87 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Business Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA)

chaoshero
post Dec 21 2006, 02:40 PM

362 posts

QUOTE(Joel718 @ Dec 20 2006, 04:33 PM)
im interested in CFA oso....currently taking ACCA...

is there any exemption for us if i wana take CFA....can any1 tel me d difference between CFA n CFP???

i heard SAP is gud oso....wic 1 is beta n has gud prospect??
ACCA and CFA are totally 2 different universe.ACCA all the matter of accounting, taxation and those stupid legal stuffs......but CFA is more towards investment, securities, share market, bond, derivatives, futures, and options...u will also learn about statistic and economics....

CFP is meant for people like unit trust agents, or insurance agent...not worth taking it cos it's not so recognised unless u r doing sales line......and yet u have to pay annual member fees.

Locally tailored, so it's very easy to pass......only 1 year half
Joel718
post Dec 23 2006, 03:53 AM

121 posts

oooic....CFA n ACCA r both business courses....

havin ACCA qualification....do i get sum exemption???

can any1 provide any modules of CFA ?? any website??? i wud like 2 check....

by d time i finished ACCA...i wud hv completed OBU degree as well....
OBU is a degree in applied accounting...

so i wud like 2 ask...by havin tis degree ...do i get exemptions??

wher shud i work by havin both ACCA n CFA qualifications ???
ChaSm
post Dec 23 2006, 02:32 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(Joel718 @ Dec 20 2006, 04:33 PM)
im interested in CFA oso....currently taking ACCA...

is there any exemption for us if i wana take CFA....can any1 tel me d difference between CFA n CFP???

i heard SAP is gud oso....wic 1 is beta n has gud prospect??
SAP is more towards IT if i'm not mistakened.. Involves programming accounting based softwares.. Somewhere along that grounds..

ACCA, CFA, CFP, SAP, they're all good.. It depends on where exactly your passion lies.. They cover different fields..

QUOTE(Joel718 @ Dec 23 2006, 03:53 AM)
oooic....CFA n ACCA r both business courses....

havin ACCA qualification....do i get sum exemption???

can any1 provide any modules of CFA ?? any website??? i wud like 2 check....

by d time i finished ACCA...i wud hv completed OBU degree as well....
OBU is a degree in applied accounting...

so i wud like 2 ask...by havin tis degree ...do i get exemptions??

wher shud i work by havin both ACCA n CFA qualifications ???
I don't think you get any exemptions.. Though, i could be worng...

Depending on what you wanna venture into.. With CFA, assuming that your passion lies in finance.. Investment banks would be a good choice.. But of course, you still can work in accounting firms..

With ACCA and CFA, your options in the accounting world is pretty much all opened.. you can work in almost any field.. It all depends on your individual preferences
Suk
post Mar 31 2007, 11:31 PM

2,330 posts

any examption from acca to cfa ?
Lcsx
post May 19 2007, 07:23 AM

1,016 posts

QUOTE(Suk @ Mar 31 2007, 11:31 PM)
any examption from acca to cfa ?
Nope no exemptions. Even if you have masters of finance also no exemption.
ZONX
post Jun 6 2007, 11:03 PM

340 posts

Currently i'm working in Perak and plan to take CFA

i can only see CFA is available in Kasturi in KL from google

So is there any other ways to take CFA? part time~nop since i'm working in perak..

is self-study possible? since the course is hardcore one and lack of group discussion~
Lcsx
post Jun 7 2007, 09:49 AM

1,016 posts

QUOTE(ZONX @ Jun 6 2007, 11:03 PM)
Currently i'm working in Perak and plan to take CFA

i can only see CFA is available in Kasturi in KL from google

So is there any other ways to take CFA? part time~nop since i'm working in perak..

is self-study possible? since the course is hardcore one and lack of group discussion~
There are actually around 3 main places to study CFA in KL, another is called MIM at Jalan Ampang.

I am aware that there is at least 1 place to study in Penang also. Down south, Singapore there is plenty. Uh... Perak... really no idea.

Your only option there would seem to be self study. Materials can be purchased through CFA institute itself or other 3rd parties.

ZONX
post Jun 7 2007, 09:09 PM

340 posts

Thx for your reply~

not necessary have to take the course and attend the classes one rite??

can be just buy those materials and self study. then register to take the test only, is that encourageble? when should i register for that? if only for the test

i've read few thread about cfa and notice that the materials will make a hole in my wallet..@@ and who are those 3rd parties?
Lcsx
post Jun 7 2007, 09:25 PM

1,016 posts

QUOTE(ZONX @ Jun 7 2007, 09:09 PM)
Thx for your reply~

not necessary have to take the course and attend the classes one rite??

can be just buy those materials and self study. then register to take the test only, is that encourageble? when should i register for that? if only for the test

i've read few thread about cfa and notice that the materials will make a hole in my wallet..@@  and who are those 3rd parties?
They are Schweser and Stella which are in a way 2nd or 3rd party textbooks. Basically Stella is for really intensive study while Schweser is for more general just enough to get you through textbook.

yeah you don't have to attend classes. Actually classes are by 3rd party people. You can register after studying but do take note that there are registration deadlines and generally with each passing semester... uhm... they seem to raise the exam prices.

