Travel Bangkok, Interesting places?

cokee
post May 23 2007, 05:39 PM

anyone can tell me Suan Lum Night market still open or not?
cokee
post May 24 2007, 09:59 AM

QUOTE(lisa21 @ May 24 2007, 09:45 AM)
the last time i went, jan07, it is still opened...
I was there last Jan 07 also, but I heard it will be closed down end April, the latest by May.....

Hope anyone who is there now can tell me whether it is still open or not?
cokee
post May 24 2007, 04:46 PM

QUOTE(adad @ May 24 2007, 03:29 PM)
Just passed by it lunch time today, looks like there's lots of signs up saying that it will be closed but the truth is it will stay open for some time, until the court ruling says otherwise [it will be a long and painful fight], and of course, an 'accident' big fire in the near future will make the decision much faster for the land owner/court.
like that not so good wor.....but I hope when I am there, still open la, a nice place to go at night ma....

anyway any suggestions for me to feel the real Thai life ah? I went to BKK for many times already, now trying to go those non-tourist spots to feel the real life...... wink.gif

This post has been edited by cokee: May 24 2007, 04:48 PM
cokee
post May 24 2007, 05:45 PM

QUOTE(adad @ May 24 2007, 05:35 PM)
if I were you, and want to see the real thailand, i'll go upcountry [i.e. out of bangkok]. And not to the islands nor Chiang Mai either. Northeast perhaps? Eastern provinces? Ayutthaya/Sukhothai maybe?
a lot of places I never heard before, thanks a lot for the tips, this time I will only go Bangkok, want to fully explored Bangkok then only go up north...... thumbup.gif
cokee
post May 25 2007, 12:54 PM

QUOTE(adad @ May 24 2007, 06:10 PM)
if you want to be based in Bangkok, two things you can do:

1. Siam Niramit show is in Ratchada road, across from Robinsons. Check out www.siamniramit.com - it's live stage show - think real elephants on stage and rain/thunderstorm on stage - a lot of Thais want to see it to get in touch with their own culture/history. But it's not cheap.
2. Muang Boran/Ancient City is a day trip from Bangkok - most tour operators can hook you up. This place is huge and can only be covered in a car/van. http://www.ancientcity.com/muangboran/index.htm It's a bit like covering all of thailand in one day !
Cover Thailand in one day, wow, got enough time, very interesting places.....tongue.gif Thanks!
cokee
post May 29 2007, 10:26 AM

QUOTE(kucingfight @ May 29 2007, 09:42 AM)

b) the MBK shopping complex, is it in the same area as Siam Square/Siam centre which is accessible thru Siam Station rite? Coz from the different replies i got, it is accessible thru National Stadium?
I only can help u with this q, MBK is just opposite Siam Square/Siam Discovery Centre. It is also accesible thru National Stadium, cos there are 2 station which is very near to each other. Central Siam Station is a main interchange of all the lines, u can go to Siam Square/Siam Center from that station. You can refer to the link below and get a clearer picture.

You can walk to MBK from Siam Square, just cross the road only, or u can take the train if u are lazy to walk, there is an exist to MBK once u get out from the train.......

BTS or MRT there are way more convenient than any public transport in KL tongue.gif Don't worry......enjoy ur holidays there biggrin.gif

BTS Map in Bangkok
cokee
post May 31 2007, 09:28 AM

QUOTE(jthm @ May 30 2007, 11:03 AM)
ok, i've been looking at reviews of hotels and hostels for a almost a month already....but still haven't decided on which one, it's difficult, because the reviews are all mixed (good and bad)

please help me decide, budget is about 1000 Baht per night for a couple, staying for 4D3N, i've been looking at sukhumvit area (is this a nice area to stay??) we're planning to go see those touristy places, wat pho, grand palace, chatuchak mkt....all that. another would be close to bts/metro station, food around the hotel, massage....anything fun and cheap.  thumbup.gif

recommended hotels/hostels?? anyone?
Bangkok Central Hotel, which is very near to China Town, not even 5 mins walk to the MRT station, it is just in front of the hotel, and also very near to the Railway Station. If u book online, the price is about 1000-1200 baht or lower for a double room. Very convenient hotel but don't expect too much from that price range....smile.gif
cokee
post Jul 15 2008, 02:26 PM

QUOTE(washabushi @ Jul 14 2008, 10:40 AM)
actually i read all already...
but making me more confuse...
arkk
i see, since u are staying over the weekend, the must go place is the ChatuchaK Market, lots of shopping and food there.
you can also plan for some out of Bangkok trip, eg floating market, River Kwai, Ayuthaya, tiger temple.....etc
A lot of nice mall around Bangkok for shopping and food, Central World, Paragon, Siam Center, MBK. China town is good for food at night, Khaosan is backpacker's paradise.....Transportation there is easy, even cab is cheap if you want to travel far, but with condition no traffic jam, overall a nice place to visit and weather should be good during Oct, enjoy your holidays! tongue.gif
cokee
post Aug 11 2008, 09:09 AM

QUOTE(c26 @ Aug 10 2008, 01:48 AM)
I'll stay in menam riverside hotel on 22nd August.
Anyone know where can find a good thai massage in bangkok city and what is thr price there? tongue.gif
http://www.healthlandspa.com/spamenu.html

Quite reasonable price and good service, enjoy! thumbup.gif
cokee
post Sep 24 2008, 01:08 PM

QUOTE(yewlin @ Sep 21 2008, 08:42 PM)

any recomended hotel which is near MRT station as well ah?
Bangkok Centre Hotel - Hua Lamphong MRT

Added on September 24, 2008, 1:10 pm
QUOTE(jasz_24 @ Sep 22 2008, 11:42 PM)
how's the weather thr? hot?
Weather - Rainy days almost everyday especially afternoon

Added on September 24, 2008, 1:15 pm
QUOTE(hellokitty82 @ Sep 23 2008, 11:38 AM)
i found my room...i booked first house hotel...
just share share our info here mah....
so everyone can benefit each other....this is what forum use for... smile.gif
this one not bad but got to book very early - http://www.baansaladaeng.com/index.php?p=do_booking

This post has been edited by cokee: Sep 24 2008, 01:15 PM

0.0498sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:22 AM