Any recomended place to go and food to eat in bangkok.(a must) I will go bangkok May 9-11. Is bangkok safe...... I stay in Asia Hotel. This is the 1st time i go bangkok. Any tips or advise.
Travel Bangkok, Interesting places?
Apr 13 2007, 08:40 PM
128 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Any recomended place to go and food to eat in bangkok.(a must) I will go bangkok May 9-11. Is bangkok safe...... I stay in Asia Hotel. This is the 1st time i go bangkok. Any tips or advise.
Apr 13 2007, 11:19 PM
3,542 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong, Selangor |
QUOTE(lhscindy @ Apr 13 2007, 08:40 PM) Any recomended place to go and food to eat in bangkok.(a must) I will go bangkok May 9-11. Is bangkok safe...... I stay in Asia Hotel. This is the 1st time i go bangkok. Any tips or advise. Wow that's the best located hotel in Bkk! For me I normally try those in food courts either at Siam Paragon, MBK or Tesco FC. At MBK, u can try the food court shark fin for only 150bath comes wth rice....cheap & much-much better than those cut throat outlets in Hatyai! U can get the same sharkfin at Yaowarat road chinese restaurant (Chinatown)...Food at Food court start from 35Bath up to 70bath...wth the exception of the sharkfin-lah... U can try also the Gigantic Sum Luan park Food court/beer garden but a little pricy as food started at 50bath & above....One thing for sure...their food are much-much tastier than Malaysia! I hv tasted most of their fried rice & everytime order, its taste so nice at diff outlets....probably better than most of Penang food! |
Apr 14 2007, 12:29 AM
165 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: penang |
sukhumvit at soy 5 ..u can stay at everrich hotel..not that exclusive but really worth the pleasure at a rate about MYR160
near to LRT ( i forgot what they call it in BKK), besides got nice indian food, around also got convenience shops+all you need facilities. during nite time, just lepak2 in front the hotel just enuff..all 'ladies' will walk by even can recognize they are the same ppl just pass-by a few time to 'carik makan'.. reallyyyy niceeee placeee |
Apr 16 2007, 05:33 PM
1,268 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
hm now i m choosing between this two hotel : Ambassador and Asia hotel
From guest's review Ambassador seems old and un-clean for their rooms, but is abit cheaper, plus the deal i got is at tower wing, which suppose to be a newer wing. While for asia hotel, the only good thing is that a train station is right infront of the hotel, and is 10 min walk to siam centre/square. So, which should i choose? any recommendation ? |
Apr 17 2007, 11:16 AM
6,249 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Ambassador is an okay hotel.
I wouldn't say it is old, unclean and run-down. Stayed there before I would say the quality would be more or less like Armada Hotel in PJ. Its location is good if you wanna travel around. BTS station is nearby. Shopping heavens like MBK and Discovery are nearby. The street market nearby is also lively. There is also a 24-hour grocer nearby. |
Apr 17 2007, 03:26 PM
397 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Oh by the way, if you guys are going on free & easy, there is a hotel reservation website which offers discounts.
http://www.precisionreservations.com Here are some other sites which I use to read the reviews : 1. http://www.asiarooms.com 2. http://www.tripadvisor.com |
Apr 17 2007, 06:39 PM
397 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Hi all, here are some pics of my recent trip to Bangkok. To view more, please visit this link ... http://www.flickr.com/photos/jasonloots.
Hope you all enjoy Attached thumbnail(s) |
Apr 23 2007, 09:50 AM
5,784 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Shah Alam |
Btw, me goin off to bangkok on 2June. Stayin at JS tower service apartment, 700Baht a nite...
Apr 23 2007, 09:56 AM
112 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
kucingfight,
I will be going on the week after u Is JS tower service apartment good ? U have stayed that b4 ? How far izit from the MRT Station ? I'm still in the midst of looking at which is convenient to me. Hope that you can help |
Apr 23 2007, 10:27 AM
Hi Ravenz,
it's my 2nd trip to bangkok after 10years I've asked sunbeams, and it's within walking distance to BTS . That was my main concern . It's located at Sumkhuvit , along the BTS rail line. |
Apr 23 2007, 12:53 PM
112 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
kucingfight,
I just went to search for a map in sukhumvit and found this. JS Tower looks far though and also a way off from the On Nut Station. |
Apr 23 2007, 02:22 PM
1,268 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i m goin on this sunday, planning my journey now...
29 Apr Sun Chatucak market - morning Suan lum night market 30 Apr Mon Robinsons / Central world - looking for suit (But i still dunno how to go MBK 1st May Tue Chinatown wat do u guys think? I m thinking of adding Grand Palace, anywhere else that is worth visit other than shopping complex? I m staying in ambassador....along sukhumvit also |
Apr 23 2007, 04:25 PM
518 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Seremban |
Hi guys,
need to know the night market in BKK that sells dessert. saw it on TV a few times but didn't catch the name. it looks like our pasar malam. anyone with info - name and location please....thanks. |
Apr 23 2007, 07:48 PM
98 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Hey guys, quick question...
