126 Pages « < 95 96 97 98 99 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

saintcute
post Jun 21 2008, 11:34 PM

55 posts

dont work like a dog and eat like a stingy ass. If that's the case, why go to spore in the first place? Worth it?
If you intend to go for a change in environment, better system and safer society, Spore is worth the try. If you can get a decent salary there, can give it a try. I always find working there is stressful but if you are working with a foreign company rather than a sporean company in spore, it will be better. Life after work isn't much to be done, get a gf there will spice up your life abit.
anyway, can always travel back to Msia cos it is not that expensive. Food and other stuffs there are cheap with ratio of 1:1 for money earned.
seantang
post Jun 21 2008, 11:38 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

eRiCCa

I think it's safe to say that the cost of living in Singapore is the same or lower than KL (S$ for RM).

I work in Orchard Road (ie. the most expensive food courts and lunch spots in Sg), and I can manage quite well with S$5 per meal at the food courts. A Subway or Starbucks grande is about S$4.50. A curry chicken bun at Breadtalk is S$1.20.

In terms of supermkts, groceries in Sg, except for stuff that is from Malaysia, is generally cheaper S$ for RM because it's mostly imported.
bbmars
post Jun 21 2008, 11:58 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(eRiCCa @ Jun 21 2008, 03:24 PM)
hey that sounds alright, the AMOUNT might sound not economical, but then look at the ingredients in it, definitely worth the price...

and couldnt agree more on the lovey cooking scene, i mean i love cooking too, not that cooking with someone but the feeling of cooking is great!!
my friend was telling me they eat the ZAP FAN for 3bucks only... but then i guess that's not that healthy though... actually i like to cook big pot of soup and have it for few days, the last day is the yummiest!!! and i cook for dinner then i will get to bring lunch to work on the next day too!!

anyone brings lunch to work or everyone eats out?
Wow.... cook soup keep for consumption for so many days... actually not healthy at all... by the next day, whatever nutriuent in the soup already gone.. although may be tasty. You can actually cook simple Niang Tao foo soup. Buy them from market or supermartket... price various ~20c/pc.. buy $2 and just boil it with water is already quite good and also healthy.

However, if being alone, its not so economical to cook as your bill will be more expensive unless you don't mind.

Added on June 22, 2008, 12:09 amThere are Malaysians working in supermarket, shopping centres where the pay is much lower than most of you here... and they are still suriviving well with some savings.... enjoy when they are back in MY... you win some you loose some... don't always expect to get a much better deal, not everyone has that luck including many Singaporeans. But people here still can survive much better than in Malaysia with lower pay. Even my office cleaner gets better pay and working hours. Last month, she went in to JB for leisure and makan.. came across this cleaner at one of the mall and shared about her working and pay condition.

Working hours Salary
JB cleaner 7.30am -7.30pm RM450
Office cleaner anuty 7.30am - 4.30pm SG$600

Just compare this and ask how are they going to survive. Anyway, this is nothing new, I knew of someone for many years but lost touch, she is from Sarawak. Whenever she goes back home, everyone expects her to give some form of "payout" which she hated going home so much. but what to do, her family after all... she save so much to live like a queen for several days back in MY and then came back to SG to slot it out. I don't see anything wrong, just like many, take advantage of the exchange rate... even my classmates are doing it to pay back their study loan taken from MayBank in MY.

This post has been edited by bbmars: Jun 22 2008, 12:12 AM
siaukia
post Jun 22 2008, 12:13 AM

1,491 posts

i'm not sure if anyone would want to hear mycomment but ofcourse i would be delighted to share my experience over a period of 3 month here in sg.

it's really a mix of sweet and sour, being abroad here. but of course if wewant to consider in building a career path as a professional, this would be a great platform i will say.

eating here is generally cheaper as whatother members here said is compared to malaysia dollar by dollar. because i got to know that the pay that a fresh graduates gets to paid by the company in sg roughly like a ratio of 1:0.8 compared to malaysia.

