126 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Travel Bangkok, Interesting places?

Ravenz
post May 29 2007, 11:59 AM

112 posts

I'll be staying in First House Hotel abt RM 86 per night.
Near to Pratunam area and also the MRT station.
adad
post May 29 2007, 12:04 PM

387 posts

Take a cab straight to hotel. Even if you got to Onnut station, it'll still be quite a walk - don't want to do that when you've got luggage. Coming from Suvanarbhumi, your area is closer by taxi [you're on the east side of BKK].

MBK is linked to National Stadium station - just one stop after you change in Siam. [but different line from Sukhumvit]. You can alight at Siam but it's not direct - not too far but more troublesome.

Pattaya is about 1 half to two hours away by car/van/bus. It's kinda like KL to Port Dickson. The cheapest way is to catch a bus at the Southern Bus terminal at Ekamai [Sukhumvit 63] straight to Pattaya. It's 120 baht if I'm not mistaken.
kucingfight
post May 29 2007, 01:28 PM

5,784 posts

thanks for the replies, guess taxi the best option, btw how far is the walking distance from the hotel to On Nut station? 10-15mins?
adad
post May 29 2007, 02:45 PM

387 posts

Yes I'd say 15 mins tops. But frankly I rarely go to that end of Sukhumvit as it is quite out of the way. By the looks of it, you'll be living in an apartment, and not hotel. And if the walk gets too far, I guarantee there will be motorbike taxis at Lotus [mouth of soi 50] and chances are in front of your apartment too. 10 baht should take care of the journey [one way] if you're lazy to walk.

And also, I made a typo just now - the bus station at Ekamai is the Eastern, not Southern Terminal.

BTW, why did you choose this place to stay? It's a curious choice I must say. Onnut is not on the typical tourist route, upside is you'll be amongst mostly locals if that's the experience you want.
kucingfight
post May 29 2007, 03:28 PM

5,784 posts

ok guess 15mins walk is alrite..to be honest, yeah i do not know myself y i chose tat place. Probably bcoz it's a decent cheap place. Guess it's too late to change, after going thru the whole thread. doh.gif
Ravenz
post May 29 2007, 08:12 PM

112 posts

adad,

thanks for the info... skytrain or MRT they are about the same thing to me LOL sorry didnt really pay attention to the differences. Near Siam that area.

didnt know where to stay just find one that is near the station, near the shopping area.

will be going over on the 8th - 11th ... hope by then it will be ok
adad
post May 29 2007, 08:44 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(Ravenz @ May 29 2007, 08:12 PM)
adad,

thanks for the info... skytrain or MRT they are about the same thing to me LOL sorry didnt really pay attention to the differences. Near Siam that area.

didnt know where to stay just find one that is near the station, near the shopping area.

will be going over on the 8th - 11th ... hope by then it will be ok
hey no worries, they way you put it, I just thought they built another line right under my nose !

A tip: the Skytrain 'crosses' the subway at these three stations [Sukhumvit/Asok], [Sala Daeng/Silom] and [MorChit/Catuchak Park].

Happy Shopping !
kucingfight
post May 30 2007, 08:11 AM

5,784 posts

oh great, yeah i read bout the tribunal thingy yest. and it doesnt effect most of the tourist area rite? guess life would be normal there.

oh ya adad, one more thing, since i'm staying at the other end of sumkhuvit, should i tell the taxi driver to use "Motorway'' or the Bagna highway from airport?

This post has been edited by kucingfight: May 30 2007, 10:21 AM
jthm
post May 30 2007, 11:03 AM

33 posts

ok, i've been looking at reviews of hotels and hostels for a almost a month already....but still haven't decided on which one, it's difficult, because the reviews are all mixed (good and bad)

please help me decide, budget is about 1000 Baht per night for a couple, staying for 4D3N, i've been looking at sukhumvit area (is this a nice area to stay??) we're planning to go see those touristy places, wat pho, grand palace, chatuchak mkt....all that. another would be close to bts/metro station, food around the hotel, massage....anything fun and cheap. thumbup.gif

recommended hotels/hostels?? anyone?

This post has been edited by jthm: May 30 2007, 11:06 AM
pinkrazr
post May 30 2007, 11:00 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(jthm @ May 30 2007, 11:03 AM)
ok, i've been looking at reviews of hotels and hostels for a almost a month already....but still haven't decided on which one, it's difficult, because the reviews are all mixed (good and bad)

please help me decide, budget is about 1000 Baht per night for a couple, staying for 4D3N, i've been looking at sukhumvit area (is this a nice area to stay??) we're planning to go see those touristy places, wat pho, grand palace, chatuchak mkt....all that. another would be close to bts/metro station, food around the hotel, massage....anything fun and cheap.  thumbup.gif

google for suk11. My friend stayed there while he was backpacking south east asia. He said it was not too bad and BTS station is super near. As long as you are near the BTS station you are good to go.

