7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Car Battery Warranty, Car Battery

Would you pay more for a longer car battery warranty?

Yes [ 68 ] ** [56.67%]
No [ 43 ] ** [35.83%]
I don't care how long it lasts [ 9 ] ** [7.50%]
Total Votes: 120
Guests cannot vote 

TSTheBatteryShop
post Apr 20 2015, 11:44 AM

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Apr 17 2015, 02:26 PM)
Daewoo battery used to have 24months and then 18 months warranty. Previously I used those. Out of market now, I guess.

I'm using EcoTech now NS70 MF
We have been trying to source for Daewoo too but to no avail.

How has your EcoTech been treating you? All ok?
TSTheBatteryShop
post Apr 20 2015, 11:52 AM

QUOTE(Chester @ Apr 18 2015, 06:27 AM)
Im using MF Yokobatt. Almost a year..should i change? It start to take longer to start the car.
Hi Chester, do you mind telling me what you car or battery you are currently using? Almost a year seems very short for a battery.

You can go to our site www.thebatteryshop.my and have a look. If you are keen, just order online as we are giving a RM20 discount voucher to people who buy online. Delivery and installation included.

TSTheBatteryShop
post Apr 20 2015, 11:55 AM

QUOTE(JunJun04035 @ Apr 18 2015, 07:50 AM)
how bout 24hrs emergency battery aid?  laugh.gif
Hi, we are currently working towards that. As of now we are on call from 6am to 10pm.

How has your battery life span been? satisfied? And what do you about paying a bit more for a longer warranty battery?
TSTheBatteryShop
post Apr 20 2015, 11:59 AM

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Apr 17 2015, 04:47 PM)
if you are getting 2 years warranty it means the battery is using more genuine materials. The reason why batteries nowadays doesn't last that long is because they substituted the metal (that is needed for the chemical process) in the batteries with cheaper components.

Hence it is not a warranty issue, its whether you wanna pay more for a battery that has more genuine components inside that could last longer. Battery manufacturers aren't stupid. They wouldn't provide warranty that could potentially harm their business model.

Go with the RM240 for a more lasting battery.
You are right! So basically the longer warranty battery is made out of better materials thus increasing the cost of the battery as compared to the normal ones. You are not merely paying for a longer warranty battery but also for a better quality one.

So how long have you been using your current battery?
dtna7
post Apr 20 2015, 01:18 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(TheBatteryShop @ Apr 20 2015, 11:59 AM)
You are right! So basically the longer warranty battery is made out of better materials thus increasing the cost of the battery as compared to the normal ones. You are not merely paying for a longer warranty battery but also for a better quality one.

So how long have you been using your current battery?
Just changed mine less than 3 months. I pay higher for the Century Ultramax since my GTI uses quite a bit of electronics. What brand of batteries do you sell?
TSTheBatteryShop
post Apr 20 2015, 02:35 PM

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Apr 20 2015, 01:18 PM)
Just changed mine less than 3 months. I pay higher for the Century Ultramax since my GTI uses quite a bit of electronics. What brand of batteries do you sell?
We currently sell Atlas BX and GP MF Gold and Platinum. Both are fully imported from Korea.

We hope your Century serves you well!
iskazulka
post Apr 20 2015, 03:32 PM

62 posts

i think i don't mind paying a little more money to have a 2 year warranty battery. just wondering if the battery assist support outside klang valley. it's not convenient for us if got problem outside klang valley within the warranty period.
JunJun04035
post Apr 21 2015, 01:09 AM

Sir Kalahari, Duke of Autocorrect
1,167 posts

QUOTE(TheBatteryShop @ Apr 20 2015, 11:55 AM)
Hi, we are currently working towards that. As of now we are on call from 6am to 10pm.

How has your battery life span been? satisfied? And what do you about paying a bit more for a longer warranty battery?
1 TO 1, maybe.

But my experience with battery are good, mostly lasted 2-3 years.

TSTheBatteryShop
post Apr 21 2015, 10:42 PM

QUOTE(iskazulka @ Apr 20 2015, 03:32 PM)
i think i don't mind paying a little more money to have a 2 year warranty battery. just wondering if the battery assist support outside klang valley. it's not convenient for us if got problem outside klang valley within the warranty period.
That's something to think about! But I believe we will make our technicians go the extra mile even if it was out of our service radius just to make sure we get you another battery if it's during the warranty period.

But in saying that, we pride ourselves in sourcing the best quality for you guys so you don't have to worry.

Thanks for bringing this up. It was something we didn't take into consideration before but now have thanks to you!
TSTheBatteryShop
post Apr 21 2015, 10:47 PM

QUOTE(JunJun04035 @ Apr 21 2015, 01:09 AM)
1 TO 1, maybe.

But my experience with battery are good, mostly lasted 2-3 years.
Is it ok for me to assume that these batteries are all mostly 1 year warranty batteries?

Because if a one year warranty battery can last you up to 2 -3 years, imagine how long a 2 year warranty one will last for.

By the way, what batteries did/are you using? Mind sharing? Always looking out for good quality products for all our customers.

Extremely grateful for the feedback Jun Jun.

JunJun04035
post Apr 22 2015, 12:29 AM

Sir Kalahari, Duke of Autocorrect
1,167 posts

QUOTE(TheBatteryShop @ Apr 21 2015, 10:47 PM)
Is it ok for me to assume that these batteries are all mostly 1 year warranty batteries?

Because if a one year warranty battery can last you up to 2 -3 years, imagine how long a 2 year warranty one will last for.

By the way, what batteries did/are you using? Mind sharing? Always looking out for good quality products for all our customers.

