Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.9, Please Read Post#1 and #3

aeiou228
post Jul 7 2015, 03:04 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 7 2015, 02:52 PM)
U mean Gold passbook?
It was introduced few years ago and I have forgotten the name, it was a RM deposit account but the value of the deposit is pegged to the value of the prevailing market price of gold. One can just bank in and withdraw in RM. No physical gold, no safe keeping headache.
wil-i-am
post Jul 7 2015, 03:15 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 7 2015, 03:04 PM)
It was introduced few years ago and I have forgotten the name, it was a RM deposit account but the value of the deposit is pegged to the value of the prevailing market price of gold.  One can just bank in and withdraw in RM. No physical gold, no safe keeping headache.
Tis product still available
https://www.pbebank.com/Personal-Banking/In...t/Features.aspx
aeiou228
post Jul 7 2015, 03:27 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 7 2015, 03:15 PM)
Yes, that's the one. Thank you sir.
cklimm
post Jul 7 2015, 03:45 PM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 7 2015, 03:04 PM)
It was introduced few years ago and I have forgotten the name, it was a RM deposit account but the value of the deposit is pegged to the value of the prevailing market price of gold.  One can just bank in and withdraw in RM. No physical gold, no safe keeping headache.
There is an informative thread about gold investment in LYN,
gold investment
Have fun
gsc
post Jul 7 2015, 03:45 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 7 2015, 03:15 PM)
I think Maybank has similar offer....but I prefer the Gold goin which is only available at certain May bank branches...compare to paper or passbook it is riskier but....holding the feel of holding real gold is different..
wil-i-am
post Jul 7 2015, 03:50 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jul 7 2015, 03:45 PM)
I think Maybank has similar offer....but I prefer the Gold goin which is only available at certain May bank branches...compare to paper or passbook it is riskier but....holding the feel of holding real gold is different..
U need to keep gold coin (if a LOT) in yo hse or safe deposit box
TSGen-X
post Jul 7 2015, 04:17 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 7 2015, 02:35 PM)
Any ideal public bank still offering paper gold deposit account ?

This picture really sent shivers down my spine.
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-07-04/cryi...e-photo/6594984
Bro, what's the use of having Gold Deposit products if you can't withdraw from it (physical or cash)? Just saw news headlines - Greece Banks closed until Thursday.

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 7 2015, 03:50 PM)
U need to keep gold coin (if a LOT) in yo hse or safe deposit box
Same thing, bank close put in safe deposit box for what? Like I mentioned earlier - need to bury somewhere..... and myabe do a treasure map attached to will, hahaha.

Maybank - Kijang Coin.

UOB - Maple Leaf and Swiss Pamp - trade-able anywhere on earth.

RHB - 1kg bar, got no idea locally made or what.

Tomie, Poh Kong, Habib and Wah Chan - paying a lot on top of spot rate.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 7 2015, 04:18 PM
PsychoHDxMachine
post Jul 7 2015, 04:43 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(SmallPotato2011 @ Jul 7 2015, 04:02 PM)
Perhaps you may put OCBC 4.2% p.a. for their Islamic FD.. No stupid CASA or saving plan..

You will get Hugo Boss Roller Ball Pen (I think worth USD100)... lol! Please sms register before go..

Enclose some links for your study.. Just now when I put my FD for this offer, the girl seem does not know in detail.. Need to show her these then she only know...

http://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/Ac...mart/index.html

http://www.ocbc.com.my/assets/pdf/Accounts...o_savesmart.pdf
Thanks for the info. I just applied for rhb 4.21%. Purposely open open one account for the interest. Haha.
sms2u
post Jul 7 2015, 05:41 PM

3,281 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 7 2015, 03:27 PM)
Yes, that's the one. Thank you sir.
U can find more info in forum below specially for gold investment.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3350149
mamamia
post Jul 7 2015, 05:48 PM

6,423 posts

Just place the maybank 6+6, the FD cert didn't show next 6 months rate. Only show 4.04 for 1st 6 months

This post has been edited by mamamia: Jul 7 2015, 05:50 PM
wil-i-am
post Jul 7 2015, 06:13 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Jul 7 2015, 05:48 PM)
Just place the maybank 6+6, the FD cert didn't show next 6 months rate. Only show 4.04 for 1st 6 months
Do u need to return FD cert for validation upon expiry?
mamamia
post Jul 7 2015, 06:30 PM

6,423 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 7 2015, 06:13 PM)
I didn't ask, but normally when u want to withdraw, u need to bring your certificate to withdraw.
wil-i-am
post Jul 7 2015, 06:58 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Jul 7 2015, 06:30 PM)
I didn't ask, but normally when u want to withdraw, u need to bring your certificate to withdraw.
I suppose Maybank need to validate 2nd 6 mths later hmm.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 7 2015, 07:01 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 7 2015, 06:13 PM)
For MBB step up, on maturity just bring cert to redeem. My last step up with them, now I remember, all the interest paid on maturity. Unlike RHB and PBB, paid on each step up point. biggrin.gif

For PBB, the next step up rate printed on reverse of the FD cert (6+6 mths). biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jul 7 2015, 07:02 PM
bbgoat
post Jul 7 2015, 07:04 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 7 2015, 06:58 PM)
I suppose Maybank need to validate 2nd 6 mths laterĀ  hmm.gif
No, no need to. People would be reluctant have to go back to validate for step-up rate. biggrin.gif

Just like PBB, RHB worst still, every 3 mth. RHB recent step up last 3 mth, monthly basis !! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jul 7 2015, 07:05 PM
pisces88
post Jul 7 2015, 07:23 PM

3,968 posts

today placed the ocbc islamic FD. waiting for roller pen, hope not those cheapo ones.. haha
Happyman
post Jul 7 2015, 07:24 PM

163 posts

Hello all, from post no.3, it said that RHB doesn't give interest for non working days, does it mean, their 4.21% per annum, is actually exclude Saturday and Sunday? If yes, then it would be only 3% per annum. 365 days, Saturday's and Sunday no interest, only Monday - Friday got interest? Seriously?
bbgoat
post Jul 7 2015, 07:26 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Happyman @ Jul 7 2015, 07:24 PM)
Hello all, from post no.3, it said that RHB doesn't give interest for non working days, does it mean, their 4.21% per annum, is actually exclude Saturday and Sunday?  If yes, then it would be only 3% per annum.  365 days, Saturday's and Sunday no interest, only Monday - Friday got interest?  Seriously?
laugh.gif It means if FD maturity falls on Sat/Sun or public holiday, no interest paid. tongue.gif
Happyman
post Jul 7 2015, 07:42 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 7 2015, 07:26 PM)
laugh.gif It means if FD maturity falls on Sat/Sun or public holiday, no interest paid.  tongue.gif
Oh scare die me lah.....where got bank like that one lol

SmallPotato2011
post Jul 7 2015, 08:12 PM

1,248 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Jul 7 2015, 07:23 PM)
today placed the ocbc islamic FD. waiting for roller pen, hope not those cheapo ones.. haha
Approx USD 100 one... Should be nice..

132 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:43 PM