8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Chat Question to atheist

lin00b
post Apr 30 2015, 02:51 PM

nobody
3,592 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Apr 30 2015, 09:51 AM)
I'm not claiming anything. Only saying that Darwin's theory was not revolutionary. The main difference between Darwins evolution concept with earlier muslim thinkers is the process of natural selection.
it doesnt have to be revolutionary, it just have to be correct.
LittleGhost
post May 1 2015, 10:57 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

May 5 2015, 12:41 AM
This post has been deleted by sgshuhu because: Someone report this post

SUSredisthcan
post May 1 2015, 01:13 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(Robin Hood @ Apr 26 2015, 07:44 PM)
lets stick to that analogy and think a step further, there has to be someone who make the cars, likewise there has to be something that create that someone and before that there must be someone who create that something. now since god create us, who create god?
Far into the future, humans will have evolved into god like beings.

They will then go back in time and create the universe.
Earlyquestion
post May 2 2015, 03:14 AM

QUOTE(farid_razak86 @ May 2 2015, 12:15 AM)
Im born muslim an receive adequate islamic education, but now im atheist. Ask me why.
Please tell us why.
SUSavatargod
post May 2 2015, 08:04 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(farid_razak86 @ May 2 2015, 12:15 AM)
Im born muslim an receive adequate islamic education, but now im atheist. Ask me why.
So Do I.

Anyway, for Muslim, please, Lakum Dinukum wali ad-din. Why bother with other believe/religion. Stop this "I'm better than you" attitude and start worshipping your god...(for your god sake).
enCORe
post May 3 2015, 04:05 PM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

What tickles me , most gnostic-atheist wanna be a hero prove they ahead & always right 101 (aka beyond God); BUT with false experiment & inconsistency finding. Evolutionist himself figure out human from apes theory changes & now irrelevant. Now they figure new idea human was send by the aliens to earth so we become 'space religion' in the age of aquarius, They're quite arrogance towards 'narrow mind believers' by mixing fiction with science to be 'creative & looks awesome'. Becoming scientific heroes and plead together God is Dead.
genius rolleyes.gif

Your admiration 'we dont know thing' has alot of meaning, our knowledge not reaching yet, perhaps unreachable or even mysteries ? hmmm does mysteries belong in science? Creationist believe human indirectly send by God via Adam & Eve, simple as that because they're people believing magic. I know sounds ridiculous but magic its something science could not explain, no one able explain where is human soul, mind & supernatural thing, these are a real deal. Those pride unbeliever-atheist saying out loud God is ridiculous but when they alone in the dark they would run from a Ghost, rclxms.gif DOH

QUOTE(arubin @ Apr 30 2015, 10:52 AM)
So, in answer to your question...what's before the Big Bang?

We don't know. No atheist ever claims to know. No scientist or physicist also claims to know. They can come up with a hypothesis. They can conduct experiments. They can study the results of these experiments and determine if their original theory was correct or not. Unfortunately, at this point of time, we don't have the scientific caliber to answer this question yet.

If you want to say there's a creator or god behind it all, than its up to you, but I would like to point out that it makes no more logical or scientific sense than if I were to say that the universe was sneezed out of the Great Green Arkleseizure, therefore we should all fear the coming of The Great White Handkerchief. You can make something up, I can also make something up. icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSslimey
post May 3 2015, 06:35 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ May 3 2015, 04:05 PM)
What tickles me , most gnostic-atheist wanna be a hero prove they ahead & always right 101 (aka beyond God); BUT with false experiment & inconsistency finding. Evolutionist himself figure out human from apes theory changes & now irrelevant. Now they figure new idea human was send by the aliens to earth so we become 'space religion' in the age of aquarius, They're quite arrogance towards 'narrow mind believers' by mixing fiction with science to be 'creative & looks awesome'.  Becoming scientific heroes and plead together God is Dead.
genius  rolleyes.gif

