316 Pages « < 77 78 79 80 81 > » Bottom

[Home Appliances] Water Filter/Purifier Thread V2, Drinking Water Treatment System

zheilwane
post Sep 10 2017, 02:46 PM

4,184 posts

QUOTE(myron649 @ Sep 10 2017, 10:22 AM)
after 23 months usage then only replaced a whole new set aquahor filter....only two person consumption n both of us also out for work during day time, so i extend a little longer before change new set.

out of curious, i broke the filter cover to see what's contain inside, as per below pic...

u can c the plastic cover actually quite thick, n the carbon filter also very large.
Wow, great job smile.gif the plastic cartridge is very thick, hard to break and impossible to crack due to high incoming water pressure.

Aquaphor is about quality and not gimmick, carbon block quality is thick as well. Many brands, outer casing big but the media inside very small, like cheating consumer only . . .
cat2008
post Sep 12 2017, 12:43 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Sep 6 2017, 11:44 PM)
Aquaphor definitely is within your budget, with 0.1 micron hollow fibre membrane, carbon block with aqualen and low maintenance cost. Definitely a good buy smile.gif
thank you
how much is the crystal eco?
ZZR-Pilot
post Sep 13 2017, 09:50 PM

1,057 posts

Hello all, I need to install a POE water filter for my condo. Only 2 people living in the house, so we won't be using a ton of water every month.

I have the following considerations:

1) Must be one of those compact membrane type filter (not enough space)
2) Under RM1k
3) Must be able to be backwashed
4) Replacement membrane/filter media easily obtainable and won't cost above RM600.

Any recommendations?
myghimh
post Sep 14 2017, 01:33 AM

235 posts

hi, wanted to ask if 3m ap902 can be used on 3 storey house with booster pump already installed. will there be after effects after installing the 3m filter? anyone selling this with installation in klang, botanic? can pm me? thanks
alexander3133
post Sep 14 2017, 07:49 AM

1,716 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Sep 10 2017, 11:41 AM)
just wondering for apartment what water purifier options are there, other than those standalone where you install on each tap?

anyone install those 1 big ones? where do you install it?
For me, I have no choice but to install standalone filter on each tap, kitchen basin, bathroom basin, water heater and washing machine.
The water filter is small, hence have to change the filter once 3 to 4 months depending on usage.

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z09...._u=e2lh2ea1184d

https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10...d9f0&abbucket=2
SUSadvocado
post Sep 14 2017, 08:43 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Sep 14 2017, 07:49 AM)
For me, I have no choice but to install standalone filter on each tap, kitchen basin, bathroom basin, water heater and washing machine.
The water filter is small, hence have to change the filter once 3 to 4 months depending on usage.

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z09...._u=e2lh2ea1184d

https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10...d9f0&abbucket=2
wow i'm guessing the water heater & washing machine requires very frequent change.
alexander3133
post Sep 14 2017, 08:53 AM

1,716 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Sep 14 2017, 08:43 AM)
wow i'm guessing the water heater & washing machine requires very frequent change.
Washing machine for my case still alright, because I use front load washing machine and I use the washing machine once or twice a week.

I have changed the filter once for washing machine because I can't stand the amount of dirt that filter captured, it lasted for about 4 months.

You may opt out for water heater filter installation, but washing machine is a must for me, don't want my clothes to get contaminated by dirty water.

Recently I just installed water filter for water heater, see how long until it required to get changed.
SUSadvocado
post Sep 14 2017, 09:00 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Sep 14 2017, 08:53 AM)
Washing machine for my case still alright, because I use front load washing machine and I use the washing machine once or twice a week.

I have changed the filter once for washing machine because I can't stand the amount of dirt that filter captured, it lasted for about 4 months.

You may opt out for water heater filter installation, but washing machine is a must for me, don't want my clothes to get contaminated by dirty water.

Recently I just installed water filter for water heater, see how long until it required to get changed.
the taobao filters are about as expensive as the Panasonic filters, but those are bigger filters?

does your place assuming is highrise have giant filters outside for all the incoming water, or nothing at all?
alexander3133
post Sep 14 2017, 09:03 AM

1,716 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Sep 14 2017, 09:00 AM)
the taobao filters are about as expensive as the Panasonic filters, but those are bigger filters?

does your place assuming is highrise have giant filters outside for all the incoming water, or nothing at all?
My place is a condo, I do not have a pre-filter or anything installed near my meter.
I also not sure about any giant filter installed in the incoming water supply to my condo.

