Mobile Number Portability (MNP), Switching mobile no. to other telco

takkwin
post Aug 28 2008, 08:52 PM

295 posts

23. After porting, will I enjoy the same services from the new
mobile service provider?

• No, you can only port your number and not value-added services.
• You must re-register for all the value-added services that you want to
subscribe to with the new service provider. You need to know that the new service provider is not obligated to provide identical value-added
services.

FAQ from the SKMM site.
As I understand that the numbers including the prefix will still be the same, what are the services meant in the 23rd question in the FAQ. Does it mean sms adverts will be still from the original network provider or internet rates or whatever? Can someone shed some light on this. Thanks.
qedx
post Aug 28 2008, 10:13 PM

712 posts

value-added services: things like voicemail, cheaper calls to certain numbers etc. those kind of things la. once you change provider everything will be provided by the new one la

Added on August 28, 2008, 10:14 pmeven the spam tongue.gif

This post has been edited by qedx: Aug 28 2008, 10:14 PM
unknowndevices
post Aug 29 2008, 12:38 AM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(rajulkabir @ Aug 28 2008, 06:37 PM)
It's not related.

Porting starts tomorrow.

The extra digit to be added to all handphone numbers (including ripoff "VIP" ones) starts at some secret future time, once they have actually decided how to do it, and does not have any connection to porting.
owh?...can stop "worrying" about number issues for the short-time-being... rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Aug 28 2008, 06:58 PM)
I'm predicting a more intense price war...good for us...the customers!!!
this is what we should demand more!!!... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(lkylyk @ Aug 28 2008, 07:10 PM)
no...but sometimes they jz dont want to tell their age rclxub.gif
if IC=fon no., then they dont want to let others know her fon no.?  shocking.gif
can't really believe if they did like that... laugh.gif

QUOTE(mitodna @ Aug 28 2008, 08:06 PM)
really off-topic already, back to MNP, tomorrow I thinking to port out
don't forget to share all the experiences of going through the whole process... icon_rolleyes.gif
do keep us updates... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 28 2008, 08:14 PM)
i will start selling all my VVIP no already
do provide us the links... whistling.gif

QUOTE(-Teddy- @ Aug 28 2008, 08:38 PM)
From what to what? I think we should start a new thread for telco users to post feedbacks like how frequent is spam sms-es etc.
yups...yups...a new thread informing how easy/difficult the whole process takes place... cool2.gif
The Silent Killer
post Aug 29 2008, 12:55 AM

657 posts

finally they implemented it~
unknowndevices
post Aug 29 2008, 01:15 AM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(The Silent Killer @ Aug 29 2008, 12:55 AM)
finally they implemented it~
so planning to take part to be the first 100 for tomorrow MNP implementation?... hmm.gif
korn
post Aug 29 2008, 02:20 AM

The Fault in Our Stars
2,230 posts

DiGi MNP - http://www.digi.com.my/whatshot/promotions/mnp/index.do

Wah finally smile.gif but many things to do aiyak~

6.  How do I port to a new service provider?

•  You will have to go to the new mobile service provider's Service Centre or Authorised Dealer to request for number porting.*
•  Fill in a Service Registration Form and pay the porting fees for processing. You will be issued with a new SIM card.
•  Upon approval, the new mobile service provider will inform you that you have successfully ported when the new SIM card is activated.
* Please note that your request to port will act as a notice to your current service provider to terminate your subscription.

7.  How long does it take to port to a new provider?
  The porting process will not take more than 5 business days for individual porting whereas for business porting, it will not take more than 10 business days.

20.  Do I get a new SIM card when I change my mobile service provider?
        Yes, you will be given a new SIM card by the new mobile service provider.

AskarPerang
post Aug 29 2008, 03:36 AM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

Can I know whether this is still valid?

Example:
Maxis to maxis: 12 sen/min
Maxis to other operator: 18 sen/min

How do we know 012/017 is maxis or other operator???
navilink
post Aug 29 2008, 08:04 AM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Aug 29 2008, 03:36 AM)

Example:

ya looks like now its more difficult to know what service provider someone is using based on the phone number...no more 012..maxis! 016..digi!
aspire2oo6
post Aug 29 2008, 08:13 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

You will know when your credit suddenly missing alot of money
cucubud
post Aug 29 2008, 08:25 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

Example:

If you port from other telco to Maxis, yes it is valid.
If you are from Maxis port to other telco, then not valid anymore.
Seaedge
post Aug 29 2008, 09:25 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

i see good news about MNP today... lol...
lkylyk
post Aug 29 2008, 09:36 AM

.:L.K.Y:.
2,421 posts

should create a program like "dial *XYZ# to check the number's operator which is using"
then can budget urself about the call if he/she already port to other operator~
demio121
post Aug 29 2008, 09:39 AM

2,084 posts

finally... <- not that i will change. i m happy with DiGi now.

