Travel Bangkok, Interesting places?

panda-man
post Jan 15 2010, 11:52 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 15 2010, 11:25 AM)
Pretty safe-lah..The closest point to the conflict area is Hatyai. Otherwise, the train bypass the 3 restless Southern states of Narathiwat, Yala & Pattani. Songkla where Hatyai is the biz hub, not really affected except 1 occasion few yrs ago.

Satun province North of Perlis/Kedah & where the train passing thru after Hatyai is not affected at all bcos historically, Satun was not under pattani govt but more related to Kedah/Perlis govt that hv gave up Satun after 1909. Those 4 provinces are part of the ancient Pattani Malay Govt that also incude Kelantan & Trengganu b4 1909 and thus these Pattani ppl are the one fighting for their long lost land after the signing of agreement between british & Thais..

BTW...I'm taking abit of risk this coming CNY by driving from Taiping to Betong at Yala province to visit PKM camps.. blush.gif  biggrin.gif , Thereafter probably turn back drive to Pdg Besar to Satun & maybe Hatyai, avoiding the scary bombing road after Betong towards Yala  shocking.gif
oh ok so then its not so bad lah. i thought there was some conflicts at the border no? or maybe im mistaking it with some other country doh.gif. i been doing research lately about the seperatist movement down there esp yala. because might visit some sites there for work shocking.gif so scary. hahaha.
DrezzUp
post Jan 15 2010, 11:56 AM

41 posts

[quote=stimix,Jan 15 2010, 12:25 PM]
Pretty safe-lah..The closest point to the conflict area is Hatyai. Otherwise, the train bypass the 3 restless Southern states of Narathiwat, Yala & Pattani. Songkla where Hatyai is the biz hub, not really affected except 1 occasion few yrs ago.

Satun province North of Perlis/Kedah & where the train passing thru after Hatyai is not affected at all bcos historically, Satun was not under pattani govt but more related to Kedah/Perlis govt that hv gave up Satun after 1909. Those 4 provinces are part of the ancient Pattani Malay Govt that also incude Kelantan & Trengganu b4 1909 and thus these Pattani ppl are the one fighting for their long lost land after the signing of agreement between british & Thais..

BTW...I'm taking abit of risk this coming CNY by driving from Taiping to Betong at Yala province to visit PKM camps.. blush.gif biggrin.gif , Thereafter probably turn back drive to Pdg Besar to Satun & maybe Hatyai, avoiding the scary bombing road after Betong towards Yala shocking.gif

[/quote

I will be in Hatyai too during CNY. And FYI, is so hard to get the hotels. Most hotels are fully booked from FEb 14 - 20 and the price are sky high too. Managed to get a cheap cheap guest house @ 380THB...phew~!
stimix
post Jan 15 2010, 12:01 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Ehh Actualoly beside Betong which is just 10km from Pengkalan Hulu, Perak, the Northern road towards Betong is actually pretty dangerous. Yeah those Southern Thai states of Yala, Patani (North of Yala & beside Songkla), & Naratiwat North of kelantan are still dangerous...bombing almost weekly!

What I mean is the train does not passby those restlest states so still OK..but it is still not recommended traveling to those areas North of Perak & kelantan. North of Perlis/Kedah OK..bcos it's Satun state which is not part of Patani Govt & never before part of it...unless Kedah Govt wanna fight for them biggrin.gif

QUOTE(panda-man @ Jan 15 2010, 11:52 AM)
oh ok so then its not so bad lah. i thought there was some conflicts at the border no? or maybe im mistaking it with some other country doh.gif. i been doing research lately about the seperatist movement down there esp yala. because might visit some sites there for work shocking.gif so scary. hahaha.
panda-man
post Jan 15 2010, 04:09 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 15 2010, 12:01 PM)
Ehh Actualoly beside Betong which is just 10km from Pengkalan Hulu, Perak, the Northern road towards Betong is actually pretty dangerous. Yeah those Southern Thai states of Yala, Patani (North of Yala & beside Songkla), & Naratiwat North of kelantan are still dangerous...bombing almost weekly!

