Dunlop SP Sport J5, new tyre in the market

TSCalebraj
post Mar 25 2015, 10:33 AM, updated 5y ago

452 posts

Hi Guys,

Wondering whether anyone have tried the new Dunlop SP Sports J5 tyres that was launched?

Just changed to it, and darn it is good!

Was a user of the Dunlop D-01 previously, almost went for Yokohama Advan Decible, but this tyres is not that far off!!

Anyone think the same?
Rohan26
post Mar 25 2015, 10:45 AM

QUOTE(Calebraj @ Mar 25 2015, 10:33 AM)
Hi Guys,

Wondering whether anyone have tried the new Dunlop SP Sports J5 tyres that was launched?

Was a user of the Dunlop D-01 previously, almost went for Yokohama Advan Decible, but this tyres is not that far off!!

Anyone think the same?
How much it costs and what size?

TSCalebraj
post Mar 25 2015, 01:13 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(Rohan26 @ Mar 25 2015, 10:45 AM)
Mine is a 195/60 R15, got it for RM 190 a piece (free alignment and installation with purchase of 2 tyres and above).
Quite a fair price actually (they having a promo).

The new CityCars chain inside a mall. Nice concept (I am not an agent, just a user)
ktek
post Mar 25 2015, 02:38 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

my previous experience with dunlop sp sport j3 is not good.

btw, just found out dunlop is under continental group now

This post has been edited by ktek: Mar 25 2015, 02:39 PM
TSCalebraj
post Mar 25 2015, 02:42 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 25 2015, 02:38 PM)
Yes, i saw it was made by Continental, that is why i have confidence in it. If not, then i surely won't touch.

Interesting thing is, it has Wet performance and dry performance indicator, that is something new that i have seen first in this model.

Joeyskullz
post Mar 25 2015, 02:52 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(Rohan26 @ Mar 25 2015, 11:45 AM)
Now Got promotion at Citicars. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Quazacolt
post Mar 25 2015, 04:36 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Calebraj @ Mar 25 2015, 02:42 PM)
Yes, i saw it was made by Continental, that is why i have confidence in it. If not, then i surely won't touch.

Interesting thing is, it has Wet performance and dry performance indicator, that is something new that i have seen first in this model.
if they are under conti then my confidence in it nose dives laugh.gif

thankfully, the ZII * spec should still be independently done by Dunlop Japan (sumitomo/goodyear)
Crusified
post Mar 25 2015, 09:22 PM

anyone know where to buy dunlop ZII?
Quazacolt
post Mar 26 2015, 04:33 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Crusified @ Mar 25 2015, 09:22 PM)
extreme performance tire with extreme pricing, ad08r level basically.
sure you need it? (i believe got people commented it on tire discussion thread)
OC4/3
post Mar 26 2015, 11:46 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Crusified @ Mar 25 2015, 09:22 PM)
Try Lim Tayar
2013 or 2014 they have advertisement for ZII* and i remember price being very reasonable too
TSCalebraj
post Mar 28 2015, 12:23 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(Joeyskullz @ Mar 25 2015, 02:52 PM)
Now Got promotion at Citicars.  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Anyone else changing to this tyres?
At least can give people some review to read about.
(you'll be the first review in Malaysia flex.gif )
Joeyskullz
post Mar 28 2015, 07:41 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(Calebraj @ Mar 28 2015, 01:23 AM)
Anyone else changing to this tyres?
At least can give people some review to read about.
(you'll be the first review in Malaysia flex.gif )
I'm gonna try this tyre see how good it is. If not change it back to Hankook. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_idea.gif
TSCalebraj
post Mar 28 2015, 09:25 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(Joeyskullz @ Mar 28 2015, 07:41 AM)
I'm gonna try this tyre see how good it is. If not change it back to Hankook.  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_idea.gif
I am personally using it now, worth every penny!

