What to do in an accident in Malaysia, Everything about m/vehicle insurance

lionheart23
post Jul 18 2025, 03:24 PM

103 posts

Does anyone has experience claim from Highway toll company?
Mind to share the experience?

We and more than 10 cars got into accident whereby there's spare tyre on middle lane and it hit all our car bumper and damage was variant and involve more tha 10 vehicle in that accident.

The customer service ask us to drive to nearest exit toll to fill up the form and wait for the officer to contact us however been 10 days, and nothing heard from them.

We currently has 3 option,
1. use our own money to repair
2. claim our own insurance to repair and loss NCD, if the repair cost if beyond our own pocket money
3. the highway company officer haven't go any update.
4. We didn't hit each other car, just the spare tyre object damaged our bumper, front light, and etc.

What shall we do next?
1. we already did police report.
2. Sent to service center, they taken photo and report.
3. what is most faster process if we wanna get our car repair soonest possible?
4. how could we claim the amount from them if we using our own pocket or insurance claim?
5. Does anyone has experience on this to share?

This post has been edited by lionheart23: Jul 18 2025, 03:25 PM
TSloui
post Jul 22 2025, 01:25 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(lionheart23 @ Jul 18 2025, 03:24 PM)
Does anyone has experience claim from Highway toll company?
Mind to share the experience?

We and more than 10 cars got into accident whereby there's spare tyre on middle lane and it hit all our car bumper and damage was variant and involve more tha 10 vehicle in that accident.

The customer service ask us to drive to nearest exit toll to fill up the form and wait for the officer to contact us however been 10 days, and nothing heard from them.

We currently has 3 option,
1. use our own money to repair
2. claim our own insurance to repair and loss NCD, if the repair cost if beyond our own pocket money
3. the highway company officer haven't go any update.
4. We didn't hit each other car, just the spare tyre object damaged our bumper, front light, and etc.

What shall we do next?
1. we already did police report.
2. Sent to service center, they taken photo and report.
3. what is most faster process if we wanna get our car repair soonest possible?
4. how could we claim the amount from them if we using our own pocket or insurance claim?
5. Does anyone has experience on this to share?
If you are making claim against own insurance, then you sort of forfeited your right to claim against highway company

They are notoriously slow in processing claim.

If you don't want your NCD affected, then pay out of pocket and continue chase after them.

Make sure you record down all correspondence with them toll company.

Give yourself a time frame like a month. If no response, then go to small claim court
vicky.max
post Jul 28 2025, 01:11 AM

167 posts

My car turned turtle about 2 months back, due to either slippery road condition or tyre condition. Only one side of my car was damaged and dented. The panel workshop had already replaced my entire bumper, one side door, one side window and some other minor things.

I may get the car anytime this week - what are the first few things that I need to do once I get it? Do a thorough inspection at my preferred workshop?
TSloui
post Jul 28 2025, 04:13 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(vicky.max @ Jul 28 2025, 01:11 AM)
My car turned turtle about 2 months back, due to either slippery road condition or tyre condition. Only one side of my car was damaged and dented. The panel workshop had already replaced my entire bumper, one side door, one side window and some other minor things.

I may get the car anytime this week - what are the first few things that I need to do once I get it? Do a thorough inspection at my preferred workshop?
Yes. Especially when you have limited knowledge on car stuff.

Most insurance company provide 6 months warranty for the repair parts.

Hence request a repair details from insurance company (they are obliged to provide).

Get the workshop to thoroughly check on the part that was fixed.
ramesh help
post Aug 4 2025, 09:09 AM

87 posts

@loui

This is general question. Related to my friend who asked

While driving normal road, his car was bang by the behind person. it was a 1 straight road with lane. the accident was just so so minor that my friends car was hit at the rear bumper & the other guy was the front side rear tyre area. there was no white or yellow line & also there is no parking zone either. NOTE: my friends side. driver was the husband + beside was wife as eye withness. The other guy's side was driver(father) & 1 under 18 child (which i believe not suitable to use as eye withness as rear passenger). both parties no dashcam either.

When he went to do report, and that party also did report. its been 1month. no keputusan result given. after asking multiple times & explaining then finally was informed that will push for RTM/RTI to be collected today.

usually if RTM/RTI then can dispute keputusan or ask insurance to appoint lawyer to persue the case at court further if needed to protect the NCB/NCD should be the correct process right?
but suddenly he got a call from the pegawai informing that both the cars need to be brought to produce puspakom reports after inspection. which then can be dragged up to 3 months longer. If found at fault, can be issued saman up to 5000rm.

why does it take 1 month for verdict + also after that stating that need puspakom to investigate? got such thing? never heard before. confusing i know but is there such a process? Enlighten me.

