Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

siaukia
post Dec 29 2007, 10:59 AM

1,491 posts

hey there sorry for the duplicate threads all around. i'm wondering anything i need to take care since i'll be dropping by sg for few weeks before i start my work after cny (i presume)

of course this trip around mid jan later i need to start find room but i dono where i can start. hmm...somemore i'll be staying alone
siaukia
post Jan 4 2008, 03:43 PM

1,491 posts

anyone here will go down during the mid jan to do hunt on room renting?
and do you guys do have recommendation on which hostel to stay within the timeframe?

siaukia
post Jan 24 2008, 12:14 PM

1,491 posts

i still wonder why the TS didnt collect and list out whos LYNer in sg working, at least can go for tt session ma

haihzzz
siaukia
post Jan 29 2008, 11:14 AM

1,491 posts

anyone have any idea how much tiong bahru room will cost? i kinda like that place
siaukia
post Feb 18 2008, 10:53 PM

1,491 posts

i'm looking for room at sg, anyone can recommend? pls no bkt panjang, i'll fking slap you.

budget around 500-600 lol. sigh

siaukia
post Feb 26 2008, 10:24 AM

1,491 posts

oh well, bkt panjang is 'okay' , but the problem with the place i stay now has an auntie landlord that seems l ike everyday got PMS, kpkb like mcb.

thats why i need to move out to somewhere nearer at all cost, easier. of course after looking through the discussion in this forum, really made me think back if it's me being adventurous or just plain stupid to rush to be here realizing if its 'worth' with the current amount of money. that goes same for me to need be apart from my family

anyone know if theres room at toa payoh for rent?
siaukia
post Feb 28 2008, 04:26 PM

1,491 posts

wanted to ask about some opinion on renting :

1. bishan - 500
2. tiong bahru - 800
3. tlk banglah - 680

which 1 better?

been sctratching my head
siaukia
post Feb 28 2008, 04:58 PM

1,491 posts

river valley road loh
bkt pangjang 1 hour travel sleep.gif
siaukia
post Apr 1 2008, 02:04 AM

1,491 posts

Been working for 2 months here in SG. Its really a rollercoaster experience to me. First thing would be the place to stay, then now it would be the livin expenses.

If unplanned, it could really go down to your throat and slit you up. Really. I'm on the verge of bankruptcy of that. Due to my silliness in my financial planning. Didn't really think too thorugh before making a decision in doing something. That goes to signing up a plan for broadband, phone line, and using it etc etc.

Look, think, and look and think again only decide. That's what I learnt. But overall, I miss driving back in Msia. But here, basically, you have nothing else to comment since the public transport takes care of everthing.

siaukia
post May 11 2008, 11:53 PM

1,491 posts

try www.sg-house.com
i got mine from there as well, was so blessed i didn't have to go thorugh those evil agent ever again. it's a nice spot i recommend because i got few calls/sms after i posted my requirement up there. better than you go hunt (unless you too urgently need a room).

good luck

siaukia
post Jun 22 2008, 12:13 AM

1,491 posts

i'm not sure if anyone would want to hear mycomment but ofcourse i would be delighted to share my experience over a period of 3 month here in sg.

it's really a mix of sweet and sour, being abroad here. but of course if wewant to consider in building a career path as a professional, this would be a great platform i will say.

eating here is generally cheaper as whatother members here said is compared to malaysia dollar by dollar. because i got to know that the pay that a fresh graduates gets to paid by the company in sg roughly like a ratio of 1:0.8 compared to malaysia.

of course while mostof the other thing looks bright, just on the sourside would be theskyrocketing rent prices here. heck, even at your nearest neighbourhood (depends onwhere you stay), you can still get a full plate of charsiew siuyork farn at 2.50$! fried rice at 3$

basically no matter how it is still goes back to your ownself, ask yourself do you see yourself growing better here. else, as earlier thereplies here said, it might not worth it, since it requires you to be a distancefrom your family members orloved ones.

siaukia
post Jul 1 2008, 11:00 AM

1,491 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Jun 29 2008, 06:19 PM)
i'm not sure if i ate plastic or what, i already shared my experiecne that i found my room at www.sgrooms.com , and the best thing is, you state your requirement and they will contact you. and most of the times, no agent fee

haih.
anyway, i think you have to be extra careful with spending for the first 2 month,especially when signing up for additional package or contract with sg companies, you wil lfeel damn tulan when signup already cannot cancel and need to waste for 6 month of money to cancel.

let's say you stay in some ulu place at bukit panjang, which the room lowest would be $400 for a store-room-alike size.

first month
-rent - 400
-deposit - 400
-agent (if got) - 200
-transport - 50 (bus and mrt)
-body/medical check up ? (around 50sgd)
-10 sgd meal per day (in town) - 300 per month (you can try eat bread)
-phone, call locally/malaysia or still dont want to use postpaid (50sgd+-)
- other stuff for daily use, sabun etc etc - 50
- bank account (posb/dbs, they're like the local maybank) - 500 minimum
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-2000 = rm4800