Your admiration 'we dont know thing' has alot of meaning, our knowledge not reaching yet, perhaps unreachable or even mysteries ? hmmm does mysteries belong in science?  Creationist  believe human indirectly send by God via Adam & Eve, simple as that because they're people believing magic. I know sounds ridiculous but magic its something science could not explain, no one able explain where is human soul, mind & supernatural thing, these are a real deal. Those pride unbeliever-atheist saying out loud God is ridiculous but when they alone in the dark they would run from a Ghost,  rclxms.gif  DOH
lol........still no proof of god? laugh.gif

by the way.......arguing about evolution has nothing to do with proving god or disproving god.
Archmage Warlic
post May 3 2015, 10:43 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(lshsl @ May 2 2015, 01:15 PM)
Some  people don't  bother what will happen when the time comes. They just adhere  to simple life  principle - do good, don't  do bad, be responsible  for own mistakes. They can have no fear when the time comes.

Some people are given two choices. They do a lot of things day and night, and still feel doing not enough (until overdo it I think). They are still in fear when the time comes. (afraid of 50/50%, go up or go down)

The salvation /mercies is meaningless, if too many strict terms and conditions apply.
This perfectly narrates my "religion". I wish there is a single word I can use to describe this whenever people relentlessly ask about my religion.

This also explains why I find some religions ridiculous. I have been bought to a Christian Methodist church several times and in their sermons (or whatever they were doing - a priest / group representative leading everyone to chant out verses and sentences projected in Powerpoint slides), they repeatedly chant "I am aware I cannot obtain salvation by doing good deeds, I can only be saved by believing in Him".

I took an immediate dislike towards the entire sermon / session. The entire session seems to be like "You WANT to be saved -> Believe in me to be saved! -> Oh, by the way, good deeds are pointless."

What is the point in discrediting good deeds? Is the religion suggesting going good deeds are of no importance, and worthless? Is this why many people seem to be focusing too much into their afterlife to the point that they are unaware of what they are doing to the people around them? Is this why people talk and talk about being saved in church but treats people like pieces of trash out of the church?

Perhaps that is why I find many of the most religious people around me to be unbelievable hypocrites. The most horrifying thing is the fact that they can continue their lives comfortably while justifying to themselves for being a huge hypocrites.

Religious F***tards.

(P/s: Oh, and even if you bring this out for discussion in the most civil way possible, such as in academic debates, there will CERTAINLY some people who would either secretly or overtly get batshit offended and start getting defensive, and if you are unlucky, probably mark you for assassination)
arubin
post May 4 2015, 02:04 AM

Holy Pastafarian
670 posts

What tickles me , most gnostic-atheist wanna be a hero prove they ahead & always right 101 (aka beyond God); BUT with false experiment & inconsistency finding. Evolutionist himself figure out human from apes theory changes & now irrelevant. Now they figure new idea human was send by the aliens to earth so we become 'space religion' in the age of aquarius, They're quite arrogance towards 'narrow mind believers' by mixing fiction with science to be 'creative & looks awesome'.  Becoming scientific heroes and plead together God is Dead.
genius  rolleyes.gif

Your admiration 'we dont know thing' has alot of meaning, our knowledge not reaching yet, perhaps unreachable or even mysteries ? hmmm does mysteries belong in science?  Creationist  believe human indirectly send by God via Adam & Eve, simple as that because they're people believing magic. I know sounds ridiculous but magic its something science could not explain, no one able explain where is human soul, mind & supernatural thing, these are a real deal. Those pride unbeliever-atheist saying out loud God is ridiculous but when they alone in the dark they would run from a Ghost,  rclxms.gif  DOH
What tickles me is how theists enjoy obfuscating the issue by bringing in all sorts of irrelevant discussions.

What is it now? Evolution or existence of god? Which is it? Pick which you want to discuss.

Incidentally, I would like to point out that evolution is not exactly contradictory to religion depending on which school of thought you follow. I know quite a few Muslims who are fine with it, and that the official position of the Catholic church is that evolution happened.

Also...this statement?

Evolutionist himself figure out human from apes theory changes & now irrelevant.

Incorrect, and idiotic. Evolution has never been irreleveant, nor has it ever stated humans came from apes. You need to study some more instead of commenting on something you don't understand. icon_idea.gif

Do not know, means we study it. We don't make up stories to explain something. You have not even proven magic. You just stated that is 'exists', but is regarded by the scientific community as hogwash.

