Smart Home, Let's discuss

enriquelee
post Apr 20 2015, 09:33 AM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Apr 20 2015, 08:44 AM)
If only have concrete / cement without plaster ceiling have to use cutter to create a "longkang" to put wires, and plaster it back. Using diamond cutter will be fast and easy, only -ve side is dusty, therefore need to wet the area first to reduce the dust.
Market do not have wireless motor for curtain?
enriquelee
post Apr 20 2015, 10:14 AM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Apr 20 2015, 09:58 AM)
So where to get the power? solar? The only wireless will be hand motor.
Lol. That is mechanical already.

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 20 2015, 10:05 AM)
Battery operate ? He.....
Yes, battery. Just like those wireless alarm system.
enriquelee
post Apr 20 2015, 10:43 AM

10,510 posts

9V battery? Or those thin round shape battery?
enriquelee
post Apr 20 2015, 03:09 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 20 2015, 10:57 AM)
9V battery is just the voltage high. But the Amp is very low. Even lower than the AA.

You need high Amp to run if the voltage is lower.
QUOTE(weikee @ Apr 20 2015, 11:03 AM)
9v battery is the least amps you can get. You may need like 100 of it.

Check the motor watt, you know the AH required.

A 200 watt motor, need at least 18amps for a 12v battery.
Seems like not possible for battery operation.

QUOTE(idoblu @ Apr 20 2015, 12:24 PM)
Yes Solar!
It has battery inside the tubing and recharge via Solar
http://en.dooya.com/products_5.html
China product! Hmmmmm hmm.gif
enriquelee
post Apr 20 2015, 04:06 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Apr 20 2015, 03:13 PM)
You want angmoh product? This one is French -
http://www.somfysystems.com

Btw Somfy System bought over 70% of Dooya so in the end still China made products
QUOTE(set @ Apr 20 2015, 03:29 PM)
so lets say, I want to able to control light with my phone, where do I start, how much do I need to get it started?
How you want to control the lights? On/off?
enriquelee
post Apr 20 2015, 04:09 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Apr 20 2015, 03:13 PM)
You want angmoh product? This one is French -
http://www.somfysystems.com

Btw Somfy System bought over 70% of Dooya so in the end still China made products
The sun sensor looks good.

QUOTE(set @ Apr 20 2015, 03:29 PM)
so lets say, I want to able to control light with my phone, where do I start, how much do I need to get it started?
How you want to control the lights? On/off?
enriquelee
post Apr 20 2015, 04:25 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(set @ Apr 20 2015, 04:11 PM)
yep, just a simple on off
Not available in Malaysia, right?
enriquelee
post Apr 21 2015, 10:06 AM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 20 2015, 06:25 PM)
How many pcs do I need in my home ? To control AV, light, aircon.
You can have a look into logitech harmony 1 remote. 1 piece settle all.

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 20 2015, 06:27 PM)
I don't no how reliable. But if too expensive for such a simple task, I rather just use my hand.  sad.gif

Unless I have those banglo 2storey tall curtain.
Haha, even 2 storey curtain hand operate also not difficult la.
enriquelee
post Apr 21 2015, 02:47 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 21 2015, 12:36 PM)
Oh yeah, forgotten this harmony remote. Last time did consider this after my media player remote cannot find anymore. But too expensive. sweat.gif

Now I have receiver remote which function almost same as Harmony 1. But seldom use as too many function have to remember. Still individual remote is the best. All line up on the coffee table. sad.gif

For this broadlink, you need 1 for each room. Cannot control room aircon if the unit at the living room right ? But still troublesome to use. As it need phone and too many step. 
Those high curtain very heavy 1 wor. For lady, you need more strength to pull. And the mean of pull, sometime mistake "pull down". Not pull left/right.
Logitech got cheaper one too. But use IR not RF.

Got pulley to help ma, little strength needed only
enriquelee
post Apr 24 2015, 04:32 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(babyk @ Apr 23 2015, 08:06 PM)
You can get it below RM1000 if you know where to get it
Where?
enriquelee
post Apr 25 2015, 10:16 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Apr 25 2015, 07:25 AM)
I think I might get a smart doorbell  biggrin.gif

Looks cool and useful.
Can consider to get one if not costly.
enriquelee
post Apr 27 2015, 04:55 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 26 2015, 09:27 AM)
Nah.  Some sample starship quarter for you to renovate your room.  thumbup.gif You can name your room Deck 6-Section 36. He...he...

Taken at Star Trek exhibition in science center.

It will be super cool to have it in ones house. rclxms.gif
enriquelee
post Apr 27 2015, 05:16 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 27 2015, 05:08 PM)
My dream. brows.gif

If you see cleary, it is not difficult to reno. Most of the furniture is already have in local here. Those light are LED. And the shape can settle with the carpenter.
Definitely possible.
Wait to see you actual pictures then. biggrin.gif thumbup.gif
enriquelee
post Apr 27 2015, 05:25 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 27 2015, 05:19 PM)
$$$ cry.gif
That is not a big problem.
Earn them, man! rclxms.gif
enriquelee
post Jun 29 2015, 09:25 AM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(ywkwy @ Jun 28 2015, 05:47 PM)
Should be ok since I'm going to DIY the whole system where I know how the system works. The part which I'm not sure whether I should DIY is laying of the network cable which I believe is 1 time job unless wanted to change network cable after some years. Either the ugly way of putting into cable casing without laying in the wall or hire someone to lay PVC pipe and wiring in the wall or should I DIY the wall hacking as well  sad.gif
Anyone here have experience hacking the wall and lay PVC pipe for wiring? Is it hard?
You need some tools to do it.
Grinder to cut the chases at wall.
Mixer for skim coat mixing if your wall is skim coated.
Then you need to do some wet works such as patching of chases.
enriquelee
post Jun 30 2015, 10:07 AM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(van_dyke @ Jun 29 2015, 11:13 AM)
Hmmm, any curtain controllers that are controllable from the phone app?
Those with IR should be able to control by handphone.
enriquelee
post Jun 30 2015, 10:36 AM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(van_dyke @ Jun 30 2015, 10:26 AM)
Any products/company in malaysia that carries this?
Just check with curtain contractor, tell them you want motorise with IR.
enriquelee
post Mar 9 2016, 10:53 AM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Jan 26 2016, 12:21 AM)

Very nice stuffs. Got extra to let go? brows.gif
enriquelee
post Apr 8 2016, 04:41 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Apr 7 2016, 10:27 PM)
Monowall z-wave in wall on/off switch is pretty good, it is reliable, easily pair with smartthings, it is actually a relay, so I use it to open/close my autogate. now my autogate can automatically open once my car is arriving home  brows.gif
But a bit unsafe to have this feature ler.
enriquelee
post Dec 22 2016, 11:25 AM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 28 2016, 08:45 PM)
ozak now can find a few Smart Plugs, can on/off, timer schedule, and even monitor power usage

Remote Access – Control devices connected to the Smart Plug wherever you have Internet using the free Kasa app on your smartphone.

Scheduling – Schedule the Smart Plug to automatically power electronics on and off as needed, like setting lights to come on at dusk or turn off at sunrise.

Energy Monitoring – Analyze a device’s real-time and historical power consumption.

Away Mode – Turns your devices on and off at different times to give the appearance that someone is home.

Amazon Echo Voice Control – Amazon Echo (sold separately) lets you control devices connected to the Smart Plugs just using your voice.

http://www.tp-link.com.my/products/details...0.html#overview

got cheaper ones made by Orvibo as well but in chinese
Interesting item. Any idea where can buy locally and how much?

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.6182sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:40 AM