What to do in an accident in Malaysia, Everything about m/vehicle insurance

hustlerism
post Jun 11 2024, 09:31 PM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

QUOTE(loui @ Jun 11 2024, 08:44 PM)
Though police don't have insurance, they are still liable to pay if they are found at fault for any TP claim

Gov of Malaysia will pay on behalf

However it will be painful to get money from them as they will assign DPP to lawan habis from day 1

Even if you won in court, gov of Malaysia will do whatever it takes to delay payment

Hence unless the amount is significant, don't bother to waste your time
In other words, dont waste your time and just claim your own NCD?
TSloui
post Jun 11 2024, 10:25 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(hustlerism @ Jun 11 2024, 09:31 PM)
In other words, dont waste your time and just claim your own NCD?
Yes

Include army and embassy vehicle
ahkit123
post Jun 17 2024, 03:42 PM

2,550 posts

Report police claim insurance. No other way
12e1121
post Jun 21 2024, 02:47 PM

26 posts

Moved my reply in new post.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5464700

This post has been edited by 12e1121: Jun 21 2024, 03:09 PM
kepocommentator
post Aug 6 2024, 07:51 PM

15 posts

Hi TS,

If the owner of the car has an expired license, but the son who was driving the car has a valid license, any issue with insurance claim?

FYI the policy covers "all drivers"
TSloui
post Aug 14 2024, 10:06 AM

789 posts

QUOTE(kepocommentator @ Aug 6 2024, 07:51 PM)
Hi TS,

If the owner of the car has an expired license, but the son who was driving the car has a valid license, any issue with insurance claim?

FYI the policy covers "all drivers"

No
kepocommentator
post Aug 22 2024, 03:46 PM

15 posts

With comprehensive coverage, under what scenario will the driver be liable to pay for any bodily injury claim by a 3rd party.

This is assuming the driver was found to have caused the accident.

How would one refute the claim as well, or do we just let insurance pay if they can cover it?

TSloui
post Aug 27 2024, 07:08 AM

789 posts

QUOTE(kepocommentator @ Aug 22 2024, 03:46 PM)
With comprehensive coverage, under what scenario will the driver be liable to pay for any bodily injury claim by a 3rd party.

This is assuming the driver was found to have caused the accident.

How would one refute the claim as well, or do we just let insurance pay if they can cover it?
Insurance company has the discretion to pay or deny liability

However the ultimate decision is on thr judge

Most of the time when Insurance company deny liability, claimant will file in court and judge will have the final say
Legendarygaymer
post Oct 7 2024, 02:20 AM

Hi all,

This is my first ever accident soooo.
On 29 Aug 2024 around 9pm, I got into an accident total of 3 cars involved (including mine). I was travelling on a straight road when approaching a junction (yellow box), suddenly a car decided to turn into a junction on my left from opposing side (NOTE: theres a car waiting to exit the left junction to my road).

My first reaction when i see the car is swerve left to switch lanes to avoid the car but who knows the car didnt stop and she hit my side then my car was pushed to the left and hit the car waiting at the junction. My car then went into the side longkang.

Heres the thing, I didnt witness it but heard that the car that turn out of the junction had a 3y/o kid in her car and the kid got thrown out of the window (I dont see any baby seat in her car), the driver and the kid was injured and sent to hospital immediately by other people. I didnt manage to get any info of the 2 drivers, only took photo of their car plate.

On that night, I went to file a police report and was told to meet the Sargent the next day morning. Sargent called me next morning asking me not to come since hes busy, so he reschedule to meet me next 3 days and ask towing to bring the car to IPD for kimia.

So I met with Sargent on the said date and time asked some questions, tell me that he will open this case under section 43 since theres people injured. Then he ask my parent to come in and talk, he said that since dont have proof he can say no one is at fault so everyone claim their own insurance. Then sargent out of the blue say "you guys give a kopi, I will help your son". We were speechless and don't know what to do, then he said "you guys go back think about it and rest first I will call you in a week time", he also ask me to go buy my police report and picture.

After 6 days (9 Sept), since the Sargent didn't call so I decided to call him and ask for update. He says "eh not yet so fast la, just wait I will call you".

Till today I still have no received any call from Sargent its been almost a month since the accident.

My question is does it usually takes this long for accident case? Should I pay the kopi? Can I start the repair first, then only wait for the keputusan or I cant touch the car?

NB: I dont have a dashcam, I dont see any dashcams on the other car. The location was abit dark

ATTACHED IMAGE
-I am the bolded dark blue lines, the car that came out of junction is red line and the car waiting at the junction is aqua line.

