The official WoW connection rant thread, 2k pings? Insane lag? Come in here!

Wolfgard
post Mar 28 2005, 03:05 PM

Real life Orc in Australia, rawr
892 posts

Still as laggy as ever! My warlock can probably solo at 2000-3000ms but pokai teruk when doing instances/raids. TMNut can GTH if they don't fix this soon. It's the 28th already!
Wolfgard
post Mar 28 2005, 05:47 PM

892 posts

I just hit level 50 yesterday (that's 3-4 levels in the 2k ping period). Not cool at all. All except 1 of my spells that I normally use are instant casts (curses, corruption, nighfall+shadowbolt, instant pet) so the delay hurts my strat alot. For PvP, I can just barely do it against melee fighters as I use fear kiting alot....hehe...

EDIT: Latency still stuck at 2k and it's already past working hour. I guess we'll have to wait till tmr.

This post has been edited by Wolfgard: Mar 28 2005, 06:43 PM
Wolfgard
post Mar 30 2005, 03:33 PM

892 posts

*sigh* 3000+ and then 5000+ ping. What's wrong wif Streamyx? Seems that our broadband is slower than Jaring's dial up. Makes me regret getting broadband....NOT...hehe.
Wolfgard
post Mar 31 2005, 03:19 PM

892 posts

Same 400-800 yesterday. Strangely, my connection is better now before the 2k period.
Wolfgard
post Mar 31 2005, 09:43 PM

892 posts

The server's up again, and it's UBER LAGGY! 3500 ping! Arrgghhh.....and I was enjoying yesterday's 300-400 ping rates.
Wolfgard
post Mar 31 2005, 10:56 PM

892 posts

I can barely grind in Ungoro now. Luckily my pet holds 90% of the aggro. Streamyx....PLEASE FIX THE DAMN CONNECTION!
Wolfgard
post Apr 1 2005, 12:35 AM

892 posts

Geez...I'm stuck at a constant 3500-3700 ping. Is this fun or what? tongue.gif

EDIT: 75600exp points earned running at near 4000 ping! Now THAT's what I call grinding thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Wolfgard: Apr 1 2005, 02:07 AM
Wolfgard
post Apr 1 2005, 02:09 AM

892 posts

That's it! The connection's getting worse. I left when it peaked at 7k ping. I can't even fight green mobs!

Hopefully, Streamyx will sort things out by tomorrow.
Wolfgard
post Apr 1 2005, 02:07 PM

892 posts

QUOTE(wildside @ Apr 1 2005, 08:50 AM)
Well, I guess Xeo will have to talk with his Streamyx supervisor 'friend' again, or at least someone else can follow up.

That said,  the supervisor 'friend' apparently did say that the problem will be fixed for everyone 'early next week'.

Than again, at this point in time, I have as much trust in the word of a Telekom official than I have in a Malaysian becoming F1 world champion tongue.gif
'early next week'? You mean this week? Or next week?

Still laggy as ever when I checked it just now.
Wolfgard
post Apr 1 2005, 05:10 PM

892 posts

How do you know the ping (outside game)?

Streamyx sucks. I wonder how well Jaring BB is doing now...
Wolfgard
post Apr 3 2005, 12:24 AM

892 posts

Yep, even the game can't be accessed! This is streamyx's problem.
Wolfgard
post Apr 3 2005, 12:33 AM

892 posts

Crud, if only streamyx, then my guildmate is probably dead, hehe... I was taking him thru a run in Arathi to get some elemental charms.
Wolfgard
post Apr 3 2005, 05:12 PM

892 posts

This is BS! It's obvious something is wrong with TMNet here, not AT&T. We're paying premium price for high-speed broadband and they're providing us with less than what a true ADSL connection can do even with all the overhead factored in!

Plus, I've noticed a pattern here. The latency drops from 3000 to about 1700-1900 around 4-6am in the morning. Congestion at our local routers? This happened to me for the past 3 days.

Xeoalpha, you're our champion here! 1 hour 35 minutes, that's impressive! I bet the person answering you has bleeding ears now.

This post has been edited by Wolfgard: Apr 3 2005, 05:20 PM
Wolfgard
post Apr 3 2005, 05:23 PM

892 posts

Maxis WBB is too expensive. How about Jaring BB? I've heard some horror stories about it but if it provides an overall better service, I'd rather dump Streamyx.

About changing the name, it should be 4k by now as I'm playing at 3.8k now!

EDIT: Anybody thinking about writing to The Star's InTech column? I remember reading that a few editors there are playing WoW too (beta or retail, I can't remember). Maybe a little publicity will give TMNet a little innitiative to fix the issue.

