rx330
post Jan 13 2017, 12:22 PM

11,808 posts

so this is where u guys discuss this things

hi idoblu, its me again biggrin.gif

setting up mine as well, currently, linking echo with hue and vera, still waiting for harmony hub to arrive

so far problem encounter is when 2nd dot( in master room) cant connect to wifi
other than that need the dot to really recognize your english n sentence structure

rx330
post Jan 13 2017, 02:07 PM

11,808 posts

from amazon la, abuthen?
rx330
post Jan 13 2017, 04:25 PM

11,808 posts

i use 3rd party, the one we using for years

amazon deliver to sg la, no?

@alucard, me stay small apt, did gotten another wifi extender, everything seems ok now, so far alexa did not turn red color in the bedroom

delivery to my usa address quite fast, then consolidation cos waiting other items, then ship back here, ard 3 days bah, DHL
rx330
post Jan 13 2017, 04:44 PM

11,808 posts

my things now all ship to SG, lesser tax involved
then only we bring it back to MY

ship to MY sure kena 20 + 10 la, barang sure exceed rm 500

This post has been edited by rx330: Jan 13 2017, 04:45 PM
rx330
post Jan 14 2017, 10:36 AM

11,808 posts

no, i dont use ezbuy

the service i use is MYUS.com
it has options for me to pick to use dhl or fedex, but all these while im used to DHL, easier access for me to pick up

@alu, i just bought one unit of the harmony hub, havent reach me yet
still thinking how can i link it so i can voice control in my room as well, any ideas? the hub itself will be in the living room for sure, it comes with an ir blaster too

rx330
post Jan 17 2017, 12:47 PM

11,808 posts

im using aeotec and fibaro to switch off items
they shud be fixing it this weekend if they can make it

bought a tp link to extend the home wifi, not very stable

@ alucard, here is the problem im facing, since the harmony home would be at the living hall, im thinking wat other way can i use it to voice control the tv/appletv in my room as well

any ideas? the RF extender need to be wired from the hub
another thing i read is the remote that comes to it, can be used to send out IR, not too sure how it works
rx330
post Jan 17 2017, 01:19 PM

11,808 posts

got a lot controller ar? hahahha

the fibaro is some box to be added behind the main switches

as said the house is to be integrate with vera, but now is how to let it fully controlled by alexa hahaha
rx330
post Jan 18 2017, 11:36 AM

11,808 posts

@alu
the hub can connect till 8, unless if u buy the elite, then can go till 15
how does the IR repeater work? i connect one unit to the hub, and the other just put in another room? they will connect wirelessly?
each of these IR unit needs to have a power source right?

@idoblu
my current house 1.2k sqf nia, not those 6k sqf penthouse
Tried IFTTT, couldnt really get it to work wat i need
need to experiment more
the speed of it quite fast, i send a trigger from alexa to ifttt from there to philips hue, about 1 second or so
rx330
post Jan 19 2017, 10:46 AM

11,808 posts

soon to become hamsap thread
pls share vid biggrin.gif
rx330
post Jan 20 2017, 01:34 PM

11,808 posts

from msia to sweden hahhaha
rx330
post Jan 23 2017, 10:59 AM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jan 20 2017, 06:25 PM)
Only thing I don't like is the device limitation with harmony hubs
Not too sure if they would connect wirelessly automatically since I've just recently started reading about them
And for that reason I also bought broadlink rm pro since there's no limits to devices added
mine has just arrive, dont think will have time to fiddle with it

personally i do not have that really many device, but if it could work ideally in this manner i would be happy (all thru voice command)
living
1. tv
2. soundbar
3. exposure amp
4. PS4 (which doesnt work now i think) or wall mount fan
5. Kodi (if its possible)

room
1. tv
2. apple tv
3. wall mount fan

so max out about 8 items or so for my setup

broadlink seems interesting, may ask my fren to consider if he wanna set up smart home
the hub itself doesnt seem very expensive
and it seems like one for all instead of my setup
mine i need the pc to run 24/7 just to act as bridge to link alexa and vera
rx330
post Jan 23 2017, 02:09 PM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jan 23 2017, 11:57 AM)
I'm not sure about vera, but with alexa you can install tasker on any android box and it can act as bridge and control broadlink

There's also home assistant app that you can install on raspberry pi board but it does require a bit more tinkering to configure properly with your existing devices.

If you only have ir devices (mostly with aircon/fan)  you can just get the cheaper broadlink mini 3 (no rf).
I'm getting the broadlink pro since I might be planning to also get rf wall switches.
Particularly for 4 gang wall switch, since most wifi switch only has 1/2 gang only.
my wall switches are on Z wave

does rf switches need neutral on your wall switches?

rx330
post Jan 25 2017, 11:42 AM

11,808 posts

seems broadlink RM is like a good option, shud have went with this instead of vera, somemroe no need neutral wire

my harmony hub arrived yesterday, did some setup
not really easy to setup especially it needs to cnnect to server
only thing i can do now is " Alexa turn on/off tv " but my stupid soundbar giving me issues
harmony will power up the soundbar, switch to hdmi 1, but after a few seconds my soundbar will auto switch back to its home menu

rx330
post Feb 2 2017, 10:49 AM

11,808 posts

ok my alexa now can turn on and off my fan, harmony needs to learn from the remote as its not in their spec
and the remote only has off button , no on off
did a few research n settings only get it to work
turn on = fan speed
turn off = off button

now is which IR repeater to get so this function is possible in my room fan also, if not i would need another IR blaster for the VERA system in order for the room fan to work bangwall.gif

This post has been edited by rx330: Feb 2 2017, 10:50 AM
rx330
post Feb 2 2017, 02:29 PM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Feb 2 2017, 01:52 PM)

Any idea how this work?
one end i plug the receiver unit into the harmony 2nd IR port blaster(in my living) and the 2nd unit i just place it in my room?
rx330
post Feb 4 2017, 08:55 AM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Feb 3 2017, 04:43 PM)
That should be how it works
If you do decide to grab that one, do provide feedback on the range
ok, will try n purchase
btw im just curious, from its description(its actually copied from another models IR repeater), it says it can link up to 3 different devices
does this means max i could control 3 devices only in my bedroom?
rx330
post Feb 6 2017, 02:26 PM

11,808 posts

have to buy direct from usa for the smart tint i guess

china has one cheaper version, my fren and me were looking into this product sometime ago

rx330
post Feb 8 2017, 11:50 AM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Feb 7 2017, 10:29 PM)
Saw that weeks back, hopefully comes out soon since they did say it'll be out after cny.
Btw, if add device in alexa group, can skip 'tell ewelink to turn on/off device' and just say 'turn on/off device' right?
Or need to wait for future update like logitech harmony app?
if you group the ewelink device, then u just rename the group and tell it to turn on or off will do
thats how i think it works la biggrin.gif
rx330
post Feb 9 2017, 07:17 PM

11,808 posts

now only 6 %?
not 20 plus 6?
actually for 60 usd. why u so worry about tax
it's not even more than rm.500
rx330
post Feb 9 2017, 10:38 PM