This post has been edited by ramesh help: Aug 4 2025, 09:58 AM
TSloui
post Aug 8 2025, 01:38 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(ramesh help @ Aug 4 2025, 09:09 AM)
@loui

This is general question. Related to my friend who asked

While driving normal road, his car was bang by the behind person. it was a 1 straight road with lane. the accident was just so so minor that my friends car was hit at the rear bumper & the other guy was the front side rear tyre area. there was no white or yellow line & also there is no parking zone either. NOTE: my friends side. driver was the husband + beside was wife as eye withness. The other guy's side was driver(father) & 1 under 18 child (which i believe not suitable to use as eye withness as rear passenger). both parties no dashcam either.

When he went to do report, and that party also did report. its been 1month. no keputusan result given. after asking multiple times & explaining then finally was informed that will push for RTM/RTI to be collected today.

usually if RTM/RTI then can dispute keputusan or ask insurance to appoint lawyer to persue the case at court further if needed to protect the NCB/NCD should be the correct process right?
but suddenly he got a call from the pegawai informing that both the cars need to be brought to produce puspakom reports after inspection. which then can be dragged up to 3 months longer. If found at fault, can be issued saman up to 5000rm.

why does it take 1 month for verdict + also after that stating that need puspakom to investigate? got such thing? never heard before. confusing i know but is there such a process? Enlighten me.
1. Police investigation outcome is solely rely on the efficiency of investigation officer. It can be 1 day, it can be 1 year or even no outcome. All depend on investigation officer
2. To my knowledge, I have not seen any case that involve puspakom. Usually when involved in serious accident that has fatality or serious injuries, traffic police Chemist Department will took the car for inspection.
3. For one to get compound up to RM5,000, one must be charge under S41 RTA & S43 RTA ((See Link). It is a serious offences involving fatality and serious injuries and only Deputy Public Prosecutor can charge someone with this and the fine must be delivered by Magistrates (low court judge). For normal offences like you describe, it won't cost more then RM300 (See Link). Sound like a scam to me, if the fella still received call from "agent", ask them to served you with proper written request
4. To dispute RTM, approach the magistrate court, get the court official to guide you on how to get judge involvement
Selectt
post Aug 26 2025, 12:09 AM

wattttt!!
1,706 posts

sifu loui

thanks for the thread and your contributions. earlier i got read 2 sources https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3365413 https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3547924&hl= (read alot but i cannot determine best way forward sweat.gif). May i ask for your help for my current situation id be so thankful.

Involved with accident on 23-Aug (2 days ago). Report with police on the same day. Driver A bang into me, a hit and run case.

24-Aug IO called me to make me send to a girl Barbi (fake name) to make 3rd party claim, apparently shes an agent frm unknown workshop. IO told that he can make 'surat saman' now if i send let Barbi to manage. I know what the IO trying to do but I m in dilemma whether I want to send to Barbi to make 3d party claim coz I have comprehensive insurance. I also read that it is also possible that even keputusan came out favoring me, but Driver A insurer CAN refused my ODKFK claim. What should i do? If driver A didnt make police report and i dont have driver A police report & docs, should I proceed with ODKFK?

My situation, I do not have dashcam footage, only have the Driver A plate number in writing only and my own car damaged picture & police report as evidence. I know Driver A insurer is the same with mine under Berjaya. Questions:

1. If u were me, how do I proceed now?
2. Is there anything I need to do right now?
3. How to ensure my NCD not affected if i proceed ODKFK? or should I let Barbi manage my case, which be frankly i have not much confidence.
4. I read that I need to let my insurer know that theres accident occurred. I thought of opening 'case' (not sure got such term) with my insurer, without filing the claim coz I want to ensure my insurer can make KFK first before i send my car and submit my docs to them. I also thought of driving to the insurance there to let them record the damage first as my repair is not urgent. I havent report to my insurer yet.
5. Is ODKFK the best way to go? or TPPD? Should I wait for keputusan first before going to open case with my insurer?
6. How to prevent Driver A to claim my insurance if theres a counterclaim? As i know both sides can make police report and claim each other?

Appreciate your help here.

This post has been edited by Selectt: Aug 26 2025, 04:15 AM
TSloui
post Aug 26 2025, 04:14 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(Selectt @ Aug 26 2025, 12:09 AM)
sifu loui

thanks for the thread and your contributions. earlier i got read 2 sources https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3365413 https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3547924&hl= (read alot but i cannot determine best way forward sweat.gif). May i ask for your help for my current situation id be so thankful.

Involved with accident on 23-Aug (2 days ago). Report with police on the same day. Driver A bang into me, a hit and run case.