This post has been edited by Wolfgard: Apr 3 2005, 05:26 PM
Wolfgard
post Apr 4 2005, 04:39 AM

892 posts

I'm starting to lose hope here. Please tell me this will be fixed soon:(

EDIT: It's impossible to get 218.x.x.x or 60.x.x.x at my place. With 219.x.x.x being so slow, I've no idea how long I can take this.

This post has been edited by Wolfgard: Apr 4 2005, 04:45 AM
Wolfgard
post Apr 4 2005, 03:15 PM

892 posts

Just made a 50 minute call to TMNet tech support. No luck again. The guys on the other side is as clueless ... oh wait... not as we are. He's just plain clueless doh.gif

Basically I told him every possible problem that we're facing (219.x.x.x range issue, possibility of IP filtering, routing table issues...yadda yadda) and after minutes of discussions, he finally agreed to send in a report. That guy kept rambling on how this must be my router issue! I've already told him this is not only my problem, but he went on and on.

I'll call back tomorrow to check on the report status. No use checking today, I doubt they'll even lift a finger by tonight. I'll keep you all posted on this.

@sherly: No DC yesterday. Just friggin' high latency!

PS: What software are you using to reconnect? My router doesn't have the reconnect button and I hate having to reboot everytime (it takes nearly 1 minute to get reconnected!). I'm using a prolink 9000g router.

This post has been edited by Wolfgard: Apr 4 2005, 03:16 PM
Wolfgard
post Apr 4 2005, 03:24 PM

892 posts

Haha...power off and on. Riiiggghhhtt. All I do is click the reboot button in the control panel. Very, very hi-tech.

So, how's Jaring BB? Anybody played WoW with that? If this is goes on for toooo long. I'll ditch Streamyx for JBB. As long as the latency is below 800ms, I'm happy with it.
Wolfgard
post Apr 4 2005, 06:43 PM

892 posts

QUOTE(wildside @ Apr 4 2005, 06:35 PM)
And to make matters worse, I happen to be stuck at the Authenticating stage connecting to the WoW server now.

This will be a very... 'interesting' evening wink.gif
Hmmm..... logging on is extremely slow, but once entered it's 2800ms.

So, are we all going to reconnect like mad everytime we want to play WoW? This is a sure way to kill our routers/modem.

I've tried over 10 times just now. Still stuck at 219.95.x.x. Looks like it's impossibile to get other IP address range here in Section 28 Shah Alam.

Wolfgard
post Apr 4 2005, 08:52 PM

892 posts

QUOTE(lilzany @ Apr 4 2005, 08:13 PM)
I think the difference lies in the klj-odsy01-srp1-0.tm.net.my [210.187.135.13] gateway and the brf-odsy01-srp1-0.tm.net.my [210.187.135.1]. From the traceroute posted by people in the forums. Those that pass through klj experience only 300ms lag where else the one passing through the brf hop always experience 2k-4k lag...like the one in my house. As of now, I am currently playing in a cybercafe in SS15 and it went through the klj link...been playing for 4 hours now and constant 400-600ms on average(funny how when my house is so near)....Maybe the 208.xx passes through the klj hops that greatly reduce lag but I think we as a consumer should be able to demand to access this route
rather than to call to those lousy TMNet support staff that knows nothing of the current status of their maintenace.

I contacted the TMNet support staff and they told that under major maintenace it only takes 2 weeks for everything to be back to normal. However, this current situation we are facing is going into the 3rd week, so its really no excuse for them
Wait.... are they still doing maintenance? Why all the conflicting statements? What about 'tmnet not being able to solve the problem and it's AT&T's fault'?

Wolfgard
post Apr 5 2005, 02:38 AM

892 posts

QUOTE(Xeoalpha @ Apr 5 2005, 01:49 AM)
Guys, after doing some extensive reading and testing. I know now, there are 2 possiblities:

1. As Ive said back a few pages ago - It's AT&T's cloud starting at 12.118.44.5 which is giving 219. problems.

2. 219 and 218 - What's the difference ? Well 219 is a virtual proxy, it's meant to handle loads of queries and distribute IPs to alot of users. This proxy has been giving alot of people problems. Im not sure why it only seemed to get worst 3 1/2 weeks ago. This proxy might be giving 12.118.44.5 at AT&T problems.
Hmm... good job on find out possible causes. If it's AT&T's cloud, that's a bad sign for us. How we're ever going to play again, I dunno now. Don't think I can tahan levelling my character again on a local server like what I'm doing now.

Damn streamyx! I'm starting to lose hope they'll ever fix this problem. If it's still laggy today, I'll go dust off my xbox and play Halo 2, Splinter Cell 3 or MechAssault 2. Don't think life will be the same anymore w/o WoW cry.gif

0.0350sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:22 PM