108 Pages « < 71 72 73 74 75 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Careers V8, Upstream and Downstream, Crude Oil (WTI): USD 45.22/bbl

_azam13
post Oct 29 2015, 09:29 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Oct 29 2015, 04:23 AM)
i am close to 5 months now after SI. probably we're in the same boat lol. i've already stopped calling them to follow up, as i noticed that the answer is the same every single time i called them.
QUOTE(kamalz90 @ Oct 29 2015, 01:12 AM)
So you waited 10 months? Wow, so you follow up with HR like how frequent? And did they call you about the offer, or just email you about it?
Not really frequent. I emailed them probably once every two weeks. I never called. Then at some point I stopped emailing. Suddenly they emailed me back saying want to hire
zull12
post Oct 30 2015, 07:47 PM

Hi otai2 sekalian...

I juz new in this thread...Now looking forward for job for career development in oil and gas industry...I juz graduate from chemical eng... hope u guyz can give some suggestions to me for a good start

P/s: nowadays, it's very hard to fine place that hired graduate eng.
mohdyakup
post Oct 30 2015, 08:16 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(zull12 @ Oct 30 2015, 07:47 PM)
Hi otai2 sekalian...

I juz new in this thread...Now looking forward for job for career development in oil and gas industry...I juz graduate from chemical eng... hope u guyz can give some suggestions to me for a good start

Welcome. First I would suggest you to read the whole O&G thread from Version 1 until the current thread, as stated at the first page of this thread. Read there.

Yes recruitment is hard nowadays. Don't limit yourself to Upstream operator only, there is plenty O&G service Co and contractor/vendor out there.

Godspeed.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 30 2015, 08:50 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(zull12 @ Oct 30 2015, 07:47 PM)
Hi otai2 sekalian...

I hope the bold sentence are not what you are typing in your application shocking.gif
Anyway, is all boils down which company you are able to join, be it as contract staff or permanent staff.
If you still got time and money during the waiting period, suggest to take some short term courses like HSSE since now government are pushing hard for this icon_rolleyes.gif
mohdyakup
post Oct 30 2015, 09:03 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 30 2015, 08:46 PM)
Well, it is a fact, unless you can show the fact and figures that all the departments and senior management post are having > 30% other races as permanent staffs:peace: And not hire other races for 1 day wayang contract tongue.gif
Is simple only, right? SInce you are working with them.
Is boring to bring racial mindset in my field of work.

You really have a problem when a Malay/Muslim/Islam/Bumiputra Semenanjung/Bumiputra Sarawak & Sabah working in O&G right? Apa masalah kau? Nak suap tetek?
meonkutu11
post Oct 31 2015, 01:50 AM

1,597 posts

Divergent Views on Optimum Oil, Gas Staff Size in Malaysia

PETRONAS Not Rightsizing, Staff Redeployed to RAPID

Layoffs should be your last resort, not your first resort because once you lay them off, they are not going to come back to you,” Sharmini Ann Jacob, KPMG’s director of People & Change, and management consulting ASEAN, told participants at the event.

As layoffs during an industry downturn could potentially include a skilled or talented staff, such action could be detrimental to the company’s longer term interests.

- See more at: http://www.rigzone.com/news/oil_gas/a/1413...h.48oULPQF.dpuf
meonkutu11
post Oct 31 2015, 02:07 AM

1,597 posts

Chevron Chops Capex Budget In Half Over 4 Years, Lays Off Another 7,000

By 2018, Chevron may be spending only half of 2014 capital expenditure levels. That would be a massive $20 billion reduction in annual investment spending in just four years.

In budget commentary this morning, Chevron communicated a much bigger cut than expected for 2016 and outlined budget contraction through 2018. Specifically, Chevron plans to cut capital and exploratory expenditures for 2016 to $25-28bn, roughly 25% below 2015 levels. About a month ago, we outlined expectations for a 20%+ reduction in North America E&P spending next year, but global spending contraction has been expected to lag North America. Chevron's news shows global industry contraction next year could be worse than expected.

By 2017-2018, the oil major expects further reductions will take spending down to the $20-24bn level. The low end of this guidance range is approximately half of the company's 2014 budget of $39.8bn.

The massive curtailment of spending wasn't the only jarring news in Chevron's 3Q report. Chevron's total headcount will be reduced by 10%, representing 6-7,000 more O&G job cuts. This is well past trimming the fat - muscle is being cut now.

The only silver lining in the news is that these cuts (and similar cuts in the pipeline from Chevron's peers) will lead to the kind of global oil production response necessary to set the stage for recovery. And deep cuts like this suggest the response will come sooner rather than later.
ed1torz
post Oct 31 2015, 09:42 AM

Обучение на протяжении всей жизни
1,061 posts

you can't deny the fact due to oil price correction, downsizing on their way rgdlss which company your in..

