Smart Home, Let's discuss

XweienX
post Mar 30 2021, 02:53 PM

455 posts

Hi sifus notworthy.gif I am an aspiring homeowner and also a big fan of smarthomes so I've allocated a 10k budget just to kickstart my smarthome dream!

Hence, I would appreciate if the experienced sifus here can look at my planning and give me some advice/suggestions to cut down on my current budget (so I can buy more tech laugh.gif ), any alternatives you guys think are better, or any brands I should avoid.

Here are some assumptions I've made while budgeting:
- Regular sized double storey terrace house. Say 22x70.
- I will be using Homebridge, installed on Synology NAS
- I want to control everything on Apple Home on my iPhone (hence Homebridge)
- Looking to use Zigbee primarily so that my network isn't congested.
- No need for smart lights/dimming/changing fan speed etc.

Here's how my current budget looks like:

This is the breakdown on how I got to 15 smart switches.

Thank you for your time!

Edit 1: No extra spending on router. I'm staying with my family (4 pax) and we are subscribed to Maxis Fibre 300mbps. I'm still ok with the router they've given and we also have the Deco Mesh system to help with upstairs speed. In my new house, it will only be me and my gf/wife (same person ya brows.gif )

This post has been edited by XweienX: Mar 30 2021, 03:00 PM
XweienX
post Mar 30 2021, 05:02 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Mar 30 2021, 03:22 PM)
Might wanna get the xiaomi vacuum with lidar sensor, better mapping of the house area and can vacuum in the dark

I don’t think you have to spend 2,000 for a single smart lock for the door since there’s cheaper option out there. Depends on your door lock type of course
Yeah, probably can cut to 1k there, then use few hundred to "upgrade" vacuum, just worried about the quality because don't wanna go too cheap on security-related stuff. Thanks!

QUOTE(adamw @ Mar 30 2021, 03:39 PM)
Better spend more on cctv. Should used IPC instead of analog. Also, Tuya can work with Homekit? Best to invest in a single ecosystem instead of mix and match unless you want to go the RPI way with HA.
IPC is IP Camera right? Because wireless cameras technically need to be wired also (can't trust battery), that's why I chose wired. And I don't want it to hog my network, so I prefer record offline to recorder but can access recording "on-demand" through internet only, that's why select analog. But thanks, will do a little more research on this too!

This post has been edited by XweienX: Mar 30 2021, 05:04 PM
XweienX
post Mar 30 2021, 06:47 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Mar 30 2021, 06:01 PM)
Even 4 nos 4k ip camera will not affect your internet performance because only the NVR will stream on demand to your mobile or laptop.
The IP Camera doesn't send footage to the recorder using wifi?
XweienX
post Mar 30 2021, 10:16 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Mar 30 2021, 08:23 PM)
ip camera only means it is using digital signal.

lots of ip camera use ethernet cable to connect, like analog camera.

the benefit of ip camera is higher bandwidth which means possible much higher picture quality than analog. there's also possibility of power over ethernet which means less cables and possible easier installation.
I see. If can transmit both power and data over ethernet seems quite ok, provided it doesn't affect my bandwidth much. Will add this to my consideration, thanks! nod.gif
XweienX
post Mar 30 2021, 10:19 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(sicklad77 @ Mar 30 2021, 09:11 PM)
Suggest for u to use aqara m2 hub bos, worth every penny.
Wow! Seems like it is:
- homekit compatible
- Zigbee compatible
- includes its own IR blaster
- ethernet connectivity

Sounds like a great recommendation, thanks! thumbup.gif

Edit: did you purchase it from Shopee/Lazada? or from retail store?

This post has been edited by XweienX: Mar 30 2021, 10:25 PM
XweienX
post Mar 31 2021, 10:31 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(sicklad77 @ Mar 31 2021, 07:29 PM)
The IR a function is the one that attract me the most. I program to control my home speakers, Aircind remote, fan remote and also turning on/off my aquarium lights.

I bought it from AI HOME shops, they have various shops around Kluang valley..The official aqara from Lazada and shopee from Malaysia I think owns and run by its sole distributor bellicose sdn bhd. Ai home also if I’m not mistaken gets it’s products from them too.

For smart switches I get it from ai home, easier for warranty replacements. But if things aqara cube and sensors for vibration and motion I get it from aqara Lazada official China shop, lots of sale and discount but delivery time takes a couple of days to weeks. So far kastam haven’t stop my electronics products yet(blessed)
I’m worried about the plug for the hub that’s why I asked. Don’t like to see adapter > plug, too bulky. Will check out AI HOME. Thanks for the input! thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(ssmart @ Mar 31 2021, 07:33 PM)
Any reason why you want to use Apple Home? just curious.
Am using iPhone and 2 iPads and going to add Watch, so thought might as well. And I like using Apple Shortcuts so I think it integrates better than Google biggrin.gif
XweienX
post May 13 2021, 09:53 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ May 12 2021, 12:39 PM)
Tuya is the largest smart home platform that have all the products that you will ever need & they are too big to fail(hopefully  sweat.gif) so it's a good bet on using their ecosystem. Zigbee hub is the most stable with quick response if you have any worry about the devices slowing down your wifi router.
Is Tuya HomeKit compatible?
XweienX
post May 15 2021, 12:32 AM

