post Apr 4 2023, 04:45 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Apr 4 2023, 01:13 PM)
You can check Eva M5 by Avenir Lab

https://www.evasmart.co/m5/

Or Trident Arthur+ by Eagle Secure Tech

https://digitallock.com.my/product/trident-arthur-plus/

Both support Tuya. If your budget permits, Eagle Secure Tech also have Lenovo branded smart locks which look nicer and support Tuya as well

https://digitallock.com.my/

Best to visit the physical shop to have a look and consult the salesperson first
Yup. Exactly, i prefer walk in survey n understand b4 purchase.
epicure
post Apr 5 2023, 08:39 AM

229 posts

Hey bro, just want to ask u, before your sockets fried, did they function as ZigBee extenders/repeaters?

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Feb 21 2023, 09:33 AM)
unacceptable response.

Do not buy MOES UK Zigbee wall socket without putting thought into it.
https://shp.ee/4hrx7y6

MOES UK Wifi wall socket works fine.
but its MOES UK Zigbee wall socket does not.

reason being,the Zigbee wall socket cannot tolerate voltage above 250V.
which according to Energy Commission, Malaysian supply can go as high as 253V tolerance.

vendor solution workaround:
customer is to reduce Voltage from mains to make the socket functional.

Oltromen Ripot
post Apr 5 2023, 09:30 AM

👍 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

QUOTE(epicure @ Apr 5 2023, 08:39 AM)
Hey bro, just want to ask u, before your sockets fried, did they function as ZigBee extenders/repeaters?
Sorry. The fried ones are WiFi version.

Anyway, the Zigbee version, I put them behind AVR and UPS that can step down to lower end of 200V-250V range as workaround. But I wouldn't be buying more of them anymore.
As for their usage as extender, I cannot verify the feature. But their connection have been very, very stable.

Home 1. Separate network powered by Huawei B618 as backbone, specifically to control switches behind the other Homes and itself.
Hub, no usb extender. All the 9 * wall sockets and 12 * plug socket. Very stable, not reliable (as in, less than 5 of them can turn off on their own for no reason and never came back if no manual intervention. So I set schedule to turn ALL of them on every 30mins.)

Home 2. Sprinkler. Rides on Home 1 network as well.
Hub, no usb extender. Zigbee tap controller to avoid overfill if water-leak sensor inside tank is triggered. 1 wall socket to control water-pump timer. Very reliable, very stable. Why not straight spray from tap instead of using tank? Because we want to make sure there is stored water for at least 1 cycle if pump is ON during mains interruption. And, we can put fertilizer inside tank.

Home 3. General home and Fibre services.
Hub, 1 USB extender to reach far rear. Home alarm (i use one of those tuya "tablet"-like from Shopee, like it because it have remote control to hang with keychain), wall switches, wall sockets, (sun)light sensor (to limit auto lights ON/OFF at porch and in hallway only when it's dark outdoor), aircond, heater, water leak sensor (because the tap inside wall that controls water supply to sink itself can silently leak if i opened it too much, had that twice and it ruined the cabinet door being soaked for whole week, not to mention excessive moisture in home from mini flood). Also the heat-based motion sensor (previously used for alarm, now to switch lights on only when there is humans present). I think it performed unreliably at the far rear, but improved after I put USB repeater in the middle to Hub. my Wifi-based devices at far rear will have notice inside SmartLife app about signal degradation, so I assumed the Zigbee ones also have issue, thus the USB repeater.

Oh, the Wifi degradation, I attempt to solve with 4-node mesh scattered around WITH dhcp lifetime of 4hrs only (apparently the devices somehow gets new IP at random time, so if set for too long, the pool will run out and I will have lots of offline Wifi devices that never recovered until power reset at mains.

I use Zigbee USB extender. Why? I can plug in behind any of mesh nodes, which I have 8 altogether scattered around (4 for home automation, 4 for laptops, mobiles, etc.) Since, again, I cannot verify wall zigbees usage as extenders. And. USB repeater is free to switch Hub to repeat, but Zigbee wall swiches supposedly repeats only the Hub it is registered to; wall sucks if I need it to repeat for Home A when it is registered to Home C. Imagine "missing" your kitchen socket in Home A because you had to have it repeat Home C. Nobody woild miss a missing USB extender if you move it to another Home.

This post has been edited by Oltromen Ripot: Apr 5 2023, 09:40 AM
weiersen P
post Apr 5 2023, 05:22 PM

Probation

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Mar 1 2023, 05:58 PM)
which integrates solutions u deployed for your clients?
Aqara Global - Smart Door, Smart Curtain, switches, and auto gate.
epicure
post Apr 6 2023, 12:20 AM

229 posts

Bummer I'll just use the ZigBee smart plugs instead

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Apr 5 2023, 09:30 AM)
Sorry. The fried ones are WiFi version.

Anyway, the Zigbee version, I put them behind AVR and UPS that can step down to lower end of 200V-250V range as workaround. But I wouldn't be buying more of them anymore.
As for their usage as extender, I cannot verify the feature. But their connection have been very, very stable.

