Travel Bangkok, Interesting places?

senyii
post Nov 9 2009, 07:14 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 8 2009, 10:09 PM)
Sum Luan u can take the MRT. Lumpini park. From somewhere mid span of Sumkhumvit..cant remember the station name liao..pratunam has no MRT & skytrain station.. u need to walk to the nearest at Sumkhumviute near Central, thereafter take the Skytrain to the MRT station towards Suan lum.

Otherwise taxi-lah...cheaper than Tuk-tuk
eh i thought pratunam aso hv skytrain?bts same as skytrain??is it vy far to walk frm pratunam to those train station??Another thing is my last day at bkk...bcos my flight back to kl is at nite so i plan to shop around pratunam b4 back to kl but the luggage dunno where to put!!U hv any idea??

the taxi u say will bring u to ayuthaya they will fetch u to different temple or jus leave u nearby then u hv to take tuk tuk again??normally they will go those gem store first then oli fetch u to ur desire places rite??

hehe too many question...first timer!
stimix
post Nov 9 2009, 09:30 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

no-lah, pratunam located further North & east of the BTS (Skytrain line & no MRT - bangkok underground system)

OK, I googled for the Bangkok Metro system...seems like the Airport ERL (The red line opening soon, & if open, that line probably cutting thru Pratunam hmm.gif (Not sure)...

From the above maps, Pratunam area is located in between Ratchatewi & Chitlom BTS...BTW, it is not near hor...walking distance in between both stations either way is >1km. depending on which buiding in Pratunam area.

To goto Suan Lum, the easiest & fastest is by Taxi from pratunam..just crossing South to MCK & thereafter the University & that's Lunmp-ini park/Suan Lum...To take Metro system..U walkt to Chit Lom station, take BTS to Asoke, switch to MRT underground to Lumpini station...& u walk-up & see Suan Lum. smile.gif

I will probably put all this info on post 1 when free..

QUOTE(senyii @ Nov 9 2009, 07:14 AM)
eh i thought pratunam aso hv skytrain?bts same as skytrain??is it vy far to walk frm pratunam to those train station??Another thing is my last day at bkk...bcos my flight back to kl is at nite so i plan to shop around pratunam b4 back to kl but the luggage dunno where to put!!U hv any idea??

the taxi u say will bring u to ayuthaya they will fetch u to different temple or jus leave u nearby then u hv to take tuk tuk again??normally they will go those gem store first then oli fetch u to ur desire places rite??

hehe too many question...first timer!
kazebert
post Nov 9 2009, 12:07 PM

i miss bangkok smile.gif
senyii
post Nov 9 2009, 02:01 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 9 2009, 09:30 AM)
no-lah, pratunam located further North & east of the BTS (Skytrain line & no MRT - bangkok underground system)

OK, I googled for the Bangkok Metro system...seems like the Airport ERL (The red line opening soon, & if open, that line probably cutting thru Pratunam  hmm.gif (Not sure)...

From the above maps, Pratunam area is located in between Ratchatewi & Chitlom BTS...BTW, it is not near hor...walking distance in between both stations either way is >1km. depending on which buiding in Pratunam area.

To goto Suan Lum, the easiest & fastest is by Taxi from pratunam..just crossing South to MCK & thereafter the University & that's Lunmp-ini park/Suan Lum...To take Metro system..U walkt to Chit Lom station, take BTS to Asoke, switch to MRT underground to Lumpini station...& u walk-up & see Suan Lum.  smile.gif

I will probably put all this info on post 1 when free..
so can recomend me some of the hotel which is near to these train station as i wunted to go chatuchak by train....or any opther better transport to get to chatuchak?

I am going to bkk wif my family total of three ppl...

also i would like to know the taxi charge at nite from airport to pratunam it is vy expensive?cos i reach airport around 11pm wor

Added on November 9, 2009, 2:02 pmthe taxi u say will bring u to ayuthaya they will fetch u to different temple or jus leave u nearby then u hv to take tuk tuk again??normally they will go those gem store first then oli fetch u to ur desire places rite??

stimix wut bout this question??u did not write info bout this!!!
thax a lot for ur info

This post has been edited by senyii: Nov 9 2009, 02:02 PM
stimix
post Nov 9 2009, 02:28 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I dun hv really nice hotels to stay bcos normally on Family Holiday, we go on budget or grab whatever FOC hotels from my vacation club..last time I used to stay in Rama IV rd mandarin but the hotel burnt dy.. On working trip I stay in avg 3 stars hotel at Soi7/8 near Nana station at sunthumvit....can't really remember the name liao...anyway, just get those closer to BTS/MRT stations...There are few forumers tried budget hotels near MBK/Siam paragon area..If u can get any hotels surropunding this area...very good dy..bcos this is similar to Bkt Bintang area dy..