Better Grip than my Formula D-01
Less noisy
Good grip indication for both dry and wet.
Gives good confidence while driving both weather.
Good value for money
Good looking pattern
Also low rolling resistance.

Overall: Good value for affordable tyre.

Tyre used before: Falken Sincera, GT Radial Champiro, Good Year Assurance, Dunlop Formula D-01, Continental CC1, Continental CC-5, Silverstone Synergy M5.

All mostly comfort Tyres.

Cheers.
Crusified
post Mar 30 2015, 10:13 AM

thanks for the info guys...
will try to check later...
happy monday and happy working!!!
shanyan
post Apr 9 2015, 02:11 PM

Anyone know How much is the treadwear label?
TSCalebraj
post Apr 10 2015, 01:03 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(shanyan @ Apr 9 2015, 02:11 PM)
on my 195/60R15. Threadwear is 340.
sofastsofurious8
post Apr 22 2015, 11:54 PM

QUOTE(Calebraj @ Mar 25 2015, 01:13 PM)
Mine is a 195/60 R15, got it for RM 190 a piece (free alignment and installation with purchase of 2 tyres and above).
Quite a fair price actually (they having a promo).

The new CityCars chain inside a mall. Nice concept (I am not an agent, just a user)
Went there too Citicars, I checked them out on fb: citicarsmalaysia and booked on www.citicars.com.my

tayarman123
post Apr 23 2015, 12:19 AM

QUOTE(shanyan @ Apr 9 2015, 03:11 PM)
many ppl is asking about treadwear , traction and temperature on the side wall... actually this is their own manufacturer lab test postioning difference brand have their own calculation .... which means that if this A brand treadwear is 340 and that B brand is 240 most of those tyre shop ppl will say oh 340 is more tahan thean 240 lo.... answer is definetely NO ... just a ex: vw gti oem tyre potenza make in poland tread wear just about 140 only why millage can go more than 50k ??? and xm2 michelin some size tread wear is 420 also around 50k...
Jasonlee1603
post Apr 23 2015, 08:27 PM

117 posts

In terms of comfort and silence, how does the J5 fare? Mind to give some feedback in this area? Planning to change to this for my vios. Thanks! smile.gif
sofastsofurious8
post Apr 23 2015, 10:54 PM

QUOTE(Jasonlee1603 @ Apr 23 2015, 08:27 PM)
In terms of comfort and silence, how does the J5 fare? Mind to give some feedback in this area? Planning to change to this for my vios. Thanks! smile.gif
Just changed to it recently. So far so good. I thought it was worth a try as its made in Continental factory and the prices are much better compared to Continental smile.gif

Jasonlee1603
post Apr 24 2015, 02:47 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(sofastsofurious8 @ Apr 23 2015, 10:54 PM)
Just changed to it recently. So far so good. I thought it was worth a try as its made in Continental factory and the prices are much better compared to Continental smile.gif
I see. Mind to share what size is your rim and the how much you paid for the tyre?
TSCalebraj
post Apr 24 2015, 10:12 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(sofastsofurious8 @ Apr 23 2015, 10:54 PM)
Me too!

Felt like worth every penny!
I used to use the Dunlop D-01 before this, so i can feel that it was quite an improvement over the D-01.

Comparable to the CC5 that i used before. (maybe not as quiet)
Jasonlee1603
post Apr 24 2015, 10:18 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(Calebraj @ Apr 24 2015, 10:12 AM)
Me too!

Felt like worth every penny!
I used to use the Dunlop D-01 before this, so i can feel that it was quite an improvement over the D-01.

