Smart Home, Let's discuss

ozak
post Dec 13 2017, 05:57 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Dec 13 2017, 01:25 PM)
Only with 1 unit 1.5 hp invertor aircond on every night from 830pm to 830am next morning.
Some more with solar water heater and boiling drinking water with gas.
Only extra thing in a normal household is 2 unit of fridges run 24hrs, the rest are quite normal I would say.
My TNB bill also have a statement say 'You're using more than similar homes 77% more electricity than similar homes'  cry.gif
I m too have 1.5hp inverter in master room for 8-9hr everyday. Another 1hp for guest room which rarely use.

The rest is normal. But have a server run 7/11.

Max bill is rm80. Lowest this yrs is rm56.
enriquelee
post Dec 13 2017, 11:32 PM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 13 2017, 05:57 PM)
I m too have 1.5hp inverter in master room for 8-9hr everyday. Another 1hp for guest room which rarely use.

The rest is normal. But have a server run 7/11.

Max bill is rm80. Lowest this yrs is rm56.
Siao man! You have adjusted the meter ah?
Kiding
post Dec 13 2017, 11:49 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Dec 13 2017, 11:32 PM)
My house electricity usage is similar as @ozak, bill also around the same, hardly go above RM 90.

I guess your inverter aircon temp must be set below 20 degree and you have huge room.
idoblu
post Dec 14 2017, 04:25 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

I use my aircon more than 12 hours a day. Bill around 200
2hp and 1.5hp (one at a time)

Boil half a kettle of water everyday. Hot water heater turned on 24x7
Some of my Led lights are turned on during the day

This post has been edited by idoblu: Dec 14 2017, 08:15 AM
ozak
post Dec 14 2017, 08:10 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Dec 13 2017, 11:32 PM)
You better check your usage.

See, mostly are lower than your usage. Even they use ,more applicance.

2 main sucker, aircon and fridge.
Kiding
post Dec 14 2017, 09:48 AM

1,135 posts

@enriquelee, you may use this power monitoring smart device to connect to your aircond, this will let you know how much electricity aircon use

https://www.itead.cc/smart-home/sonoff-pow.html
enriquelee
post Dec 14 2017, 01:49 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Dec 13 2017, 11:49 PM)
My house electricity usage is similar as @ozak, bill also around the same, hardly go above RM 90.

I guess your inverter aircon temp must be set below 20 degree and you have huge room.
Ya, temperature set below 20 degree at some time.

QUOTE(Kiding @ Dec 14 2017, 09:48 AM)
@enriquelee, you may use this power monitoring smart device to connect to your aircond, this will let you know how much electricity aircon use

https://www.itead.cc/smart-home/sonoff-pow.html
Looks like this is what I need. Thanks.
Every appliances need 1 number of this device?

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 14 2017, 08:10 AM)
You better check your usage.

See, mostly are lower than your usage. Even they use ,more applicance.

2 main sucker, aircon and fridge.
I have done a rough calculation as below when I have a guess at my house. The amount is roughly there if my calculation is correct as below.

Kiding
post Dec 14 2017, 05:19 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Dec 14 2017, 01:49 PM)
Ya, temperature set below 20 degree at some time.
Looks like this is what I need. Thanks.
Every appliances need 1 number of this device?
I have done a rough calculation as below when I have a guess at my house. The amount is roughly there if my calculation is correct as below.
I'd say every power point needs one, anyway, there is z-wave device can tap on the DB box, which is I'm using now, Aeotec HEM z-wave to monitor the whole house electricity usage, however, because it is designed for US market which is 110V, the accuracy is not good.
Also, you will need smartthing hub to manage the z-wave device

To save the aircon power usage, especially for inverter aircon, you need to set the temperature around 25 degree, otherwise, inverter aircon doesn't really save money. my Mitsubishi inverter aircond 1.5HP only consumes 400W average when I set temperature to 26 degree.

You may change your lights to LED, and use PIR or smart home device to turn it on/off when no people around, my house lights always is off when no people around.

enriquelee
post Dec 14 2017, 05:34 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Dec 14 2017, 05:19 PM)
I'd say every power point needs one, anyway, there is z-wave device can tap on the DB box, which is I'm using now, Aeotec HEM z-wave to monitor the whole house electricity usage, however, because it is designed for US market which is 110V, the accuracy is not good.
Also, you will need smartthing hub to manage the z-wave device

To save the aircon power usage, especially for inverter aircon, you need to set the temperature around 25 degree, otherwise, inverter aircon doesn't really save money. my Mitsubishi inverter aircond 1.5HP only consumes 400W average when I set temperature to 26 degree.