Sumkhumvit area - also very near to BTS...but day time abit boring..Pratunam - day time very active but far from nearest MRT/BTS unless the airport train (In red start operating)

Silom - old area wth banks & etc...but near patpong/lumpini

Chinatown /khou san rd- far from BTS/MRT too but can use water taxi

On taxi, it's all depend on your negotiation wth taxi drivers. U can ask him to fetch to any places u can think off bcos they act as your full day driver...However they sometime will like to bring you to expensive places & eateries...for eg..I requested him to bring me to chep ferry terminal at Damnoen saduak but ended up he brought me to motorised boat terminal..that wanted to charge 1500/boat!! after hard nego i got it for 800bath too...BTW, I was told that certain tourist agents in Khow san rf also offering full board package to floating market for T$800/pax...no diff from taking taxi!! mad.gif

QUOTE(senyii @ Nov 9 2009, 02:01 PM)
so can recomend me some of the hotel which is near to these train station as i wunted to go chatuchak by train....or any opther better transport to get to chatuchak?

I am going to bkk wif my family total of three ppl...

also i would like to know the taxi charge at nite from airport to pratunam it is vy expensive?cos i reach airport around 11pm wor

Added on November 9, 2009, 2:02 pmthe taxi u say will bring u to ayuthaya they will fetch u to different temple or jus leave u nearby then u hv to take tuk tuk again??normally they will go those gem store first then oli fetch u to ur desire places rite??

stimix wut bout this question??u did not write info bout this!!!
thax a lot for ur info
mchlkeys
post Nov 9 2009, 02:45 PM

93 posts

WAH BANGKOK. NICE .
I LOVE AND MISS THERE.
senyii
post Nov 9 2009, 04:10 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 9 2009, 02:28 PM)
I dun hv really nice hotels to stay bcos normally on Family Holiday, we go on budget or grab whatever FOC hotels from my vacation club..last time I used to stay in Rama IV rd mandarin but the hotel burnt dy.. On working trip I stay in avg 3 stars hotel at Soi7/8 near Nana station at sunthumvit....can't really remember the name liao...anyway, just get those closer to BTS/MRT stations...There are few forumers tried budget hotels near MBK/Siam paragon area..If u can get any hotels surropunding this area...very good dy..bcos this is similar to Bkt Bintang area dy..

Sumkhumvit area - also very near to BTS...but day time abit boring..Pratunam - day time very active but far from nearest MRT/BTS unless the airport train (In red start operating)

Silom - old area wth banks & etc...but near patpong/lumpini

Chinatown /khou san rd- far from BTS/MRT too but can use water taxi

On taxi, it's all depend on your negotiation wth taxi drivers. U can ask him to fetch to any places u can think off bcos they act as your full day driver...However they sometime will like to bring you to expensive places & eateries...for eg..I requested him to bring me to chep ferry terminal at Damnoen saduak but ended up he brought me to motorised boat terminal..that wanted to charge 1500/boat!! after hard nego i got it for 800bath too...BTW, I was told that certain tourist agents in Khow san rf also offering full board package to floating market for T$800/pax...no diff from taking taxi!! mad.gif
oh 800bath perpax ar??i dun get wat u mean when u say "full board package to floating market for T$800/pax...no diff from taking taxi"
no difference meh??I thought taxi 800bath then maybe whole boat 800bath so total 1600bath so if i hv 3ppl then 1600 divide 3 bout 400++bath perpax wor!!
oh near MBK area ar will try and search for it....
btw how long u spend in the floating market?
lingcs83
post Nov 9 2009, 10:53 PM

Helo, i will be going to BKK 25th this mth...can anyone tell me how much will be the rate of a cab for airport to place near Chong Nonsi BTS station?
Coz my hotel is near to Chong Nonsi station. is the cab there expensive?
I scare i been cheated there
please gives some suggestions.

panda-man
post Nov 11 2009, 12:08 AM

2,691 posts

chong nonsi huh.. well it shouldnt be too bad. last time i stayed at the sofitel near there. it should cost around 250-300 with the tolls. but depending on traffic and what not it might be more. everytime you reach the toll make sure you pay for it otherwise they always try to cheat you say each tollway is 100 baht or something. make sure you bring some small cash. change at the FOREX at the airport.

Added on November 11, 2009, 12:09 ami probably will go next week actually. if i remember ill get the rate for you. for more accurate pricing.

This post has been edited by panda-man: Nov 11 2009, 12:09 AM
stimix
post Nov 11 2009, 07:07 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

More like for me THB1600/2 not 3..Yes if 4 than it will be cheaper by sharing the cost of the boat..but I dun think u can get THB880/boat...the more ppl they will slaughter u more...those boat opertors looks fierce, the more u argue they will show their temper....chinese gangsters hor...can scold u in chinese too..

