QUOTE(dzie25 @ Jun 30 2015, 04:52 PM)
Yep of course, Xeon E3 1231 V3 is more future proof, you will need to top up RM 270 for it.[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V9!
[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V9!
Jun 30 2015, 05:02 PM
7,016 posts Joined: Jul 2012 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Jun 30 2015, 05:23 PM
745 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
[Budget] MYR 3,000 to MYR 4,000
[Purpose] Focusing on one MMORPG (Dragon Nest) and occasionally Dota [Hardwares that will be re-use] Monitor, KB/Mouse [Games & softwares that use frequently] Dragon nest and some video capturing like Bandicam, Fraps. [Personal preferences] I am an Nvidia fanboi althought I don't know what's the latest GC for it + And i prefer to use SSD for my boot up. And bigger HDD for recording files ________________________________________________ Currently I am using my laptop for gaming (I have no desktop for gaming) And I am suffering with FPS-lag in the game where it is really annoyed me so hard. I need a rig that can play games with good FPS and does not affected by it when recording (I am planning to record some of the game play for collection) Thank you sifus and have a great day! This post has been edited by Xypheria: Jun 30 2015, 05:26 PM |
Jun 30 2015, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(Xypheria @ Jun 30 2015, 05:23 PM) [Budget] MYR 3,000 to MYR 4,000 Just use Shadowplay by Nvidia for recording, easy to manage and edit later.[Purpose] Focusing on one MMORPG (Dragon Nest) and occasionally Dota [Hardwares that will be re-use] Monitor, KB/Mouse [Games & softwares that use frequently] Dragon nest and some video capturing like Bandicam, Fraps. [Personal preferences] I am an Nvidia fanboi althought I don't know what's the latest GC for it + And i prefer to use SSD for my boot up. And bigger HDD for recording files ________________________________________________ Currently I am using my laptop for gaming (I have no desktop for gaming) And I am suffering with FPS-lag in the game where it is really annoyed me so hard. I need a rig that can play games with good FPS and does not affected by it when recording (I am planning to record some of the game play for collection) Thank you sifus and have a great day! Intel Xeon E3 1231 V3 - RM 949 Asrock H97 Pro4 - RM 389 Kingston 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM - RM 209 Zotac GTX970 4GB GDDR5 Reference - RM 1271 Liteon S900 128GB SSD - RM 269 Seagate Barracuda 3TB HDD - RM 399 Seasonic M12II EVO 520W - RM 319 Thermaltake Versa H25 - RM 135 Total: RM 3940 (GPU is from Cycom, others are from Viewnet inclusive of GST) |
Jun 30 2015, 07:53 PM
18 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
Jun 30 2015, 10:12 PM
6 posts Joined: Mar 2015 |
[Budget] : RM2.5k
[Purpose] : gaming, office work and youtube streaming [Hardwares that will be re-use] : keyboard and mouse [Monitor resolution] : 22-24" [Games & softwares that use frequently] Dota2, blade and souls, tera and others [Personal preferences] : none. [Location] : kl n selangor |
Jun 30 2015, 10:15 PM
5,043 posts Joined: Aug 2013 From: Putrajaya |
QUOTE(Devilicious901024 @ Jun 30 2015, 10:12 PM) [Budget] : RM2.5k Bro,now close your thread..you should've just stick to your thread. [Purpose] : gaming, office work and youtube streaming [Hardwares that will be re-use] : keyboard and mouse [Monitor resolution] : 22-24" [Games & softwares that use frequently] Dota2, blade and souls, tera and others [Personal preferences] : none. [Location] : kl n selangor Intel Core i5 4460 3.2GHz RM644.48 Asrock H81M-VG4 RM178.08 Sapphire R7 265 Dual-X OC 2GB GDDR5 RM589] Kingston Value RAM 8GB DDR3 1600MHz RM209 WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM189 FSP Hexa+ 550W RM199 Thermaltake Versa H25 RM135 Samsung S22C170BS RM402.80 Total:RM2546.36 Prices with cents are from Jayacom@LYP and the rest are from Viewnet@LYP. |
Jul 1 2015, 10:44 AM
32 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Dear Pro Sifus, please help me build my PC.