Home 1. Separate network powered by Huawei B618 as backbone, specifically to control switches behind the other Homes and itself.
Hub, no usb extender. All the 9 * wall sockets and 12 * plug socket. Very stable, not reliable (as in, less than 5 of them can turn off on their own for no reason and never came back if no manual intervention. So I set schedule to turn ALL of them on every 30mins.)

Home 2. Sprinkler. Rides on Home 1 network as well.
Hub, no usb extender. Zigbee tap controller to avoid overfill if water-leak sensor inside tank is triggered. 1 wall socket to control water-pump timer. Very reliable, very stable. Why not straight spray from tap instead of using tank? Because we want to make sure there is stored water for at least 1 cycle if pump is ON during mains interruption. And, we can put fertilizer inside tank.

Home 3. General home and Fibre services.
Hub, 1 USB extender to reach far rear. Home alarm (i use one of those tuya "tablet"-like from Shopee, like it because it have remote control to hang with keychain), wall switches, wall sockets, (sun)light sensor (to limit auto lights ON/OFF at porch and in hallway only when it's dark outdoor), aircond, heater, water leak sensor (because the tap inside wall that controls water supply to sink itself can silently leak if i opened it too much, had that twice and it ruined the cabinet door being soaked for whole week, not to mention excessive moisture in home from mini flood). Also the heat-based motion sensor (previously used for alarm, now to switch lights on only when there is humans present). I think it performed unreliably at the far rear, but improved after I put USB repeater in the middle to Hub. my Wifi-based devices at far rear will have notice inside SmartLife app about signal degradation, so I assumed the Zigbee ones also have issue, thus the USB repeater.

Oh, the Wifi degradation, I attempt to solve with 4-node mesh scattered around WITH dhcp lifetime of 4hrs only (apparently the devices somehow gets new IP at random time, so if set for too long, the pool will run out and I will have lots of offline Wifi devices that never recovered until power reset at mains.

I use Zigbee USB extender. Why? I can plug in behind any of mesh nodes, which I have 8 altogether scattered around (4 for home automation, 4 for laptops, mobiles, etc.) Since, again, I cannot verify wall zigbees usage as extenders. And. USB repeater is free to switch Hub to repeat, but Zigbee wall swiches supposedly repeats only the Hub it is registered to; wall sucks if I need it to repeat for Home A when it is registered to Home C. Imagine "missing" your kitchen socket in Home A because you had to have it repeat Home C. Nobody woild miss a missing USB extender if you move it to another Home.
ZeneticX
post Apr 6 2023, 01:25 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

just found out that Philips have a smart lock now that supports Tuya / Smartlife instead of their own Easykey app

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/official...ysaArn7EALw_wcB
celciuz
post Apr 6 2023, 06:39 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(weiersen @ Apr 5 2023, 05:22 PM)
Aqara Global - Smart Door, Smart Curtain, switches, and auto gate.
Don't mind, could you share how you integrated the auto gate? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Apr 6 2023, 01:25 AM)
just found out that Philips have a smart lock now that supports Tuya / Smartlife instead of their own Easykey app

I prefer Tuya app over EasyKey... at least Tuya can HomeBridge haha... zzz mine now very bodoh... but on the side note its quite responsive lah when someone unlocks or open etc it notify fast.
adamw
post Apr 6 2023, 08:57 AM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,352 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Apr 6 2023, 01:25 AM)

For this price can get face detection too from Tuya!
ZeneticX
post Apr 6 2023, 12:39 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Apr 6 2023, 08:57 AM)
For this price can get face detection too from Tuya!
Face detection in smart lock is a bit of a gimmick for me sweat.gif since the smart lock is not even at your eye level, you need to bend down just to scan your face. Correct me if I'm wrong
celciuz
post Apr 6 2023, 01:34 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Apr 6 2023, 12:39 PM)
Face detection in smart lock is a bit of a gimmick for me sweat.gif since the smart lock is not even at your eye level, you need to bend down just to scan your face. Correct me if I'm wrong
I've been using Philips DDL702-8HW since Dec'22 until today. So far the face recognition rarely fail at all... and no need to purposely bend down or what... the camera is somewhat angled upwards. Only thing is, its faster la to use fingerprint actually, cause for the lock to wake up, you need stand in front of the lock and it wakes up for the detection. Probably 1-2 seconds.
ZeneticX
post Apr 6 2023, 02:44 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 6 2023, 01:34 PM)
I've been using Philips DDL702-8HW since Dec'22 until today. So far the face recognition rarely fail at all... and no need to purposely bend down or what... the camera is somewhat angled upwards. Only thing is, its faster la to use fingerprint actually, cause for the lock to wake up, you need stand in front of the lock and it wakes up for the detection. Probably 1-2 seconds.
How's your experience with it so far? Any issues?

Using Li Ion battery or normal battery cells?

