656 Pages « < 222 223 224 225 226 > » Bottom

Smart Home, Let's discuss

Fubar20
post Oct 27 2018, 08:04 PM

1,187 posts

Bulk for Raspberry Pi 3B+, 32GB micro SD with Home Assistant (Hass.io) and MQTT broker installed for RM240 not inclusive of postage

1. Two5Kid - paid / setup complete / sent today (Saturday)
2. kelembai - paid / setup complete / sent today (Monday)/ received (Tuesday)
3. meLi - paid / setup complete / sent today (Saturday)
4. wraju03 - paid / setup complete/ sent today (Tuesday)/ received (Wednesday)
5. robert82 - paid / setup complete / sent today (Monday)/ received (Wednesday)

Anyone interested in this can add yourself in the list or PM me. Thanks

Update 1:

Still got one space left for the bulk. Fast fast take.
The parts already ordered and on the way. Target date if finished installed this week will shipped out to you all by next week.

Update 2:

All parts already arrived. Final price is RM248 (West Malaysia) inclusive postage. rclxm9.gif
Will PM you all for the payment and delivery details.

QUOTE(cursebreaker @ Oct 27 2018, 06:41 PM)
Here's a question. I have a Xiaomi CCTV camera that sends me a notification everytime it detects movement. Anyway to set IFTTT to turn on some wifi controlled lights when a notification is received?
What model is your Xiaomi camera?
If your model is in the link below, you can use Home Assistant to link it with IFTTT.

Xiaomi Cameras

This post has been edited by Fubar20: Oct 27 2018, 08:04 PM
ahton
post Oct 29 2018, 10:14 AM

64 posts

Dear all sifus,
I'm planning to make my house smart with Google Home.
Looking for smart blind which is Google Home supported.
So far only found Hunter Douglas, planning to go quote for a price.
Any other brand which is available in Malaysia?

Have done some research on cheaper solutions like Axis/Blunt but there are not available to purchase here. Please share your comment.
Fubar20
post Oct 29 2018, 10:49 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(ahton @ Oct 29 2018, 10:14 AM)
Dear all sifus,

Have done some research on cheaper solutions like Axis/Blunt but there are not available to purchase here. Please share your comment.
Expensive as fudge even for the Western countries.
Maybe go DIY route. Sorry , can't help.

Zot
post Oct 29 2018, 01:00 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ahton @ Oct 29 2018, 10:14 AM)
Dear all sifus,

Before starting the project, consider how many time per day you would want to open and close the blind. Is it even 30m walk to your blind. Why would we want to spend so much just to avoid walking to blind several meters away to open or close probably twice a day, but every morning jogs around our taman just to keep fit.

Is this a smart move? laugh.gif

Anyway, I think I saw product sold here but how expensive is considered expensive? You go Taiwan or China side instead for sure cheap.
ozak
post Oct 29 2018, 01:10 PM

17,023 posts

This Sonoff have a very confusing to understand it function network.

I have change to a new router modem last week. I didn't realize that need to pair again all the device.

Sonoff still function as normal with timer schedule even I didn't pair it again. That mean it function without the network or cloud server.

Than yesterday power trip. When power back, it cannot function anymore. Remain off all the time. Even prg schedule timer ON, it remain off.

That show,

1) It don't keep the data that you prg in ? When power OFF, the data gone ?
2) It mean need to get the data back from your HP in the ewelink to unable function back after power ON.
3) Without able to detect your apps in the HP from the cloud server/ network, it cannot run back.
Fubar20
post Oct 29 2018, 01:16 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 29 2018, 01:10 PM)
This Sonoff have a very confusing to understand it function network.

I have change to a new router modem last week. I didn't realize that need to pair again all the device. Stock ah? Different SSID and password? Shouldn't need to change if SSID and password didn't change.  hmm.gif

Sonoff still function as normal with timer schedule even I didn't pair it again. That mean it function without the network or cloud server.

Than yesterday power trip. When power back, it cannot function anymore. Remain off all the time. Even prg schedule timer ON, it remain off.