Thanks all in advanced !

This post has been edited by Legendarygaymer: Oct 7 2024, 02:31 AM
TSloui
post Oct 7 2024, 09:02 AM

789 posts

Duplicate

This post has been edited by loui: Oct 7 2024, 09:04 AM
TSloui
post Oct 7 2024, 09:03 AM

789 posts

QUOTE(Legendarygaymer @ Oct 7 2024, 02:20 AM)
Hi all,

This is my first ever accident soooo.
On 29 Aug 2024 around 9pm, I got into an accident total of 3 cars involved (including mine). I was travelling on a straight road when approaching a junction (yellow box), suddenly a car decided to turn into a junction on my left from opposing side (NOTE: theres a car waiting to exit the left junction to my road).

My first reaction when i see the car is swerve left to switch lanes to avoid the car but who knows the car didnt stop and she hit my side then my car was pushed to the left and hit the car waiting at the junction. My car then went into the side longkang.

Heres the thing, I didnt witness it but heard that the car that turn out of the junction had a 3y/o kid in her car and the kid got thrown out of the window (I dont see any baby seat in her car), the driver and the kid was injured and sent to hospital immediately by other people. I didnt manage to get any info of the 2 drivers, only took photo of their car plate.

On that night, I went to file a police report and was told to meet the Sargent the next day morning. Sargent called me next morning asking me not to come since hes busy, so he reschedule to meet me next 3 days and ask towing to bring the car to IPD for kimia.

So I met with Sargent on the said date and time asked some questions, tell me that he will open this case under section 43 since theres people injured. Then he ask my parent to come in and talk, he said that since dont have proof he can say no one is at fault so everyone claim their own insurance. Then sargent out of the blue say "you guys give a kopi, I will help your son". We were speechless and don't know what to do, then he said "you guys go back think about it and rest first I will call you in a week time", he also ask me to go buy my police report and picture.

After 6 days (9 Sept), since the Sargent didn't call so I decided to call him and ask for update. He says "eh not yet so fast la, just wait I will call you".

Till today I still have no received any call from Sargent its been almost a month since the accident.

My question is does it usually takes this long for accident case? Should I pay the kopi? Can I start the repair first, then only wait for the keputusan or I cant touch the car?

NB: I dont have a dashcam, I dont see any dashcams on the other car. The location was abit dark

ATTACHED IMAGE
-I am the bolded dark blue lines, the car that came out of junction is red line and the car waiting at the junction is aqua line.
Thanks all in advanced !
1. S43 case will require long time to complete. Very common drag for more then 6 months

2. If your police report and statement gave to police is as above, just ignore it. Chances that DPP charging you is very slim

3. What stop you from getting car fix? You don't need police investigation outcome to do so

dest9116
post Oct 9 2024, 06:04 PM

495 posts

Hi, got rear ended by another car at junction, went report police, police say I'm not wrong but apparently the driver of car who bang me no license. Can I still claim the other car insurance? I contacted a claims workshop he said can't claim since the offender no license. True?

This post has been edited by dest9116: Oct 9 2024, 06:18 PM
Klapaucius P
post Oct 9 2024, 06:10 PM

Probation

kena bang by grab motor last week at puchong (stupid motor swiping phone and terus hit my belakang, then immediately run away), lodge police report with the license plate, police say is very hard to claim from grab driver, what should i do? my car behind is wrecked.......
TSloui
post Oct 10 2024, 10:19 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(dest9116 @ Oct 9 2024, 06:04 PM)
Hi, got rear ended by another car at junction, went report police, police say I'm not wrong but apparently the driver of car who bang me no license. Can I still claim the other car insurance? I contacted a claims workshop he said can't claim since the offender no license. True?
KFK will not apply

Hence my suggestion is to make an OD claim

Then go after the third party punya insurer for loss of use and NCD forfeiture
TSloui
post Oct 10 2024, 10:20 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(Klapaucius @ Oct 9 2024, 06:10 PM)
kena bang by grab motor last week at puchong (stupid motor swiping phone and terus hit my belakang, then immediately run away), lodge police report with the license plate, police say is very hard to claim from grab driver, what should i do? my car behind is wrecked.......
KFK don't apply as the third party is a bike

Can go after him for TP claim but the process is slow and tedious

Suggest to do OD claim go after him for loss of use and NCD forfeiture
Snoopycute98
post Dec 17 2024, 09:02 AM

402 posts

Got involved in a small accident. The other party salah. Summon issued to her.

Police says can take report today, but keputusan need to wait 2 weeks.