SUSsupersound
post Oct 31 2015, 10:18 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(ed1torz @ Oct 31 2015, 09:42 AM)
you can't deny the fact due to oil price correction, downsizing on their way rgdlss which company your in..
Nope, this won't happen in Malaysia whistling.gif Especially for petronas.
ed1torz
post Oct 31 2015, 05:04 PM

Обучение на протяжении всей жизни
1,061 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 31 2015, 10:18 AM)
Nope, this won't happen in Malaysia whistling.gif Especially for petronas.
glad to hear that. it was all good for a surplus

SUSsupersound
post Oct 31 2015, 05:39 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(ed1torz @ Oct 31 2015, 05:04 PM)
glad to hear that. it was all good for a surplus
Don't worry, MAS situation in the making thumbup.gif
Quang1819
post Oct 31 2015, 08:23 PM

2,604 posts

Hello all pro and sifu, I'm currently a student who is planning to pursue my degree in O&G Management. Do you guys think it's advisable? And will I get a shot in O&G industries? Because I've asked some people who has a close relationship with the gov. and some big company staffs, they said they don't really look for a fresh graduates with a O&G background but more on other background such as Marketing, Logistics and others...
Please advise me whether is it still worth pursuing with this field smile.gif
As you know, the crude oil crisis game is unstable...
midget33
post Oct 31 2015, 11:49 PM

72 posts

Hi all the sifus here. Do anyone here ever apply or go for face-to-face interview with Exxonmobil Singapore? It is a downstream job, refinery + chemical plant. =) I am now with one of the consultants in KL.

This post has been edited by midget33: Nov 1 2015, 05:54 PM
speedfamgirl
post Nov 1 2015, 04:52 AM

Not afraid of #138
1,900 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Oct 31 2015, 01:50 AM)
Divergent Views on Optimum Oil, Gas Staff Size in Malaysia

PETRONAS Not Rightsizing, Staff Redeployed to RAPID

Layoffs should be your last resort, not your first resort because once you lay them off, they are not going to come back to you,” Sharmini Ann Jacob, KPMG’s director of People & Change, and management consulting ASEAN, told participants at the event.

As layoffs during an industry downturn could potentially include a skilled or talented staff, such action could be detrimental to the company’s longer term interests.
- See more at: http://www.rigzone.com/news/oil_gas/a/1413...h.48oULPQF.dpuf
they wont be coming back at all due to the terms in the layoff
"employees who has been made redundant or taking the redundancy package voluntarily will not be allowed to work/apply for the company in the future"

well, rezeki ada di mana2...god speed.
SUSsupersound
post Nov 1 2015, 12:04 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Oct 31 2015, 08:23 PM)
Hello all pro and sifu, I'm currently a student who is planning to pursue my degree in O&G Management. Do you guys think it's advisable? And will I get a shot in O&G industries? Because I've asked some people who has a close relationship with the gov. and some big company staffs, they said they don't really look for a fresh graduates with a O&G background but more on other background such as Marketing, Logistics and others...
Please advise me whether is it still worth pursuing with this field smile.gif
As you know, the crude oil crisis game is unstable...
Usually you need chemical engineering background as a start, gaining experience in your way.
Then you need to take some management courses. Like Shell, most of the senior management start their career with chemical engineering and from there they start to climb.
That's what you see in the surface, the actual fact is, you need to sell your self and park in the right jetty. This is the only way to climb up fast. I've seen a fellow becoming a senior manager within 10 years or so, is not because he is good, is because he is selected and playing the office politic game. More experience are better thumbup.gif
SUSsupersound
post Nov 1 2015, 12:06 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(midget33 @ Oct 31 2015, 11:49 PM)
Hi all the sifus here. Do anyone here ever apply or go for face-to-face interview with Exxonmobil Singapore? It is a downstream job, refinery + chemical plant. =)
Try your very best for the interview, be honest.
Now downstream business will be more secured comparing to upstream business thumbup.gif
SUSsupersound
post Nov 1 2015, 12:09 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(speedfamgirl @ Nov 1 2015, 04:52 AM)
they wont be coming back at all due to the terms in the layoff
"employees who has been made redundant or taking the redundancy package voluntarily will not be allowed to work/apply for the company in the future"

well, rezeki ada di mana2...god speed.
On this, right and wrong only I can say whistling.gif
If you know the way, you can join back the same company, if lucky, with higher post shocking.gif
But if a Petronas staffs that get laid off, they are more happy to accepting the package, since their path after this will be the Middle East which promise them at least 5X more than what they are earning in Petronas.
Usually Petronas's staffs won't take any VSS as they will resign once they gain some experience. Like Saudi's Satorp, most Malaysians are from Petronas laugh.gif
Quang1819
post Nov 1 2015, 12:27 PM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Nov 1 2015, 12:04 PM)
Usually you need chemical engineering background as a start, gaining experience in your way.
Then you need to take some management courses. Like Shell, most of the senior management start their career with chemical engineering and from there they start to climb.
That's what you see in the surface, the actual fact is, you need to sell your self and park in the right jetty. This is the only way to climb up fast. I've seen a fellow becoming a senior manager within 10 years or so, is not because he is good, is because he is selected and playing the office politic game. More experience are better thumbup.gif
So basically got O&G Management degree also no use in O&G industry ? :/
SUSsupersound
post Nov 1 2015, 01:50 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Nov 1 2015, 12:27 PM)
Sort of, on middle to senior management post, they don't bother too much on paper.
https://www.linkedin.com/jobs2/view/7896203...view_browse_map
https://www.linkedin.com/jobs2/view/7797181...=0DzBtI5jfpQSY1
https://www.linkedin.com/jobs2/view/7079601...view_browse_map
Just to give you some examples.
When market are good, paper comes first, but with current situations, experience + paper nod.gif
sonerin
post Nov 1 2015, 02:25 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Nov 1 2015, 12:27 PM)
Well if you are in IT of shell than is different.

108 Pages « < 71 72 73 74 75 > » Top

0.0340sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:23 AM