24-Aug IO called me to make me send to a girl Barbi (fake name) to make 3rd party claim, apparently shes an agent frm unknown workshop. IO told that he can make 'surat saman' now if i send let Barbi to manage. I know what the IO trying to do but I m in dilemma whether I want to send to Barbi to make 3d party claim coz I have comprehensive insurance. I also read that it is also possible that even keputusan came out favoring me, but Driver A insurer CAN refused my ODKFK claim. What should i do? If driver A didnt make police report and i dont have driver A police report & docs, should I proceed with ODKFK?

My situation, I do not have dashcam footage, only have the Driver A plate number in writing only and my own car damaged picture & police report as evidence. I know Driver A insurer is the same with mine under Berjaya. Questions:

3. How to ensure my NCD not affected if i proceed ODKFK? or should I let Barbi manage my case, which be frankly i have not much confidence.
4. I read that I need to let my insurer know that theres accident occurred. I thought of opening 'case' (not sure got such term) with my insurer, without filing the claim coz I want to ensure my insurer can make KFK first before i send my car and submit my docs to them. I also thought of driving to the insurance there to let them record the damage first as my repair is not urgent. I havent report to my insurer yet.
5. Is ODKFK the best way to go? or TPPD? Should I wait for keputusan first before going to open case with my insurer?
6. How to prevent Driver A to claim my insurance if theres a counterclaim? As i know both sides can make police report and claim each other?

Appreciate your help here.
Answer : Go for OD KFK. Your insurer cannot decline your OD KFK request if you fulfill following criteria (stated in Section 3, C, of your policy)
• the offending vehicle is identifiable and is not a vehicle used for carriage of passengers for hire
or reward (for example taxis, hire cars, public buses, stage buses, school buses and factory
buses for hire);
• the offending vehicle is insured by a Malaysian licensed insurer; and
• there is no death or personal injury claim involved.

Answer : Go do OD KFK if above criteria is fulfill
Answer : Go with OD-KFK. IO is suggesting his method as he got a cut for referring case to the middle man
Answer : Report to your insurer now. Anything above 24 hours will result in insurer getting suspicious and they will request more verification. Just go to any panel workshop (which you can find in your insurer website). Tell them you intend to do OD KFK and they will guide you from there. Drop an email to your insurer stating that you are sending your car to XX workshop and insurance claim handler will proceed to liaise with the workshop
Answer : Always go for OD KFK if you fulfill all criteria. The process is 10 times faster. However you need to push the IO to give the keputusan faster.
Answer : You can't stop them from claiming. However under law of tort, who ever want to claim against the other party, need to proof that the other party at fault. If you have sufficient evidence to proof you are not at fault, TP can claim against you but insurance company will deny the claim.

Selectt
post Aug 26 2025, 06:06 PM

wattttt!!
1,706 posts

QUOTE(loui @ Aug 26 2025, 04:14 PM)
Answer : Go for OD KFK. Your insurer cannot decline your OD KFK request if you fulfill following criteria (stated in Section 3, C, of your policy)
• the offending vehicle is identifiable and is not a vehicle used for carriage of passengers for hire
or reward (for example taxis, hire cars, public buses, stage buses, school buses and factory
buses for hire);
• the offending vehicle is insured by a Malaysian licensed insurer; and
• there is no death or personal injury claim involved.

Answer : Go do OD KFK if above criteria is fulfill
Answer : Go with OD-KFK. IO is suggesting his method as he got a cut for referring case to the middle man
Answer : Report to your insurer now. Anything above 24 hours will result in insurer getting suspicious and they will request more verification. Just go to any panel workshop (which you can find in your insurer website). Tell them you intend to do OD KFK and they will guide you from there. Drop an email to your insurer stating that you are sending your car to XX workshop and insurance claim handler will proceed to liaise with the workshop
Answer : Always go for OD KFK if you fulfill all criteria. The process is 10 times faster. However you need to push the IO to give the keputusan faster.
Answer : You can't stop them from claiming. However under law of tort, who ever want to claim against the other party, need to proof that the other party at fault. If you have sufficient evidence to proof you are not at fault, TP can claim against you but insurance company will deny the claim.
Hi loui, much appreciated your quick reply.

1. Yes, the incident satisfied the 3 conditions for KFK.
6. This however, im not sure if i have sufficient evidence. I will be completely relying on keputusan from police...

I do not have dashcam footage, only have the Driver A plate number in writing only and my own car damaged picture & police report as evidence.

omron
post Nov 9 2025, 01:27 PM

204 posts

afraid la any ljke cook book if accident happen what to do

41 Pages « < 39 40 41Top

0.0148sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 05:10 AM