Comparable to the CC5 that i used before. (maybe not as quiet)
So in terms of NVH, CC5 is better?
TSCalebraj
post Apr 24 2015, 11:16 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(Jasonlee1603 @ Apr 24 2015, 10:18 AM)
So in terms of NVH, CC5 is better?
Just a slight better.
But very very close!
Jasonlee1603
post Apr 24 2015, 11:38 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(Calebraj @ Apr 24 2015, 11:16 AM)
Just a slight better.
But very very close!
Thanks for your feedback! Will change to it later. Got quoted Dunlop SP Sport J5 185/60R14 @ RM125. Good price perhaps?
moo_zai_mie
post Apr 24 2015, 11:38 AM

33 posts

CC5 good? hmm.gif That is not what i usually heard from a lot of forumers. I heard that CC5 uses a hard compound, thus making it almost undriveable in the rain. Oh yea, plus its noisy too due to the hard compund. I dont dare to try it out as it scares me. Lol tongue.gif
Just sharing of what people thought of it.

This post has been edited by moo_zai_mie: Apr 24 2015, 11:39 AM
sofastsofurious8
post Apr 24 2015, 12:14 PM

[quote=Jasonlee1603,Apr 24 2015, 11:38 AM]
Thanks for your feedback! Will change to it later. Got quoted Dunlop SP Sport J5 185/60R14 @ RM125. Good price perhaps?

Try fb: citicarsmalaysia, alignment, balancing and nitrogen air is free with purchase of tyres, no gst charge (they absorb) and no extra charge on credit card
sofastsofurious8
post Apr 24 2015, 12:19 PM

QUOTE(Jasonlee1603 @ Apr 24 2015, 02:47 AM)
I see. Mind to share what size is your rim and the how much you paid for the tyre?
185/60/14 @ RM 128 per piece. Got alignment, balancing and nitrogen air free. That price is included GST so i paid a nett total of RM 512 with my credit card (rolling a bit lol)
TSCalebraj
post Apr 24 2015, 01:28 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(moo_zai_mie @ Apr 24 2015, 11:38 AM)
CC5 good?  hmm.gif That is not what i usually heard from a lot of forumers. I heard that CC5 uses a hard compound, thus making it almost undriveable in the rain. Oh yea, plus its noisy too due to the hard compund. I dont dare to try it out as it scares me. Lol tongue.gif
Just sharing of what people thought of it.
Yes, the CC5 uses a harder compound. That is why their longkang is shallow compared to others between the grooves.
But many claims that because of this, noise is lowered compared to CC1.

But to me, the CC% was prices RM 100 more than the Dunlop J5 a piece! So tried to take a risk with the J5, and it is made by the same company, and it is new. So why not right?

Made up my mind with the Yokohama Advan DB, but this price made me think twice.
Haha

This post has been edited by Calebraj: Apr 24 2015, 01:28 PM
Jasonlee1603
post Apr 24 2015, 01:32 PM

117 posts

[quote=sofastsofurious8,Apr 24 2015, 12:14 PM]
[quote=Jasonlee1603,Apr 24 2015, 11:38 AM]

Try fb: citicarsmalaysia, alignment, balancing and nitrogen air is free with purchase of tyres, no gst charge (they absorb) and no extra charge on credit card

[/quote]

Just called the Empire Subang branch, yeah it's RM128 inclusive of alignment and balancing with free gas etc. However they don't accept trade in, whereas the other shop I consulted in Mydin USJ1 offered RM30/pc for my old tyre. So works out to be RM95 per piece. They include free alignment and balancing as well. So most probably I will go for the one in USJ1, just gotta wait for their stock to arrive. By the way the shop name in Mydin is SL Hong Sheng in case you want to know. thumbup.gif
Jasonlee1603
post Apr 24 2015, 02:21 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(Calebraj @ Apr 24 2015, 01:28 PM)
Yes, the CC5 uses a harder compound. That is why their longkang is shallow compared to others between the grooves.
But many claims that because of this, noise is lowered compared to CC1.

But to me, the CC% was prices RM 100 more than the Dunlop J5 a piece! So tried to take a risk with the J5, and it is made by the same company, and it is new. So why not right?