QUOTE(senyii @ Nov 9 2009, 04:10 PM)
oh 800bath perpax ar??i dun get wat u mean when u say "full board package to floating market for T$800/pax...no diff from taking taxi"
no difference meh??I thought taxi 800bath then maybe whole boat 800bath so total 1600bath so if i hv 3ppl then 1600 divide 3 bout 400++bath perpax wor!!
oh near MBK area ar will try and search for it....
btw how long u spend in the floating market?
senyii
post Nov 11 2009, 07:36 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 11 2009, 07:07 AM)
More like for me THB1600/2 not 3..Yes if 4 than it will be cheaper by sharing the cost of the boat..but I dun think u can get THB880/boat...the more ppl they will slaughter u more...those boat opertors looks fierce, the more u argue they will show their temper....chinese gangsters hor...can scold u in chinese too..
wah so fierce ar....then how u bargain wit them???
oh at nite take taxi frm airport to pratunam expensive or not??around 11pm like tat??
stimix
post Nov 11 2009, 08:54 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Well I fight back in my lousy teochew... biggrin.gif ...& walk out from the terminal & ask the taxi driver to drive me back to bangkok without taking the ferry...That gangster pull;ed me bck & agrred on thb800 or thb1000 wthich I could not remember..& telling me not to tell the policemen manning checkpoints that I got such rate bcos it's cartel protected pricing....well mana ada such policemen mad.gif ...bohong onli.

QUOTE(senyii @ Nov 11 2009, 07:36 AM)
wah so fierce ar....then how u bargain wit them???
oh at nite take taxi frm airport to pratunam expensive or not??around 11pm like tat??
senyii
post Nov 11 2009, 09:13 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 11 2009, 08:54 AM)
Well I fight back in my lousy teochew... biggrin.gif ...& walk out from the terminal & ask the taxi driver to drive me back to bangkok without taking the ferry...That gangster pull;ed me bck & agrred on thb800 or thb1000 wthich I could not remember..& telling me not to tell the policemen manning checkpoints that I got such rate bcos it's cartel protected pricing....well mana ada such policemen  mad.gif ...bohong onli.
wahaha...great moves..but i dun think i dare to do that!!erm.....so from your experience which places that are not to be missed while in bkk?
stimix
post Nov 11 2009, 09:25 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Bkk ..it's about cheap shopping that not really cheap but the food...wow..Penang wil drop 2nd I tell u.

Shoppings:

1) Chinatown - super cheap but lotsa whalehouse sales only..must buy 1/2 dozen to enjoy cheap rate! - cheaper than elsewhere in BKK but buy bulk!

2) MBK - Sg Wang of Bkk..., Siam Paragon, Siam, Central -mor luxury shoppings

3) Pratunam...clothing but mana ada cheap?

4) Suan Lum - nice nite bazaar..window shopping till your leg drop!

5) Chachuchat - I see from far..bcos went during weekday...super hot..Dun think I wanna enter...but lotsa ppl recommend this place.

Attractions:

1) Grand palace, museum & Wat po
2) Wat Arun
3) Floatinmg market (Dmnoen saduak (Not in bkk)
4) Ayuthaya - ancient bangkok liao..but I missed,,,
5) Pattaya - also not really in BKK
6) Snake farm, elephant farm, safari & whatever thing that u can also find in M'sia

Jenn77
post Nov 11 2009, 10:02 AM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,121 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 11 2009, 09:25 AM)
Bkk ..it's about cheap shopping that not really cheap but the food...wow..Penang wil drop 2nd I tell u.

Shoppings:

1) Chinatown - super cheap but lotsa whalehouse sales only..must buy 1/2 dozen to enjoy cheap rate! - cheaper than elsewhere in BKK but buy bulk!

2) MBK - Sg Wang of Bkk..., Siam Paragon, Siam, Central -mor luxury shoppings

3) Pratunam...clothing but mana ada cheap?

4) Suan Lum - nice nite bazaar..window shopping till your leg drop!

5) Chachuchat - I see from far..bcos went during weekday...super hot..Dun think I wanna enter...but lotsa ppl recommend this place.

Attractions:

1) Grand palace, museum & Wat po
2) Wat Arun
3) Floatinmg market (Dmnoen saduak (Not in bkk)
4) Ayuthaya - ancient bangkok liao..but I missed,,,
5) Pattaya - also not really in BKK
6) Snake farm, elephant farm, safari & whatever thing that u can also find in M'sia
Items NOT TO

4) not encourage, alot of beggers and those boat operators like sh*t.
5) Suan Lum - slaughter like hell, go chatujak better. All sorts of exotic stuff available. Pity the dogs & pets.

