Mobile Number Portability (MNP), Switching mobile no. to other telco

jack7155
post Feb 2 2008, 10:07 PM

1,215 posts

in the afternoon i just heard from my reseller, its not every state implement it on 1st april 2008. the newest news....

This post has been edited by jack7155: Feb 2 2008, 10:08 PM
jack7155
post Feb 2 2008, 10:14 PM

1,215 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Feb 2 2008, 10:13 PM)
Must be Klang Valley first followed by other states. This kind of slow penetration technique is very common in Malaysia.
i think it is.... in johor, i heard from reseller it'll implement on may or august... still havent confirm... sad.gif
jack7155
post Mar 23 2008, 01:24 AM

1,215 posts

QUOTE(mzhai @ Mar 23 2008, 12:23 AM)
my opinion those vvip num (ab number or behind 4 or 5 digit same)the telco wont let u switch...
lets juz c la haha...
since it'll be implemanted, i think normally can change... no problem.... maybe should sign contract with them for 2 years (commitment to use their vvip number) tongue.gif
jack7155
post Jun 19 2008, 10:34 AM

1,215 posts

still no news on it yet sad.gif
i hope to turn my 013 number to maxis tongue.gif
jack7155
post Jul 5 2008, 10:28 AM

1,215 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Jul 5 2008, 07:33 AM)
MNP still on la, biggrin.gif cheers
u know when? brows.gif
jack7155
post Jul 12 2008, 09:30 PM

1,215 posts

MNP is definitely on august. i have a bit news on it. but its still not clear yet. will update if there is any update biggrin.gif
jack7155
post Jul 14 2008, 02:38 PM

1,215 posts

most probably (or certainly) will launch this august. i'll update again if have any lor....
jack7155
post Aug 20 2008, 11:11 AM

1,215 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Aug 19 2008, 04:54 PM)
If MNP is implemented, I forsee the telco Helpdesk and Service Center will be full of people complain "why charge me when I call from my 012 number to that 012 number" hmm.gif
The caller does not know that the 012 number he called has port over to another telco operator. tongue.gif
hmm... they already have online ebilling what... there will write maxis - digi/maxis/celcom/umobile mah..... brows.gif
jack7155
post Aug 28 2008, 11:01 AM

1,215 posts

NEWEST NEWS!!

maxis will start its mnp operation from klang valley 1st. the launching date is on 7th sept 08 (if not mistaken)

Porting is FREE. no fee will be conducted.
jack7155
post Aug 29 2008, 10:56 AM

1,215 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Aug 28 2008, 11:22 AM)
You mean Maxis numbers can go to other operators on 7th Sept?
What if the other operators not ready to accept Maxis numbers, how to port over? tongue.gif
yea. skmm wont extend the time anymore. otherwise they'll be fine by skmm(mcmc)

QUOTE(lkylyk @ Aug 28 2008, 11:37 AM)
free for others porting to Maxis or free to leave Maxis??
anyway common sense would be free for other telcos users to Maxis...
FREE for others to port to maxis. others, i still dunno tongue.gif

QUOTE(cucubud @ Aug 28 2008, 12:59 PM)
When they mention
"Service providers are allowed to charge up to RM25 each time a subscriber changes their mobile phone service provider. This will give the users choice and freedom to choose their service providers without the inconvenience of having to change their numbers."

If I start from Celcom port to Maxis.
Don't like Maxis then port to Digi.
Don't like Digi then port back to Celcom.
Can or not? biggrin.gif
service provider are charged rm25. it depends that if the service provider will charge you or not. for maxis, others port to them is FREE

QUOTE(beatlesalbum @ Aug 28 2008, 01:01 PM)
Then you will have to pay rm 25 everytime you port depending on operator.
service provider are charged rm25. it depends that if the service provider will charge you or not. for maxis, others port to them is FREE

QUOTE(lynxs @ Aug 28 2008, 01:57 PM)
i think it says prepaid users in the Klang Valley are gonna be able to use this service first. Postpaid in 2 weeks time
yea

QUOTE(mitodna @ Aug 28 2008, 02:17 PM)
See which telco can hit 100 max. Cap, request, hehe, but must finish credit first
you can use talktime transfer to transfer your credit to others number first. brows.gif

QUOTE(demio121 @ Aug 29 2008, 09:39 AM)
finally... <- not that i will change.  i m happy with DiGi now.

The RM25 fee is kinda high (RM10 is more reasonable) but for a one time fee to retain my number, i think its a price to pay.  Hopefully the telco will do something to absorb the RM25 fee.  After all you are bringing new business to them.

I can understand they wanna start with pre-paid first.  probably to implement in stages but why limit to only 100 users a day???  Stupid rule.

QUOTE(yupio @ Aug 29 2008, 10:07 AM)
MNP takes up to 5 days to process....wonder how long does it ACTUALLY take. And during that period of time, are we still able to use the old simcard with line still active or we will be out of reach during that time.
it takes maximum 2 working day only from wat i know from maxis.
jack7155
post Aug 29 2008, 04:50 PM

1,215 posts

QUOTE(xplora @ Aug 29 2008, 11:18 AM)
I'm quite surprised of this MNP procedure is quite different. It would be rather more competitive to request PAC code from your current provider since they can offer you better deal like retention price plans.

This method is more simplified because you can go directly and change without having to wait on the phone to get the PAC code number. However, some people may just blindly give the RM25 because they don't know if they are still under contract.
if you are on contract, the porting will be rejected.

Added on August 29, 2008, 4:52 pm
QUOTE(cucubud @ Aug 29 2008, 01:47 PM)
While waiting, can we use the old sim card with the original service provider?
you need to use the oldsim card until the new service provider sms to inform you that the new sim card is activated thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by jack7155: Aug 29 2008, 04:52 PM
jack7155
post Sep 2 2008, 05:24 PM

1,215 posts

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Sep 2 2008, 05:22 PM)
DIGI PREPAID - FOC
DIGI POSTPAID - TBA

PREPAID - ?
MAXIS POSTPAID - TBA

CELCOM PREPAID - ?
CELCOM POSTPAID - TBA

UMOBILE PREPAID - FOC
UMOBILE POSTPAID - TBA

feel free to update the above if you have the info.
U mobile only a baby, i would not switch to this telco....smile.gif somemore real coverage only in klang valley, others are using celcom.

it wil take them a decade to fight with others.
PORTING to MAXIS is FREE
jack7155
post Oct 1 2008, 12:20 PM

1,215 posts

yesterday just received news. the mnp will officially started on 15th october 2008 nationwide. i just got the device of porting rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by jack7155: Oct 1 2008, 12:21 PM

0.0209sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:51 AM