What I mean is the train does not passby those restlest states so still OK..but it is still not recommended traveling to those areas North of Perak & kelantan. North of Perlis/Kedah OK..bcos it's Satun state which is not part of Patani Govt & never before part of it...unless Kedah Govt wanna fight for them  biggrin.gif
you never know. the people in malaysia very rowdy these days. hehe.

oops i think we OT so long already. better get back to BKK. hehe. this time i gotta get that BTS prepaid ticket thing lah.
porkchop
post Jan 18 2010, 12:28 AM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

how to get to chinatown from around centralworld?? i stay around there...
happy4ever
post Jan 18 2010, 12:49 AM

(✿◠‿◠) Queen of Love ⎝⏠⏝⏠⎠
7,194 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Jan 18 2010, 12:28 AM)
take BTS from SIAM and alight to National Stadium (dark green) then take tuktuk for 80baht (if you know how to bargain, else its standard 100baht)

Or, go to Sala Deng and switch to Monorail and alight at the last station, Hua Lamphong. Chinatown (Yaowarat Road) is just abt 10min walk. Near the round about. Can take tuktuk for 50baht (or more).

Some say got free shuttle bus from HuaLamphong, but when I ask around, nobody seems to know rclxub.gif

Map for reference:

This post has been edited by happy4ever: Jan 18 2010, 12:50 AM
DrezzUp
post Jan 18 2010, 01:32 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Jan 18 2010, 01:28 AM)
From Central World, take BTS n(SIAM Station) to Sala Daeng station then walk to the Si Lom MRTA Station Sukhumvit then take d MRTA direct to Hua Lam Phong station walk out from this station & take d shuttle service...see below picture,There are many exit, make sure you go to the right exit to Chinatown.Ask the workers in the MRTA station for assistance.

And here they went round the chinatown

All the abv pictures were taken last year end of July. Well, travellers do check it out whether the service is still available or not.

happy4ever
post Jan 18 2010, 03:02 AM

7,194 posts

QUOTE(DrezzUp @ Jan 18 2010, 01:32 AM)
From Central World, take BTS n(SIAM Station) to Sala Daeng station then walk to the Si Lom MRTA Station Sukhumvit then take d MRTA direct to Hua Lam Phong station walk out from this station & take d shuttle service...see below picture,There are many exit, make sure you go to the right exit to Chinatown.Ask the workers in the MRTA station for assistance.
And here they went round the chinatown

All the abv pictures were taken last year end of July. Well, travellers do check it out whether the service is still available or not.
doh.gif waffak!!!

I wented there and asked few people there, including the train station officers, NONE of them knew about this....

adoi!!! bad luck liao
DrezzUp
post Jan 18 2010, 10:57 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(happy4ever @ Jan 18 2010, 04:02 AM)
doh.gif waffak!!!

I wented there and asked few people there, including the train station officers, NONE of them knew about this....

adoi!!! bad luck liao
Hi Happy,

U got to get out first from the MRTA station. The shuttle is not at the MRTA station. Once u get out, u walk towards to Chinatown route. I think u will pass by some traffic light, a river & bridge. It is immediately after that and u will see a chinese pondok there. I dunno whether this service still available or not. So anyone travelling there - pls check it out let us know. I will only head there again mid of tis year!
stimix
post Jan 18 2010, 11:15 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I think if the free service no more there, the nxt easiest & not so tiring way walking few KM to Chiantown from Hualampong will be via the water taxi at the end of Skytrain line at Silom...
happy4ever
post Jan 18 2010, 02:06 PM

7,194 posts

QUOTE(DrezzUp @ Jan 18 2010, 10:57 AM)
Hi Happy,

U got to get out first from the MRTA station. The shuttle is not at the MRTA station. Once u get out, u walk towards to Chinatown route. I think u will pass by some traffic light, a river & bridge. It is immediately after that and u will see a chinese pondok there. I dunno whether this service still available or not. So anyone travelling there - pls check it out let us know. I will only head there again mid of tis year!
It is so obscure liao..no sign boards nothing. sad.gif Later in the year i go and find out got or not. Save the pic in my phone and show to the thai ppl. tongue.gif

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 18 2010, 11:15 AM)
I think if the free service no more there, the nxt easiest & not so tiring way walking few KM to Chiantown from Hualampong will be via the water taxi at the end of Skytrain line at Silom...
water taxi is cheap. Took it in 2006 when my hotel was in ramkamheng, and took it all the way to Siam Central, and can go further up to near the temple (For got where...) 2baht per trip liao

and this was kinda nice. Though their food not soo good now. But last month they added new stuffs/new menu.. rclxms.gif

Yum Saap!

