Oil & Gas Careers V8, Upstream and Downstream, Crude Oil (WTI): USD 45.22/bbl

Quang1819
post Oct 31 2015, 08:23 PM

2,604 posts

Hello all pro and sifu, I'm currently a student who is planning to pursue my degree in O&G Management. Do you guys think it's advisable? And will I get a shot in O&G industries? Because I've asked some people who has a close relationship with the gov. and some big company staffs, they said they don't really look for a fresh graduates with a O&G background but more on other background such as Marketing, Logistics and others...
Please advise me whether is it still worth pursuing with this field smile.gif
As you know, the crude oil crisis game is unstable...
Quang1819
post Nov 1 2015, 12:27 PM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Nov 1 2015, 12:04 PM)
Usually you need chemical engineering background as a start, gaining experience in your way.
Then you need to take some management courses. Like Shell, most of the senior management start their career with chemical engineering and from there they start to climb.
That's what you see in the surface, the actual fact is, you need to sell your self and park in the right jetty. This is the only way to climb up fast. I've seen a fellow becoming a senior manager within 10 years or so, is not because he is good, is because he is selected and playing the office politic game. More experience are better thumbup.gif
So basically got O&G Management degree also no use in O&G industry ? :/
Quang1819
post Nov 2 2015, 11:05 AM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Nov 1 2015, 01:50 PM)
Sort of, on middle to senior management post, they don't bother too much on paper.
https://www.linkedin.com/jobs2/view/7896203...view_browse_map
https://www.linkedin.com/jobs2/view/7797181...=0DzBtI5jfpQSY1
https://www.linkedin.com/jobs2/view/7079601...view_browse_map
Just to give you some examples.
When market are good, paper comes first, but with current situations, experience + paper nod.gif
Hm... Then I think I really need to make a deeper consideration on this course :/
Thanks man!
Quang1819
post Nov 2 2015, 11:09 AM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Nov 1 2015, 02:25 PM)
Well if you are in IT of shell than is different.
Not interested in IT at all :/
I've studied Database Management, that one left me half life sia

0.0382sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 08:58 AM