My concern with Li Ion is need to charge when its depleted (although most company claim it should last 6 - 12 months), and when the battery health is deteriorated it might be difficult to find replacement

Normal battery cells can just replace anytime and your lock will be ready
celciuz
post Apr 6 2023, 02:48 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Apr 6 2023, 02:44 PM)
How's your experience with it so far? Any issues?

Using Li Ion battery or normal battery cells?

My concern with Li Ion is need to charge when its depleted (although most company claim it should last 6 - 12 months), and when the battery health is deteriorated it might be difficult to find replacement

Normal battery cells can just replace anytime and your lock will be ready
Mine claimed warranty for the touch sensor faulty sweat.gif , replaced the board. Other than that, it has been working fine. Face detects works, thumb print works (after repair) and it is wifi connected, so the notifications are pretty fast too.

My model is using 8x AA battery, so far have not exhausted the batteries. Should last about 6 months. Next round gonna probably try 8x 1.2v NiMH see if it could run. Then can save up on batteries sweat.gif and probably charge more frequent say like every 3 months.
XweienX
post Apr 6 2023, 04:32 PM

455 posts

Hi, has anyone tried the Aqara curtain "switchbot" already?

Wanted to get the permanent motor kind at first, but budget a bit tight. And I'm only planning to have master bedroom curtain be auto.
weiersen P
post Apr 9 2023, 07:23 AM

Probation

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 6 2023, 06:39 AM)
Slight modification on the control board. You need 1 gang switch and can integrated with carplay, just say ' i'm home' you'll see magic 😉. Depend on the customer.

I prefer Tuya app over EasyKey... at least Tuya can HomeBridge haha... zzz mine now very bodoh... but on the side note its quite responsive lah when someone unlocks or open etc it notify fast.
Nice.

weiersen P
post Apr 9 2023, 07:25 AM

Probation

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 6 2023, 06:39 AM)
Slight modification on the control board. You need 1 gang switch and can integrated with carplay, just say ' i'm home' you'll see magic 😉. Depend on the customer.

weiersen P
post Apr 9 2023, 07:28 AM

Probation

Aqara smart door sensor range 20mm.
celciuz
post Apr 9 2023, 02:14 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(weiersen @ Apr 9 2023, 07:25 AM)
Add 12v relay?

I’m using Athom relay now, works fine. Configured “open autogate” and “close autogate” to trigger it. It has some sort of built in homebridge so I can use HomeKit to control.

QUOTE(weiersen @ Apr 9 2023, 07:28 AM)
Aqara smart door sensor range 20mm.
20mm?! 2 cm? 😅 that’s a bit too near isn’t it.

This post has been edited by celciuz: Apr 9 2023, 02:15 PM
Created On 21/1/2021
post Apr 10 2023, 04:13 PM

1,347 posts

Hi, is there a smart light bulb with timer function?

I want the light bulb to be on from 7pm to 5am, is such function available on Wiz or Yeelight?
Oltromen Ripot
post Apr 10 2023, 04:35 PM

👍 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

QUOTE(Created On 21/1/2021 @ Apr 10 2023, 04:13 PM)
Hi, is there a smart light bulb with timer function?

I want the light bulb to be on from 7pm to 5am, is such function available on Wiz or Yeelight?
That's all?

(i) I use dual-sensor bulbs. This one no need special setup as it will auto detect insufficient SUNlight to switch on. I'm not promoting this specific brand, just link the one i bought for gate usage.
Check out SINCELIGHT Dusk to Dawn LED Bulb with Dual Daylight Sensors· ON/Off Automatic Depends On Daylight Level · Night Light from Dusk Till Dawn.
Get it on Shopee now! https://shp.ee/unrn8f4.

(ii) Tuya/SmartLife
but you don't want timer function.
"Timer" will flip the state as opposed to state at the time a timer started i.e. ON becomes OFF, or OFF becomes ON.

You can set auto Scenes.
Then choose to have your bulb switched ON/OFF based on either
- fixed time (once, or select which day),
- dynamic based on sunset/sunrise for your geographical location, or,
- like mine, I (i) add a light sensor to measure intensity of outdoor lux value, and (ii) motion sensor; to autoswitch porch and rear flood lights only when it is motion-triggered and dim.

SIEWBAO
post Apr 11 2023, 10:22 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Apr 4 2023, 01:13 PM)
You can check Eva M5 by Avenir Lab

https://www.evasmart.co/m5/

Or Trident Arthur+ by Eagle Secure Tech

https://digitallock.com.my/product/trident-arthur-plus/

Both support Tuya. If your budget permits, Eagle Secure Tech also have Lenovo branded smart locks which look nicer and support Tuya as well

https://digitallock.com.my/

Best to visit the physical shop to have a look and consult the salesperson first
Is the smart door lock comes with wifi better or not? previously i heard someone mentioned without wifi is better. but why ya?

Anyway, is there any budget nice smart wall socket recommend?

This post has been edited by SIEWBAO: Apr 11 2023, 10:34 AM

656 Pages « < 564 565 566 567 568 > » Top

0.1379sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:59 PM