My fav dishes... But their tomyam is just tomyam paste in plain soup...so not so nice oledi.

This post has been edited by happy4ever: Jan 18 2010, 02:07 PM
lezl
post Jan 20 2010, 03:59 AM

Here allow to find travel kaki / partner?
i suppose to go Bangkok with my friend @ 22/2 - 25/2
but unfortunately my friend cannot join at the last time...
and i already bought the flight ticket since last year...

now i am alone, thinking want to go anot... and i afraid bcs i never visit to Bangkok before.... thinking that mind not safe if i go alone...
so anyone here travel within this period also? maybe we can walk/ hang/ shop together? we can share transportation fees together and hotel maybe..... I am from KL, female and Chinese =)

if dont hv anyone join me, i might cancel my trip, then my ticket fees gone... flight ticket cost was abt RM 350 =(

pm me if someone is going too, male / female also welcome =)
panda-man
post Jan 20 2010, 09:18 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(lezl @ Jan 20 2010, 03:59 AM)

now i am alone, thinking want to go anot... and i afraid bcs i never visit to Bangkok before.... thinking that mind not safe if i go alone...
so anyone here travel within this period also? maybe we can walk/ hang/ shop together? we can share transportation fees together and hotel maybe..... I am from KL, female and Chinese  =)

if dont hv anyone join me, i might cancel my trip, then my ticket fees gone... flight ticket cost was abt RM 350 =(

@lezl - good luck. except maybe you dun wanna share hotel room. you never know who you might be staying with be careful. my mom would love to go ph34r.gif lol. but i dun think you wanna hang out with here. hahaha.

@everyone - i went to this cool german beer factory in bkk yesterday. quite fun. got a real band that sing all kinds of stuff. and everyone dances at their tables. quite fun leh. i highly recommend people to go. the place is called the 'Tawandang German Brewery' i will post pics/video later.

lms2005
post Jan 20 2010, 10:50 AM

1,270 posts

QUOTE(lezl @ Jan 20 2010, 03:59 AM)

so anyone here travel within this period also? maybe we can walk/ hang/ shop together? we can share transportation fees together and hotel maybe..... I am from KL, female and Chinese  =)

bangkok is much safer than kl thumbup.gif

but beware of stranger come talk to u by them selt & mat salleh esp black guy..
finance.graduate
post Jan 20 2010, 11:04 AM

21 posts

i plan to go to bkk this year... good advice in this thread!

more tips please thumbup.gif
lms2005
post Jan 20 2010, 12:33 PM

1,270 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 14 2010, 05:11 PM)
Haha tak percaya? Me too at 1st... rclxms.gif
rm2.30 now sweat.gif
lezl
post Jan 20 2010, 07:12 PM

QUOTE(lms2005 @ Jan 20 2010, 10:50 AM)
bangkok is much safer than kl  thumbup.gif

your mum is going? i can follow icon_rolleyes.gif
got ppl accompany me is better than no rolleyes.gif

Added on January 20, 2010, 8:15 pm
QUOTE(lms2005 @ Jan 20 2010, 10:50 AM)
bangkok is much safer than kl  thumbup.gif

i need ppl accompany one ler..... i easy to get lost rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by lezl: Jan 20 2010, 08:15 PM
lms2005
post Jan 20 2010, 09:41 PM

1,270 posts

QUOTE(lezl @ Jan 20 2010, 07:12 PM)
your mum is going? i can follow  icon_rolleyes.gif
got ppl accompany me is better than no  rolleyes.gif

Added on January 20, 2010, 8:15 pm
i need ppl accompany one ler..... i easy to get lost  rclxub.gif
i juz came back yesterday

from off cab till reach plane terminal take me one hour sweat.gif

bkk air port security really tight... even shoe also hv to take out...
lms2005
post Jan 21 2010, 01:09 AM

1,270 posts

AA really sweat.gif doh.gif

happy4ever
post Jan 21 2010, 01:21 AM

7,194 posts

QUOTE(lms2005 @ Jan 20 2010, 09:41 PM)
i juz came back yesterday

from off cab till reach plane terminal take me one hour  sweat.gif

bkk air port security really tight... even shoe also hv to take out...
Somehow, they never asked me to take off my sneakers.

perhaps i am awesome. I dont mind getting naked for them too! rclxms.gif

126 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Top

0.0325sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:25 PM