Smart Home, Let's discuss

mixologist84
post Aug 5 2017, 01:00 PM

560 posts

Hi Guys,

I stumbled upon this thread while doing some research on smart home initiative. Going through the forum (and other forums ) made me feel like i have to learn more and need some electrical and coding skills (i have none). i hope to learn more from here and wish to be well knowledgable on smart home, at least for my interest smile.gif

I have started to have some smart home devices for the past 2 years and hope to grot it. ultimately i would want to be able to maximise automation, add voice command (either with echo / xiaomi) and having it to work with home kit.

Currently this is what i have for Connected devices / Smart Home

1. Philips Hue - Gen 1 (3 bulbs)
2. Noke smart lock -1
3. Xiaomi (this makes the majority of my devices)
3.1 Mi Home Gateway
3.1.1 Motion Sensor - 2
3.1.2 Door Sensor - 4
3.1.3 Wireless Switch - 1
3.1.4 Humidity Sensor - 2
3.2 Xiaomi Universal Remote Control - 2
3.3 Xiaomi Mi Wifi Router -1
3.4 Xiaomi Mi Wifi Amplifier - 2
3.5 Xiaomi yeelight Bedside Lamp - 1
3.6 Xiaomi yeelight Smart LED Lightstrip - 4 (1 unused)
3.7 Xiaomi yeelight Smart LED Bulb - 4
3.8 Xiaomi Yi Home Camera Night Vision - 1
3.9 Xiaomi Xiao Fang 1080p wireless home camera - 3
3.10 Xiaomi Wifi Smart Plug Mi Adapter Wireless Remote Socket - 5
3.11 Mi Air Purifier -1
3.12 Mi Smart Scale
3.13 Mi Smart Band
3.14 Xiaomi Mi Power Strip 3 Sockets / 3 USB Ports White
3.15 Xiaomi Mi Bluetooth Gamepad
3.16 Xiaomi iHealth Smart Blood Pressure Monitor
3.17 Xiaomi Mi TDS Pen Water Quality Tester
4. Sony 50" Android TV
5. Xiaomi Mi Soundbar and Subwoofer
6. Harman Kardon Aura

They are all up and running, connected as well but, they are not working at its optimum, for e.g one action triggering another etc. I am also starting to learn about sonoff and would see how this would all add up. And i would really appreciate if the fellow forumers could advice on what else (automation) can i do with my current setup and advisable upgrades. Thanking you guys in advance smile.gif

This post has been edited by mixologist84: Aug 5 2017, 01:05 PM
mixologist84
post Aug 9 2017, 10:00 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Aug 5 2017, 02:10 PM)
mixologist84

Lots of xiaomi there, if you're using home assistant,
Once you add the gateway to the configuration, it would add all the sensors automatically. Then it's up to you to automate which one you need
Also, you'll need to have 2nd gen gateway (the one with fm radio)

For xiaofong, if also want to add the video stream in home assistant interface, you'll need to install custom firmware with rtsp

It's particularly useful if you need to automate with other stuff that's not made from xiaomi like sonoff

You could start with raspberry pi + sdcard, try get 2nd hand one.
If you need to buy new ones, get it from taobao, still cheaper than element14 price

For the noke smart lock, that's bluetooth right? How's it working for you so far?
thanks alucard, im just using the mi home app to automate it, by home assistant do you mean this.

also, why what is the difference between the 2 version of home gateway? any significant beside the radio function?

and for the noke, it's convenient, but since it uses bt connnected to phone, it doesnt works all the time. some time, i need to open the app in the phone and only then it will unlock. you can also use it without bt by unlocking it using a morse code like method. i still find it better compared to normal locks.

for the ras pi, i guess, i'll have to do more research
mixologist84
post Aug 10 2017, 01:17 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(ubeyou @ Aug 10 2017, 10:22 AM)
Hi guys,

Any idea or recommended seller where to buy cheap xiaomi motion sensor and temperature sensor?

I searched taobao, so far the cheapest motion sensor would be around RM40.
Can check shopee

humidity sensor - 35
Motion Sensor - 49

mixologist84
post Dec 18 2017, 06:18 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Nov 29 2017, 08:47 AM)
exactly my thoughts. if you got a grill and front door, then it makes sense to have an electronic/smart lock for both doors.
so now you got twice the cost, twice the trouble, twice the problem

and for grill you need a special lock because people can reach in to the other side of the lock
i've been looking for something that would make my grill smart as well, like you rightly pointed out, there has to be a different one as people can reach to the other side. the closest i can get is using a smart pad lock. im using noke, but it walk half the time only, most often i need to take out my phone to unlock it, instead if it using bluetooth to automatically unlock

a friend of mine is visiting the US now, and i have managed to help purchase both the echo dot, as well as the ghome mini. been researching about voice commands and integrating my current super rojak ecosystem.

i've been also reading up on sonoff and broadlink stuff as well and pretty tempted to try the wall plugs etc, (and add more mess int the rojak system)

can some one enlighten me on the below

1. the difference of rm mini3 / rm pro / rm plus
2. your experience using sonoff basic vs broadlnk sc1
3. is anyone using broadlink sc 2 orsonoff t1

i would like to automate the existing dumb llight switches and add some ifttt love to it.

