126 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Travel Bangkok, Interesting places?

Coconut
post May 5 2007, 03:23 AM

1,268 posts

ah...looks like i kena con for taking those private boats at chao phraya...i paid 900 baht for 2 person...sad.gif

Chen Bee Hansern
post May 5 2007, 03:31 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(Coconut @ May 5 2007, 02:23 AM)
ah...looks like i kena con for taking those private boats at chao phraya...i paid 900 baht for 2 person...sad.gif
I not sure abt truth bec i not from BKK.....wat i heard last time whn my parent took the big boat in Chao Praya for hour or two also similar price if not mistken bec they brought along foreginer........ many places in thai ...price for entry for foreigner and local ppl is much different....... they will charge very high if u r foreigner ......
stimix
post May 5 2007, 11:31 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Coconut @ May 5 2007, 03:23 AM)
U din get con-lah...Wat u did is u r taking the smaller private boat to smaller klongs which are restricted to those smaller boat...and their price is around that...the more ppl u can get the cheaper is th eprice /boat...
Coconut
post May 7 2007, 12:06 AM

1,268 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ May 5 2007, 11:31 PM)
U din get con-lah...Wat u did is u r taking the smaller private boat to smaller klongs which are restricted to those smaller boat...and their price is around that...the more ppl u can get the cheaper is th eprice /boat...
well, quite agree also, two of us only on the long boat biggrin.gif but at least i bargain for it, intially is 900 baht for 1 person and i bargain till 900 baht for 2 person biggrin.gif
bhau
post May 8 2007, 12:38 PM

30 posts

hi i went to bangkok on march this year not a vacation but a business trip.So i don't have time to travel in bangkok except HRC and Chao pharaya river.I stayed at Asia hotel.This hotel is near to MBK,siam center...u can just walk from asia hotel around 5 mins.Hotel price is around 2400 bath for 2 day 1 night(3 star).Bangkok is a crowded place...and there is many foreigner there.But if you are malaysian ...there is no a different with thai.

(Coconut @ May 5 2007, 02:23 AM)

i only pay 600 baht for 2 person... biggrin.gif

chao phraya river

for me if u are muslim its difficult to find any halal restaurant there.
u can use taxi to travel but use only meter taxi or tut tut biggrin.gif

Chen Bee Hansern
post May 9 2007, 06:30 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(bhau @ May 8 2007, 11:38 AM)
hi i went to bangkok on march this year not a vacation but a business trip.So i don't have time to travel in bangkok except HRC and Chao pharaya river.I stayed at Asia hotel.This hotel is near to MBK,siam center...u can just walk from asia hotel around 5 mins.Hotel price is around 2400 bath for 2 day 1 night(3 star).Bangkok is a crowded place...and there is many foreigner there.But if you are malaysian ...there is no a different with thai.
i only pay 600 baht for 2 person... biggrin.gif

for me if u are muslim its difficult to find any halal restaurant there.
u can use taxi to travel but use only meter taxi or tut tut  biggrin.gif
Im glad u happy....hope thailand has a chance to welcome you again.....have you tried any Thai food in Bangkok?
stimix
post May 9 2007, 12:47 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(bhau @ May 9 2007, 12:24 PM)
yup i hope so...perhaps for the next visit,i can spend more time in bangkok biggrin.gif
no,i do love thai food but i'm worried its halal or not hmm.gif
There are probably numerous muslim restaurants in BKK, infact there are numerous mosques there too...I was a bit suprise to see mosques around BKK! biggrin.gif those restaurants probably located near the mosques. ...But for sure it is a littlebit hard to find Tom yum in BKK or even elsewhere in Thailand...Hmnn hmm.gif wondering why?? Infact Tom yum is much more easily available in malaysia!

This post has been edited by stimix: May 9 2007, 12:48 PM
TSwk_wong
post May 9 2007, 05:58 PM

Harapan Baru Untuk Malaysia
736 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ May 9 2007, 12:47 PM)
But for sure it is a littlebit hard to find Tom yum in BKK or even elsewhere in Thailand...Hmnn hmm.gif wondering why?? Infact Tom yum is much more easily available in malaysia!
but no prob if u going to restaurant (both aircond & no air cond) or shop that serve thai food rite?
even can also found in road side stall that doing 'tai chow'/'big fried' style.

cokee
post May 23 2007, 05:39 PM

anyone can tell me Suan Lum Night market still open or not?
lisa21
post May 24 2007, 09:45 AM

the last time i went, jan07, it is still opened...
cokee
post May 24 2007, 09:59 AM

QUOTE(lisa21 @ May 24 2007, 09:45 AM)
the last time i went, jan07, it is still opened...
I was there last Jan 07 also, but I heard it will be closed down end April, the latest by May.....

