Smart Home, Let's discuss

lencent
post Oct 23 2018, 10:17 PM

1,719 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Oct 23 2018, 10:14 PM)
If wiring on single phase, should be no problem. If 3 phase house wiring, it may or may not work.
Thanks for the response. I suspect my house is on 3 phase house wiring, is there anyway to confirm that? Phase 1 development does not mention about the wiring, but phase 2 development explicit mentioned 3 phase.
Zot
post Oct 23 2018, 11:10 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(lencent @ Oct 23 2018, 10:17 PM)
Thanks for the response. I suspect my house is on 3 phase house wiring, is there anyway to confirm that? Phase 1 development does not mention about the wiring, but phase 2 development explicit mentioned 3 phase.
The 3 phase master circuit breaker is bigger with 3 ganged switch like this

New housing is using RCCB not ELCB. The RCCB concept is comparing current going out to load and current return from load. If equal, then OK. If not it will trip. Some house wiring separates the 3 phase N, thus if you mix the L from other phase then return the current through N in another phase, the RCCB will trip. However, they may use common N for all. The MCCB in picture has 3 L out and 1 N. This I believe will have no problem. Probably some use 3 single phase RCCB, thus tis will cause trip. That is my understanding.

The 3 phase wiring will have 3 different L wire color like Blue, Yellow and Red. You can try connect. The worse is the RCCB will trip. smile.gif
kelembai
post Oct 24 2018, 08:07 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Oct 23 2018, 10:14 PM)
If wiring on single phase, should be no problem. If 3 phase house wiring, it may or may not work.
Mine 3 phase and only pull neutral from the ac next to light switch
kelembai
post Oct 24 2018, 08:12 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(lencent @ Oct 23 2018, 10:17 PM)
What i know, pls look at your meter box, if you can see 3 big fuse box and have 3 big wire coming go thru it, it mean 3 phase. Sifu, is it right?
Zot
post Oct 24 2018, 08:49 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Oct 24 2018, 08:12 AM)
What i know, pls look at your meter box, if you can see 3 big fuse box and have 3 big wire coming go thru it, it mean 3 phase. Sifu, is it right?
Yea... I was looking at inside the house. It is easier to look at the fuse. # fuses mean 3 phase supply nod.gif
robert82
post Oct 24 2018, 04:35 PM

1,924 posts

Thanks. Received the Raspberry Pi.

No idea how to start using it LOL
Fubar20
post Oct 24 2018, 04:42 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(robert82 @ Oct 24 2018, 04:35 PM)
Thanks. Received the Raspberry Pi.

No idea how to start using it LOL
Whatsapp me, bro. biggrin.gif
cursebreaker
post Oct 24 2018, 05:22 PM

718 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Oct 23 2018, 04:24 PM)
Yes need gateway to talk to other xiaomi device, aqara only up to 2 switch but sonoff up to 3 switch, no eorries pull neutral from your ac
no aircond switch nearby. thats the switch at my house entrance
Fubar20
post Oct 24 2018, 06:57 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(cursebreaker @ Oct 24 2018, 05:22 PM)
no aircond switch nearby. thats the switch at my house entrance
Out of luck then. Can check on Xiaomi switch.

Fubar20
post Oct 24 2018, 06:58 PM

1,187 posts

Expensive Garage Door open by Ewelink app

cursebreaker
post Oct 24 2018, 07:12 PM

718 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Oct 24 2018, 06:57 PM)
Out of luck then. Can check on Xiaomi switch.
i think ill get the switch and attach to individual downlight then. just leave the switch on.

https://shopee.com.my/*O*-WiFi-Smart-Switch...6682.1528048762
Fubar20
post Oct 24 2018, 07:21 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(cursebreaker @ Oct 24 2018, 07:12 PM)
i think ill get the switch and attach to individual downlight then. just leave the switch on.