of course while mostof the other thing looks bright, just on the sourside would be theskyrocketing rent prices here. heck, even at your nearest neighbourhood (depends onwhere you stay), you can still get a full plate of charsiew siuyork farn at 2.50$! fried rice at 3$

basically no matter how it is still goes back to your ownself, ask yourself do you see yourself growing better here. else, as earlier thereplies here said, it might not worth it, since it requires you to be a distancefrom your family members orloved ones.

eRiCCa
post Jun 22 2008, 09:37 PM

441 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 21 2008, 11:38 PM)
eRiCCa

I think it's safe to say that the cost of living in Singapore is the same or lower than KL (S$ for RM).

I work in Orchard Road (ie. the most expensive food courts and lunch spots in Sg), and I can manage quite well with S$5 per meal at the food courts. A Subway or Starbucks grande is about S$4.50. A curry chicken bun at Breadtalk is S$1.20.

In terms of supermkts, groceries in Sg, except for stuff that is from Malaysia, is generally cheaper S$ for RM because it's mostly imported.
wow!! that sounds so cheap!! i guess all the imported things are cheaper there for their exchange rate, this is why we can enjoy luxury life there... and that's one of my reasons to go there, buy enough bags first before going back to kl and can no longer to afford to buy one with the kl salary...

QUOTE(bbmars @ Jun 21 2008, 11:58 PM)
Wow.... cook soup keep for consumption for so many days... actually not healthy at all... by the next day, whatever nutriuent in the  soup already gone.. although may be tasty.  You can actually cook simple Niang Tao foo soup.  Buy them from market or supermartket... price various ~20c/pc.. buy $2 and just boil it with water is already quite good and also healthy. 
HAHAHHAHAHA exactly what my mom said... but first day soup too CLEAR leh, no taste one =P i thought the nutrients already MELTED into the soup?

well, i guess it's normal for people to eat out there because it's so cheap to eat out, why waste energy after a long day... for me, i have to eat at home to save for my bags... HAHAHHA... eating out here is terrible... cheapest 8-10bucks for the mostest boring food... so most of the people bring lunch to work too...
cjtune
post Jun 22 2008, 10:54 PM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

QUOTE(saintcute @ Jun 21 2008, 11:34 PM)
dont work like a dog and eat like a stingy ass. If that's the case, why go to spore in the first place? Worth it?
Actually, I notice my S'porean colleagues in the above mentioned 'stingy-ass' mode - they want to save up for a home or car they say!

I guess the extra S$100 or so saved per month can add up to some nice lamp or sofa to furnish a new home?

mls_gamer
post Jun 22 2008, 11:06 PM

1,589 posts

Hey guys, I just wanna try my luck at SG, i have 2 years work exp in manufacture and production.
1. ASST .ENGGINEER
2. PRODUCTION EXECUTIVE

diploma holder....
what salary can i get for it with only this i have???
bcos at MALAYSIA, with all the price increase ......i cannot tahan liao,
this years i can save maybe 400, next years maybe ...300...next will be terrible..
now malaysia to sg change rate is 2.45 right?

how the
Got any idea ?
thanks smile.gif

cjtune
post Jun 22 2008, 11:11 PM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Jun 22 2008, 11:06 PM)
Hey guys, I just wanna try my luck at SG, i have 2 years work exp in manufacture and production.
1. ASST .ENGGINEER
2. PRODUCTION EXECUTIVE

diploma holder....
what salary can i get for it with only this i have???
bcos at MALAYSIA, with all the price increase ......i cannot tahan liao,
this years i can save maybe 400, next years maybe ...300...next will be terrible..
now malaysia to sg change rate is 2.45 right?

how the
Got any idea ?
thanks  smile.gif
Sounds like technician (aka "Technical Specialist") sort of jobs.
You could try asking for S$1.5 to 2k.
Living expenditure probably S$600 to 1000 per month depending on your lifestyle...