Made up my mind with the Yokohama Advan DB, but this price made me think twice.
Haha
For me I believe harder compound tyres means more noise. As I'm a person who prefers comfort and silence with good grip, I find my 3 years old Michelin XM2 is making so much noise that I can't take it anymore. Going to change it even though there's still quite a lot of threads left.
megat89
post Apr 25 2015, 09:14 PM

278 posts

this new dunlop sp sport j5 and formula d05 are designed for wet condition..and their price is cheap..

This post has been edited by megat89: Apr 25 2015, 09:14 PM
TSCalebraj
post Apr 25 2015, 09:59 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(Jasonlee1603 @ Apr 24 2015, 02:21 PM)
For me I believe harder compound tyres means more noise. As I'm a person who prefers comfort and silence with good grip, I find my 3 years old Michelin XM2 is making so much noise that I can't take it anymore. Going to change it even though there's still quite a lot of threads left.
Also, for Michelin XM2, after 3 years the grip would harden, thus it wont be grippy anymore like before.
I have heard some people "buang" when cornering.

So ya, jaga-jaga.
Jasonlee1603
post Apr 25 2015, 11:16 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(Calebraj @ Apr 25 2015, 09:59 PM)
Also, for Michelin XM2, after 3 years the grip would harden, thus it wont be grippy anymore like before.
I have heard some people "buang" when cornering.

So ya, jaga-jaga.
Thanks for your concern bro, but I've already made appointment to change tomorrow. The shop is waiting for stock to arrive. Tomorrow will get it done. Will come back here to give my first impression once its being fitted. nod.gif
Jasonlee1603
post Apr 26 2015, 04:43 PM

117 posts

Just came back from the tyre shop. Finally replaced my front 2 tyre from XM2 to SP Sport J5. The shop sold off another 2 sets that's why I can't change all 4. vmad.gif
But because of that I could also make a comparison between the J5 and the XM2.
Initial feedback was:

1. Noticeably more quiet than XM2, especially when driving on a harsh and uneven road. Maybe because the J5 has slightly softer compound than the XM2.
2. Car felt stable at speed around 100km/h (No chance to test at higher speed due to traffic)
3. Dry grip is decent. Not sure about wet though as there's no rain at the moment.

Total spending just now was RM226, free balancing, steel valve. Will replace my rear 2 this coming Tuesday. Hope my initial feedback could help some of you who are considering this tyre. icon_rolleyes.gif
Rojak
post Apr 26 2015, 09:20 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(Jasonlee1603 @ Apr 26 2015, 04:43 PM)
Just came back from the tyre shop. Finally replaced my front 2 tyre from XM2 to SP Sport J5. The shop sold off another 2 sets that's why I can't change all 4.  vmad.gif
But because of that I could also make a comparison between the J5 and the XM2.
Initial feedback was:

1. Noticeably more quiet than XM2, especially when driving on a harsh and uneven road. Maybe because the J5 has slightly softer compound than the XM2.
2. Car felt stable at speed around 100km/h (No chance to test at higher speed due to traffic)
3. Dry grip is decent. Not sure about wet though as there's no rain at the moment.

Total spending just now was RM226, free balancing, steel valve. Will replace my rear 2 this coming Tuesday. Hope my initial feedback could help some of you who are considering this tyre.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks for your feedback bro.
Hope to get more details from you on wet performance or high speed dry performance.

I'm considering to get 2 tyres of XM2, CD2 or Dunlop J5.
Looking for better grip on both wet and dry will be my first priority and follow by noise and lastly follow by rolling resistance.
Jasonlee1603
post Apr 27 2015, 12:57 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(Rojak @ Apr 26 2015, 09:20 PM)
Thanks for your feedback bro.
Hope to get more details from you on wet performance or high speed dry performance.

