Travel Bangkok, Interesting places?

vermins
post Nov 2 2009, 06:23 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(SamSoon @ Nov 1 2009, 10:07 PM)
Going to BKK on Wed, a few things here hope all sifu here can help.

How is weather there now? I saw is winter give me a shock.

I only have time for Chatuchak on Thursday, open ar?

For shopping, places like Pratunam, Platinum mall or Chatuchak, has cloths for people who big size? We are not fat, but big in size (big bone) and tall, so...... a bit worry no chance to get cloths at cheap price like all of you. Please advice and suggest.
Chatuchak is weekends only. Thus why its called the weekend market. Opens as early as 7am, might be a bit quiet though.

Damnoen Saduak is outside of BKK city right? I'd say taking cabs would be pretty costly, since they are both outside of the city. Better to get a coach ride or a van to take ya'll there.
senyii
post Nov 2 2009, 10:01 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(vermins @ Nov 2 2009, 06:23 AM)
Chatuchak is weekends only.  Thus why its called the weekend market. Opens as early as 7am, might be a bit quiet though.

Damnoen Saduak is outside of BKK city right? I'd say taking cabs would be pretty costly, since they are both outside of the city.  Better to get a coach ride or a van to take ya'll there.
but i oli hv 4ppl!if take van or coach will it be too costly aso?any other way to get to there?
SamSoon
post Nov 2 2009, 10:33 AM

QUOTE(vermins @ Nov 2 2009, 06:23 AM)
Chatuchak is weekends only.  Thus why its called the weekend market. Opens as early as 7am, might be a bit quiet though.
cry.gif cry.gif sob sob... biz ppl there only work 2 days per week? I am deperado to shop there, but only have time on Thursday cry.gif cry.gif
Any one been there on weekday b4, how many % of the shops open? I am more into cloths only.

For Grand Palace, anyone how how much to rental a skirt/sarong? my husband don'tr want to wear long pant is too hot for him. icon_question.gif

Count down, 1 day later i will be in BKK, so excited now even though has not pack yet. Because i don't think need to pack much, buy over there icon_idea.gif

Pls help me in all these last min pop out Qs.

vermins
post Nov 2 2009, 01:52 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(senyii @ Nov 2 2009, 10:01 AM)
but i oli hv 4ppl!if take van or coach will it be too costly aso?any other way to get to there?
Hmmm, I'm not very sure then, been a while since I been to those places, and with a cab too. I THINK the safari will have those pick up vans, but you gotta check that though. Usually hotels will offer some sort of transportation to tourist locations.

QUOTE(SamSoon @ Nov 2 2009, 10:33 AM)
cry.gif  cry.gif sob sob... biz ppl there only work 2 days per week? I am deperado to shop there, but only have time on Thursday  cry.gif  cry.gif
Any one been there on weekday b4, how many % of the shops open? I am more into cloths only.

For Grand Palace, anyone how how much to rental a skirt/sarong? my husband don'tr want to wear long pant is too hot for him.  icon_question.gif

Count down, 1 day later i will be in BKK, so excited now even though has not pack yet. Because i don't think need to pack much, buy over there  icon_idea.gif

Pls help me in all these last min pop out Qs.
Well... you don't HAVE to go to chatuchak. . . Theres many other places you could go to which offer some of the stuff they sell there. Theres hmm.. MBK (mall), Pratunam, errr Suan Lum night market. Prolly not as cheap as chatuchak though.

Your husband is gonna wear a skirt into the Grand palace? laugh.gif Prolly won't be allowed in for indecency! tongue.gif Hmm, no idea, but you could buy a cheap batik really and just wrap around. Why rent!? Oh and go there early, the Palace closes quite early, like 3pm I think.
SamSoon
post Nov 2 2009, 04:31 PM

QUOTE(vermins @ Nov 2 2009, 01:52 PM)
Well... you don't HAVE to go to chatuchak. . .  Theres many other places you could go to which offer some of the stuff they sell there.  Theres hmm.. MBK (mall), Pratunam, errr Suan Lum night market.  Prolly not as cheap as chatuchak though.

