Smart Home, Let's discuss

epicure
post Apr 11 2023, 05:26 PM

229 posts

Hi sifus,

First and foremost pardon the noob question that I have here. I have an alarm panel, that has 2 output terminals, 12V DC each, to indicate arm and disarm status. Means when armed, it has 12V DC voltage. When disarmed then no voltage. I'm trying to figure out, how to use this output into my smart home app ( could be anything, apple home, tuya, Ewelink etc etc)

As far as I'm concerned there are no smart switches that can use a DC voltage as an input signal (not input supply) or even a dry contact as an input , it can only control dry contact outputs. Any ideas?

For example if I connect an ewelink smart switch ( the Autogate type that accepts 7-32V DC as an input supply) then the switch would only be powered when the alarm is armed and offline (no power) when the alarm is off. And even if it's armed and powered, the status of the switch in the app is non relevant.

Any ideas sifus??
Oltromen Ripot
post Apr 11 2023, 06:01 PM

šŸ‘ 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

QUOTE(epicure @ Apr 11 2023, 05:26 PM)

First and foremost pardon the noob question that I have here. I have an alarm panel, that has 2 output terminals, 12V DC each, to indicate arm and disarm status. Means when armed, it has 12V DC voltage. When disarmed then no voltage. I'm trying to figure out, how to use this output into my smart home app ( could be anything, apple home, tuya, Ewelink etc etc)

Any ideas sifus??
2 separate output terminals? Means if armed then 1 terminal have constant power? Brief power?
And when disarmed, another 1 terminal have constant power? Brief power?

Sort of like, you can put green bulb, red bulb as status indicator?

I don't know if there is any tuya device that can outright rake in 12V as input signal.

But i can think of using bulb for each of the 2 output terminal, then use 2 separate tuya light sensors to capture LUX value of the bulb.
I assume the output terminals are mutually exclusive. such that if light sensor A read a sudden brightness, then can assume output terminal A has light up. The same goes for light sensor B reading a sudden brightness coming from output terminal B.
epicure
post Apr 11 2023, 06:31 PM

229 posts

Hey there,

No only one terminal has voltage. The other one is ground. I did think of lux through a light..but if the environment is bright then it kinda is not going to be very reliable.

Still thinking of how to get over this..

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Apr 11 2023, 06:01 PM)
2 separate output terminals? Means if armed then 1 terminal have constant power? Brief power?
And when disarmed, another 1 terminal have constant power? Brief power?

Sort of like, you can put green bulb, red bulb as status indicator?

I don't know if there is any tuya device that can outright rake in 12V as input signal.

But i can think of using bulb for each of the 2 output terminal, then use 2 separate tuya light sensors to capture LUX value of the bulb.
I assume the output terminals are mutually exclusive. such that if light sensor A read a sudden brightness, then can assume output terminal A has light up. The same goes for light sensor B reading a sudden brightness coming from output terminal B.
Oltromen Ripot
post Apr 11 2023, 11:42 PM

šŸ‘ 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

QUOTE(epicure @ Apr 11 2023, 06:31 PM)
Hey there,

No only one terminal has voltage. The other one is ground. I did think of lux through a light..but if the environment is bright then it kinda is not going to be very reliable.

Still thinking of how to get over this..
well, you can always fashion 2 darkened containers just to hold 12V LED and light sensor....
but beware of trapped heat if the 12V supply is continuously lighting up the LED.

example of 12V LED.

epicure
post Apr 12 2023, 01:27 PM

229 posts

I think i pretty much got my solution, after a lengthy discussion with my friend

The 12V + and 12V - outputs from the alarm panel, will feed into a 12VDC relay, which then i will output to a Normally open and COM pair of cables. Then i will solder these to a reed sensor on a zigbee door sensor, which will then give me a closed door for when the alarm is armed, and open door when alarm is open. Then all i need to do is create an automation in homekit, which says that when that certain door is closed, then arm the aqara security , which will then show me a symbol of alarm being armed. In essence, when the main wired alarm is armed, then the aqara alarm is also armed (pretty convenient).

Now i just gotta buy the items to get this into motion.