I'm considering to get 2 tyres of XM2, CD2 or Dunlop J5.
Looking for better grip on both wet and dry will be my first priority and follow by noise and lastly follow by rolling resistance.
Glad that I could help you in deciding your next tyre for your car. And once again I'm back to provide some feedback in wet performance for the J5. Just came back just now and driving on wet road, drizzling too. Initial feedback was, wow the tyre handles pretty damn well in the wet. Passing by a big puddle of water is very stable, even comparable to the XM2. Passing by the puddle of water with this tyre did not give you that "drag" feel like what the XM2 gives.

Based on my initial review is that this tyre is worth my money in any way. Good grip in wet, decent dry grip, and decent tyre noise too (XM2 might be slightly more silent when it's new but turns out after using up 30-40% of the thread). However tyre is still new so I can't really give you the full review in terms of the noise. But all I have to say is, give this tyre a try. In terms of rolling resistance, I have to monitor my fuel consumption for more accuracy, but base on initial feedback, rolling resistance is good too. Hope this help you. smile.gif
Rojak
post Apr 27 2015, 09:34 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(Jasonlee1603 @ Apr 27 2015, 12:57 AM)
Glad that I could help you in deciding your next tyre for your car. And once again I'm back to provide some feedback in wet performance for the J5. Just came back just now and driving on wet road, drizzling too. Initial feedback was, wow the tyre handles pretty damn well in the wet. Passing by a big puddle of water is very stable, even comparable to the XM2. Passing by the puddle of water with this tyre did not give you that "drag" feel like what the XM2 gives.

Based on my initial review is that this tyre is worth my money in any way. Good grip in wet, decent dry grip, and decent tyre noise too (XM2 might be slightly more silent when it's new but turns out after using up 30-40% of the thread). However tyre is still new so I can't really give you the full review in terms of the noise. But all I have to say is, give this tyre a try. In terms of rolling resistance, I have to monitor my fuel consumption for more accuracy, but base on initial feedback, rolling resistance is good too. Hope this help you. smile.gif
Really appreciate your replied. smile.gif
Good to hear that it slightly better on wet grip compared to XM2 due to no drag feeling.
How about dry grip ? Is this better than XM2 as well ? Or similar grip level and handling of dry grip ?
Does it feel softer or harder ride than XM2?

I'm really considering J5 than XM2 now.

Fyi, I found that my EP200 is slightly bouncing when going thru uneven road while cornering, causing lower grip on dry surface compared to A-Drive (not the eco tyre). But wet grip is quite good, maybe I didn't drive fast on wet corner road.
Jasonlee1603
post Apr 27 2015, 10:34 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(Rojak @ Apr 27 2015, 09:34 AM)
Really appreciate your replied. smile.gif
Good to hear that it slightly better on wet grip compared to XM2 due to no drag feeling.
How about dry grip ? Is this better than XM2 as well ? Or similar grip level and handling of dry grip ?
Does it feel softer or harder ride than XM2?

I'm really considering J5 than XM2 now.

