TMnet confirms they are throttling P2P, CEO staff admits to P2P throttling

LittleGhost
post Nov 10 2006, 02:34 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Amika @ Nov 10 2006, 02:02 PM)
actually there is a petition floating around already.. and i've already signed on it.. but it doesn't seem to work...  whistling.gif
it was a suggestion. And it probably doesnt work because it's not well organized or powerful enough.

As i have said in my previous post, unless you somehow have the authority, and the force powerful enough to move TMnet, nothing will work out.
SUSdestiny6
post Nov 10 2006, 04:43 PM

817 posts

Want to try a little 2 minute experiment??

COPY THE FOLLOWING 9 LINES TO NOTEPAD:

:START
ipconfig /renew
arp -d
nbtstat -R
nbtstat -RR
ipconfig /flushdns
ipconfig /registerdns
ping 127.0.0.1 -n 240
GOTO START

SAVE AS: IPCONFIG.TXT - then RENAME to - IPCONFIG.BAT

Place the bat on your desktop double-click to run, LEAVE IT RUNNING in the background as long as the P2P torrent is running. Just close it when not needed.

I'm on a "foreign" ISP doing the same thing....but this little sucker UNCLOGGED the pipe for me maybe it'll do some good over there too.

Well it do a little good for me here...at least i got a stable d/l speed of 1-2kb/s rather than 0kb/s
wat bout the others?
liewchengyeh
post Nov 10 2006, 05:27 PM

33 posts

Hmm.... Some of you say that TMNET is using old traffic shaping hardware. i think that is totally wrong...

My place (here in NILAI), i think they installed some new traffic shaping device. The first 30min i can get my BT to do at max 40KByte/sec (i'm using a lowest end 384kbits/ps Streamyx package), the next minutes everything runs at only 5KByte/sec... I tired set my BT to randomize the port everytime it start, the same thing happen.

Now, i have to shutdown my BT every 30 min and restart using a different port every 30 min. And one more thing, the above test is run on a newly formatted system (also the system is check and confirm not infected by any virus) with no software or hardware firewall running.

I think they are trying out those new ADAPTIVE traffic shaping system.... i think they are trying it out here first before implement at other places....

Is there other people facing this kind of problem too???
cajun2de
post Nov 10 2006, 05:40 PM

de Reaper
2,791 posts

QUOTE(liewchengyeh @ Nov 10 2006, 05:27 PM)
Hmm.... Some of you say that TMNET is using old traffic shaping hardware. i think that is totally wrong...

My place (here in NILAI), i think they installed some new traffic shaping device. The first 30min i can get my BT to do at max 40KByte/sec (i'm using a lowest end 384kbits/ps Streamyx package), the next minutes everything runs at only 5KByte/sec... I tired set my BT to randomize the port everytime it start, the same thing happen.

Now, i have to shutdown my BT every 30 min and restart using a different port every 30 min. And one more thing, the above test is run on a newly formatted system (also the system is check and confirm not infected by any virus) with no software or hardware firewall running.

I think they are trying out those new ADAPTIVE traffic shaping system.... i think they are trying it out here first before implement at other places....

Is there other people facing this kind of problem too???

same here...speed jumps high n then drops very low

my only way of getting some decent speed is disconnect n reconnect to obtain diff ip's for diff torrents

ddddashhhh
post Nov 10 2006, 10:45 PM

50 posts

same here.......after a tat, even surf nets and chatting is troublesome

Tsukasa
post Nov 10 2006, 10:50 PM

1,042 posts

wow.. I just come back from 3 weeks off and b4 this streamyx was throttling me but look at this now.. Wonder what happen ??
foreign whiteguy
post Nov 10 2006, 11:11 PM

QUOTE(foreign whiteguy @ Nov 10 2006, 06:53 AM)

ipconfig /renew
arp -d
nbtstat -R
nbtstat -RR
ipconfig /flushdns
ipconfig /registerdns
ping 127.0.0.1 -n 240
GOTO START

Place the bat on your desktop double-click to run, LEAVE IT RUNNING in the background as long as the P2P torrent is running. Just close it when not needed.

I'm on a "foreign" ISP doing the same thing....but this little sucker UNCLOGGED the pipe  for me maybe it'll do some good over there too.
...here's what I was seeing here

http://img64.imageshack.us/img64/5219/bat1lz3.png

...you might have to paste that link in new window to see it. Don't know how TMNET throttles....does your DOWN/UP look the same?

also ping 127.0.0.1 -n 240 is just a continuous loop 240 is in seconds (4 minutes) maybe playing with this value ...you can find your own sweet spot?
ddddashhhh
post Nov 11 2006, 10:41 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(Tsukasa @ Nov 10 2006, 10:50 PM)

wow.. I just come back from 3 weeks off and b4 this streamyx was throttling me but look at this now.. Wonder what happen ??
international peer or local peer?
Tsukasa
post Nov 11 2006, 12:35 PM