Can also if u don't mind to toggle the switch using the app.
If really need a wall switch maybe use a Sonoff RF with a RF wall switch.
What are u attaching the Sonoff Basic with? Light?
kelembai
post Oct 25 2018, 09:41 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(cursebreaker @ Oct 24 2018, 07:12 PM)

Not invidual i believe since 1 switch probably control 2-3 downlight, put before the junction.

But sometime, this sonoff basic become not stable mean it did not connect to internet, and need to reset
Zot
post Oct 25 2018, 10:19 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Oct 25 2018, 09:41 AM)
Not invidual i believe since 1 switch probably control 2-3 downlight, put before the junction.

But sometime, this sonoff basic become not stable mean it did not connect to internet, and need to reset
Is this often, need to reset? You probably have the unit on ceiling, then it is a nuisance.

Since I've never own any sonoff and was thinking of a project for it, this makes me think twice laugh.gif
Fubar20
post Oct 25 2018, 10:28 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Oct 25 2018, 09:41 AM)

QUOTE(Zot @ Oct 25 2018, 10:19 AM)
Is this often, need to reset? You probably have the unit on ceiling, then it is a nuisance.

Since I've never own any sonoff and was thinking of a project for it, this makes me think twice  laugh.gif
blink.gif Need to reset meh? After install the Basic, I never physically touch it afterwards.
kelembai
post Oct 25 2018, 10:36 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Oct 25 2018, 10:28 AM)
blink.gif Need to reset meh? After install the Basic, I never physically touch it afterwards.
We never know, maybe that unit got problem. Other solution is to swich off and switch on back and hopefully it get connected. Most of the time it work

You flash already, not same meh

This post has been edited by kelembai: Oct 25 2018, 10:37 AM
kelembai
post Oct 25 2018, 10:40 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Oct 25 2018, 10:19 AM)

Since I've never own any sonoff and was thinking of a project for it, this makes me think twice  laugh.gif
Maybe happen on 1 out of ten, nevertheless it stillcoolto have it, please proceed your project

At moment i put at my air purifier and table lamp mostly use the timer but not good for air purifier since i need to push the button to switch on
Fubar20
post Oct 25 2018, 11:03 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Oct 25 2018, 10:36 AM)
We never know, maybe that unit got problem. Other solution is to swich off and switch on back and hopefully it get connected. Most of the time it work

You flash already, not same meh
Nope. Never need to touch it after installed.
Flash with Tasmota also no need to touch it afterwards.
I think u got lemon unit if need to reset it or press the button on the Sonoff Basic.

QUOTE(kelembai @ Oct 25 2018, 10:40 AM)
Maybe happen on 1 out of ten, nevertheless it stillcoolto have it, please proceed your project

At moment i put at my air purifier and table lamp mostly use the timer but not good for air purifier since i need to push the button to switch on
So mafan one. Install a robot arm which connect to Sonoff to press the button. laugh.gif
kelembai
post Oct 25 2018, 11:41 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Oct 25 2018, 11:03 AM)
Nope. Never need to touch it after installed.
Flash with Tasmota also no need to touch it afterwards.
I think u got lemon unit if need to reset it or press the button on the Sonoff Basic.
So mafan one. Install a robot arm which connect to Sonoff to press the button.  laugh.gif
Can teach mr how to flash with tasmota

Haha that one problem with sonoff basic for the appliance that require u to touch the on button. Off already auto but on still need manual
Fubar20
post Oct 25 2018, 11:52 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Aug 21 2018, 07:45 PM)
Check with multimeter. There are methods shown on Youtube. Be careful.
This
or this

QUOTE(kelembai @ Oct 25 2018, 11:41 AM)
Can teach mr how to flash with tasmota

Haha that one problem with sonoff basic for the appliance that require u to touch the on button. Off already auto but on still need manual
Check the video above.
Toughest thing is the USB adapter, sometimes can or cannot connect

656 Pages « < 220 221 222 223 224 > » Top

0.3000sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:45 AM