ZONX
post Jun 8 2007, 12:24 PM

340 posts

Can i get those textbooks from bookstore? so there are only 2 textbooks for it? only for lvl1 rite?

okie, i will check the registration price and deadlines out =) are you taking cfa or you already are a cfa holder? mind to share ur experience? ty
Lcsx
post Jun 8 2007, 01:58 PM

1,016 posts

QUOTE(ZONX @ Jun 8 2007, 12:24 PM)
Can i get those textbooks from bookstore? so there are only 2 textbooks for it? only for lvl1 rite?

okie, i will check the registration price and deadlines out =) are you taking cfa or you already are a cfa holder? mind to share ur experience? ty
Well. I don't think you can get in a normal bookstore in Malaysia. Normally people order them. Well those are the 2 main textbooks, there may be others but I never checked.

Heh naw not a holder yet just candidate. Well I think we'll pm each other from here, getting a little personnel for public board.

kbandito
post Jun 25 2007, 11:49 AM

1,184 posts

I am entering my second year in uni and plan to take CFA later.
Any comment on what should I do so I will be more well-prepared when I take the Level I exam after I graduate?
Really need some inputs here. smile.gif
Lcsx
post Jun 25 2007, 05:56 PM

1,016 posts

QUOTE(kbandito @ Jun 25 2007, 11:49 AM)
I am entering my second year in uni and plan to take CFA later.
Any comment on what should I do so I will be more well-prepared when I take the Level I exam after I graduate?
Really need some inputs here. smile.gif
Well, level 1 is very simmilar to your undergrad studies but with proper application put into it.

Best way to figure is probably go buy some cfa revision books to check it out.

Kayne
post Jun 25 2007, 05:58 PM

Dota GODLIKE
1,606 posts

Fyi you have to be at least final year( final semester of your dergee) to be qualified to take CFA. You can find this information from their web site

The prereq for CFA is at least to be a dergee holder but they are allowing final year student to start taking it:)

cheers

This post has been edited by Kayne: Jun 25 2007, 05:59 PM
kbandito
post Jun 25 2007, 08:01 PM

1,184 posts

QUOTE(Kayne @ Jun 25 2007, 05:58 PM)
Fyi you have to be at least final year( final semester of your dergee) to be qualified to take CFA. You can find this information from their web site

The prereq for CFA is at least to be a dergee holder but they are allowing final year student to start taking it:)

cheers
Ya I knew that, thanks anyway. smile.gif
@meno
post Jun 25 2007, 11:56 PM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

Anyone could provide me with the exact college name who provides this CFA course in Penang. I have just graduated with a Finance degree and i hoping to further my studies in the investment field. Hoping to just drop by and get some more detailed info on the course.
owenwong84
post Jul 1 2007, 12:36 PM

Zin zin
1,041 posts

CFA only have 3 papers to exam izzit?
how long is the exam time?
how many question inside?
christ99
post Jul 17 2007, 10:17 AM

31 posts

I'm in my final semester of my degree and would like the CFA examinations. How and where can i register myself to take the papers?
TSv2_vehooi
post Jul 24 2007, 12:02 AM

374 posts

anyone here got took CFA exam on June 07 ??? why until now the results not yet come out ???
yazoo
post Jul 24 2007, 11:38 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ Jun 25 2007, 11:56 PM)
Anyone could provide me with the exact college name who provides this CFA course in Penang. I have just graduated with a Finance degree and i hoping to further my studies in the investment field. Hoping to just drop by and get some more detailed info on the course.
You can try Kolej Kasturi in Bellisa Row in Pulau Tikus : http://www.kasturi.edu.my/contact_us.html

But let me tell you this CFA is one tough exam that requires your 100% effort and time. I know because I myself took the exam in 2004. There were about 6 of us with financial background and experiences, and 7 others are engineers from Motorola. Sad to say not a single of us pass the first level exam. cry.gif

Classes normally begins around 7.30pm till 10.30pm. So for working people like me I only have weekends to study which is not enough to say the least. Even one of my ex-colleague totally gave up though she passed her level one exam !

You can have a clear view about CFA and on how to tackle the exam from this link : http://www.angelfire.com/nc3/normancafe/StudyRoom_CFA.htm

Kolej Kasturi do provide notes and stuffs, but for recommended text books you can buy from one of the shop in from of USM. I even subscribed to one online study notes and paid some RM300 for it. And I think I still got my old notes that I'm gladly want to get rid of for free if anybody interested !

87 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0179sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:33 PM