The RM25 fee is kinda high (RM10 is more reasonable) but for a one time fee to retain my number, i think its a price to pay. Hopefully the telco will do something to absorb the RM25 fee. After all you are bringing new business to them.

I can understand they wanna start with pre-paid first. probably to implement in stages but why limit to only 100 users a day??? Stupid rule.
demio121
post Aug 29 2008, 09:44 AM

2,084 posts

Example:

in time, you will see telco offerng 1 rate to all operator. Not sure abt the others but Digi is charging the same to all operator.
lkylyk
post Aug 29 2008, 09:55 AM

.:L.K.Y:.
2,421 posts

QUOTE(demio121 @ Aug 29 2008, 09:44 AM)
in time, you will see telco offerng 1 rate to all operator.  Not sure abt the others but Digi is charging the same to all operator.
Hotlink SMS bonuses??
cant use oso if send sms to "former" Maxis user? haiz...
yupio
post Aug 29 2008, 10:07 AM

Pro
1,766 posts

MNP takes up to 5 days to process....wonder how long does it ACTUALLY take. And during that period of time, are we still able to use the old simcard with line still active or we will be out of reach during that time.
eyez98
post Aug 29 2008, 10:18 AM

Isaactan.Net
1,521 posts

be prepared forthe initial hiccups..
maybe i should adopt the wait and see approach in this sense.. u won't know how glitches in the system can cause..

but once it stabilizes, will definately change my service provider..

probably the reason they limit it to only 100 users / day is due to shortage of knowledgable manpower to process the change.. just my thought..
demio121
post Aug 29 2008, 10:51 AM

2,084 posts

yea... there will be some teething issue during initial implementation. In time i expect the max 100 users rules to go. the processing period reduce to overnight and no more RM25 fee.

When competition start and the telco feel the bite, they will start to work harder to gain/retain their users and we will get the best value. i am also looking forward to offer like free handset or subsidies handset from telco to tie user to contract.
jack7155
post Aug 29 2008, 10:56 AM

1,215 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Aug 28 2008, 11:22 AM)
You mean Maxis numbers can go to other operators on 7th Sept?
What if the other operators not ready to accept Maxis numbers, how to port over? tongue.gif
yea. skmm wont extend the time anymore. otherwise they'll be fine by skmm(mcmc)

QUOTE(lkylyk @ Aug 28 2008, 11:37 AM)
free for others porting to Maxis or free to leave Maxis??
anyway common sense would be free for other telcos users to Maxis...
FREE for others to port to maxis. others, i still dunno tongue.gif

QUOTE(cucubud @ Aug 28 2008, 12:59 PM)
When they mention
"Service providers are allowed to charge up to RM25 each time a subscriber changes their mobile phone service provider. This will give the users choice and freedom to choose their service providers without the inconvenience of having to change their numbers."

If I start from Celcom port to Maxis.
Don't like Maxis then port to Digi.
Don't like Digi then port back to Celcom.
Can or not? biggrin.gif
service provider are charged rm25. it depends that if the service provider will charge you or not. for maxis, others port to them is FREE

QUOTE(beatlesalbum @ Aug 28 2008, 01:01 PM)
Then you will have to pay rm 25 everytime you port depending on operator.
service provider are charged rm25. it depends that if the service provider will charge you or not. for maxis, others port to them is FREE

QUOTE(lynxs @ Aug 28 2008, 01:57 PM)
i think it says prepaid users in the Klang Valley are gonna be able to use this service first. Postpaid in 2 weeks time
yea

QUOTE(mitodna @ Aug 28 2008, 02:17 PM)
See which telco can hit 100 max. Cap, request, hehe, but must finish credit first
you can use talktime transfer to transfer your credit to others number first. brows.gif

QUOTE(demio121 @ Aug 29 2008, 09:39 AM)
finally... <- not that i will change.  i m happy with DiGi now.

The RM25 fee is kinda high (RM10 is more reasonable) but for a one time fee to retain my number, i think its a price to pay.  Hopefully the telco will do something to absorb the RM25 fee.  After all you are bringing new business to them.

I can understand they wanna start with pre-paid first.  probably to implement in stages but why limit to only 100 users a day???  Stupid rule.

QUOTE(yupio @ Aug 29 2008, 10:07 AM)
MNP takes up to 5 days to process....wonder how long does it ACTUALLY take. And during that period of time, are we still able to use the old simcard with line still active or we will be out of reach during that time.
it takes maximum 2 working day only from wat i know from maxis.
xplora
post Aug 29 2008, 11:18 AM

143 posts

I'm quite surprised of this MNP procedure is quite different. It would be rather more competitive to request PAC code from your current provider since they can offer you better deal like retention price plans.

This method is more simplified because you can go directly and change without having to wait on the phone to get the PAC code number. However, some people may just blindly give the RM25 because they don't know if they are still under contract.

This post has been edited by xplora: Aug 29 2008, 11:31 AM

206 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0209sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:05 PM