Travel Bangkok, Interesting places?

jthm
post May 30 2007, 11:03 AM

33 posts

ok, i've been looking at reviews of hotels and hostels for a almost a month already....but still haven't decided on which one, it's difficult, because the reviews are all mixed (good and bad)

please help me decide, budget is about 1000 Baht per night for a couple, staying for 4D3N, i've been looking at sukhumvit area (is this a nice area to stay??) we're planning to go see those touristy places, wat pho, grand palace, chatuchak mkt....all that. another would be close to bts/metro station, food around the hotel, massage....anything fun and cheap. thumbup.gif

recommended hotels/hostels?? anyone?

This post has been edited by jthm: May 30 2007, 11:06 AM
jthm
post Jun 1 2007, 12:14 AM

33 posts

http://www.asiarooms.com/hotelImages/Thail...it/map/map.jpeg

would this be a nice place to stay? price, location ok??

for 4D3N, it's USD$87 for a standard room on www.asiarooms.com

anyone stayed here before?

This post has been edited by jthm: Jun 1 2007, 12:16 AM
jthm
post Jun 1 2007, 10:10 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(adad @ May 31 2007, 10:47 PM)
That's a nice price, considering where you'll be staying. Soi 4 is not a super long soi anyway so walk should not be difficult. Especially with all the 'distractions' along the way.

You're in prime red light district !

Upside is areas like these are always pumping with life [food, shops etc], pardon the pun.

And to all who are coming to BKK in the next few days, things seem pretty normal and safe at the moment. And the weather has gotten better [been raining everyday last week] - hope it stays this way.
QUOTE(wk_wong @ Jun 1 2007, 04:40 AM)
i think dun wait too long, later not much choice, i think the hotel u mention is quite famous smile.gif
ok. thumbup.gif will just book it earlier. besides that...i know i'm fickle minded and all, aren't all girls the same. hehe. ok, i wonder why the reviews are so different on the websites, makes it hard to decide if i'm picking the right hotel. sweat.gif some ppl reviewed it as not worth the price paid, and some said good for budget travellers, others have mentioned that it's too far to walk, some said it's ok...it's about 10 mins walk to Nana BTS?? yes or no?

as for being in the red light district...the whole sukhumvit rd is the red light district, right? so doesn't matter where on the rd, there's bound to be some 'red lights'. but when you say prime...does that mean there's more around this hotel....upper sukhumvit then further down the rd (soi 20+)?

i think there's also complimentary tuk tuk rides to the main rd from the hotel. if not, walks are good too.

This post has been edited by jthm: Jun 2 2007, 01:16 AM

0.0164sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:24 AM