68 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

The official WoW connection rant thread, 2k pings? Insane lag? Come in here!

aizyou
post Apr 7 2005, 09:30 PM

165 posts

"Hey guys. There is a sea cable cut on APCN2 near HK-China affecting Internet connection to overseas esp US. Traffic are being routed to SMW3 cable but users will expect congestion.
So far I think it affects Singnet. I checked Starhub bb is ok."

quote from singapore user. they also effected by this problem
eikan
post Apr 7 2005, 09:37 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(aizyou @ Apr 7 2005, 09:30 PM)
"Hey guys. There is a sea cable cut on APCN2 near HK-China affecting Internet connection to overseas esp US. Traffic are being routed to SMW3 cable but users will expect congestion.
So far I think it affects Singnet. I checked Starhub bb is ok."

quote from singapore user. they also effected by this problem
Thanks for the updates, u guys all really informative smile.gif im glad to be lyn members smile.gif
sweat.gif thumbup.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif thumbup.gif sweat.gif
Wolfgard
post Apr 7 2005, 10:44 PM

Real life Orc in Australia, rawr
892 posts

I hope this'll fix the latency issue once and for all!
LoStBoYz
post Apr 7 2005, 11:23 PM

QUOTE(Wolfgard @ Apr 7 2005, 10:44 PM)
I hope this'll fix the latency issue once and for all!
I don't the problem we're facing is related to the current TMNet problem.
I do hope they fix ours when they got that fixed, but seriously, I don't think so.
The current problem is due to a international cable problem which affect Jaring and TMnet. The problem we have affects only streamyx ppl with IP219 range.

The only theory I can think of is that IP219 is congested hence the latency. IP218 and IP60 might have a smaller population hence the relatively free lag. This also could explain why the ping time for IP219 during the early mornings are low and steadly increases to the evening.

I also suspect TMNet is implementing so kind of throttling on P2P user. Those users that is on BT or Emule might notice huge drop in download speed the last few weeks. I also believe certain ports related to P2P are throttled to prevent P2P users hogging all the bandwidth. The reason I know this is because if you switch to other port other than the default one in your P2P software, the download speed goes back to normal.

I do not know if 'tweaking' done by TMnet affects the ports used by WoW.

All the above is just a theory, please welcome to shoot it down. smile.gif
mambo
post Apr 7 2005, 11:41 PM

Me And My Perverted MInd... Never Alone
679 posts

lost boy u are totally lost.. and im lost too... but i really feel this connection slow.. for to day... it's extremely slow... even dl ofo affected... haih ppl talking about the connection in our broadband forum... my fren oso complainin alot about tis... dammm hopefully this will be fik like today.. as if it can be fix
LoStBoYz
post Apr 7 2005, 11:49 PM

QUOTE(mambo @ Apr 7 2005, 11:41 PM)
lost boy u are totally lost.. and im lost too... but i really feel this connection slow.. for to day... it's extremely slow... even dl ofo affected... haih ppl talking about the connection in our broadband forum... my fren oso complainin alot about tis... dammm hopefully this will be fik like today.. as if it can be fix
LOL!! True true I might a bit lost in all this, since I've been following this thread since PAGE ONE. This thread has nothing to do with what happended today. This thread is about what has happened since 3 weeks ago. We are wishing what happened today will fix what we've suffered for the last 3 weeks. Do read the threads and you might realise that I'm not that lost after all. smile.gif

This post has been edited by LoStBoYz: Apr 7 2005, 11:49 PM
Owen
post Apr 8 2005, 12:01 AM

112 posts

I agree with you on the over-congestion of 219.xxx but not the tweaking.

It's more likely that Streamyx screwed up on one of their infrastructure upgrades. This affected the 219, not the 218 because the upgrade was for 219s. Over the past 2 months, there's been a high subscription to Streamyx - hence the first problem.

The new problem, technically, should not improve WoW situation as it's not exclusive to Streamyx. However if Streamyx put the effort into their piping then WoW should be fine because it'll help the congestion. I doubt this will happen because new pipes means spending. And TMNet is all about max profit.

Our Problem: WoW - over subscription
New Problem: Int'l problem - Malaysiawide

Get Jaring, Maxis or ISDN. I played 5 toons on EQ using ISDN. Ping was 350 max and that's during raids (with 65 people in 1 zone).