Your husband is gonna wear a skirt into the Grand palace? laugh.gif Prolly won't be allowed in for indecency! tongue.gif Hmm, no idea, but you could buy a cheap batik really and just wrap around. Why rent!?  Oh and go there early, the Palace closes quite early, like 3pm I think.
haha... i don't think he wants to wear skirt also. He rather wait outside. tongue.gif I mean Sarong like those in Bali biggrin.gif

Pratunam and MBK already in my list. TQ! Of course Platinum mall also. laugh.gif

Thank you yeah vermins.

vermins
post Nov 3 2009, 02:31 PM

215 posts

Welcome biggrin.gif Have a good time there!
senyii
post Nov 3 2009, 02:37 PM

519 posts

hey vermin u think i shud go to the floating market since its so troublesome!!n the safari worth going?

Added on November 3, 2009, 2:55 pmand aso beside damnoeun sadoak floating market any other floating market worth goin?
oh ya is it enuf to visit athuya for 1 day?lets say frm bangkok to athuya reach in early morning then go back in the evening!or i mus overnite there??pls advice!!

This post has been edited by senyii: Nov 3 2009, 02:55 PM
vermins
post Nov 3 2009, 03:25 PM

215 posts

Well... its all up to you really. For some people, those places are really worth going, some aren't.

I can't recall the names of the floating markets that are good, but its about safe to say the ones outside BKK are the better ones. The ones -IN- BKK aren't as good. They are much smaller and personally wouldn't recommend as much.

The good ones though, can be really good. Lotsa good food and cheap stuff. Not to mention amazingly long. You could prolly spend half the day there if you spent time on both sides of the river. Could be just as good as chatuchak depending on what you wanna buy. ie. you prolly won't find pet food there but you could in chatuchak tongue.gif

Safari... not too sure really, haven't been there since I was a kid.

A traveling tip though... if you are there for a short period of time, might as well pack all the activities you can do thats -IN- BKK itself. That way you don't waste time in traveling to places. And then do those that are outside BKK on another trip.
senyii
post Nov 3 2009, 03:39 PM

519 posts

i have bout 5 full days at bkk!Which 2days wit tour to visit temple n pattaya!so another 3 day mayb to chatuchak,floating market n if possible to athuya!
shud i stay in athuya?to avoid rushing....
too many places wunted to go haha!!
SamSoon
post Nov 3 2009, 05:34 PM

QUOTE(vermins @ Nov 3 2009, 02:31 PM)
Welcome biggrin.gif Have a good time there!
Thank you!

rclxm9.gif BKK here I come rclxm9.gif

mckevin
post Nov 5 2009, 12:05 PM

Rated 4
1,096 posts

yo guise.. been missing for a long time due to work commitment.. and nao im free.. im going to bkk on 15th of February next year.. there will be 8 adults including me.. is there any hotel that can fit 8 of us in one room.. preferable around siam square.. budget rm500 per night.. thanks bunch

This post has been edited by mckevin: Nov 5 2009, 12:06 PM
senyii
post Nov 6 2009, 07:52 PM

519 posts

i would like to know whether it is possible to travel to athuya frm bangkok??pls recomend type of transport available!how long i nd to spend time there?
moody5
post Nov 7 2009, 11:55 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(mckevin @ Nov 5 2009, 12:05 PM)
yo guise.. been missing for a long time due to work commitment.. and nao im free.. im going to bkk on 15th of February next year.. there will be 8 adults including me.. is there any hotel that can fit 8 of us in one room.. preferable around siam square.. budget rm500 per night.. thanks bunch
7 of my friends and i will be staying in Abloom Service apartment..