How far is, Emerald Hotel 99/1 Ratchadapisek Road, Din Daeng ,Bangkok,Thailand Location: Ratchadaphisek http://www.hotels2thailand.com/thailand-ho...-map.asp?id=168 http://www.emeraldhotel.com/MAP_large.htm to Pratunam. Let say Baiyoke Tower. |
Apr 23 2007, 08:28 PM
736 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(kucingfight @ Apr 23 2007, 09:50 AM) Btw, me goin off to bangkok on 2June. Stayin at JS tower service apartment, 700Baht a nite... hey kucing, i'll be also in there this coming 2nd june. will be staying near nana bts station.lets have some drinks there if time allowed, btw which time of flight r u taking??? also just found out that my colleagues in other branch travelling there on 1st june. damn! everyone is travelling to bkk, makes bkk even more sesak!!! |
Apr 23 2007, 09:25 PM
1,575 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Singapore, Chicago, Appleton WI, Bangkok, KL |
QUOTE(ChocolateChipCookies @ Apr 23 2007, 07:48 PM) Hey guys, quick question... far..not walkable. you might have to take a MRTA to Petchburi and then take a cab west on Petchburi road towards Pratunam.How far is, Emerald Hotel 99/1 Ratchadapisek Road, Din Daeng ,Bangkok,Thailand Location: Ratchadaphisek http://www.hotels2thailand.com/thailand-ho...-map.asp?id=168 http://www.emeraldhotel.com/MAP_large.htm to Pratunam. Let say Baiyoke Tower. |
Apr 23 2007, 09:44 PM
0 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Apr 24 2007, 08:59 AM
QUOTE(wk_wong @ Apr 23 2007, 08:28 PM) hey kucing, i'll be also in there this coming 2nd june. will be staying near nana bts station. me taking the 1.40pm flight as it was the cheapest tat time. Btw any ideas how near is JS tower apartments from any BTS station? lets have some drinks there if time allowed, btw which time of flight r u taking??? also just found out that my colleagues in other branch travelling there on 1st june. damn! everyone is travelling to bkk, makes bkk even more sesak!!! |
Apr 24 2007, 07:34 PM
736 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(kucingfight @ Apr 24 2007, 08:59 AM) me taking the 1.40pm flight as it was the cheapest tat time. Btw any ideas how near is JS tower apartments from any BTS station? nearest is on nut station, but dunno how far from if from station and the place u stay, try mail the JS tower ppl and ask them how far is the walking distance, then u can roughly know how far izit. |
Apr 24 2007, 07:59 PM
0 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
I went to BKK on Jan 2007. Just some sharing on my trip
22-Jan to 26-Jan Bangkok Trip THURS(Day 1) 1930 Arrival to Bkk Take a meter taxi to Baiyoke Sky Hotel (Remember to take a BKK map, take the escalator to departure(ground floor) level. There are taxis outside. Must be meter taxi. 450 baht include airport surcharge. There were 4 of us. So, each ab 110 baht) 2130 Walk around Baiyoke market FRI(Day 2) 0600 Breakfast Buffet provided at hotel. 0700 Bobae Market (Nice BBQ Sotong and Chicken Rice this is a wholesale market after 10am. Very cheap goods. 35 baht for a babyT! 1500 MBK, Siam Square, Siam Paragon(May take BTS to National Stadium station, walk till Chit Lom station. Took taxi back to hotel.) After that Pratunam Market SAT(Day 3) 0530 Breakfast Buffet provided at hotel. 0700 Chatuchak Market (Took BTS to Mochit Station (N8) 9 minutes will arrive. Take exit 1 and walk straight 100m to Chatuchak Park on your right.) Best shopping place!!! But really dam hot inside here... 1700 Back to hotel. 1900 Thai Traditional Massage (2 hours... So enjoyed.. 2100 Suan Lum Night Bazaar (Took a taxi there, about 11baht per person) ![]() SUN(Day 4) 0600 Breakfast Buffet provided at hotel. 0700 Chao Phraya River (Wat Arun, Grand Palace) ![]() ![]() Took BTS to Saphan Taksin Station (Silom Line, S6) 14 minutes.Bought a One day River Pass (100baht per person) at BTS Tourist Info Center. Remember to take the ChaoPhraya Travel Guidebook from ticket seller. Dun ever trust on those extra "warm-hearted" ppl.. They might tell you the boat not operating on weekends or bla bla bla.. I met with these ppl, luckily got all the warnings from LYN members before. 1900 Khao San Road (Took a taxi there. ab 17baht per person) ![]() MON(Day 5) 0400 Airport (took a taxi provided by hotel. Only 400 baht although it's midnight time Bye bye BKK! This post has been edited by fionafaye: Apr 24 2007, 10:06 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0200sec
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:02 PM |