This post has been edited by pinkrazr: May 30 2007, 11:03 PM
cokee
post May 31 2007, 09:28 AM

QUOTE(jthm @ May 30 2007, 11:03 AM)

please help me decide, budget is about 1000 Baht per night for a couple, staying for 4D3N, i've been looking at sukhumvit area (is this a nice area to stay??) we're planning to go see those touristy places, wat pho, grand palace, chatuchak mkt....all that. another would be close to bts/metro station, food around the hotel, massage....anything fun and cheap.  thumbup.gif

Bangkok Central Hotel, which is very near to China Town, not even 5 mins walk to the MRT station, it is just in front of the hotel, and also very near to the Railway Station. If u book online, the price is about 1000-1200 baht or lower for a double room. Very convenient hotel but don't expect too much from that price range....smile.gif
kucingfight
post May 31 2007, 11:05 AM

5,784 posts

Doing my last minute searching info around.

is there any nearest MRT/BTS to patpong area?

I've listed the popular visited places from this whole thread

- Chatucak Market (only opens on Sun)?
- Pratunam area
- China Town
- Suan Lum (only at nite)??
- MBK/Siam Square area
- Patpong ( any shows to watch?)
- any more??

btw which temples is the most visited? intend to see 1 or 2 only, and how do i get there?
TSwk_wong
post May 31 2007, 09:50 PM

Harapan Baru Untuk Malaysia
736 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ May 31 2007, 11:05 AM)
Doing my last minute searching info around.
the nearest station to Patpong is Sala Daeng Station.

for popular places, dun miss Grand Palace, and some others Wat that is around that area like Wat Po etc, Damnoensaduak Floating Market, Ayutthaya...to reach these places, best is by taxi(for Grand Palace) or tour guide (to Floating Market/Ayutthaya coz these places is more further out of town), but please be careful with those freelance taxi driver that hanging outside hotels or shopping centers smile.gif

if you are interested in the Patpong scene, (not the shopping) i recommend you to go Nana Entertainment Plaza or Soi Cowboy, both reachable thru Nana Station or Asok/Sukhumvit Station. dun worry if u go with wife or female frens, just bring them in, especially the ladyboys bar, its quite fun!

Chatucak Market opens on Saturday & Sunday, and for Suan Lum, night only i think. i didnt visit that place on my last visit, will do it this coming one smile.gif

Good luck & enjoy your holiday! wink.gif

jthm
post Jun 1 2007, 12:14 AM

33 posts

http://www.asiarooms.com/hotelImages/Thail...it/map/map.jpeg

would this be a nice place to stay? price, location ok??

for 4D3N, it's USD$87 for a standard room on www.asiarooms.com

anyone stayed here before?

This post has been edited by jthm: Jun 1 2007, 12:16 AM
TSwk_wong
post Jun 1 2007, 02:52 AM

Harapan Baru Untuk Malaysia
736 posts

QUOTE(jthm @ Jun 1 2007, 12:14 AM)

i never stay here, but there is a distance to the main road & the train station, not sure whether they provide transport service.
i think its a good deal lor smile.gif

adad
post Jun 1 2007, 12:47 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(jthm @ Jun 1 2007, 12:14 AM)

That's a nice price, considering where you'll be staying. Soi 4 is not a super long soi anyway so walk should not be difficult. Especially with all the 'distractions' along the way.

You're in prime red light district !

Upside is areas like these are always pumping with life [food, shops etc], pardon the pun.

And to all who are coming to BKK in the next few days, things seem pretty normal and safe at the moment. And the weather has gotten better [been raining everyday last week] - hope it stays this way.
jthm
post Jun 1 2007, 10:10 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(adad @ May 31 2007, 10:47 PM)
That's a nice price, considering where you'll be staying. Soi 4 is not a super long soi anyway so walk should not be difficult. Especially with all the 'distractions' along the way.

You're in prime red light district !

Upside is areas like these are always pumping with life [food, shops etc], pardon the pun.

