126 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V9!

Xypheria
post Jul 1 2015, 06:24 PM

745 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 1 2015, 06:20 PM)
Don't pick WD Green, it is a turtle, max RPM is just 5900 compared to Seagate Barracuda's 7200RPM.

Well if you decide to upgrade processor in next 2 to 3 years, you will need to change the mobo as well since socket 1150 (H97) upgrade path has ended with Broadwell's release. Skylake (6th gen) processor is using new socket (1151) with new chipset (H170/Z170 etc).
Oh.. WD Green is slow ? Hmm.. I couldn't find the price for Seagate Barracuda Green 2TB.

I think by then I might buy a new rig sweat.gif I can't chase the evolution of technology cry.gif

terence_nwb
post Jul 1 2015, 06:29 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Xypheria @ Jul 1 2015, 06:24 PM)
Oh.. WD Green is slow ? Hmm.. I couldn't find the price for Seagate Barracuda Green 2TB.

I think by then I might buy a new rig  sweat.gif I can't chase the evolution of technology  cry.gif
Green is the HDD model by WD. Seagate is using Barracuda as their model name. Seagate Barracuda 2TB is priced at RM 299.
Xypheria
post Jul 1 2015, 06:32 PM

745 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 1 2015, 06:29 PM)
Green is the HDD model by WD. Seagate is using Barracuda as their model name. Seagate Barracuda 2TB is priced at RM 299.
Ahhhh i feel so stupid xD

Okay I got it..
Change the WD to Seagate Barracuda 2TB and it's all good right?
terence_nwb
post Jul 1 2015, 06:43 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Xypheria @ Jul 1 2015, 06:32 PM)
Ahhhh i feel so stupid xD

Okay I got it..
Change the WD to Seagate Barracuda 2TB and it's all good right?
Yep good to go.
Xypheria
post Jul 1 2015, 07:45 PM

745 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 1 2015, 06:43 PM)
Yep good to go.
thumbup.gif Thanks for the help!
y4ng
post Jul 1 2015, 09:53 PM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

hmm dear sifus....i wanna get a ssd for my rig...currently using a B85 killer mobo..and i5 with r9 260x

any recommendation?
terence_nwb
post Jul 1 2015, 10:47 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(y4ng @ Jul 1 2015, 09:53 PM)
hmm dear sifus....i wanna get a ssd for my rig...currently using a B85 killer mobo..and i5 with r9 260x

any recommendation?
Budget?

If around RM 250 then Liteon S900 128GB RM 269

If want 256GB then Liteon S900 256GB RM 429

You can probably find them cheaper in some online stores.
y4ng
post Jul 1 2015, 11:20 PM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 1 2015, 10:47 PM)
Budget?

If around RM 250 then Liteon S900 128GB RM 269

If want 256GB then Liteon S900 256GB RM 429

You can probably find them cheaper in some online stores.
i wish i can say NO LIMIT for my budget, but around there la RM250 to 300. Saw from this thread ppl recommending S900, hyperX fury not good? i kinda like it red lolz
terence_nwb
post Jul 2 2015, 12:00 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(y4ng @ Jul 1 2015, 11:20 PM)
i wish i can say NO LIMIT for my budget, but around there la RM250 to 300. Saw from this thread ppl recommending S900, hyperX fury not good? i kinda like it red lolz
HyperX 3K and Savage both also ok, just don't get V300 due to the cheap NAND used in the production.
y4ng
post Jul 2 2015, 07:41 AM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 2 2015, 12:00 AM)
HyperX 3K and Savage both also ok, just don't get V300 due to the cheap NAND used in the production.
i read somewhere the lifespan of SSD is less compared to a normal HDD. Is that true? thanks for the fast replies as well!
terence_nwb
post Jul 2 2015, 08:33 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(y4ng @ Jul 2 2015, 07:41 AM)
i read somewhere the lifespan of SSD is less compared to a normal HDD. Is that true? thanks for the fast replies as well!
Don't worry about the lifespan, modern SSD have a huge amount of NAND write cycle endurance, enough to last at least 5 years if nothing goes wrong.
y4ng
post Jul 2 2015, 04:35 PM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 2 2015, 08:33 AM)
Don't worry about the lifespan, modern SSD have a huge amount of NAND write cycle endurance, enough to last at least 5 years if nothing goes wrong.
hmmmm...

Good tip regarding my concern =)

for backup, internal or external hdd better? looking for options as well
terence_nwb
post Jul 2 2015, 05:50 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(y4ng @ Jul 2 2015, 04:35 PM)
hmmmm...

Good tip regarding my concern =)

for backup, internal or external hdd better? looking for options as well
As for backup, there are pros and cons between internal and external HDD.

You can access the files anytime (when you are on PC) if you backup in an internal HDD but you lose the portability and vice versa.
y4ng
post Jul 2 2015, 08:07 PM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 2 2015, 05:50 PM)
As for backup, there are pros and cons between internal and external HDD.

