Travel Bangkok, Interesting places?

exkay
post Oct 9 2008, 01:24 PM

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

7th Oct,
Last round of shopping before shooting back to KLIA at 2pm.
- visited Siam Paragon
- Arranged a taxi from reno hotel to Sue-wanna-Poom airport at 500B
- reached airport at ard 2:30 pm flight leaves at 5pm
- had one of the best ice chocolate drink i ever tasted in BKK airport !
-reached Penang at ard 12 midnight.

should there be any questions, feel free to give me a buzz via PM.

panasonic88
post Oct 9 2008, 01:53 PM

37,028 posts

wow interesting review rclxms.gif

okay so the Suvarnabhumi Airport is pronounced as "Sue-wanna-Poom" laugh.gif

that gal in the last photo is your mistress ya? hehe.
mikelanding
post Oct 9 2008, 06:44 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Oct 8 2008, 08:22 AM)
are you in bangkok or you in malaysia?

walk myself around MBK and national monument yesterday and it is as calm as ever but lots of people shopping........

There is even a open concert at Siam Paragon yesterday evening........what protest you talking about....i never see also.....smile.gif

don't believe in news and bangkok is very very big, if got protest also it will not reach shopping paradise area.

Remember thai people are very friendly.......more than malaysia (sadly true), and they will not hurt tourist although they might con their money...smile.gif

1 thing, protest is a norm in bangkok........no problem 1.

Today going Panthip Plaza........., found out that Brother printer here are more expensive than in Malaysia.........
U misunderstanding my msg...
I been to BKK many times...my wife stay in BKK.
I just merely said that this time around, the protest is more serious than the last 1.
I know BKK is very big, it is much bigger than KL....protest this time not just around Gov. house. It spread to Parliment and several Polis HQ in the city.
Comparing this time and previous 1..More violent and more casualties.

This is just to warn those who wan to travel be extra careful. Even my wife is more worry than last time.. sweat.gif

exkay,
did u manage to try somboon seafood? even my wife ( she is local thais) also said superb thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by mikelanding: Oct 9 2008, 06:49 PM
yewlin
post Oct 9 2008, 10:26 PM

12-06 is my new working days :)
2,084 posts

Nancy Chandler's Map get from thail or malaysia?
exkay
post Oct 9 2008, 11:53 PM

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Oct 9 2008, 06:44 PM)
exkay,
did u manage to try somboon seafood? even my wife ( she is local thais) also said superb thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
nope... maybe next time.. but gf isn't a fan of seafood... ( allergic )

QUOTE(yewlin @ Oct 9 2008, 10:26 PM)
Nancy Chandler's Map get from thail or malaysia?
it's easier to get in thai than in malaysia ( just like if you're trying to get a map for malaysia in london... hahah )
most book stall should have it, or at least heard about it. u can try looking for it in the airport too. I found mine in khao san road.

locals call it, "nancy map" hahah

u can check out www.nancychandler.net for more info.
panasonic88
post Oct 10 2008, 12:23 PM

37,028 posts

ahem, how come there isn't much discussion on BKK's red light district tongue.gif

according to friend's experience, the so-called "Tiger Show" is pretty boring, entry fees are around Bath1,000 for 2 person (inclusive of 2 sucky drinks), the LIVE show is nothing special, maybe is something different, eye-opener lor since it is prohibited in Malaysia.

i think, i shall exclude that from our BKK itinerary
ohyah, we wanna experience their night life, clubbings and pretty "gals" (can touch boobs ka? kekekek)

p/s: blinky, your BKK reviews are useful for me to plan my itinerary~!

This post has been edited by panasonic88: Oct 10 2008, 12:24 PM
exkay
post Oct 10 2008, 12:44 PM

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

QUOTE(feralee @ Oct 10 2008, 01:09 AM)
exkay - nice at jade buddha
wanna bring together with mom when go there another 2 weeks
where is it located?
jade buddha is in the grounds of the grand palace, west of bangkok. ard 2km away from khao san road.

QUOTE(lesliethev @ Oct 10 2008, 11:39 AM)
exkay: wow nice shots..

miss Bangkok so much.. has only been there once. it's a heaven  smile.gif  cheap stuffs, nice places, friendly thai, etc...  thumbup.gif
thanks. glad u liked them...
PrinceCaspien
post Oct 10 2008, 01:26 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Oct 10 2008, 12:23 PM)
ahem, how come there isn't much discussion on BKK's red light district tongue.gif

according to friend's experience, the so-called "Tiger Show" is pretty boring, entry fees are around Bath1,000 for 2 person (inclusive of 2 sucky drinks), the LIVE show is nothing special, maybe is something different, eye-opener lor since it is prohibited in Malaysia.

i think, i shall exclude that from our BKK itinerary
ohyah, we wanna experience their night life, clubbings and pretty "gals" (can touch boobs ka? kekekek)

p/s: blinky, your BKK reviews are useful for me to plan my itinerary~!
You can try Spicy near MBK area(300baht entrance including 1 drink), generally any taxi driver should know.....it's a club where you can pick up girls(freelancers)....smile.gif saw 3 russians last night there...be there only around 1am cause if you go early it will be empty.....