1. To claim OD-KFK, do I need keputusan? Or just
My report + my documents + her report (If able to get) + her insurance cover note (if able to get)?

As of now car still can be driven and I need to use the car.
2. How should I notify my insurance company? I give a call to Insurance agent just now, do I need to email to notify?

Thanks all

This post has been edited by Snoopycute98: Dec 17 2024, 05:17 PM
ramesh help
post Dec 18 2024, 11:43 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Dec 17 2024, 09:02 AM)

My report + my documents + her report (If able to get) + her insurance cover note (if able to get)?

2. How should I notify my insurance company? I give a call to Insurance agent just now, do I need to email to notify?

Thanks all
Hi. Usually 10-14 calender days. u just call direct balai number to ask if ready. if only complex issue, IO will ask u to contact him/her
if u are sending to service centre, they will submit as OD 1st. to speed up process. Make sure before file close, you already submitted your case verdict else your NCD bye bye. If you dont want to submit case within 7 calender days, your insurance "may reject" the accident claims to repair. you need to check in into any workshop that handles insurance. if your car new new lets say below 5yrs, best to send to SC for car brand warranty sake.

You do not need to go ask her anything. Just bring along your ic, driving license, if u not car owner, bring that party ic copy, your insurance cover note policy, your police report & the final keputusan is enough

If you want to rent a car, you can but note the number of days after report approved not the day u bring your car to workshop. Must be company rental car or like grab with receipt. must be same CC approx & not too high for LOU loss of use refund claim. this one you do yourslf. Dont need runner or agent or workshop. Its simple but sometimes require lots of chasing very 3-4 days once
Snoopycute98
post Dec 18 2024, 12:27 PM

402 posts

QUOTE(ramesh help @ Dec 18 2024, 11:43 AM)
Hi. Usually 10-14 calender days. u just call direct balai number to ask if ready. if only complex issue, IO will ask u to contact him/her
if u are sending to service centre, they will submit as OD 1st. to speed up process. Make sure before file close, you already submitted your case verdict else your NCD bye bye. If you dont want to submit case within 7 calender days, your insurance "may reject" the accident claims to repair. you need to check in into any workshop that handles insurance. if your car new new lets say below 5yrs, best to send to SC for car brand warranty sake.

You do not need to go ask her anything. Just bring along your ic, driving license, if u not car owner, bring that party ic copy, your insurance cover note policy, your police report & the final keputusan is enough

If you want to rent a car, you can but note the number of days after report approved not the day u bring your car to workshop. Must be company rental car or like grab with receipt. must be same CC approx & not too high for LOU loss of use refund claim. this one you do yourslf. Dont need runner or agent or workshop. Its simple but sometimes require lots of chasing very 3-4 days once
Thanks for your answer.

Went to SC for inspection just now and submitted OD-KFK report via them today. The another party already kena saman, now wait 7 days later for SC to notify me approval, then later on get keputusan letter and remaining docs (3rd party report, etc)

Will just claim Loss of Use when car is at SC as car is driveable as of now

This post has been edited by Snoopycute98: Dec 18 2024, 12:28 PM
alphacross
post Dec 18 2024, 01:06 PM

59 posts

Hi all, my wife insurance is expiredsince sept as she forgot to renew it. She got banged at the toll station where all of the car infront of her is stopped and suddenly a car driving very fast banged her back side and causes her car to hit the car infront and the other front car as well.

After taking photos of the accident, she was approached by a tow truck guy and signed the form as she was in panic. Then they directly go to the police station to make a report.

Later that night, my wife insurance agent, which is her aunty as well, told her she should have sent her car to her uncle instead as her uncle wouldnt cheat of a family member and charge exorbitant amount on the fix. But the tow truck fought back saying she has signed the form which gives the tow truck guy to settle with their workshop.

Now the workshop is asking her to pay a 3k deposit to fix her car as the car who banged her car is under 3rd party insurance who is known for very hard getting a claim from them as workshop guy claimed

My question is
1. What should have been done in my wife situation as she had no choice to accept the approaching tow truck guy.
2. Can she get loss of use as she rely on her car to get her income.

This post has been edited by alphacross: Dec 18 2024, 01:26 PM
TSloui
post Dec 20 2024, 08:47 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Dec 17 2024, 09:02 AM)

Thanks all
No need TP insurance policy

But police keputusan is compulsory

You can send car for repair now

Before they released the car, they will follow up with keputusan.

If that time still don't have, insurer will convert to OD and NCD hilang

41 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 >Top

0.0231sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:30 AM