1,042 posts

International Peer. Weird ??? Maybe streamyx keep track of our usage of download as I didnt download for 2 weeks plus ady. And guess what my speed bump up to 168kpbs constant after I post it here and still going strong. lolx tongue.gif
Darkmage12
post Nov 11 2006, 01:10 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(foreign whiteguy @ Nov 10 2006, 11:11 PM)
...here's what I was seeing here

http://img64.imageshack.us/img64/5219/bat1lz3.png

...you might have to paste that link in new window to see it. Don't know how TMNET throttles....does your DOWN/UP look the same?

also ping 127.0.0.1 -n 240 is just a continuous loop 240 is in seconds (4 minutes)  maybe playing with this value ...you can find your own sweet spot?
ima try it out and see
cajun2de
post Nov 11 2006, 01:26 PM

de Reaper
2,791 posts

this method seems to work for me.....i'm getting back my full 512k speed, though modem reports 1mb downstream

ffrulz
post Nov 11 2006, 01:40 PM

Over the hills and far away.
995 posts

Doesn't work for me either.
Darkmage12
post Nov 11 2006, 01:42 PM

17,053 posts

once you use it your speed just goes up cajun2de? my still seem the same to me
hoping to get faster speed here laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Darkmage12: Nov 11 2006, 01:42 PM
cajun2de
post Nov 11 2006, 02:15 PM

de Reaper
2,791 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Nov 11 2006, 01:42 PM)
once you use it your speed just goes up cajun2de? my still seem the same to me
hoping to get faster speed here laugh.gif
well all those torrents in my list was crawling 1-5kb before i tried the method
bryansu
post Nov 11 2006, 02:20 PM

109 posts

TMNET will continue to limit p2p traffic is for sure. They are getting traffic analyser from cisco and place on every DSLAM equiment all over malaysia. There is advantage on it and disadvatahe

advantage:
1) you surf faster
2) you download email faster
3) you download file faster

disadvantage
1) bt slower but still can run.

depend on what u think about it. For me i don mind downloading bt at slow speed, because last time before traffic cap....my 500GB harddisk is full of movie and i am spending so much time on movie instead of other thing....headache headache also u know....

By the way, there is no way to make your bt work fast. unless u switch other isp...more competitor more bandwidth...

LAST WORD FOR ALL

"cheat things no good, goods things no cheap"
~Rogue~
post Nov 11 2006, 05:05 PM

megane fettish
1,333 posts

QUOTE(foreign whiteguy @ Nov 10 2006, 06:53 AM)

ipconfig /renew
arp -d
nbtstat -R
nbtstat -RR
ipconfig /flushdns
ipconfig /registerdns
ping 127.0.0.1 -n 240
GOTO START

I'm on a "foreign" ISP doing the same thing....but this little sucker UNCLOGGED the pipe  for me maybe it'll do some good over there too.
anyone tried this out......

wat does the cpu 100% means??

awyongcarl
post Nov 11 2006, 05:13 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(bryansu @ Nov 11 2006, 02:20 PM)
TMNET will continue to limit p2p traffic is for sure. They are getting traffic analyser from cisco and place on every DSLAM equiment all over malaysia. There is advantage on it and disadvatahe

advantage:
1) you surf faster
2) you download email faster
3) you download file faster

disadvantage
1) bt slower but still can run.

depend on what u think about it. For me i don mind downloading bt at slow speed, because last time before traffic cap....my 500GB harddisk is full of movie and i am spending so much time on movie instead of other thing....headache headache also u know....

By the way, there is no way to make your bt work fast. unless u switch other isp...more competitor more bandwidth...

LAST WORD FOR ALL

"cheat things no good, goods things no cheap"
lol
I don't think everyone will agreed with your so called Advantages.
My surfing speed never improved, or rather than improved, it went worst.
I download file slower nowaday. Not stable.
Even playing online games like warcraft or ryl will make me DC.

gouhayashi
post Nov 11 2006, 05:47 PM

QUOTE(nwk @ Nov 10 2006, 12:13 PM)
who is this person who made a racist comment? by the time i logged on, this post was already deleted. anyway, i support what sanook is saying. we have the right to rant because we have already exhausted all avenues to resolve our problems with tm'nut. otherwise we wouldn't be here wasting our time ranting away when we could be happily doing what we do best and that is downloading our "stuff" to the max.

when i last checked my connection this morning, it was still unthrottled. hopefully it will remain that way when i get back from work in the evening. will update if the situation changes.
so how is ur speed now? still good? shocking.gif
Darkmage12
post Nov 11 2006, 06:12 PM

17,053 posts

QUOTE(cajun2de @ Nov 11 2006, 02:15 PM)
well all those torrents in my list was crawling 1-5kb before i tried the method
well my also burst until i cant surf.... but i still dun think it's bcos of that tweak.... maybe it does help out a little that i agree

QUOTE(~Rogue~ @ Nov 11 2006, 05:05 PM)
anyone tried this out......

wat does the cpu 100% means??
what cpu 100%? i don't understand you
warez
post Nov 11 2006, 07:00 PM

Team Ayu 「浜崎あゆみ」
1,868 posts

QUOTE(bryansu @ Nov 11 2006, 02:20 PM)
TMNET will continue to limit p2p traffic is for sure. They are getting traffic analyser from cisco and place on every DSLAM equiment all over malaysia.
Don't you think tmnet will use "Cisco" product,i think they will use MIC stuff more than it. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

46 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:48 PM