Also, the alarm panel has a remote in.. which means that you can actually wire up a traditional RF receiver from autogate to the alarm panel. However, since i’m goin the smart route, i will be getting a zigbee module with RF built in. That way, i can arm and disarm using Tuya/Homekit/Google Home/Alexa and also use RF remote 433Mhz to arm the alarm.

In a nutshell,
1. Tuya/Homekit/Google Home/Alexa and also use RF remote 433Mhz to arm the alarm.
2. Alarm Panel will output 12V DC+ to relay, which will activate door reed sensor, and arm aqara alarm - to show dumb alarm is armed.

All will be present in Homekit, in theory. now just gotta get these items and try it out.

Thanks!

This post has been edited by epicure: Apr 12 2023, 02:13 PM
celciuz
post Apr 12 2023, 03:07 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(epicure @ Apr 12 2023, 01:27 PM)
I think i pretty much got my solution, after a lengthy discussion with my friend

The 12V + and 12V - outputs from the alarm panel, will feed into a 12VDC relay, which then i will output to a Normally open and COM pair of cables. Then i will solder these to a reed sensor on a zigbee door sensor, which will then give me a closed door for when the alarm is armed, and open door when alarm is open. Then all i need to do is create an automation in homekit, which says that when that certain door is closed, then arm the aqara security , which will then show me a symbol of alarm being armed. In essence, when the main wired alarm is armed, then the aqara alarm is also armed (pretty convenient).

Now i just gotta buy the items to get this into motion.

Also, the alarm panel has a remote in.. which means that you can actually wire up a traditional RF receiver from autogate to the alarm panel. However, since i’m goin the smart route, i will be getting a zigbee module with RF built in. That way, i can arm and disarm using Tuya/Homekit/Google Home/Alexa and also use RF remote 433Mhz to arm the alarm.

In a nutshell,
1. Tuya/Homekit/Google Home/Alexa and also use RF remote 433Mhz to arm the alarm.
2. Alarm Panel will output 12V DC+ to relay, which will activate door reed sensor, and arm aqara alarm - to show dumb alarm is armed.

All will be present in Homekit, in theory. now just gotta get these items and try it out.
Thanks!
Which alarm panel is this btw?

I'm using Paradox and been trying to see how I'm able to arm/disarm via HomeKit. I have the Insite Gold subscription but.. its pretty slow and crap.
epicure
post Apr 12 2023, 03:44 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 12 2023, 03:07 PM)
Which alarm panel is this btw?

I'm using Paradox and been trying to see how I'm able to arm/disarm via HomeKit. I have the Insite Gold subscription but.. its pretty slow and crap.
Im using a very dumb alarm panel, vivos. I have the IOT module, but sometimes the app doesnt load. so this hardware mod hopefully will be more responsive. fingers crossed
celciuz
post Apr 12 2023, 04:55 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(epicure @ Apr 12 2023, 03:44 PM)
Im using a very dumb alarm panel, vivos. I have the IOT module, but sometimes the app doesnt load. so this hardware mod hopefully will be more responsive. fingers crossed
Ahh yes, I also have the IOT board but... the server is so slow lah.
PowerGadget
post Apr 13 2023, 12:57 AM

821 posts

Hi all, wondering whether those regulator ceiling fan can be connected to Aqara h1 light switch as on off switch? I tried to connect it but it seemed like disable the whole switch. When I remove the fan, it seemed fine.
epicure
post Apr 13 2023, 09:03 AM

229 posts

U can have a look at your alarm wiring diagram, maybe you can also tap the terminals so that you can use the alarm’s basic functions outside of the main app..

Yes, the server sometimes is slow to load up, sometimes it doesnt even load at all.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 12 2023, 04:55 PM)
Ahh yes, I also have the IOT board but... the server is so slow lah.
celciuz
post Apr 13 2023, 08:54 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(epicure @ Apr 13 2023, 09:03 AM)
U can have a look at your alarm wiring diagram, maybe you can also tap the terminals so that you can use the alarm’s basic functions outside of the main app..