And no, we don't run from ghosts. They don't exist. rolleyes.gif
Earlyquestion
post May 4 2015, 02:12 AM

genius  rolleyes.gif

You must be an idiot..
SUSfingercrackg
post May 4 2015, 04:56 AM

93 posts

1 question they still cant answer..

rest the case.
jonoave
post May 4 2015, 06:07 AM

659 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ May 3 2015, 11:05 AM)
QUOTE(arubin @ May 3 2015, 09:04 PM)
Do not know, means we study it. We don't make up stories to explain something. You have not even proven magic. You just stated that is 'exists', but is regarded by the scientific community as hogwash.

And no, we don't run from ghosts. They don't exist. rolleyes.gif
This is also one of my favourite quotes:

"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic." Arthur C. Clarke

Today we take for granted lots of things - electric stove, cars, smartphones etc.

If a person from the previous century is dropped in our current society, he will gape in awe of what we have and think everything is magic - mobile phones? Rockets?

If you take a cavemen and put him in 18th century, he will think the people there are also gods - can produce fire, have wagons, have guns etc.

Heck even now we still marvel at the recent advances of drones, more life-life androids and robotic movements. We also just landed a craft on a comet!
Next century this will all be obsolete and commonplace stuff that no one will even bat an eye.

Another example is also in medical field: Back in those days people autistic children are possessed etc. Look this up in myths in Wikipedia: Changeling.
"It is typically described as being the offspring of a fairy, troll, elf or other legendary creature that has been secretly left in the place of a human child."

But these days we know better:
"The reality behind many changeling legends was often the birth of deformed or developmentally disabled children. Among the diseases with symptoms that match the description of changelings in various legends are spina bifida, cystic fibrosis, PKU, progeria, Down syndrome, homocystinuria, Williams syndrome, Hurler syndrome, Hunter syndrome, regressive autism, Prader-Willi Syndrome, and cerebral palsy. The greater proneness of boys with birth defect correlates to the belief that male infants were more likely to be taken."

This post has been edited by jonoave: May 4 2015, 06:07 AM
Lucifer96
post May 4 2015, 07:43 PM

257 posts

So your god have a father god?
arubin
post May 4 2015, 10:53 PM

Holy Pastafarian
670 posts

QUOTE(jonoave @ May 4 2015, 06:07 AM)
This is also one of my favourite quotes:

"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic." Arthur C. Clarke

Today we take for granted lots of things - electric stove, cars, smartphones etc.

If a person from the previous century is dropped in our current society, he will gape in awe of what we have and think everything is magic - mobile phones? Rockets?

If you take a cavemen and put him in 18th century, he will think the people there are also gods - can produce fire, have wagons, have guns etc.

Heck even now we still marvel at the recent advances of drones, more life-life androids and robotic movements. We also just landed a craft on a comet!
Next century this will all be obsolete and commonplace stuff that no one will even bat an eye.

Another example is also in medical field: Back in those days people autistic children are possessed etc.  Look this up in myths in Wikipedia: Changeling.
"It is typically described as being the offspring of a fairy, troll, elf or other legendary creature that has been secretly left in the place of a human child."

But these days we know better:
"The reality behind many changeling legends was often the birth of deformed or developmentally disabled children. Among the diseases with symptoms that match the description of changelings in various legends are spina bifida, cystic fibrosis, PKU, progeria, Down syndrome, homocystinuria, Williams syndrome, Hurler syndrome, Hunter syndrome, regressive autism, Prader-Willi Syndrome, and cerebral palsy. The greater proneness of boys with birth defect correlates to the belief that male infants were more likely to be taken."
Its really silly how they want to challenge us to prove that we don't believe in ghosts by spending a night in a graveyard or something.

Sure...I will...if it were some luxurious mausoleum which is sheltered, has air-conditioning, and shielded from the elements and pests. I'm not spending a night out in the open for to prove a point.