QUOTE(LoStBoYz @ Apr 7 2005, 11:23 PM)
I don't the problem we're facing is related to the current TMNet problem.
I do hope they fix ours when they got that fixed, but seriously, I don't think so.
The current problem is due to a international cable problem which affect Jaring and TMnet. The problem we have affects only streamyx ppl with IP219 range.

The only theory I can think of is that IP219 is congested hence the latency. IP218 and IP60 might have a smaller population hence the relatively free lag. This also could explain why the ping time for IP219 during the early mornings are low and steadly increases to the evening.

I also suspect TMNet is implementing so kind of throttling on P2P user. Those users that is on BT or Emule might notice huge drop in download speed the last few weeks. I also believe certain ports related to P2P are throttled to prevent P2P users hogging all the bandwidth. The reason I know this is because if you switch to other port other than the default one in your P2P software, the download speed goes back to normal.

I do not know if 'tweaking' done by TMnet affects the ports used by WoW.

All the above is just a theory, please welcome to shoot it down. smile.gif
LoStBoYz
post Apr 8 2005, 12:13 AM

The one thing that I couldn't explain is that during the last 3 weeks and if you've been following the threads, there is one particular day that IP219 suddenly becomes LAG FREE. I was playing WoW with 500-700ms pings. Just that one day. The next day, back to the same old >1k pings. Strange. That one day nobody was online?

H@H@
post Apr 8 2005, 12:14 AM

I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!
6,727 posts

Okay, we're getting way too many threads related to connection issues. So, from now on everything regarding your net connection for WoW comes in here.
Xeoalpha
post Apr 8 2005, 12:16 AM

745 posts

QUOTE(LoStBoYz @ Apr 8 2005, 12:13 AM)
The one thing that I couldn't explain is that during the last 3 weeks and if you've been following the threads, there is one particular day that IP219 suddenly becomes LAG FREE. I was playing WoW with 500-700ms pings. Just that one day. The next day, back to the same old >1k pings. Strange. That one day nobody was online?
Yes, that one day was the happiest day! Seriously we thought it was ok again. It's a few pages back. I was shouting "YAY!".
Wolfgard
post Apr 8 2005, 12:29 AM

Real life Orc in Australia, rawr
892 posts

That was the best WoW day for me since beta. First time I played consistantly in the 'yellow' zone and occasionally dipped into the 'green' zone (roughly 300ms). Too bad it lasted only for a few hours. cry.gif
Owen
post Apr 8 2005, 12:34 AM

112 posts

Yeah I've been following this thread too.

That one day I'd say there were less people online. But that may be too fluky. The only other solid explanation is that streamyx was messing about with the traffic.

Whatever the case is, we should be pinging US with 300s or max 400s and with no spikes at all. Over subscription with shite infrastructure is what makes it >500s.

*Best effort basis .. what a bunch of lazy tarts. Shame on you monopolists.

zweimmk
post Apr 8 2005, 07:49 AM

512 posts

This is on 218.xxx.xxx yesterday

Someone please give me a prize for winning the Internet.

TQ.
mambo
post Apr 8 2005, 08:20 AM

Me And My Perverted MInd... Never Alone
679 posts

congratulation u have hit the max ping amount.... hehehehe i cant even dl the update. take me one week for tis update to be finish dl, For sure it's not wow problem but that basta** in TMNUT STREAMIK dunno wat they doin right now. my fren connection also slow can even hit the monster.hahahaha funny we pay and get bad service..... AS for now we only can dream to have <500 ping.
Owen
post Apr 8 2005, 08:44 AM

112 posts

When the international lines fixup happens, they will surely find out in their diagnostics about the 219 over-leasing issue. There's no longer an excuse, even after ignoring our complaints. If they still leave it then it pretty much sums up what Streamyx is all about - half arsed.