That show,

1) It don't keep the data that you prg in ? When power OFF, the data gone ? Shouldn't happen. Or it save in the cloud?
2) It mean need to get the data back from your HP in the ewelink to unable function back after power ON.
3) Without able to detect your apps in the HP from the cloud server/ network, it cannot run back.
Time to flash to Tasmota. Now support MQTT and also HTTP commands if u don't have MQTT (local IP mode) brows.gif

This post has been edited by Fubar20: Oct 29 2018, 01:17 PM
ahton
post Oct 29 2018, 01:21 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Oct 29 2018, 01:00 PM)
Before starting the project, consider how many time per day you would want to open and close the blind. Is it even 30m walk to your blind. Why would we want to spend so much just to avoid walking to blind several meters away to open or close probably twice a day, but every morning jogs around our taman just to keep fit.

Is this a smart move?  laugh.gif

Anyway, I think I saw product sold here but how expensive is considered expensive? You go Taiwan or China side instead for sure cheap.
Well, you're right about the need of smart blind, but since i'm planning to get a Google Home, and looking for new blind for my new house, just exploring it is worth to get one, trying to make my home smarter.
Zot
post Oct 29 2018, 01:27 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ahton @ Oct 29 2018, 01:21 PM)
Well, you're right about the need of smart blind, but since i'm planning to get a Google Home, and looking for new blind for my new house, just exploring it is worth to get one, trying to make my home smarter.
Have you look into this offer?

https://www.mk.com.my/?gclid=EAIaIQobChMI2Z...AyAAEgIto_D_BwE

Can visit here too for idea:

http://elyza.com/showroom-2/

This post has been edited by Zot: Oct 29 2018, 01:29 PM
ozak
post Oct 29 2018, 01:42 PM

17,023 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Oct 29 2018, 01:16 PM)
Time to flash to Tasmota. Now support MQTT and also HTTP commands if u don't have MQTT (local IP mode)  brows.gif
It is same SSID and password. It confirm need to pair everything again by my another Xiaomi cam.

But the router modem now have 2.4g and 5g network. Sonoff doesn't run on 5g

Cloud network doesn't store any data. It is just a DDNS. Keep link your ewelink apps to the sonoff.

Fubar20
post Oct 29 2018, 01:53 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 29 2018, 01:42 PM)
It is same SSID and password. It confirm need to pair everything again by my another Xiaomi cam.

Cloud network doesn't store any data. It is just a DDNS. Keep link your ewelink apps to the sonoff.
Since you are running 2.4G network, then should not need to pair again unless your Sonoff is particular of your router MAC address. Just a guess only. unsure.gif

Or it likes B mode only. rclxub.gif

I had the same problem and I found out what it was. My 2.4GHz network was set to g+n only. When I switched it to b+g+n on my router it worked. I think many newer routers at set to not use the older b mode.

http://support.iteadstudio.com/support/dis...e/6?url_locale=

This post has been edited by Fubar20: Oct 29 2018, 02:01 PM
ozak
post Oct 29 2018, 02:11 PM

17,023 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Oct 29 2018, 01:53 PM)
Since you are running 2.4G network, then should not need to pair again unless your Sonoff is particular of your router MAC address. Just a guess only.  unsure.gif

Or it likes B mode only.  rclxub.gif
http://support.iteadstudio.com/support/dis...e/6?url_locale=
Not sure what it assign in the router.

But it confirm cannot run on 5g. I tried pair in 5g but it can't detect. Only fall back to 2.4g and it work.

This is what the sonoff behave I believe.

You can try experiment with it. Understand how it behave.
Fubar20
post Oct 29 2018, 02:15 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 29 2018, 02:11 PM)

But it confirm cannot run on 5g. I tried pair in 5g but it can't detect. Only fall back to 2.4g and it work.

Already know they don't work with 5GHz network. Stated in the manual. Anyway, don't have a 5Ghz network to test either.
ozak
post Oct 29 2018, 02:28 PM

17,023 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Oct 29 2018, 02:15 PM)
Already know they don't work with 5GHz network. Stated in the manual. Anyway, don't have a 5Ghz network to test either.
I mean not just the 5g or 2.4g.