This post has been edited by mixologist84: Dec 18 2017, 06:27 PM
mixologist84
post Dec 19 2017, 02:35 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Dec 19 2017, 01:23 PM)
1) rm pro/Plus = same,
    Rm Mini (Bean) = only ir ni rf

2) only tested sonoff basic with my 'dumb' fan to automate on/off when there's motion/presence. The sc1 looks the same

3) not sure about broadlink sc2, but I have used t1 and 3rd party switch that uses same chipset like t1.
If don't want to mess with firmware flashing, can just use itead firmware that's got google & Alexa skill.
thanks,
i ordered the rm pro from shopee, i think that its pretty cheap at 86.33 including shipping. also got the sonoff basic and sonoff touch 1 gang and 3 gang to try out 1st.

quick question,

1. For the sonoff touch, i think installation might be pretty straight forward, but for sonoff basic, do i have to do take any electricity calculation?, most prolly, gonna use sonoff basic for to control about 4 sets of ceiling downlight while maintaining normal light switch (not sure, how or where to check the wiring connection, will try it over the weekend).

since im gonne be using alexa / GA with hue/yeelight/ewelink/broadlink/ifttt is there any reason for me to start exploring HA, for now, to me it looks just like another control centre, i got a lot of manual setting to do to automate things with alexa/GH and ifttt.

This post has been edited by mixologist84: Dec 19 2017, 02:40 PM
mixologist84
post Dec 19 2017, 03:54 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 19 2017, 02:46 PM)
Those Touch needs a Neutral Line...
can you tell a little more? clearly i didn't read enough.
mean would it not work?

This post has been edited by mixologist84: Dec 19 2017, 03:58 PM
mixologist84
post Dec 19 2017, 05:02 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 19 2017, 04:13 PM)
The Touch are wall switches right? I think someone was saying it needs a Neutral line which ours do not have at the existing switches.

The Broadlink TC2 on the hand, do not need a Neutral wire
cancelled the order, hopefully the seller accepts and refunds me. btw the tc2 also requires neutral wire , atleast from the pic here
mixologist84
post Dec 19 2017, 08:37 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Dec 19 2017, 05:52 PM)
1) maybe you could consider sonoff 4ch for that?
Or use 4 gang WiFi switch?
That neutral wire requirement can be quite annoying since most just don't have it.
So need to contact your wiremen to have it installed or just try replacing any switch that's nearby power outlet to loop the neutral wire.

If you intend to control different smart home devices from different vendor then home assistant is the way to go.
Some coding involved, but it gets easier and there's template where you can get some references how to configure this and that.

There's also Samsung smart things hub, with easier user interface. But not free of course like home assistant, i think there was 50% discount sale for the hub, $50 from $100.
Wont the basic do the trick for 4 downlights, because currently they are all controlled using one switch now. Or do i still need to have 4 channel for it?

mixologist84
post Dec 19 2017, 08:43 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 19 2017, 06:19 PM)
Does the Xiaomi Aqara switch needs a hub to work?
Can it fit the lobang with no problems?
Im also interested on this but then there is a couple of version, one is just a stick on switch while another is the 86 socket which fits the lobang, i think. And im also pretty sure it needs the gateway.Also saw a tutorial of a guys just using the sonoff basic to connect to the wall switch which is pretty cool.

This post has been edited by mixologist84: Dec 19 2017, 08:45 PM
mixologist84
post Dec 20 2017, 02:21 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Dec 19 2017, 10:47 PM)
That will do, I assumed you had like different switch for each lights before
QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 19 2017, 08:54 PM)
one Sonoff will do, just make sure you put the Sonoff in the main cable before it splits to the other 4 lights
Turn off your mains breaker before working on it.

QUOTE(Kiding @ Dec 20 2017, 01:33 PM)
Just the hub is good enough, Amazon selling US$75 for the Hub, just buy RM10 adapter to convert US plug to UK plug.