This post has been edited by PrinceCaspien: Oct 10 2008, 01:27 PM
estara
post Oct 11 2008, 03:12 PM

599 posts

I'm so looking forward to go clothes shopping in Bangkok. I've been hearing so much about the T-shirts there. Not those cheesy slogans or brands or funny t-shirts but artsy ones with great illustrations. I think my friend said he bought in Chatuchak but I'm not sure. I've never been to Bangkok so anyone knows beside Chatuchak Market, where else I can buy those cool T-shirts and cheap too?
exkay
post Oct 11 2008, 06:17 PM

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

well, u can find dozens in chatuchak, some in khaosan road, more in Siam Square, some in MBK, some in Suan Lum Night Bazaar.
PrinceCaspien
post Oct 12 2008, 01:20 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

damn, lost my handphone in Route 66 yesterday night, what an unlucky night.....but it's a happening club to go to anyway, 3 sections in a club, live band/disco section, techno section and r&B songs section...
washabushi
post Oct 13 2008, 09:28 AM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Oct 12 2008, 01:20 PM)
damn, lost my handphone in Route 66 yesterday night, what an unlucky night.....but it's a happening club to go to anyway, 3 sections in a club, live band/disco section, techno section and r&B songs section...
ouch...

Added on October 13, 2008, 10:27 ammy itenary

23(thursday)
reach around 11pm
take taxi at gate 10
reach hotel check in n walk nearby

24(friday)
grand palace(if cant then probably will go for siam ocen world)
emerald buddha
vinmanek museum
chinatown (if cant find tour to floating market n river kwai then will replace with khao san)

25(saturday)
floating market
elephant ride
suan lum night bizarre
pat pong

26(sunday)
chatuchak
khao san (or chinatown)

27(monday)
death railway
siam centre
paragon
n the soi opposite it

28(tuesday)
panthip
platinum
or sumwhere nearby
catch flight depart on 4pm bkk time

*still havent complete coz still plannin to add few more shoping complex to try out their food

will try out somboonseafood at Surawong Branch

plz comment...
thx notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by washabushi: Oct 13 2008, 04:37 PM
washabushi
post Oct 13 2008, 04:38 PM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

QUOTE(estara @ Oct 13 2008, 03:52 PM)
rclxm9.gif Thanks. Which ones are opened only on weekends?? *takes note*
chatuchak open on weeked only...
others all seems like shopping mall...
night bizarre...erm...nite lo...should be
shay2k
post Oct 18 2008, 03:28 PM

129 posts

can anyone update me on the situation in bangkok? whats goin on the border between thai and cambodia? my flight leaves on the 25th but afraid of my safety, thanks
vermins
post Oct 18 2008, 06:41 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(shay2k @ Oct 18 2008, 03:28 PM)
can anyone update me on the situation in bangkok? whats goin on the border between thai and cambodia? my flight leaves on the 25th but afraid of my safety, thanks
Heading there this Tuesday. If you don't hear from me then.. well, something has happened laugh.gif

But in all frankness, the media just makes it worst then it looks. Just like the coup, looked really serious and all, but was barely anything in actual effect in BKK. Plus, if it was really dangerous, airlines wouldn't want to ferry passengers there tongue.gif

If you are talking about the streets, like wind mentioned earlier, just avoid the govt buildings and it should be alright. The general tourist attractions shouldn't be a problem either.

This post has been edited by vermins: Oct 18 2008, 06:44 PM
washabushi
post Oct 19 2008, 03:57 PM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

http://www.bangkokpost.com/breaking_news/b...s.php?id=131512
now in tourist area edi...
at central world...
but how come the currency still so low ar...
arrrk
vermins
post Oct 19 2008, 04:05 PM

215 posts

That was 2 weeks ago tongue.gif

Still ouch though.

No brainer to avoid huge crowds when sightseeing there though.
zacevox
post Oct 19 2008, 05:17 PM

voice of expression
1,768 posts

i am going in april 2009 tongue.gif
5 day 4 night
should i go pattaya as well?
washabushi
post Oct 19 2008, 05:52 PM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

QUOTE(zacevox @ Oct 19 2008, 05:17 PM)
5 day 4 night
if u think u have enough time
it is advisable to stay 1 night over there...

i book my hotel to early...
thats y i must give it a skip...
sigh

Added on October 19, 2008, 5:54 pm
QUOTE(vermins @ Oct 19 2008, 04:05 PM)
That was 2 weeks ago tongue.gif

Still ouch though.

No brainer to avoid huge crowds when sightseeing there though.
ops...
my bad...
i forgot news expired everyday

This post has been edited by washabushi: Oct 19 2008, 05:54 PM
angel2eternity
post Oct 21 2008, 11:12 AM

QUOTE(zacevox @ Oct 19 2008, 05:17 PM)
5 day 4 night
Ooh no! If you're a shopping freak (just like me). 5d4n is just enuff for me to explore all malls in Bangkok onli. Unless u're not, den can go pattaya oso lor. Bangkok got more brands and stuff but Pattaya got lesser malls, onli street market tho sad.gif

126 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:27 AM