You can access the files anytime (when you are on PC) if you backup in an internal HDD but you lose the portability and vice versa.
if i do not need portability? will my hdd last shorter with an internal hdd? cos, logically it will keep spinning right whenever i leave it on
terence_nwb
post Jul 2 2015, 08:17 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(y4ng @ Jul 2 2015, 08:07 PM)
if i do not need portability? will my hdd last shorter with an internal hdd? cos, logically it will keep spinning right whenever i leave it on
If that's the concern, then I will recommend external HDD.
y4ng
post Jul 2 2015, 08:47 PM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 2 2015, 08:17 PM)
If that's the concern, then I will recommend external HDD.
okies! thank you!
hendry91
post Jul 2 2015, 09:02 PM

110 posts

[Budget] RM2.5k

[Purpose] Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Monitor, keyboard, mouse

[Games & softwares that use frequently] dato2

I'm trying to build a rig, but I didn't have any experience and knowledge about those branded.
I don't want to buy those component separately and build myself... 1 shot in 1 shop is easier for me...
Now looking for Jayacom...

I5 4460 RM618
B85-E45 RM260
MSI GTX 960 RM779
Cooler Master Thunder M Series RM235
Kingston value RAM 8GB RM198
WD 1TB RM 180
AeroCool V3X Advance RM99

total included GST = RM2511

Is this build ok? or can make it better(component quality)? any other shop recommend?
Sup2Nic
post Jul 2 2015, 09:03 PM

Better Than Money
1,278 posts

Looking for an upgrade for my 2nd pc, budget around RM2k

Current spec :

i5 4440 3.2ghz
Asrock B85M-itx
R9 270 2GB GGD5
1 x 8GB Aegis 1600mhz DDR3
Intel SSD 710 Series 100GB
WD 1TB Caviar Blue

Was planning to upgrade processor, SSD and graphic card together. I was planning to go with GTX970 but the price already taken 3/4 of the budget. Should i stick with i5 4440 processor and go for the card and SSD or just get a good processor with decent graphic card and better SSD?

This post has been edited by Sup2Nic: Jul 2 2015, 09:05 PM
Minecrafter
post Jul 2 2015, 09:29 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(hendry91 @ Jul 2 2015, 09:02 PM)
[Budget] RM2.5k

[Purpose] Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Monitor, keyboard, mouse

[Games & softwares that use frequently] dato2

I'm trying to build a rig, but I didn't have any experience and knowledge about those branded.
I don't want to buy those component separately and build myself... 1 shot in 1 shop is easier for me...
Now looking for Jayacom...

I5 4460 RM618
B85-E45 RM260
MSI GTX 960 RM779
Cooler Master Thunder M Series RM235
Kingston value RAM 8GB RM198
WD 1TB RM 180
AeroCool V3X Advance RM99

total included GST = RM2511

Is this build ok? or can make it better(component quality)? any other shop recommend?
Get this.

Intel Core i5 4460 3.2GHz RM679
MSI B85M-E45 RM289
MSI GTX960 Tiger OC 2GB GDDR5 RM850
Kingston Value RAM 8GB DDR3 1600MHz RM209
WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM189
FSP Hexa+ 550W RM199
Thermaltake Versa H25 RM135
Total:RM2550
Prices are from Viewnet@LYP. smile.gif

Looking at the Jayacom's pricelist,they don't seem to have FSP Hexa+ 550W..entry level PSUs are mostly,if not all are crap ones on their price list. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Sup2Nic @ Jul 2 2015, 09:03 PM)
Looking for an upgrade for my 2nd pc, budget around RM2k

Current spec :

i5 4440 3.2ghz
Asrock B85M-itx
R9 270 2GB GGD5
1 x 8GB Aegis 1600mhz DDR3
Intel SSD 710 Series 100GB
WD 1TB Caviar Blue

Was planning to upgrade processor, SSD and graphic card together. I was planning to go with GTX970 but the price already taken 3/4 of the budget. Should i stick with i5 4440 processor and go for the card and SSD or just get a good processor with decent graphic card and better SSD?
MSI GTX970 Tiger OC 4GB GDDR5 RM1419.34
Liteon 900S 256GB RM429
Total:RM1848.34
GPU is from Jayacom@LYP and the SSD is from Viewnet@LYP. smile.gif

I assume you're using an ITX case? hmm.gif What's your PSU?

Alternatively,you can sell of your GPU and CPU to get Intel Xeon E3-1231 V3 3.4GHz RM949. wink.gif
Sup2Nic
post Jul 2 2015, 09:49 PM

Better Than Money
1,278 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jul 2 2015, 09:29 PM)
MSI GTX970 Tiger OC 4GB GDDR5 RM1419.34
Liteon 900S 256GB RM429
Total:RM1848.34
GPU is from Jayacom@LYP and the SSD is from Viewnet@LYP. smile.gif

I assume you're using an ITX case? hmm.gif What's your PSU?

Alternatively,you can sell of your GPU and CPU to get Intel Xeon E3-1231 V3 3.4GHz RM949. wink.gif
My case is Bitfenix Prodigy and FSP Hexa 500w for my PSU. I think my current PSU is good enough to power GTX970 right?

126 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0309sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:51 PM