For that matter, they say ghost exists? They should prove one by bringing it to me instead. Cannot find one to bring to me, means don't exist lar. Simple as that. wink.gif

Its not my obligation to prove that something don't exists, and its very stupid and totally illogical to boot. You say something exists, you provide proof. It has always been that way and that's how it should work.
LittleGhost
post May 5 2015, 06:17 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Archmage Warlic @ May 3 2015, 10:43 PM)
This perfectly narrates my "religion". I wish there is a single word I can use to describe this whenever people relentlessly ask about my religion.

This also explains why I find some religions ridiculous. I have been bought to a Christian Methodist church several times and in their sermons (or whatever they were doing - a priest / group representative leading everyone to chant out verses and sentences projected in Powerpoint slides), they repeatedly chant "I am aware I cannot obtain salvation by doing good deeds, I can only be saved by believing in Him".

I took an immediate dislike towards the entire sermon / session. The entire session seems to be like "You WANT to be saved -> Believe in me to be saved! -> Oh, by the way, good deeds are pointless."

What is the point in discrediting good deeds? Is the religion suggesting going good deeds are of no importance, and worthless? Is this why many people seem to be focusing too much into their afterlife to the point that they are unaware of what they are doing to the people around them? Is this why people talk and talk about being saved in church but treats people like pieces of trash out of the church?

Perhaps that is why I find many of the most religious people around me to be unbelievable hypocrites. The most horrifying thing is the fact that they can continue their lives comfortably while justifying to themselves for being a huge hypocrites.

Religious F***tards.

(P/s: Oh, and even if you bring this out for discussion in the most civil way possible, such as in academic debates, there will CERTAINLY some people who would either secretly or overtly get batshit offended and start getting defensive, and if you are unlucky, probably mark you for assassination)
Be mad all you want though, but some of these women of these damn churches are slutty/hot/speak nice as heck.

MAN, if there is one thing religion does right, is how they make sure women act right.

More often than not, my dick summons me to join a "good" church.

Chances are, I'm going to hell anyway. I was hoping they'd give me a job when I get down there.
Cryptic
post May 5 2015, 07:15 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(Archmage Warlic @ May 3 2015, 10:43 PM)

Religious F***tards.

Erm I think you got the message of the sermon wrong. You are saved by believing in Him, you aren't justified by your own deeds. You don't earn grace but it was given freely to you when you believe in the Son if I am right as contrast to the Pharasies. See Luke 18:9-14. if I am right that is. The bible never said to not do good deeds see Mathew 6 and Hebrews 13:6 nor did it said it was pointless. I think (new believer here) good deeds isn't your ticket to salvation, but believing in Him, and when you believe in Him (and/or love Him), you will do good to others because his last commandment was for us to love others like He loved us.

Just asking were you a non believer when you attended the sermon?
arubin
post May 5 2015, 07:40 PM

Holy Pastafarian
670 posts

QUOTE(Cryptic @ May 5 2015, 07:15 PM)
Erm I think you got the message of the sermon wrong. You are saved by believing in Him, you aren't justified by your own deeds. You don't earn grace but it was given freely to you when you believe in the Son if I am right as contrast to the Pharasies. See Luke 18:9-14. if I am right that is. The bible never said to not do good deeds see Mathew 6 and Hebrews 13:6 nor did it said it was pointless. I think (new believer here) good deeds isn't your ticket to salvation, but believing in Him, and when you believe in Him (and/or love Him), you will do good to others because his last commandment was for us to love others like He loved us.

And if somebody does a Gregor Clegane on you, as in he rapes your wife, your daughter, and than kills your infant son by smashing his head with his bare hands and your entire family to boot, he will be forgiven and saved by believing in Him. And thus he gets a ticket to salvation and you and your deceased family will have to face this person in Heaven for eternity, but hey...all is forgiven, no? Its OK, he's a different person now and he repented. wink.gif

Jeng jeng jeng...did I just give the believer nightmares? laugh.gif
Cryptic
post May 5 2015, 08:46 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(arubin @ May 5 2015, 07:40 PM)
And if somebody does a Gregor Clegane on you, as in he rapes your wife, your daughter, and than kills your infant son by smashing his head with his bare hands and your entire family to boot, he will be forgiven and saved by believing in Him. And thus he gets a ticket to salvation and you and your deceased family will have to face this person in Heaven for eternity, but hey...all is forgiven, no? Its OK, he's a different person now and he repented. wink.gif