This is my information: [Budget] RM1500 - RM2000 [Purpose] need to open 24/7, not for gaming [Hardwares that will be re-use] will reuse everything, I only need to build the CPU [Monitor resolution] - [Games & softwares that use frequently] - [Personal preferences] - [Location] KL, Selangor Thanks |
Jul 1 2015, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jun 30 2015, 05:33 PM) Just use Shadowplay by Nvidia for recording, easy to manage and edit later. Hey, thanks for the suggestion.. Intel Xeon E3 1231 V3 - RM 949 Asrock H97 Pro4 - RM 389 Kingston 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM - RM 209 Zotac GTX970 4GB GDDR5 Reference - RM 1271 Liteon S900 128GB SSD - RM 269 Seagate Barracuda 3TB HDD - RM 399 Seasonic M12II EVO 520W - RM 319 Thermaltake Versa H25 - RM 135 Total: RM 3940 (GPU is from Cycom, others are from Viewnet inclusive of GST) The processor is it new for gaming era? No more i7 i5? Sorry i a bit slowpoke about this Regarding about the psu, is 520w just fit right or need to use 600w? I still remember my last rig i had 500w but it was not enough juice to sustain the rig. Thanks to your suggestion,now i get the idea about the parts to build a gaming pc. |
Jul 1 2015, 12:12 PM
QUOTE(Xypheria @ Jul 1 2015, 11:44 AM) Hey, thanks for the suggestion.. Xeon E3 1231 V3 is same tier with i7 4790 with lower clock speed and no iGPU only, but it is significantly cheaper than i7. The processor is it new for gaming era? No more i7 i5? Sorry i a bit slowpoke about this Regarding about the psu, is 520w just fit right or need to use 600w? I still remember my last rig i had 500w but it was not enough juice to sustain the rig. Thanks to your suggestion,now i get the idea about the parts to build a gaming pc. 520W is enough, plus the PSU I recommended is a good quality one, it is enough to drive your system without any issue and 9xx series GPU is very power efficient. |
Jul 1 2015, 12:17 PM
QUOTE(ultralien @ Jul 1 2015, 10:44 AM) Dear Pro Sifus, please help me build my PC. Intel Core i5 4460 - RM 679This is my information: [Budget] RM1500 - RM2000 [Purpose] need to open 24/7, not for gaming [Hardwares that will be re-use] will reuse everything, I only need to build the CPU [Monitor resolution] - [Games & softwares that use frequently] - [Personal preferences] - [Location] KL, Selangor Thanks MSI B85M-E45 - RM 289 Kingston 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM - RM 209 WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 189 Antec VP400 - RM 119 CM TX3 Evo - RM 99 Thermaltake Versa H25 - RM 135 Total: RM 1620 (Viewnet price inclusive of GST) This build is enough for 24/7 (work office/downloader etc.), if you are worried about temperature, buy 1 or 2 more case fans. You can downgrade the CPU and RAM if your workload is not heavy to save money. |
Jul 1 2015, 03:33 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 1 2015, 12:12 PM) Xeon E3 1231 V3 is same tier with i7 4790 with lower clock speed and no iGPU only, but it is significantly cheaper than i7. I see i see. I was curious about the price only 520W is enough, plus the PSU I recommended is a good quality one, it is enough to drive your system without any issue and 9xx series GPU is very power efficient. Ah..so 520w is enough ya? Since i had bad experience with 500w PSU with my last rig. I had to change three time from CM 500w (x2) to FSP hexa 500w Another question though, is it advisable to grab x2 8gb RAM? Since i'll be running some browser on the background while playing.. and probably will render video while playing too..I don't know which part will get affected |
Jul 1 2015, 03:39 PM
5,043 posts Joined: Aug 2013 From: Putrajaya |