From IP 219

Tracing route to everquest.com [64.37.156.16]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 21 ms 23 ms 22 ms 219.93.218.177
3 21 ms 20 ms 20 ms 219.93.216.125
4 20 ms 22 ms 22 ms 219.93.155.41
5 21 ms 21 ms 21 ms brf-odsy01-srp1-0.tm.net.my [210.187.135.1]
6 20 ms 21 ms 21 ms 210.187.142.1
7 20 ms 21 ms 21 ms vlan150-brf-sw04.tm.net.my [219.93.175.115]
8 * * 22 ms 210.187.129.171
9 549 ms 533 ms 531 ms POS5-1.IG3.SAC1.ALTER.NET [157.130.214.117]
10 617 ms 609 ms 623 ms 0.so-0-1-0.XR2.SAC1.ALTER.NET [152.63.54.126]
11 2926 ms 2935 ms 2924 ms 0.so-3-0-0.TL2.SAC1.ALTER.NET [152.63.54.10]
12 637 ms 642 ms 661 ms 0.so-5-1-0.TL2.LAX9.ALTER.NET [152.63.15.249]
13 2949 ms 2947 ms 2943 ms 0.so-2-0-0.XL2.SDG2.ALTER.NET [152.63.117.25]
14 2767 ms 2773 ms 2745 ms 510.ATM6-0.GW3.SDG2.ALTER.NET [152.63.113.237]
15 2858 ms 2835 ms 2839 ms sony-gw.customer.alter.net [157.130.231.186]
16 2798 ms 2734 ms 2705 ms gi2-2.sdtermsw-2.sonyonline.net [64.37.144.158]

17 2595 ms 2535 ms 2595 ms vl182.sdt-slb1.sonyonline.net [64.37.144.26]
18 2717 ms * 2808 ms www.everquest.com [64.37.156.16]

Trace complete.

From IP 218

Tracing route to everquest.com [64.37.156.16]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 32 ms 25 ms 32 ms 219.93.218.177
3 21 ms 21 ms 21 ms 219.93.216.117
4 20 ms 20 ms 20 ms 219.93.155.37
5 21 ms 20 ms 21 ms brf-odsy01-srp1-0.tm.net.my [210.187.135.1]
6 21 ms 20 ms 21 ms 210.187.142.1
7 20 ms 20 ms 21 ms vlan150-brf-sw03.tm.net.my [219.93.175.114]
8 20 ms 22 ms 21 ms brf-backbone02-ether0-0.tm.net.my [202.188.0.8]

9 863 ms 852 ms 860 ms POS1-1.IG3.SAC1.ALTER.NET [157.130.210.181]
10 836 ms 839 ms * 0.so-0-1-0.XR2.SAC1.ALTER.NET [152.63.54.126]
11 835 ms 846 ms 832 ms 0.so-3-0-0.TL2.SAC1.ALTER.NET [152.63.54.10]
12 848 ms 844 ms 854 ms 0.so-5-0-0.TL2.LAX2.ALTER.NET [152.63.2.157]
13 854 ms 852 ms 855 ms 0.so-4-0-0.XL2.SDG2.ALTER.NET [152.63.117.22]
14 856 ms 862 ms 855 ms 510.ATM6-0.GW3.SDG2.ALTER.NET [152.63.113.237]
15 874 ms 879 ms 875 ms sony-gw.customer.alter.net [157.130.231.186]
16 863 ms 866 ms 874 ms gi2-2.sdtermsw-2.sonyonline.net [64.37.144.158]

17 871 ms 862 ms * vl182.sdt-slb1.sonyonline.net [64.37.144.26]
18 867 ms 864 ms 878 ms www.everquest.com [64.37.156.16]

Trace complete.
eikan
post Apr 8 2005, 09:24 AM

326 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Apr 8 2005, 07:49 AM)
This is on 218.xxx.xxx yesterday

Someone please give me a prize for winning the Internet.

TQ.
/clap omg ur indicator response? wow, mine nor response at all, all i get is "Unknown Entity" on each player title + in the matrix
Any suggestion wat should i do this weekend?? Anyone? sweat.gif
Ellee
post Apr 8 2005, 09:31 AM

QUOTE(eikan @ Apr 8 2005, 09:24 AM)
/clap omg ur indicator response? wow, mine nor response at all, all i get is "Unknown Entity" on each player title + in the matrix
Any suggestion wat should i do this weekend?? Anyone?  sweat.gif
Same here.. hopefully they fix it like fast..
tarpaucase
post Apr 8 2005, 09:38 AM

3,469 posts

Singtel says it will be fixed today.
My other sources tells me it will be fixed on Saturday 0100 UTC

10 gp I say its next week.. wink.gif

sherly
post Apr 8 2005, 09:43 AM

230 posts

So sad lah, i'm so close in getting my lvl 40 mount. Now with this issue, I couldn't even play T_T
daniel31
post Apr 8 2005, 09:58 AM

1,387 posts

Damn...today can't play WoW again. l HATE you...streamyx!!!!!!

68 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:45 AM