But the way sonoff run.

Do sonoff store the data you prg ? What happen if no network ? What happen if HP off and no ewelink? etc..
Zot
post Oct 29 2018, 02:37 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 29 2018, 02:11 PM)

As you know Sonoff supports 802.11b/g/n which is 2.4GHz only. The client side (sonoff in this case) will follow the wireless AP mode setting. If fall back to 2.4g, it means that the AP is set to run 2.4g mode. If you use an AP that is set at 2.4b or 2.4n, then the sonoff will switch accordingly.
idoblu
post Oct 29 2018, 02:50 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 29 2018, 01:42 PM)

I recently changed router too. I have about 37 wifi devices. All connected by themselves no need to pair again.
You need to set the same ssid and password for the 2.4ghz band as your previous router.
I normally use the guest network for all my smarthome stuff

If Sonoff suddenly powers off, it still keeps the settings.

This post has been edited by idoblu: Oct 29 2018, 02:51 PM
Fubar20
post Oct 29 2018, 02:51 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 29 2018, 02:28 PM)
I mean not just the 5g or 2.4g.

But the way sonoff run.

Do sonoff store the data you prg ? Should by minimum store the SSID and password. If not, how to reconnect when power down or WIFI reset
What happen if no network ? In limbo state trying to reconnect?
What happen if HP off and no ewelink? etc.. Same as above. Limbo
That's what I think stock Sonoff behave which I don't have any. biggrin.gif

For Tasmota:
1) All the info is stored inside the particular Sonoff which you keyed in the info.
2) It will go into AP mode where u can connect with phone/computer. It will display "sonoff-XXXX-YYYY" where XXXX is the state topic set and YYYY is some numbers. Now, I need to check if i can still control Sonoff Tasmota when it is not connected to router.
3) No problem. Still can function like a manual switch. tongue.gif

Fubar20
post Oct 29 2018, 02:53 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 29 2018, 02:50 PM)
I recently changed router too. I have about 37 wifi devices. All connected by themselves no need to pair again.
You need to set the same ssid and password for the 2.4ghz band as your previous router.

nod.gif Which I think should happen. Maybe he didin't update the stock firmware. unsure.gif
ozak
post Oct 29 2018, 03:25 PM

17,023 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 29 2018, 02:50 PM)

2.4g and 5g have different SSID and password ?

It is confirm that the SSID and password is same. I pair again with the same old SSID and password. It mean I still have to pair. Won't auto.

For xiaomi dafang also. It lost connection and have to pair again.
idoblu
post Oct 29 2018, 03:34 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 29 2018, 03:25 PM)
2.4g and 5g have different SSID and password ?

It is confirm that the SSID and password is same. I pair again with the same old SSID and password. It mean I still have to pair. Won't auto.

For xiaomi dafang also. It lost connection and have to pair again.
Yes my 2.4 and 5ghz has different SSID
I think previously your router is only one band 2.4ghz
Then now you got another new router. Maybe you only turn on 5ghz but set the same ssid as your previous router
Check your router wifi again, confirm which is which

This post has been edited by idoblu: Oct 29 2018, 03:50 PM
ozak
post Oct 29 2018, 04:17 PM

17,023 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 29 2018, 03:34 PM)
Yes my 2.4 and 5ghz has different SSID
I think previously your router is only one band 2.4ghz
Then now you got another new router. Maybe you only turn on 5ghz but set the same ssid as your previous router
Check your router wifi again, confirm which is which
It change by the Maxis technician. Old router took back. I pass to them the SSID and password for them to key in back for me.

I can see 2 SSID. The normal 2.4g and the 5g in hp. When I tried to pair with 5g, it can't detect. Than change the wifi in hp to 2.4g. Than it able to detect and pair.

When switch over to 2.4g in wifi hp, it did ask again the password. Key in the password and jalan.

656 Pages « < 222 223 224 225 226 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:14 AM