QUOTE(Xypheria @ Jul 1 2015, 03:33 PM) I see i see. I was curious about the price only You can change it to Seasonic S12II 620W 80+ Bronze RM339 if you want to be safe.. Ah..so 520w is enough ya? Since i had bad experience with 500w PSU with my last rig. I had to change three time from CM 500w (x2) to FSP hexa 500w Another question though, is it advisable to grab x2 8gb RAM? Since i'll be running some browser on the background while playing.. and probably will render video while playing too..I don't know which part will get affected Intel Xeon E3 1231 V3 - RM 949 MSI B85M-E45 - RM 289 Kingston 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM x2 = 16GB- RM 418 Zotac GTX970 4GB GDDR5 Reference - RM 1271 Liteon S900 128GB SSD - RM 269 Seagate Barracuda 2TB HDD - RM 299 Seasonic S12II 620W - RM 339 Thermaltake Versa H25 - RM 135 Total:RM3969 GPU is from Cycom@LYP and the rest are from Viewnet@LYP. Well your CoolerMaster 500W PSU..could be a crappy model,or you were running a high-end card on a crappy PSU. This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Jul 1 2015, 03:40 PM |
Jul 1 2015, 04:28 PM
QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jul 1 2015, 03:39 PM) You can change it to Seasonic S12II 620W 80+ Bronze RM339 if you want to be safe.. Thank you for your insight MinecrafterIntel Xeon E3 1231 V3 - RM 949 MSI B85M-E45 - RM 289 Kingston 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM x2 = 16GB- RM 418 Zotac GTX970 4GB GDDR5 Reference - RM 1271 Liteon S900 128GB SSD - RM 269 Seagate Barracuda 2TB HDD - RM 299 Seasonic S12II 620W - RM 339 Thermaltake Versa H25 - RM 135 Total:RM3969 GPU is from Cycom@LYP and the rest are from Viewnet@LYP. Well your CoolerMaster 500W PSU..could be a crappy model,or you were running a high-end card on a crappy PSU. Back in 2011, my gc was HD7970. I sent my PSU right after it died for RMA, got the new unit, and died again after 1 month of using Only FSP Hexa 500W didn't disappoint me. I am curious about this, is the brand for SSD now does not matter? Every brand is the same? Because I feel like to upgrade it from 128gb to 256gb since i'll be putting my game in my SSD for faster loading. Or the seagate barracuda already has a faster loading? I'm eyeing for Kingston Hyper X 3k - RM459 (Viewnet) |
Jul 1 2015, 04:48 PM
QUOTE(Xypheria @ Jul 1 2015, 04:28 PM) Thank you for your insight Minecrafter Actually the important part is the write/read speed and price/performance ratio, some good brands like Kingston is also having some sort of issues with their SSD such as the Kingston V300 SSD, it is cheap but the NAND used is not good. Liteon is the OEM division of Plextor (if you heard it before) and their S900 series is not a bad choice. If you want benchmark king, go for Samsung but it is very expensive.Back in 2011, my gc was HD7970. I sent my PSU right after it died for RMA, got the new unit, and died again after 1 month of using Only FSP Hexa 500W didn't disappoint me. I am curious about this, is the brand for SSD now does not matter? Every brand is the same? Because I feel like to upgrade it from 128gb to 256gb since i'll be putting my game in my SSD for faster loading. Or the seagate barracuda already has a faster loading? I'm eyeing for Kingston Hyper X 3k - RM459 (Viewnet) If you want 256GB SSD then you will need to sacrifice the HDD storage size. Intel Xeon E3 1231 V3 - RM 949 MSI B85M-E45 - RM 289 Kingston 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM - RM 418 Zotac GTX970 4GB GDDR5 Reference - RM 1271 Liteon S900 256GB SSD - RM 429 WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 189 Seasonic S12II 620W - RM 339 Thermaltake Versa H25 - RM 135 Total: RM 4019 (GPU is from Cycom, others are from Viewnet inclusive of GST) |
Jul 1 2015, 05:27 PM
QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 1 2015, 04:48 PM) Actually the important part is the write/read speed and price/performance ratio, some good brands like Kingston is also having some sort of issues with their SSD such as the Kingston V300 SSD, it is cheap but the NAND used is not good. Liteon is the OEM division of Plextor (if you heard it before) and their S900 series is not a bad choice. If you want benchmark king, go for Samsung but it is very expensive. Oh! Didn't know that Liteon is the division of Plextor. I am using 128gb m5s plextor for my laptop..If you want 256GB SSD then you will need to sacrifice the HDD storage size. Intel Xeon E3 1231 V3 - RM 949 MSI B85M-E45 - RM 289 Kingston 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM - RM 418 Zotac GTX970 4GB GDDR5 Reference - RM 1271 Liteon S900 256GB SSD - RM 429 WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 189 Seasonic S12II 620W - RM 339 Thermaltake Versa H25 - RM 135 Total: RM 4019 (GPU is from Cycom, others are from Viewnet inclusive of GST) I don't mind adding a few hundreds if i can increase the performance wise.. Should i go for SG barracuda 3TB? |