S$1=RM2.37 as of last Friday.

mls_gamer
post Jun 22 2008, 11:16 PM

1,589 posts

QUOTE(cjtune @ Jun 22 2008, 11:11 PM)
Sounds like technician (aka "Technical Specialist") sort of jobs.
You could try asking for S$1.5 to 2k.
Living expenditure probably S$600 to 1000 per month depending on your lifestyle...

S$1=RM2.37 as of last Friday.
haha..only technician..haha
thanks for this info.
so 1.5~2.0 is for diploma malaysian with 2 year exp. sweat.gif

....if..if i want try to work on other field with no exp how the salary?

This post has been edited by mls_gamer: Jun 22 2008, 11:19 PM
cjtune
post Jun 22 2008, 11:25 PM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Jun 22 2008, 11:16 PM)
haha..only technician..haha
thanks for this info.
so 1.5~2.0 is for diploma malaysian with 2 year exp. sweat.gif
....if..if i want try to work on other field with no exp how the salary?
Competition very high from other foreigners and locals with qualifications.

Anyhow, just apply and try.
Not sure if it's still true, but Malaysians are still very much preferred over the other nationalities because frankly despite how much S'poreans b**** about us, we shine through with our hard work and can ngam better with nearly similar cultures and tongue, and of course we are 'competitively priced' compared to locals....

mls_gamer
post Jun 22 2008, 11:37 PM

1,589 posts

Thanks again cjtune for your idea and advise.it really help.but i still need more info.
bcos i now still working as a production executive. my salary here is rm2000 at negeri sembilan...."lucky at negeri sembilan, if at kl with 2000 cannot survive"

what position you work at there?

cjtune
post Jun 23 2008, 12:01 AM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Jun 22 2008, 11:37 PM)
Thanks again cjtune for your idea and advise.it really help.but i still need more info.
bcos i now still working as a production executive. my salary here is rm2000 at negeri sembilan...."lucky at negeri sembilan, if at kl with 2000 cannot survive"

what position you work at there?
I am an R&D engineer.

mls_gamer
post Jun 23 2008, 12:14 AM

1,589 posts

QUOTE(cjtune @ Jun 23 2008, 12:01 AM)
I am an R&D engineer.
as i know from my friend as a degree holder with no exp work as a engineer basic salary is >3000 sg right?
Suk
post Jun 23 2008, 12:39 AM

2,330 posts

boring life. as my friend told me.
cjtune
post Jun 23 2008, 02:01 AM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Jun 23 2008, 12:14 AM)
as i know from my friend as a degree holder with no exp work as a engineer basic salary is >3000 sg right?
Depends... some of the India engineers I work with I noticed have only S-passes, and they have experience. That means they earn <S$2500. You'll have to compete with them. I was lucky to start off years ago at slightly higher than dictated by the Employment Pass, but still <S$3000 at that time. Today, I don't think it's a sure thing you will start off >S$3000. Will vary from company to company. MNC's pay more than local firms for sure.

eRiCCa
post Jun 23 2008, 07:48 AM

441 posts

i was thinking... is it actually worth the trouble to work in sg if only holding a S pass?

and i also heard that most singaporeans dont hate malaysians, in fact they kinda like malaysians as they realised quite a number of GOOD malaysian employees out there... and apparently they dislike the politics side of malaysia and not the malaysians themselves... i guess they dont really care about where people from, as long as you can perform well... but another thing is, i was also told that, you need GOOD results from GOOD unis to compete...

well, again, i am not sure about it... so anyone have idea about this?
aicescko
post Jun 23 2008, 08:43 AM

115 posts

How much to be survive in singapore each month ? Plus meal and accommodation ?
SUSSPS
post Jun 23 2008, 10:28 AM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(saintcute @ Jun 21 2008, 11:34 PM)
If you intend to go for a change in environment, better system and safer society, Spore is worth the try. If you can get a decent salary there, can give it a try. I always find working there is stressful but if you are working with a foreign company rather than a sporean company in spore, it will be better. Life after work isn't much to be done, get a gf there will spice up your life abit.
anyway, can always travel back to Msia cos it is not that expensive. Food and other stuffs there are cheap with ratio of 1:1 for money earned.
Being a "stingy ass" and being prudent are two differernt things - something youngsters should ingrain in their heads if they wish to live comfortably instead of being in perpetual credit card debt.