And to all who are coming to BKK in the next few days, things seem pretty normal and safe at the moment. And the weather has gotten better [been raining everyday last week] - hope it stays this way.
QUOTE(wk_wong @ Jun 1 2007, 04:40 AM)
i think dun wait too long, later not much choice, i think the hotel u mention is quite famous smile.gif
ok. thumbup.gif will just book it earlier. besides that...i know i'm fickle minded and all, aren't all girls the same. hehe. ok, i wonder why the reviews are so different on the websites, makes it hard to decide if i'm picking the right hotel. sweat.gif some ppl reviewed it as not worth the price paid, and some said good for budget travellers, others have mentioned that it's too far to walk, some said it's ok...it's about 10 mins walk to Nana BTS?? yes or no?

as for being in the red light district...the whole sukhumvit rd is the red light district, right? so doesn't matter where on the rd, there's bound to be some 'red lights'. but when you say prime...does that mean there's more around this hotel....upper sukhumvit then further down the rd (soi 20+)?

i think there's also complimentary tuk tuk rides to the main rd from the hotel. if not, walks are good too.

This post has been edited by jthm: Jun 2 2007, 01:16 AM
adad
post Jun 2 2007, 09:44 PM

387 posts

saying that whole sukhumvit is red light district is like saying that the whole country is a big red light district. while there is some truth to that, you'll definitely see what I mean if you stay around the nana area. mostly harmless really, but this turns some people off, especially if they are travelling with children or older people.

short answer, no. Sukhumvit is more like a shopping/commercial area.
kucingfight
post Jun 7 2007, 10:07 AM

5,784 posts

Juz back from my 4d3N from bangkok. man, smashing time i had there.

Day 1: (thai time)
Arrived at airport around 5PM. catched a taxi to Soi 50(tesco-lotus). checked in my serviced apartment and after refreshing myself up, head to tesco area for some walks. Had pork samurai burger @ tesco,and it taste so good. had a stroll around tesco and i noticed pricing wise, it's almost similar as malaysia. Cheese is exp there, around rm10 for 12slices (kraft etc etc). Moving on, i walked around main sumkhumvit road, and jus had a view along the stretch of road. had a noodle soup (fishballs, roast pork slice) for RM2. brows.gif . walked further down and head back to tesco and rode the motorbike taxi back to my place for rm1.50

Day 2:
Took BTS from On-Nut to Mo Chit (end to end station) for rm4 (was it? rolleyes.gif ) . Noticed that their BTS have small lcd monitor for in train entertainment. There's this MTV Flure , kinda got hooked to the song and it's nice. walk past chatucak park and head to the market. Man, it was burning hot there. i didnt know the market was THAT HUGE. had some rice + mushroom+ spicy chicken + water for rm4. quite ok to me, but i was expecting it to be cheaper( market place rite..no?) walked along the main circle route before exploring the smaller inner lanes. Loads of BBQ thingies sold there, squids, chicken meat, beef, chicken intestines etc. had this coconut icecream. 3 types - young coconut , coconut + jackfruit , cant remember another 1. u can choose 2 types of toppings - yam, peanut, palm seed , etc etc. loads of stuff sold there, i bought 2 tshirts for rm3.90 each. exited the market and went to the park for stroll around 1130am. i noticed a lot of locals laying down n enjoying the lake view with mat. Those mat patrons r everywhere offering mats for rent. Han Tok Mai - Siam. Juz a brief description here - went to paragorn, discovery, MBK. At nite, met up with wk_wong @ nana to the nana plaza. brows.gif . wow. loads of bars with welcoming curtains for every kind of entertainment. lol, plenty of whites and japs seeking for cheap 'sex' & entertainment or maybe simply juz for company. left the place by cab @ 130am.

Day 3:
- nanti type,...too tired lol
stimix
post Jun 7 2007, 10:47 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Jun 7 2007, 10:07 AM)
Noticed that their BTS have small lcd monitor for in train entertainment. There's this MTV Flure , kinda got hooked to the song and it's nice.

went to paragorn, discovery, MBK. At nite, .

Did u try the Underground MRT....They even have "LCD screen" on the glass wall of the protective barrier to the tunnel. Its turn up to be a cool projectile screen beamed from the other end of the tunnel...cool.....I was even suprise wth the distance of the underground tunnel itself! covering 24KM from Hualampong up to Catuchak! This is longer than Singapore MRT system if I'm not mistaken.... shocking.gif

Did u enter the toilet at Siam Discovery?...damn cool & so clean making all the toilets in KL to a shame!

On the pricing of the food, BKK has one of the most reasonable pricing compare wth Phuket/Krabi or even the cut throat Hatyai! However the price is almost similar to KL duh...even on the garments/t-shirts & etc....I still cannot believe Mat Salleh always say Thailand pricing is much cheaper than Malaysia hmm.gif hmm.gif

126 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:20 PM