Jul 1 2015, 05:41 PM
QUOTE(Xypheria @ Jul 1 2015, 05:27 PM) Oh! Didn't know that Liteon is the division of Plextor. I am using 128gb m5s plextor for my laptop.. If you need more storage, go for it, you can even get the 4TB version if you are worried about the storage shortage issue.I don't mind adding a few hundreds if i can increase the performance wise.. Should i go for SG barracuda 3TB? |
Jul 1 2015, 05:44 PM
QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 1 2015, 05:41 PM) If you need more storage, go for it, you can even get the 4TB version if you are worried about the storage shortage issue. I'm afraid if my videos will take most of the spaces xDand what are the diff between MSI B85M-E45 and Asrock H97 Pro4 ya? Prolly gonna start buying around next week or so |
Jul 1 2015, 05:55 PM
QUOTE(Xypheria @ Jul 1 2015, 05:44 PM) I'm afraid if my videos will take most of the spaces xD MSI B85M-E45 is mATX size mobo, mATX is generally smaller than standard ATX thus its total RAM and PCI-E slot is lesser but this mobo has 4 RAM slots and it's one of the advantages among all other mATX mobos which usually offer 2 RAM slots only. B85 chipset can support Haswell (4th gen Intel CPU) only.and what are the diff between MSI B85M-E45 and Asrock H97 Pro4 ya? Prolly gonna start buying around next week or so Asrock H97 Pro4 is standard ATX size mobo, ATX features more RAM and PCI-E slots and have more features such as M.2 support (for new SFF SSD etc.). H97 chipset can support both Haswell and Broadwell (5th gen Intel CPU). |
Jul 1 2015, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 1 2015, 05:55 PM) MSI B85M-E45 is mATX size mobo, mATX is generally smaller than standard ATX thus its total RAM and PCI-E slot is lesser but this mobo has 4 RAM slots and it's one of the advantages among all other mATX mobos which usually offer 2 RAM slots only. B85 chipset can support Haswell (4th gen Intel CPU) only. Ahh...i see..i might go for h97 as i am very lazy to do the upgrades in 2~3 years Asrock H97 Pro4 is standard ATX size mobo, ATX features more RAM and PCI-E slots and have more features such as M.2 support (for new SFF SSD etc.). H97 chipset can support both Haswell and Broadwell (5th gen Intel CPU). How about this.. Intel Xeon E3 1231 V3 - RM 949 Asrock H97 Pro4 - RM 389 Kingston 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM x2 = 16GB- RM 418 Zotac GTX970 4GB GDDR5 Reference - RM 1271 Liteon S900 256GB SSD - RM 429 WD Green 2TB HDD - RM 295 Seasonic S12II 620W - RM 339 Thermaltake Versa H25 - RM 135 Total: RM 4225 |
Jul 1 2015, 06:20 PM
QUOTE(Xypheria @ Jul 1 2015, 06:09 PM) Ahh...i see..i might go for h97 as i am very lazy to do the upgrades in 2~3 years Don't pick WD Green, it is a turtle, max RPM is just 5900 compared to Seagate Barracuda's 7200RPM.How about this.. Intel Xeon E3 1231 V3 - RM 949 Asrock H97 Pro4 - RM 389 Kingston 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM x2 = 16GB- RM 418 Zotac GTX970 4GB GDDR5 Reference - RM 1271 Liteon S900 256GB SSD - RM 429 WD Green 2TB HDD - RM 295 Seasonic S12II 620W - RM 339 Thermaltake Versa H25 - RM 135 Total: RM 4225 Well if you decide to upgrade processor in next 2 to 3 years, you will need to change the mobo as well since socket 1150 (H97) upgrade path has ended with Broadwell's release. Skylake (6th gen) processor is using new socket (1151) with new chipset (H170/Z170 etc). |
| Change to: | 0.0242sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:31 PM |