Which Panasonic filter you are referring to, mind to give the model or link?
SUSadvocado
post Sep 14 2017, 09:10 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Sep 14 2017, 09:03 AM)
My place is a condo, I do not have a pre-filter or anything installed near my meter.
I also not sure about any giant filter installed in the incoming water supply to my condo.

right now i only have 1 filter on kitchen sink, the cheapest Panasonic, white color one. Filter is around rm55... can tahan 3-4 months...

there's a slightly more expensive one (white body green top) which has bigger filter.

i also saw there are very cheap water filters sold in Jusco & Mr.DIY/ACE, they look like your plastic wrapper. but i'm not sure how is their material, and whether it's safe or not so even if use will use on non-drinking source.

what i know is most filters cannot be cleaned & reuse, but those big ones like coway can be washed and they have like prefilters & main filters so you change prefilters more often main just clean.

my place the main water pipe is near entrance so i can see few huge water filters there. but my unit the pipes are all rusty so water come out still dirty.

how old is your place have you changed the piping system if old? mine still using metal pipes coz old.
alexander3133
post Sep 14 2017, 09:47 AM

1,716 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Sep 14 2017, 09:10 AM)
right now i only have 1 filter on kitchen sink, the cheapest Panasonic, white color one. Filter is around rm55... can tahan 3-4 months...

there's a slightly more expensive one (white body green top) which has bigger filter.

i also saw there are very cheap water filters sold in Jusco & Mr.DIY/ACE, they look like your plastic wrapper. but i'm not sure how is their material, and whether it's safe or not so even if use will use on non-drinking source.

what i know is most filters cannot be cleaned & reuse, but those big ones like coway can be washed and they have like prefilters & main filters so you change prefilters more often main just clean.

my place the main water pipe is near entrance so i can see few huge water filters there. but my unit the pipes are all rusty so water come out still dirty.

how old is your place have you changed the piping system if old? mine still using metal pipes coz old.
My condo main pipe and water meter are not near my entrance, they are centralized in a room. My management not allow any filter to be installed.

My condo completed just less than 3 years ago, and using metal pipes.

The filter I bought from Taobao, I used as pre-filter only and ofcourse not use for drinking. I have another Panasonic UV water filter installed in kitchen for drinking.

The previous short filter link I posted is the filter container + one filter cartridge , priced at RMB 88.
If you purchase the filter cartridge alone, cheapest is RMB 24, two filter cartridges.

https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=545889...266&toSite=main

And yea, the filter from Taobao is designed to throw away, although I washed before, but can't fully washed off the dirt.

The seller advertisement claims that, the filter is listed in NSF database.
http://info.nsf.org/Certified/dwtu/listing...er&Program=DWTU

SUSadvocado
post Sep 14 2017, 09:54 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Sep 14 2017, 09:47 AM)
My condo main pipe and water meter are not near my entrance, they are centralized in a room. My management not allow any filter to be installed.

My condo completed just less than 3 years ago, and using metal pipes.

The filter I bought from Taobao, I used as pre-filter only and ofcourse not use for drinking. I have another Panasonic UV water filter installed in kitchen for drinking.

The previous short filter link I posted is the filter container + one filter cartridge , priced at RMB 88.
If you purchase the filter cartridge alone, cheapest is RMB 24, two filter cartridges.

https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=545889...266&toSite=main

And yea, the filter from Taobao is designed to throw away, although I washed before, but can't fully washed off the dirt.

