roughly 250RM (remember, it lasts 2 or even 3 years and is washable)

- Good granular carbon radial flow filter of 20" size is expensive, close to 600RM. But this is really optional. Remember, you will need another housing for it.

I'd say most people should be ok with just sediment filter package for 650-700RM. And guess what, this is what big brands are selling too, but for 1400RM and more. Don't believe me? Check 3M AP902 filter "Removes sediments, partciulate, sand and rust down to 5 microns to provide cleaner water right from the point-of-entry for whole house water usage." Yep, that's it for 1400RM a filter that's made who knows where, just with a big brand name on it. And replacement interval once a year.

Do not get fooled by salesman and big brands

316 Pages « < 106 107 108 109 110 > » Top

0.0191sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:49 PM