Man is so hard. Spent 3 hours and still stuck with this step:- How do you run make in the windows environment ?
Hahaha ha..... Me too. Thought wanna install python in windows. Then solved it by running Raspbian x86 in VM VirtualBox Copy haaska-master folder to VM shared folder and run make from there. Which is type "make" on terminal inside the haaska-master folder
Hi to thode who sre running ur automation in Home Assitant using raspberry pi..since you need to run it 24/7,any reliabiity issue so far ? I heard that the weakest part here is the sd card.... Any real tme experienve on this so far ?
Is anyone using a rechargeable battery in a Xiaomi smoke detector - 16340, IFR123A, etc.? Inital voltage is higher than a CR123A, does the detector operate OK?
Hahaha ha..... Me too. Thought wanna install python in windows. Then solved it by running Raspbian x86 in VM VirtualBox Copy haaska-master folder to VM shared folder and run make from there. Which is type "make" on terminal inside the haaska-master folder
Finally got it to work using your method after a few tries. The latest x86 rasbian doesn't seem to work with virtual box, had to find an old version.
Now that I completed that step, my aws account is not activated yet so I can't finish up the steps.
Now I wonder if all the hassle was worth it or a samsung smarthings would have cut the development time by half.
Finally got it to work using your method after a few tries. The latest x86 rasbian doesn't seem to work with virtual box, had to find an old version.
Now that I completed that step, my aws account is not activated yet so I can't finish up the steps.
Now I wonder if all the hassle was worth it or a samsung smarthings would have cut the development time by half.
Not working meh? You get it from here or not? Raspberry Pi Desktop Why your AWS account not activated? Waiting for what? Didn't remember it need some time to activate it A bit hassle but have to remember the software is free. Just need time and help in setting up. If want easy, just suscribe to HA Cloud
Hi to thode who sre running ur automation in Home Assitant using raspberry pi..since you need to run it 24/7,any reliabiity issue so far ? I heard that the weakest part here is the sd card.... Any real tme experienve on this so far ?
Nope, ATM no reliability issue. Just backup frequently and limit the size of the database to preserve and prevent too many writes on the SD card. If installing HA in Virtual Environment, can follow here for the guide.
Mine is running 24/7 for over 1-2 year, the system is reliable.
However, one SD card (SanDisk Ultra 32GB) had failed after I tried to restart HA. Hence, please make sure you have a regular backup of your configuration files.
xiaomi smart switch (without neutral) is giving me problem too. just burnt out for no reason and also caused my LED lights to flicker. have been hearing lots of complain on the non-neutral smart switch.
1. How many Aqara switches are you using? 2. How many has failed so far? 3. How long have you been using the failed ones before it died? 4. What is the production date? Look at the label on the box
This post has been edited by idoblu: Dec 6 2018, 05:13 PM
xiaomi smart switch (without neutral) is giving me problem too. just burnt out for no reason and also caused my LED lights to flicker. have been hearing lots of complain on the non-neutral smart switch.
Just went through Xiaomi forum. This seems to be a known issues caused by inferior resistors (only non-neutral version) for a few users in year 2017. And Aqara claimed that they had changed the supplier.
When did you buy your switch? Or do you know its manufacturing date?
I actually have 1 of such switch installed in my room few months ago. Starting to get worried.
Just went through Xiaomi forum. This seems to be a known issues caused by inferior resistors (only non-neutral version) for a few users in year 2017. And Aqara claimed that they had changed the supplier.
When did you buy your switch? Or do you know its manufacturing date?
I actually have 1 of such switch installed in my room few months ago. Starting to get worried.
The worst is just that the switch stop to work. This is quite normal in design. Computer simulation is not perfect and the part is not perfect too. The component selection is normally just enough to meet to meet circuit requirement just to save 0.01 sen
Recall is even worse in vehicle. Defect discovered after probably after accident happened 7 to 10 years down the line and manufacturers will admit probably a year after investigation
Is there any 20A 2P wall smart wifi switch available in the market now?
I have Joven JH50 50L Horizontal Storage water heater installed above the ceiling at my house. The 20A 2P neon switch currently located at my master bedroom upstairs . And the prob arises while I am at downstairs and need to turn on that switch, I have to go upstairs and manually turn it on. Would it be nice if I can have wirelessly turn it on with my phone.
Is there any 20A 2P wall smart wifi switch available in the market now?
I have Joven JH50 50L Horizontal Storage water heater installed above the ceiling at my house. The 20A 2P neon switch currently located at my master bedroom upstairs . And the prob arises while I am at downstairs and need to turn on that switch, I have to go upstairs and manually turn it on. Would it be nice if I can have wirelessly turn it on with my phone.
Thanks!
Your storage heater is mounted in 20A switch doesn't mean you need a 20A smart switch. AFAIK, it peaks at 3kW. A 16A sonoff Pow R2 or Aqara Aircon companion may work.
As a matter of safety, personally I don't have confident to put high power appliance on these devices.
Is anyone using a rechargeable battery in a Xiaomi smoke detector - 16340, IFR123A, etc.? Inital voltage is higher than a CR123A, does the detector operate OK?
how much are the they and the cost of the charger? I think not worth it cause the non-rechargeable ones can last 15 year or more.
This post has been edited by idoblu: Dec 5 2018, 09:28 AM
how much are the they and the cost of the charger? I think not worth it cause the non-rechargeable ones can last 15 year or more.
QUOTE(kk131 @ Dec 5 2018, 08:42 AM)
If you already have a charger then only the cost of the battery, I see the rechargeable cells starting around RM5.
Anyway bought a lithium battery, wonder if it will last 5 years.
Rechargeable battery will not last as long as regular non-rechargeable one. There is non as far as I know. Furthermore, the rechargeable battery operable length gets shorter and shorter. It is more nuisance recharging it than using normal battery.
If it flickers, not enough load.
The way the switch work without neutral is that it does not turn the switch fully off, but in between OFF and ON . That's how it's able to power the circuitry when it's off, it allows some current to flow through even when it's off to power the internal circuitry. That is why there is a minimum load requirement to using this switch. How many LED lights are you powering with that switch?
This post has been edited by Drian: Dec 5 2018, 05:19 PM
The way the switch work without neutral is that it does not turn the switch fully off, but in between OFF and ON . That's how it's able to power the circuitry when it's off, it allows some current to flow through even when it's off to power the internal circuitry. That is why there is a minimum load requirement to using this switch. How many LED lights are you powering with that switch?
Actually, it is not about minimum load but minimum leak current that flow through load (bulb or whatever) in off condition. The LED has very load leak current, thus could not provide enough power to the switch circuitry. Therefore, the switch is provided with capacitor normally about 0.1uF to be connected parallel to the load (LED bulb in this case). The capacitor will leak the AC current to the switch to ensure the switch works as it should.
So, if you have flickering problem, you need to install the capacitor. Otherwise, there is no need to.