Hope anyone who is there now can tell me whether it is still open or not?
adad
post May 24 2007, 03:29 PM

387 posts

Just passed by it lunch time today, looks like there's lots of signs up saying that it will be closed but the truth is it will stay open for some time, until the court ruling says otherwise [it will be a long and painful fight], and of course, an 'accident' big fire in the near future will make the decision much faster for the land owner/court.
cokee
post May 24 2007, 04:46 PM

QUOTE(adad @ May 24 2007, 03:29 PM)
Just passed by it lunch time today, looks like there's lots of signs up saying that it will be closed but the truth is it will stay open for some time, until the court ruling says otherwise [it will be a long and painful fight], and of course, an 'accident' big fire in the near future will make the decision much faster for the land owner/court.
like that not so good wor.....but I hope when I am there, still open la, a nice place to go at night ma....

anyway any suggestions for me to feel the real Thai life ah? I went to BKK for many times already, now trying to go those non-tourist spots to feel the real life...... wink.gif

This post has been edited by cokee: May 24 2007, 04:48 PM
kucingfight
post May 24 2007, 05:22 PM

5,784 posts

owww cant wait for my trip in a week's time. Haven plan out any activities to do there yet. any ideas for a 4D/3N - Sat to tues
adad
post May 24 2007, 05:35 PM

387 posts

if I were you, and want to see the real thailand, i'll go upcountry [i.e. out of bangkok]. And not to the islands nor Chiang Mai either. Northeast perhaps? Eastern provinces? Ayutthaya/Sukhothai maybe?

I personally love the simplicity and true hospitality of the Northeastern folks but some might argue that's not real Thailand - more Laos/Khmer influence. But boy are they fun people.

The Northerners are very hospitable too, and of course the Lanna culture is great to experience as well.

South Thailand is has more Malay-influence so it should be familiar to you.

'Real' Thai culture resides in the central region - between Ayutthaya and Bangkok.

One other thing you should try [if you have not already] is to go for the Siam Niramit show - it's technically a tourist attraction, but spectacular.

Or simply walk into a cinema, watch a Thai movie like a local [but make sure you ask for the subtitled screens].

Or go have seafood at BangkhunThien like a local, or if you're more adventurous, Singburi for its famous river prawns along chao phraya [more like lobsters].

Or go to Hua Hin for a sea side detour - or really go local and land up in Cha-am [they're close to one another]. Or Ko Samet like the Bangkokians.
Or Bang Saen if you're near the Pattaya/Chonburi side.

Take a tour to Muang Boran/Ancient City in Samut Prakan - really nice and quiet tour if the weather's not too hot.

Many more things to do, cannot list them all ...

cokee
post May 24 2007, 05:45 PM

QUOTE(adad @ May 24 2007, 05:35 PM)
if I were you, and want to see the real thailand, i'll go upcountry [i.e. out of bangkok]. And not to the islands nor Chiang Mai either. Northeast perhaps? Eastern provinces? Ayutthaya/Sukhothai maybe?
a lot of places I never heard before, thanks a lot for the tips, this time I will only go Bangkok, want to fully explored Bangkok then only go up north...... thumbup.gif
adad
post May 24 2007, 06:10 PM

387 posts

if you want to be based in Bangkok, two things you can do:

1. Siam Niramit show is in Ratchada road, across from Robinsons. Check out www.siamniramit.com - it's live stage show - think real elephants on stage and rain/thunderstorm on stage - a lot of Thais want to see it to get in touch with their own culture/history. But it's not cheap.
2. Muang Boran/Ancient City is a day trip from Bangkok - most tour operators can hook you up. This place is huge and can only be covered in a car/van. http://www.ancientcity.com/muangboran/index.htm It's a bit like covering all of thailand in one day !

cokee
post May 25 2007, 12:54 PM

QUOTE(adad @ May 24 2007, 06:10 PM)
if you want to be based in Bangkok, two things you can do:

1. Siam Niramit show is in Ratchada road, across from Robinsons. Check out www.siamniramit.com - it's live stage show - think real elephants on stage and rain/thunderstorm on stage - a lot of Thais want to see it to get in touch with their own culture/history. But it's not cheap.
2. Muang Boran/Ancient City is a day trip from Bangkok - most tour operators can hook you up. This place is huge and can only be covered in a car/van. http://www.ancientcity.com/muangboran/index.htm It's a bit like covering all of thailand in one day !
Cover Thailand in one day, wow, got enough time, very interesting places.....tongue.gif Thanks!
kucingfight
post May 29 2007, 09:42 AM

5,784 posts

Cant wait for my trip this sat. I've got some queries ( i've gone thru this whole thread)

a)I'm staying at JS tower,

I assume the nearest station would be On-Nut rite? Also, isit cheaper to take a cab from airport directly to the hotel or should i take a cab to any of the BTS station and take the train to On Nut station? (assuming, it's within walking distance, from the map at least)

b) the MBK shopping complex, is it in the same area as Siam Square/Siam centre which is accessible thru Siam Station rite? Coz from the different replies i got, it is accessible thru National Stadium?

c) about pattaya, how far isit actually from my hotel place?

Appreciate ur help.

This post has been edited by kucingfight: May 29 2007, 09:43 AM
cokee
post May 29 2007, 10:26 AM

QUOTE(kucingfight @ May 29 2007, 09:42 AM)

b) the MBK shopping complex, is it in the same area as Siam Square/Siam centre which is accessible thru Siam Station rite? Coz from the different replies i got, it is accessible thru National Stadium?
I only can help u with this q, MBK is just opposite Siam Square/Siam Discovery Centre. It is also accesible thru National Stadium, cos there are 2 station which is very near to each other. Central Siam Station is a main interchange of all the lines, u can go to Siam Square/Siam Center from that station. You can refer to the link below and get a clearer picture.

You can walk to MBK from Siam Square, just cross the road only, or u can take the train if u are lazy to walk, there is an exist to MBK once u get out from the train.......

BTS or MRT there are way more convenient than any public transport in KL tongue.gif Don't worry......enjoy ur holidays there biggrin.gif

BTS Map in Bangkok

126 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0319sec    1.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:07 AM