You may change your lights to LED, and use PIR or smart home device to turn it on/off when no people around, my house lights always is off when no people around.
Wow.....every power point need 1? How about aircond?

Ya, I am slowly change all the bulb to LED now.
luvox
post Dec 14 2017, 09:29 PM

626 posts

Who is using raspberry pi, HA to bridge echo with broadlink rm pro? I want to ask about setup HA & configuration.yaml, hassbian.
rx330
post Dec 16 2017, 10:12 AM

11,809 posts

@idoblu
ur whole house now xiaomi demo house is it?
when ur xiaomi laser projector coming?
idoblu
post Dec 16 2017, 10:15 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 16 2017, 10:12 AM)
@idoblu
ur whole house now xiaomi demo house is it?
when ur xiaomi laser projector coming?
no la i only got a few xiaomi stuff - couple of dafang, xiaofang ip cam and couple of yeelight strips sweat.gif

rx330
post Dec 16 2017, 10:59 AM

11,809 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 16 2017, 10:15 AM)
no la i only got a few xiaomi stuff - couple of dafang, xiaofang ip cam and couple of yeelight strips  sweat.gif
will whatsapp you soon, renovations shud be starting early next year

need some ideas n advice

now waiting for ID plan
idoblu
post Dec 16 2017, 11:02 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 16 2017, 10:59 AM)
will whatsapp you soon, renovations shud be starting early next year

need some ideas n advice

now waiting for ID plan
Goodness I’m the last person you want to ask about these things 😅
All my “smart” stuff are very basic types
rx330
post Dec 16 2017, 11:44 AM

11,809 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 16 2017, 11:02 AM)
Goodness I’m the last person you want to ask about these things 😅
All my “smart” stuff are very basic types
i want basic stuff, too complicated one i cant take it

minimal yet effective will do
alucard89
post Dec 16 2017, 02:27 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Dec 14 2017, 09:29 PM)
Who is using raspberry pi, HA to bridge echo with broadlink rm pro? I want to ask about setup HA & configuration.yaml, hassbian.
Need to add broadlink component then learn ir codes
You can also import the codes from broadlink app but I never did this one
idoblu
post Dec 16 2017, 03:10 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Dec 16 2017, 02:27 PM)
Need to add broadlink component then learn ir codes
You can also import the codes from broadlink app but I never did this one
any other IR blaster (not broadlink)
how about Xiaomi's?

This post has been edited by idoblu: Dec 16 2017, 03:29 PM
alucard89
post Dec 16 2017, 03:32 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 16 2017, 03:10 PM)
any other IR blaster (not broadlink)
how about Xiaomi's?
Logitech harmony already supported, so can just integrate with home assistant
For xiaomi ir, the steps looks more complicated

https://community.home-assistant.io/t/xiaom...roller/25821/35

mixologist84
post Dec 18 2017, 06:18 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Nov 29 2017, 08:47 AM)
exactly my thoughts. if you got a grill and front door, then it makes sense to have an electronic/smart lock for both doors.
so now you got twice the cost, twice the trouble, twice the problem

and for grill you need a special lock because people can reach in to the other side of the lock
i've been looking for something that would make my grill smart as well, like you rightly pointed out, there has to be a different one as people can reach to the other side. the closest i can get is using a smart pad lock. im using noke, but it walk half the time only, most often i need to take out my phone to unlock it, instead if it using bluetooth to automatically unlock

a friend of mine is visiting the US now, and i have managed to help purchase both the echo dot, as well as the ghome mini. been researching about voice commands and integrating my current super rojak ecosystem.

i've been also reading up on sonoff and broadlink stuff as well and pretty tempted to try the wall plugs etc, (and add more mess int the rojak system)

can some one enlighten me on the below

1. the difference of rm mini3 / rm pro / rm plus
2. your experience using sonoff basic vs broadlnk sc1
3. is anyone using broadlink sc 2 orsonoff t1

i would like to automate the existing dumb llight switches and add some ifttt love to it.

This post has been edited by mixologist84: Dec 18 2017, 06:27 PM
idoblu
post Dec 18 2017, 06:25 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(mixologist84 @ Dec 18 2017, 06:18 PM)
i've been looking for something that would make my grill smart as well, like you rightly pointed out, there has to be a different one as people can reach to the other side. the closest i can get is using a smart pad lock. im using noke, but it walk half the time only, most often i need to take out my phone to unlock it, instead if it using bluetooth to automatically unlock
There are smart locks made for grills. I think Yale. Search Google can find.

656 Pages « < 72 73 74 75 76 > » Top

0.0194sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:55 PM