The seller advertisement claims that, the filter is listed in NSF database.
http://info.nsf.org/Certified/dwtu/listing...er&Program=DWTU
for metal pipes, if stainless steel is ok, but normal steel will rust over time even if it's coated, which will clog your filters even more.

is there any possibility to install a big filter at your unit right after the main water supply pipe?

the thing is we don't know what material those cheap filters use, might be good, might be contaminated/recycled so for me branded ones may not guarantee also but, at least they have their brand image at stake.

have you tried those cheap ones in ACE & Mr.DIY? Even my panasonic is designed for throwaway.
asiatrader98
post Sep 14 2017, 09:59 AM

1,485 posts

i would like to know how much currently the best offer of the3M AP902 Outdoor Water Filter? thk
alexander3133
post Sep 14 2017, 10:04 AM

1,716 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Sep 14 2017, 09:54 AM)
for metal pipes, if stainless steel is ok, but normal steel will rust over time even if it's coated, which will clog your filters even more.

is there any possibility to install a big filter at your unit right after the main water supply pipe?

the thing is we don't know what material those cheap filters use, might be good, might be contaminated/recycled so for me branded ones may not guarantee also but, at least they have their brand image at stake.

have you tried those cheap ones in ACE & Mr.DIY? Even my panasonic is designed for throwaway.
I guess there are just normal steel pipes, not sure about coating.

Before my renovation starts, I asked management and even developer about the water piping plan for my unit, but they can't provide. I wanted to install a big water filter in my house if I know the main pipe location in my house, but no luck.

I went window shopping in ACE and saw those filters you mentioned, but never tried. Partly because after I compared the filter price between ACE and Taobao, haha.

Filter material I can't comment much because no way to find out, just able to touch the filter and feel the material.

SUSadvocado
post Sep 14 2017, 10:09 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Sep 14 2017, 10:04 AM)
I guess there are just normal steel pipes, not sure about coating.

Before my renovation starts, I asked management and even developer about the water piping plan for my unit, but they can't provide. I wanted to install a big water filter in my house if I know the main pipe location in my house, but no luck.

I went window shopping in ACE and saw those filters you mentioned, but never tried. Partly because after I compared the filter price between ACE and Taobao, haha.

Filter material I can't comment much because no way to find out, just able to touch the filter and feel the material.
so far water taste ok? for all the filters you used.
alexander3133
post Sep 14 2017, 10:16 AM

1,716 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Sep 14 2017, 10:09 AM)
so far water taste ok? for all the filters you used.
So far after 4 months usage, the water is alright, no smell for me.
Have use the water to face wash, brush teeth, wash hands, clean vegetables, clean fruits, water boiling and wash clothes.
SUSadvocado
post Sep 14 2017, 10:19 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Sep 14 2017, 10:16 AM)
So far after 4 months usage, the water is alright, no smell for me.
Have use the water to face wash, brush teeth, wash hands, clean vegetables, clean fruits, water boiling and wash clothes.
so no sticky or oily feel after wash face? if just normal carbon filters should be ok but since i dunno what they use for those paper type.

also how you buy from Taobao and how many you buy usually? shipping here how?
alexander3133
post Sep 14 2017, 10:28 AM

1,716 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Sep 14 2017, 10:19 AM)
so no sticky or oily feel after wash face? if just normal carbon filters should be ok but since i dunno what they use for those paper type.

also how you buy from Taobao and how many you buy usually? shipping here how?
No oily feel coming from water, at least I did not feel that. Wash hand also did not feel oily.

You can just register an account in Taobao and purchase from there, I use their official consolidate shipping method to get the filter to ship to my door step. You can either use their official shipping method or use 3rd party shipping. Details of Taobao purchasing is out of this topic discussion.
oyching88
post Sep 14 2017, 11:19 AM

444 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Sep 14 2017, 09:03 AM)

All condos and apartments have POE filters at water tanks. But they don't really service it frequently. Dirt and mud shouldn't be issue but for drinking water is best to install POU system.
alexander3133
post Sep 14 2017, 11:46 AM

1,716 posts

QUOTE(oyching88 @ Sep 14 2017, 11:19 AM)
All condos and apartments have POE filters at water tanks. But they don't really service it frequently. Dirt and mud shouldn't be issue but for drinking water is best to install POU system.
My management certainly does not allow POE to be install near the water meter, and I could not get the water piping plan for my unit also, hence won't know where is the main incoming water pipe. I would install a POE filter in my house if I know the main pipe in my house.

I have no choice but to install POU filter, and additional counter top filter in kitchen for drinking.

316 Pages « < 77 78 79 80 81 > » Top

0.0157sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:24 AM