Jeng jeng jeng...did I just give the believer nightmares? laugh.gif
erm no you didn't? If that really happens to me, I pray for the strength to overcome it and forgive him because Lord knows I will be very tempted to not forgive him and to inflict pain in him instead.
arubin
post May 5 2015, 08:56 PM

Holy Pastafarian
670 posts

QUOTE(Cryptic @ May 5 2015, 08:46 PM)
erm no you didn't? If that really happens to me, I pray for the strength to overcome it and forgive him because Lord knows I will be very tempted to not forgive him and to inflict pain in him instead.
Well, like it or not you're stuck with him for all eternity. Wouldn't that be something?

Guy does all these nasty things and he gets to enjoy eternal paradise just as long as he accepts salvation just in the nick of time. What an awesome concept.

Yeah,i think I like the balance of good deeds idea better...
Archmage Warlic
post May 6 2015, 12:54 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(Cryptic @ May 5 2015, 07:15 PM)

You are saved by believing in Him, you aren't justified by your own deeds. You don't earn grace but it was given freely to you when you believe in the Son if I am right as contrast to the Pharasies.

What are you even trying to say? How is "saved", "justified" and "earn grace" different from one another? It seems like plenty of new words have been thrown in and is making everything unclear. Also, while the Bible never explicitly said to NOT do good deeds (I never claimed that anyway), and the Bible never explicitly said that good deeds are pointless, but given how the importance of good deeds and noble, charitable acts has been downplayed, isn't the same thing being implicitly implied? If good deeds are not the ticket to salvation, why bother going out of our way to aid others? Believe that He exists, and believe that He is God - isn't that all you need?

Saved... from what? Damnation? Hellfire? Hellfire which he created to shove non-believers into?
Compare "U tak suka, u tak ikut cara kami, u pergi India, u balik China" with "You don't follow my ways, you don't believe in me, to Hell you go, in Hell you stay".
The God is a feudal lord who creates the world, owns the world and demands everyone to worship him? *jawdrops*
"Bow, and kneel to me, or stay in prison, FOREVER!"

...and when you believe in Him (and/or love Him), you will do good to others...

False. Do all people who believe in Him automatically do good to others? If you believe in Him, you will surely do good to others? People do believe in Him, go out of church, break as many commandments as you can think of, do malicious things for personal gain, justify their actions to themselves for a while, go to church, express their remorse and ask for forgiveness, rinse and repeat. At the end of the day, they still think they can hope for a chance to be sent to Heaven - they are believers, after all.

I apologize if my replies above are a mess. I'm not in my best state today.

To the theists: I have many classmates/colleagues/teachers/friends/acquaintances/strangers convincing me to believe in their God, and join their brotherhood. Islam, various branches of Christianity, Buddhism, Sikhism, Hinduism, Taoism, you name it. They have shown me countless long, long anti-atheistic arguments, mainly to prove God really exists. However, my concern is not whether God exists or not, but the question which I have asked many of them:
Me: Okay, say, God exists. Why have you followed <religion> then? How do you know if the god is Allah, Jesus, Buddha, Flying Spaghetti Monster, or a pantheon of Hindu, Greek or Roman gods? How do you know if there is just one God, or a pantheon of Gods, constantly bickering at one another?
What if the God is actually, say, Allah? For being a Christian and not a Muslim, you are going to Hell. The same way goes the other way round. How do you know what religion to believe in?

Reply: I dunno. I just believe. I just believe my religion is the true religion, and pray that my choice is right.

Me: Believe? Based on what? Ignorance? Why believe your religion is the correct one, not the others? Pray? Pray to whom? Say, you are a Christian praying to Jesus that you are correct to be a Christian, but if the God is Flying Spaghetti Monster instead... how do you even know who to pray to? You need to pray to some deity that you are praying to the correct deity, but how do you choose?

This post has been edited by Archmage Warlic: May 6 2015, 12:54 AM

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0168sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:55 PM