455 posts

QUOTE(zsaberstar @ May 12 2021, 12:07 PM)

My requirements for the smart lights is Brightness and Temperature control, and able to control with Apple Homekit (Because I have an iPhone and iPad)

QUOTE(adamw @ May 12 2021, 12:39 PM)
Tuya is the largest smart home platform that have all the products that you will ever need & they are too big to fail(hopefully  sweat.gif) so it's a good bet on using their ecosystem. Zigbee hub is the most stable with quick response if you have any worry about the devices slowing down your wifi router.
QUOTE(adamw @ May 13 2021, 10:59 PM)
Tuya does not natively support Homekit because Apple requires a specific set of guidelines to be followed for a third-party manufacturer to get approved for the “Works with HomeKit” label.
Kicap here
yup yup, that's what my research showed me too laugh.gif

I was asking because zsaberstar mentioned his requirement to control with HomeKit, but you suggested Tuya, so I was wondering maybe there was an update I didn't know about. nod.gif
XweienX
post Sep 3 2021, 11:31 AM

455 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Sep 3 2021, 01:06 AM)
Cheapo way someone suggested is to put door sensor, on the flaps
If flaps closed, that means aircon off

this is literally the most genius I have seen for a SMART upgrade notworthy.gif
XweienX
post Sep 27 2021, 07:12 PM

455 posts

Recently started to search for smart switches again and saw this reTOUCH brand one. Seems to be Malaysia brand and have SIRIM sticker. They also provide a huge range of products from switches, to doorbells, to 20A switches.

Anyone tried their products before?

XweienX
post Sep 30 2021, 01:46 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(bullshyt @ Sep 30 2021, 12:25 PM)
doesn't look smart to me
ooops, just had a clear look. You're right! They're not smart! stupid shopee ads pushing these switches even when search for smart switch! mad.gif
XweienX
post Sep 30 2021, 06:03 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 30 2021, 01:53 PM)
Seller is smarter than switch and you  laugh.gif
biggrin.gif indeed, luckily I didn't bulk purchase thinking it was smart switch bye.gif
XweienX
post Mar 21 2022, 11:03 AM

455 posts

QUOTE(underscore_lee @ Mar 20 2022, 03:45 PM)
Hi guys, first time exploring smart devices for homes so not sure where to start and what to be done, hope can get some advice cuz after reading online still tak faham.

1. What is the difference of running Aqara app vs Apple Homekit vs Google Home? Is there a way that can integrated all 3 together?

2. What is ZipBee? How to know whether the house needs a 'hub'?

3. Difference between Neutral switches and Non-Neutral switches is just the ZipBee feature & able to calculate used voltage right? Is it a must to have Neutral switches?

Context:
- I'm currently reno-ing a condo unit, so I was thinking of "smart"-ing my unit for own stay since need to engage electrician to do extra plug points.
- I'm totally new to this so in my mind I'm only thinking of having an easy access to turn on/off lights, play music via voice assistant, or set simple automation.
- The electrician I'm engaging seems to be old school uncle style also. Donno much about smart switches but he say he can install it. He suggest not to pull Neutral because it will cost alot.

Currently, I have 4x aircond with WiFi (Daikin models) and am gonna get a Avant Digital Smart Lock. I'm planning to get a few Aqara switches (3Gang, 2Gang and 1 Gangs) for fan + lights.

I'm thinking of simple automation like;
- Once the digital smart lock is unlocked, auto turn on the lights and on living room air cond.
- If the lights/air cond are already turned on, then when closing the main door (digital smart lock is closed), everything auto off.

I'm an iPhone + Apple Watch user, but I don't think I'll be getting the HomePod Mini due to pricing. So I'm planning to get Google Home Mini Nest instead (a few devices - 1 for living room, 1 for study, 1 for master, 1 for kitchen).

Any suggestions on what I should do, or read up on? And what else automation can I do.

Appreciate if you can explain to me like a 5 year old, thank you!
I think one thing to consider thoroughly is the automations part. Many people think of automation too simply because they only think of "what they want" and not "what could happen".

A few examples I can think of after reading your plans:
- If you and your partner/family staying in the same place, and one person leave but others stay at home in the living room watching TV, will everything auto off?
- If you just go out and throw rubbish, do you want everything to turn off when you go out then turn on again when you come back in? Or just stay on?

And just my personal preferences, but I think watching YouTube videos easier to digest than reading about home automation. There are tons of them.
XweienX
post Apr 6 2023, 04:32 PM

455 posts

Hi, has anyone tried the Aqara curtain "switchbot" already?

Wanted to get the permanent motor kind at first, but budget a bit tight. And I'm only planning to have master bedroom curtain be auto.

0.3888sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:16 PM