US z-wave frequency hub has more choices for z-wave devices
would it make sense for me to ditch the mi smart home hub for smart things instead? would the existing temp sensor/smart plug/occupancy sensor and door sensor work with the smart things?
mixologist84
post Dec 20 2017, 03:28 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Dec 20 2017, 03:22 PM)
Yes,  as long as your xiaomi devices is using zigbee, then it should work with smartthings, however, there is learning curve to configure the devices to integrate to smartthings hub, because xiaomi is not smartthings certified devices, pairing is not as straight forward as using Xiaomi hub, for non technical guy, it will be difficult.
thank you, i guess, i'll probably take it slow first, let the echo dot, GH mini, sonoff, rm pro arrive , toy with them before adding more stuff smile.gif
mixologist84
post Dec 21 2017, 04:44 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Dec 20 2017, 05:33 PM)
Yes, Aqara wall switch can work with smartthings, I don't have one but planning to get it to replace my spoiled broadlink TC2 switch.
can it retrofit the 86 socket? and would you know what are the lines that needs to be connected?

on another note, need some advice from you guys here
1. where is the best place (read cheap) to buy Raspberry Pi 3 model B + Power Supply , found this inshopee is the price ok? brows.gif
2. would you recommend to add fan or heatsink if im going to use for HA
3. is it necessary to use power supply connected from wall or can i power it by other means, i.e via usb

This post has been edited by mixologist84: Dec 21 2017, 06:45 PM
mixologist84
post Dec 24 2017, 11:38 AM

560 posts

Hi guys, has anyone used broadlink s1 or s2 home security? Noy much luck finding info pn s2
mixologist84
post Jan 5 2018, 12:36 PM

560 posts

got the echo dot and GH mini y'day, asked a friend to help buy while he was travelling, trying to hook them up to my current setup. still awaiting for broaddlink rm pro to help with the fan/tv/ac. also ordered the raspi 3, to load hass.io and then help control xiaomi gateway (plugs/sensors). in the HA site i only saw the aqara component , anyone knows if it would work with the 1st gen xiaomi gateway?

btw, has anyone used or has experience with digoo products? seems to be upcoming smarthome products brand

This post has been edited by mixologist84: Jan 5 2018, 12:46 PM
mixologist84
post Jan 14 2018, 02:09 AM

560 posts

Guys, need some advice, as i have been adding more connected device, im experiencing drops in connection, this happens mostly on the ipcams and now even on echo dot. is there a limit of devices /sub devices that can be connected ? i think i have about 40 connection with around 15 subdevices

i am currently using mavis fiber 10mbps, i have connected mi router to the main network all devices to be connected to the network on xiaomi router, reason being, fr the ipcams to dump the recording in the hdd attached to the router and easier to manage all devices under single network
mixologist84
post Feb 3 2018, 10:39 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(farishafiq @ Feb 3 2018, 09:53 AM)
Ah i see. Thank you. But I already set up the yeelight and smart plug in the homekit using homebridge. So another mi product would be easily set up in the homekit haha. Looking forward to the homepod tho
wow, could you share a little more on you homebridge setup and how it works between xiaomi ecosystem and homekit
mixologist84
post Feb 13 2018, 05:13 PM

560 posts

hi guys, i comw with more noob question.

i want to control wall switches and this is my current powerpoint, my neighbours tells me that my condo units uses 3 phase (im not sure whats the difference). so this is how it looks like, am i able to use sonoff t1 here? if can, where shold these wires connect? or if i use sonoff basic (plan to remove the casing and stuff the board in the wall hole) how should the wiring work?

mixologist84
post Feb 13 2018, 05:14 PM

560 posts

hi guys, i comw with more noob question.

i want to control wall switches and this is my current powerpoint, my neighbours tells me that my condo units uses 3 phase (im not sure whats the difference). so this is how it looks like, am i able to use sonoff t1 here? if can, where shold these wires connect? or if i use sonoff basic (plan to remove the casing and stuff the board in the wall hole) how should the wiring work?

mixologist84
post Feb 19 2018, 05:50 PM

560 posts

Guys, last time i read somewhere, that there is a device that plus in to powerpoint (looks something like the sonoff s20) outlet and has a lan port, you plug one in your main modem and then you plug another one in another room and the lan cable plugged to a router, basically what it does is, runs the internet connection through the electrical wiring (i think la).

has anyone used this? or has any ideas about it?

mixologist84
post Feb 23 2018, 10:02 AM

560 posts

guys anyone here tried to link aqara smart cam (with gateway function) to HA? looks like it's unable to link to HA (from what i've read) despite being aqara sub brand sad.gif

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Feb 2 2018, 05:57 PM)
I just tested the Xiaomi Smoke alarm.
Burnt paper and let the smoke out.
Regardless of the Xiaomi gateway, the smoke alarm still works.

1st I test with Xiaomi gateway on, 2nd I tested with gateway turned off, both case the smoke alarm working fine.
Giving out very loud beep.

Just that without gateway, there will be no smartphone notification.

[attachmentid=9565459]

The English translation in Mijia app still need refinement.
hi would you know if they 1st gen hub would work? im having the 1st gen hub and aqara smart cam with hub, not sure if the smoke sensor can work with the 1st gen hub, but i dint see the option to add the smoke sensor in the aqara smart cam child device list.

and i'd like to check with the rest of the sifu's what (smart) smoke and gas alarm are you using and what would you recommend?

This post has been edited by mixologist84: Feb 23 2018, 10:22 AM

0.3475sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:42 PM