Yes, the server sometimes is slow to load up, sometimes it doesnt even load at all.
Is there a system that could… kinda mimic the keypad perhaps?
adamw
post Apr 13 2023, 09:05 PM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,352 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 13 2023, 08:54 PM)
Is there a system that could… kinda mimic the keypad perhaps?
I have seen a Tuya module that duplicate the keypad to cloud but you need check if it's suitable for Vivos or not. My friend using it for CPT keypad and he says it's very good.
celciuz
post Apr 13 2023, 09:52 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Apr 13 2023, 09:05 PM)
I have seen a Tuya module that duplicate the keypad to cloud but you need check if it's suitable for Vivos or not.  My friend using it for CPT keypad and he says it's very good.
What model is it? Mine is Paradox SP6000 board btw.
Max
post Apr 13 2023, 10:37 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Apr 13 2023, 12:57 AM)
Hi all, wondering whether those regulator ceiling fan can be connected to Aqara h1 light switch as on off switch? I tried to connect it but it seemed like disable the whole switch. When I remove the fan, it seemed fine.
Not recommended to use with regulator fan.
Induction load always kacau with non Neutral switch.
Else u need to use 2 gang type, 1st gang for resistive load, 2nd gang maybe can be use with fan.

Btw im not sure those Aqara type switch, as i mainly use sonoff switch.
Aqara need capacitor bypass?
celciuz
post Apr 13 2023, 11:02 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Apr 13 2023, 10:37 PM)
Else u need to use 2 gang type, 1st gang for resistive load, 2nd gang maybe can be use with fan.

Aqara has no neutral type, no need capacitor.
PowerGadget
post Apr 14 2023, 08:58 AM

821 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Apr 13 2023, 10:37 PM)

Thanks for your reply Max!

I am currently using 2 gang type with neutral switch so I think there won't be needing any capacitor.

So I should try to interchange the 1st gang and 2nd gang wiring?

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 13 2023, 11:02 PM)
Aqara has no neutral type, no need capacitor.
Thanks for reply celciuz, I am using aqara 2 gang with neutral. Would it be still suitable for regulator fan?
celciuz
post Apr 14 2023, 09:09 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Apr 14 2023, 08:58 AM)
Thanks for your reply Max!

I am currently using 2 gang type with neutral switch so I think there won't be needing any capacitor.

So I should try to interchange the 1st gang and 2nd gang wiring?
Thanks for reply celciuz, I am using aqara 2 gang with neutral. Would it be still suitable for regulator fan?
Your wiring has neutral cable right? If yes then should be no problem. I'm using D1 with neutral cable for my entire house (minus a few switches). So far all worked fine... weather it is ceiling fan, wall fan or exhaust fan in the bathroom.
PowerGadget
post Apr 14 2023, 09:12 AM

821 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 14 2023, 09:09 AM)
Your wiring has neutral cable right? If yes then should be no problem. I'm using D1 with neutral cable for my entire house (minus a few switches). So far all worked fine... weather it is ceiling fan, wall fan or exhaust fan in the bathroom.
Thanks for your reply once gain ,celciuz.

Yes I just pulled a neutral wire from nearby aircond switch although it's not the right way to do so...

Wondering whether your fan has regulator box like mine? Those old style "school" fan that can turn from 0 up to 5 speed.

celciuz
post Apr 14 2023, 09:15 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Apr 14 2023, 09:12 AM)
Thanks for your reply once gain ,celciuz.

Yes I just pulled a neutral wire from nearby aircond switch although it's not the right way to do so...

Wondering whether your fan has regulator box like mine? Those old style "school" fan that can turn from 0 up to 5 speed.
Oh no, my fans are all remote control. No regulator box. Ugh, this one I'm not too familiar... my previous home I also using no neutral version with remote.

But generally... it should not "reset" the switch... maybe the taikors here with experience with regulator fans can advise better.
PowerGadget
post Apr 14 2023, 09:49 AM

821 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 14 2023, 09:15 AM)
Oh no, my fans are all remote control. No regulator box. Ugh, this one I'm not too familiar... my previous home I also using no neutral version with remote.

But generally... it should not "reset" the switch... maybe the taikors here with experience with regulator fans can advise better.
no worries, thanks a lot for your sharing celciuz. It really means a lot to me.

Seemed like if it does not work, time to swap out regulator fan with remote control fan for daaa switch. bruce.gif bruce.gif

656 Pages « < 565 566 567 568 569 > » Top

0.0936sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:58 PM