AND THAT is you're staying almost like inside a store room. and tiongbahru/bugis/littleindia those nearby the central city area will be minimum 800 per month, and that is not confirm if they include water+electricity

siaukia
post Jul 1 2008, 11:32 AM

1,491 posts

just for your information if you really in tight situation, leave a certain amount like 500rm inside your maybank account, you can use it to withdraw omney from ANY atm machine in Singapore. With one condition

1. you need to call to maybank malaysia and tell them to activate this service, no service charge involve. but best to do it while in malaysia. 1-300-88-6688
(for domestic customers)
603-7844 3696
(for overseas customers)

2. if withdraw from sg's maybank atm - charge 2sgd per transaction
3. if withdraw from other atm in sg - charge 10sgd per transaction

consider this as a last resort backup.
siaukia
post Jul 5 2008, 12:44 AM

1,491 posts

basically as what the other forumer said, it's dependent on your line you are doing, if you are getting more than 2.5k sgd OR it's a job that is 'listed/known' as 'professional career' by the govt, them you'll most likely able to entitle for an EP.

but the p1/p2 pass is something new, haven't heard of it yet. thanks for sharing.
siaukia
post Jul 10 2008, 03:23 AM

1,491 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Jul 9 2008, 12:26 AM)
Wow, it really useful. I really din know there is such cards available to apply.
I think i will go and apply for it after i got my EP. 5 mins is really efficient. Thanks for your info bro
wow, thank god for this info, i never will have to bear the nightmare of waiting 2 hours inside the queue sleep.gif that was the worst nightmare i had.

anyway there'll be a party threw for electrico (band) on their new album in zouk this firday, anyone going?
siaukia
post Jul 24 2008, 10:15 AM

1,491 posts

QUOTE(Guai Guai Zai @ Jul 24 2008, 09:47 AM)
Mos females are from MY? How true is this?
you would be suprised the amount of sg female here, originates from my, i mean, their parents.
or some, born young already threw to live here in sg.
siaukia
post Jul 24 2008, 11:47 AM

1,491 posts

and then the cycle repeats again, if you raise a daughter next time in sg...same scenario lol
siaukia
post Jul 28 2008, 08:51 PM

1,491 posts

i'm going to cancel my m1 mobile broadband after this month, been more than a bitter experience with them, a lot of unwanted issues, want to cancel, i went to bugis and say i'll pay for the remaining month, and in the end they say i need to head to orchard for termination, and my office is near there.i was like wtf. really bitter.

downgrade from 1mb to 512 need to pay additional 20sgd++
i wouldn’t mind to give a try at singnet’s mobile bb but I’ll see how, but I’ll need advise on which mobile service provider will you prefer? I’m currently using m1 because of it’s IDD package, that automatically deducts all IDD fee, only phone call charges applied, but when I walked down into the Singtel building itself to ask, the f***ing staff there print a bunch of paper that can be read from the website, and didn’t answer my question at all.

sigh. except for iphone 3g, i think i need more information if singtel is a better choice in terms of phone call and idd calls back to malaysia

Added on July 28, 2008, 8:52 pmiinm, those workers that is working in food court at vivocity is earning around 800++ per month, for 10 hours daily need to work.

This post has been edited by siaukia: Jul 28 2008, 08:52 PM
siaukia
post Jul 30 2008, 02:41 PM

1,491 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Jul 30 2008, 02:00 PM)
Pls provide me la, this thread got 117 pages, how am I going to have the time to go through all the pages…? Thank you in advance la cos I urgently in need of a room.
i kena last time, now its your time! hahaha, go and do some research in this thread, not only you only get the links to the room, but also knowledge on do and donts in sg. not to punish you or being nasty but its a habit you need to DO biggrin.gif

no spoonfed tongue.gif
anyway, some hints for you, just few pagse back there's links to it (aroudn 4-5 pages)
siaukia
post Aug 4 2008, 12:30 PM

1,491 posts

QUOTE(J(o)y @ Aug 4 2008, 12:13 PM)
Any reason for the higher rates in M'sia?? I beliv this apply not only to SGD, but also other currencies, such as NZD, AUD, HKD, etc..
Isit bcos, other countries offer some extra services, M'sian exchanger don't?

Added on August 4, 2008, 12:19 pmNot sure if anyone asked this before.

Anyone use laundry services before in Singpore?

YES
1.  How do they charge in Singapore? in kilogram or by per piece?
2.  What is the rate?
10SGD/3KG = additional 1kg extra charge

3.  Isit very convient?
YES, take only 1 day to clean and tomorrow can pick up

4.  How far isit from your accomodation (roughly how many minutes or km?) Walking distance?
DEPENDING ON WHERE YOU STAY. there's a shop near my workplace at Killiney Road (the singtel building there)

5. Where do you stay?
i took it from home to workplace there. really dependent

0.0457sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:50 AM