There are many foreigners in Singapore who work their butts off and save lots - solely due to sheer hard work and prudent expenditure.

Have a Singaporean girlfriend? LOL, you will dig a bigger hole in debt if you do that!

Added on June 23, 2008, 10:31 am
QUOTE(eRiCCa @ Jun 23 2008, 07:48 AM)
i was thinking... is it actually worth the trouble to work in sg if only holding a S pass?

and i also heard that most singaporeans dont hate malaysians, in fact they kinda like malaysians as they realised quite a number of GOOD malaysian employees out there... and apparently they dislike the politics side of malaysia and not the malaysians themselves... i guess they dont really care about where people from, as long as you can perform well... but another thing is, i was also told that, you need GOOD results from GOOD unis to compete...

well, again, i am not sure about it... so anyone have idea about this?
Look at the number of high-profile positions held by Malaysians or ex-Malaysians in Singapore:

1. Former CEO of SIA and current chairman of OCBC is an ex-Malaysian who was headhunted for in the late 1970s
2. Minister of Health hails from Penang
3. Several judges are ex-Malaysian
4. 25% of the law faculty in NTU are Malaysians/ ex-Malaysians

I have several friends who are surgeons, GPs and pharmacists who moved to Singapore and have done very well for themselves and their families.

Added on June 23, 2008, 10:32 am
QUOTE(aicescko @ Jun 23 2008, 08:43 AM)
How much to be survive in singapore each month ? Plus meal and accommodation ?
That's too generic a question.

It solely depends on your lifestyle and your commitments.

This post has been edited by SPS: Jun 23 2008, 10:33 AM
eRiCCa
post Jun 23 2008, 11:06 AM

441 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ Jun 23 2008, 10:28 AM)
Being a "stingy ass" and being prudent are two differernt things - something youngsters should ingrain in their heads if they wish to live comfortably instead of being in perpetual credit card debt. 

There are many foreigners in Singapore who work their butts off and save lots - solely due to sheer hard work and prudent expenditure.

Have a Singaporean girlfriend?  LOL, you will dig a bigger hole in debt if you do that!

Added on June 23, 2008, 10:31 am
Look at the number of high-profile positions held by Malaysians or ex-Malaysians in Singapore:

1.  Former CEO of SIA and current chairman of OCBC is an ex-Malaysian who was headhunted for in the late 1970s
2.  Minister of Health hails from Penang
3.  Several judges are ex-Malaysian
4.  25% of the law faculty in NTU are Malaysians/ ex-Malaysians
I have several friends who are surgeons, GPs and pharmacists who moved to Singapore and have done very well for themselves and their families.

Added on June 23, 2008, 10:32 am
That's too generic a question.

It solely depends on your lifestyle and your commitments.
ah i know that's what i said they are good malaysian employees out there... but are they all smart students before? like first class honours... distinction degree/master/phd... from well known unis? any possible chance that they were from some local unis or colleges, or even highest qualification is secondary shcool?
SUSSPS
post Jun 23 2008, 11:17 AM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(eRiCCa @ Jun 23 2008, 11:06 AM)
ah i know that's what i said they are good malaysian employees out there... but are they all smart students before? like first class honours... distinction degree/master/phd... from well known unis? any possible chance that they were from some local unis or colleges, or even highest qualification is secondary shcool?
Singapore is particular about the quality of degrees and certifications for professional jobs so it's a yes to your question.

An example would be that the Singapore legal council does not recognize "twinning degrees" from Malaysia and hence some Malaysian lawyers who work in Singapore are forced to downgrade to the level of paralegals.

This post has been edited by SPS: Jun 23 2008, 11:19 AM

126 Pages « < 95 96 97 98 99 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:33 AM