MBK & Pratunam can go, show ur nego skills.

Be extra carefull with the tok-tok's. They are scumbags who will waste ur time take u to places (tourist frequents) cuz they get commisssions. If u dunt buy any they will drop u anywhere they like. Better walk or take taxi, forgot to tell, chatujak can take MRT oso. tongue.gif

senyii
post Nov 11 2009, 11:12 AM

519 posts

oh then better take taxi to chatuchak no need refer map n walk here and there....
oh thax stimix for all the info...
oh ya u say the food is superd mind telling me wut kind of food tats is tasty
i know tomyum is a must wut else??nd seep in everything in my trip enjoy to the max!
stimix
post Nov 11 2009, 11:48 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

To chatujak, no need taxi..Both Skytrain & MRT stop there..yeah 2 diff stations stop within 500M from the market..fuuuu.

Actually it's rather hard to find toyum in Bakk & whole of thailand unless u dine at those seafood or chinese restaurants!! U can't find as many toyum roadside quality stalls as you can find here in KL or M'sia overall...funny but it's true...I read somewhere during my yrs ago research & found out that Tom yum actually orriginate from the Malays of Southern Thailand...yala, naratwiwat & kelantan & not really Thais!!

All the tom yum I tried in Thailand (Krabi/Phuket/Bkk/ChiangMai) all not as good as the one in KL!! sad.gif ....Their famous & really nice food that till Today..I really luv it...Padthai!! or Thai Chow Kueh Tiew.... drool.gif

QUOTE(senyii @ Nov 11 2009, 11:12 AM)
oh then better take taxi to chatuchak no need refer map n walk here and there....
oh thax stimix for all the info...
oh ya u say the food is superd mind telling me wut kind of food tats is tasty
i know tomyum is a must wut else??nd seep in everything in my trip enjoy to the max!
panda-man
post Nov 11 2009, 12:01 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 11 2009, 11:48 AM)
To chatujak, no need taxi..Both Skytrain & MRT stop there..yeah 2 diff stations stop within 500M from the market..fuuuu.

Actually it's rather hard to find toyum in Bakk & whole of thailand unless u dine at those seafood or chinese restaurants!! U can't find as many toyum roadside quality stalls as you can find here in KL or M'sia overall...funny but it's true...I read somewhere during my yrs ago research & found out that Tom yum actually orriginate from the Malays of Southern Thailand...yala, naratwiwat & kelantan & not really Thais!!

All the tom yum I tried in Thailand (Krabi/Phuket/Bkk/ChiangMai) all not as good as the one in KL!!  sad.gif ....Their famous & really nice food that till Today..I really luv it...Padthai!!  or Thai Chow Kueh Tiew.... drool.gif
lol @ thai chow kueh teow.
hard to find tomyum? really? i go all the places it got lah. even the road side stall have. always have tom yum goong. not super good. but i never eat tomyum in kl. so its nice to have once in a while. but yeah. pad thai still the best dish. always gotta add more peanuts though. heheh. icon_idea.gif also love the thai fishcake thing. mmm.

yeah to JJ just take the skytrain to the mo chit station i think. after get down you will be able to see the market and just walk there. bring a hat and becareful of pick pockets. since everyone walking so close together easy for people to curi your stuffs.

stimix
post Nov 11 2009, 12:14 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Opss I not dare to buy/try Thais hawker food... blush.gif probably due to this I dun know Tom yum available on hawker fairs...All the while in Thailand, I only eat at proper food Courts or restaurants....the hawker roadside stall..really .yuckss to me.. blush.gif I only eat roadside Thai's malay operated Roti/pancake shop (Their verison of roti canai/pisang & etc)
senyii
post Nov 11 2009, 12:17 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Nov 11 2009, 12:01 PM)
lol @ thai chow kueh teow.
hard to find tomyum? really? i go all the places it got lah. even the road side stall have. always have tom yum goong. not super good. but i never eat tomyum in kl. so its nice to have once in a while. but yeah. pad thai still the best dish. always gotta add more peanuts though. heheh.  icon_idea.gif also love the thai fishcake thing. mmm.

yeah to JJ just take the skytrain to the mo chit station i think. after get down you will be able to see the market and just walk there. bring a hat and becareful of pick pockets. since everyone walking so close together easy for people to curi your stuffs.
but i plan to stay at pratunam which kinda far frm bts so plan to take taxi easy mar...What u think huh???
wut is padthai??sorry im so dumb!tomyum is everywhere in kl...i luv the tomyum with clear color one, the soup more syok

126 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Top

0.0350sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:18 PM