The prices we got were only RM280 per pax for 5 days 4 nights stay..

maybe you can have a look on it
stimix
post Nov 8 2009, 08:53 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Sure why not..just negotiate wth any taxi outside the hotel...last time I got offered 800bath whole day trip to Ayuthaya. wth few stop inside gems sores to collect petrol vouchers haha biggrin.gif ...cheap meaning have to enter those scam gems thing

QUOTE(senyii @ Nov 6 2009, 07:52 PM)
i would like to know whether it is possible to travel to athuya frm bangkok??pls recomend type of transport available!how long i nd to spend time there?
senyii
post Nov 8 2009, 01:51 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 8 2009, 08:53 AM)
Sure why not..just negotiate wth any taxi outside the hotel...last time I got offered 800bath whole day trip to Ayuthaya. wth few stop inside gems sores to collect petrol vouchers haha  biggrin.gif ...cheap meaning have to enter those scam gems thing
means frm morning they drive u to ayuthya then evening bring u back to bangkok???then the taxi driver will wait for u while u walk around those temple??u pay the taxi after they sent u back to bkk??I sked being cheated?Besides i aso would like to go damnoen saduak!how much would be the taxi fare from bkk??
stimix
post Nov 8 2009, 02:54 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yeah whole day but u must agree wth them to enter those scam stores..otherwise I fun think u cab get so cheap..yes to floating market same rate smile.gif
QUOTE(senyii @ Nov 8 2009, 01:51 PM)
means frm morning they drive u to ayuthya then evening bring u back to bangkok???then the taxi driver will wait for u while u walk around those temple??u pay the taxi after they sent u back to bkk??I sked being cheated?Besides i aso would like to go damnoen saduak!how much would be the taxi fare from bkk??
senyii
post Nov 8 2009, 03:29 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 8 2009, 02:54 PM)
Yeah whole day but u must agree wth them to enter those scam stores..otherwise I fun think u cab get so cheap..yes to floating market same rate  smile.gif
jus pick any cab in front of the hotel???so u pay them after the trip???U been to the elephant zoo which located in btw the floating market n bkk??Oh u know the safari entrance fee??Wut the difference of the safari from the zoo in msia?
stimix
post Nov 8 2009, 04:01 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I din goto the safari & snake farm although on the same way bcos my family dislike zoo...sked of snake, crocodiles & all kinds of big cats...so i told him to forget about the elephant farem 7 ect although he din offer....(those farms sometime also givbe petrol vouchers to taxi drivers wan...

Yeah pay him after the trip..he also happy bcos got free makan & also free petrols from those gems stores... smile.gif at nite diff story liao..all tuk-tuk so expensive wan bcos no more subsideised petrol

Oh yeah..tuk-tuk during Morning & afternoonb also very cheap wan...can be as cheap as 20bath or FOC..provided you agree to stop at gems stores... biggrin.gif
QUOTE(senyii @ Nov 8 2009, 03:29 PM)
jus pick any cab in front of the hotel???so u pay them after the trip???U been to the elephant zoo which located in btw the floating market n bkk??Oh u know the safari entrance fee??Wut the difference of the safari from the zoo in msia?
senyii
post Nov 8 2009, 07:48 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 8 2009, 04:01 PM)
I din goto the safari & snake farm although on the same way bcos my family dislike zoo...sked of snake, crocodiles & all kinds of big cats...so i told him to forget about the elephant farem 7 ect although he din offer....(those farms sometime also givbe petrol vouchers to taxi drivers wan...

Yeah pay him after the trip..he also happy bcos got free makan & also free petrols from those gems stores... smile.gif  at nite diff story liao..all tuk-tuk so expensive wan bcos no more subsideised petrol
Oh yeah..tuk-tuk during Morning & afternoonb also very cheap wan...can be as cheap as 20bath or FOC..provided you agree to stop at gems stores... biggrin.gif
oh reli.....then at night which transport will be cheaper and more convenient?i wunted to go to suan lum bazaar wor!!!im staying at citin pratunam!!!
stimix
post Nov 8 2009, 10:09 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Sum Luan u can take the MRT. Lumpini park. From somewhere mid span of Sumkhumvit..cant remember the station name liao..pratunam has no MRT & skytrain station.. u need to walk to the nearest at Sumkhumviute near Central, thereafter take the Skytrain to the MRT station towards Suan lum.

Otherwise taxi-lah...cheaper than Tuk-tuk
QUOTE(senyii @ Nov 8 2009, 07:48 PM)
oh reli.....then at night which transport will be cheaper and more convenient?i wunted to go to suan lum bazaar wor!!!im staying at citin pratunam!!!

126 Pages « < 102 103 104 105 106 > » Top

0.0343sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:54 AM