Extremely grateful for the feedback Jun Jun.
All sort, like hitachi, century, panasonic laugh.gif
k!nex
post Apr 22 2015, 12:56 AM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

My 55D23L battery only lasted me 18 months . That battery comes with the car from factory. Pay a bit more is okay I think but not so crazy expensive like those AC Delco ones
TSTheBatteryShop
post Apr 22 2015, 02:12 PM

QUOTE(k!nex @ Apr 22 2015, 12:56 AM)
My 55D23L battery only lasted me 18 months . That battery comes with the car from factory. Pay a bit more is okay I think but not so crazy expensive like those AC Delco ones
k!nex,

What car are you using? Usually original batteries last way longer than what's in the aftermarket. One of our staff's Honda Insight has been running the same battery for almost three years!
TSTheBatteryShop
post Apr 22 2015, 02:14 PM

QUOTE(JunJun04035 @ Apr 22 2015, 12:29 AM)
All sort, like hitachi, century, panasonic  laugh.gif
Try us next time smile.gif

We haven't heard of the Hitachi batteries. Know anywhere we can get em so we can test it out?
k!nex
post Apr 22 2015, 04:56 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(TheBatteryShop @ Apr 22 2015, 02:12 PM)
k!nex,

What car are you using? Usually original batteries last way longer than what's in the aftermarket. One of our staff's Honda Insight has been running the same battery for almost three years!
I'm running an Inspira. I have no idea also why it is like that, perhaps it is Proton ? However I think my battery is defective. I found my car hard to start at office parking lot, then reach home, 1 hr+ later I started the car to go bank withdraw money. From bank, start again go home . 3 times hard to start. When I reached home, I used a multimeter to test the battery it shows 0 V. rclxub.gif

My battery lasted me 38k km only. doh.gif

This post has been edited by k!nex: Apr 22 2015, 04:57 PM
TSTheBatteryShop
post Apr 22 2015, 08:06 PM

QUOTE(k!nex @ Apr 22 2015, 04:56 PM)
I'm running an Inspira. I have no idea also why it is like that, perhaps it is Proton ? However I think my battery is defective. I found my car hard to start at office parking lot, then reach home, 1 hr+ later I started the car to go bank withdraw money. From bank, start again go home . 3 times hard to start. When I reached home, I used a multimeter to test the battery it shows 0 V.  rclxub.gif

My battery lasted me 38k km only.  doh.gif
Hmm, it may be Proton, may not be. Try us out! We don't use the 55D23L, instead, we use the 75D23L - same physical size but with more OOMPH! Maybe alternator koyak leh?
6UE5T
post Apr 23 2015, 01:23 AM

1,704 posts

In the olden days, batteries easily lasted 3.5-4yrs. My record was 4.5yrs using normal wet battery. But now even original batteries from my new car only lasted 3yrs while most batteries only last 2+yrs max. sad.gif Maybe battery technology development cannot catch up anymore with the car electronics development.
If you got batteries that can last 3-4yrs and have staying power even when the car is left idle for 2-3 weeks, then that's good.
alexei
post Apr 23 2015, 09:56 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Apr 23 2015, 01:23 AM)
In the olden days, batteries easily lasted 3.5-4yrs. My record was 4.5yrs using normal wet battery. But now even original batteries from my new car only lasted 3yrs while most batteries only last 2+yrs max. sad.gif Maybe battery technology development cannot catch up anymore with the car electronics development.
If you got batteries that can last 3-4yrs and have staying power even when the car is left idle for 2-3 weeks, then that's good.
Can consider deep cycle batteries.

Sharing:
I recently used a digital voltmeter, a battery conditioner and a 12V 1A adaptor to charge 2 batteries - first one is Kancil battery that dropped below 10V after leaving under sun for 2 weeks; and another motorcycle battery that went to 0V for a year.

The Kancil was left under the sun just overnight, and couldn't start the car the next day. I left it there for 2 weeks while waiting for the battery conditioner to arrive. biggrin.gif
The motorcycle battery was used for over a year, then left in the car park. One of the cell dried up, and I filled it up with RO water.

Both batteries are wet type, and 2.5 years since purchase when they were charged.
Charged overnight and they both reach 13.3V and 12.8V, respectively.

The Kancil started up fine, and it's been few weeks since. It's a weekend pasar car, so it will be left there sitting a lot, and driven only for 3~5km each trip.
TSTheBatteryShop
post Apr 23 2015, 01:52 PM

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Apr 23 2015, 01:23 AM)
And that is why we have this poll/thread my friend! Longer warranty batteries are not popular in malaysia because it is deemed "unsensible" from a business point of view. Secondly, a lot of manufacturers do not dare offer longer warranty batteries due to our weather. Thirdly, distributors don't know whether consumers will pay more for a longer warranty battery when presented the choice with a cheaper but shorter warranty one.

We want to bring in longer warranty batteries but we need to get some feedback also lah. Later bring in then all don't want buy we die.

So go vote on the poll and if you are really keen, go to our site and sign up so that you will be the first few to know when we do bring in this battery.

cucubud
post Apr 23 2015, 02:01 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(TheBatteryShop @ Apr 23 2015, 01:52 PM)
And that is why we have this poll/thread my friend! Longer warranty batteries are not popular in malaysia because it is deemed "unsensible" from a business point of view. Secondly, a lot of manufacturers do not dare offer longer warranty batteries due to our weather. Thirdly, distributors don't know whether consumers will pay more for a longer warranty battery when presented the choice with a cheaper but shorter warranty one.

We want to bring  in longer warranty batteries but we need to get some feedback also lah. Later bring in then all don't want buy we die.

So go vote on the poll and if you are really keen, go to our site and sign up so that you will be the first few to know when we do bring in this battery.
Now your batteries are warranty for 1 year.
Can I pay slightly more to have 2 years warranty?

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0634sec    1.08    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:48 AM