Fyi, I found that my EP200 is slightly bouncing when going thru uneven road while cornering, causing lower grip on dry surface compared to A-Drive (not the eco tyre). But wet grip is quite good, maybe I didn't drive fast on wet corner road.
I believe the drag feel is due to the "longkang" on the tyre itself. The J5 got 3 whereas XM2 only have 2. Maybe that makes a difference. Dry grip is decent. However I do feel that the steering response is slightly slower compared to XM2, but is just a very slight delay, perhaps not even noticeable. As for ride comfort, more or less the same as XM2, with the J5 being a little softer and comfortable. As of now, the J5 is at my front whereas the XM2 is on the back. Most of the road noise is generated from the back, so I can safely assume that the J5 emits little to no noise (maybe because still new also).
Rojak
post Apr 27 2015, 06:33 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(Jasonlee1603 @ Apr 27 2015, 10:34 AM)
I believe the drag feel is due to the "longkang" on the tyre itself. The J5 got 3 whereas XM2 only have 2. Maybe that makes a difference. Dry grip is decent. However I do feel that the steering response is slightly slower compared to XM2, but is just a very slight delay, perhaps not even noticeable. As for ride comfort, more or less the same as XM2, with the J5 being a little softer and comfortable. As of now, the J5 is at my front whereas the XM2 is on the back. Most of the road noise is generated from the back, so I can safely assume that the J5 emits little to no noise (maybe because still new also).
Seems like J5 is better than XM2 except for the steering response.
Thanks for the comments. smile.gif
Jasonlee1603
post Apr 27 2015, 09:40 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(Rojak @ Apr 27 2015, 06:33 PM)
Seems like J5 is better than XM2 except for the steering response.
Thanks for the comments. smile.gif
For the time being, yes but don't forget I'm comparing a new tyre to a 3 years old tyre. icon_idea.gif
Rojak
post Apr 27 2015, 10:49 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(Jasonlee1603 @ Apr 27 2015, 09:40 PM)
For the time being, yes but don't forget I'm comparing a new tyre to a 3 years old tyre. icon_idea.gif
Yeah. I hope you can come and comments more after you drive more on these tyres. As I might be changing it later but not now as I have to survey more. smile.gif
Jasonlee1603
post Apr 28 2015, 03:13 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(Rojak @ Apr 27 2015, 10:49 PM)
Yeah. I hope you can come and comments more after you drive more on these tyres. As I might be changing it later but not now as I have to survey more. smile.gif
Sure thing. Just replaced my rear 2 tyres to J5 as well. After changing all to J5, cabin noise had reduced significantly. As for road handling and grip, I will report after I've traveled 1000km with this set of tyres. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Jasonlee1603: Apr 28 2015, 03:14 PM
TSCalebraj
post Apr 28 2015, 09:31 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(Jasonlee1603 @ Apr 28 2015, 03:13 PM)
Sure thing. Just replaced my rear 2 tyres to J5 as well. After changing all to J5, cabin noise had reduced significantly. As for road handling and grip, I will report after I've traveled 1000km with this set of tyres.  icon_rolleyes.gif
I personally have done more than 2000 KM with these tyres.
Man, i never felt my money spent so well in a long while!

But it is only noisy when you are travelling above 160Km/H whistling.gif
So does what it suppose to, and i feel confident even when it is a wet day.

With the Full Silica compound, it does help with FC (comparing to the D-01 used before this).
So overall, must give award to this mode of tyre.

thumbup.gif
Jasonlee1603
post Apr 28 2015, 11:45 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(Calebraj @ Apr 28 2015, 09:31 PM)
I personally have done more than 2000 KM with these tyres.
Man, i never felt my money spent so well in a long while!

But it is only noisy when you are travelling above 160Km/H  whistling.gif
So does what it suppose to, and i feel confident even when it is a wet day.

With the Full Silica compound, it does help with FC (comparing to the D-01 used before this).
So overall, must give award to this mode of tyre.

thumbup.gif
I have to really agree on that. Personally I've never favor Dunlop when it comes to tyres. But recently I've worked as an event crew for the launching of the Dunlop SP Sport J5 and Formula D05, and only come to realize that Dunlop tyres are now manufactured by Continental, that's what made me change my mind after that.

Well as for that speed, I don't think I will have the chance to try it though, as I have another car for long distance driving. As for me, overall I'm really satisfied with the tyre, although I wish it could have a slightly stiffer side wall. rolleyes.gif
Rojak
post May 9 2015, 02:40 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(Jasonlee1603 @ Apr 28 2015, 03:13 PM)
Sure thing. Just replaced my rear 2 tyres to J5 as well. After changing all to J5, cabin noise had reduced significantly. As for road handling and grip, I will report after I've traveled 1000km with this set of tyres.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Just changed 2 tyres to Dunlop SP Sport J5 this morning.

J5 is softer side wall than Ecopia EP200 and much more silent than A-Drive (used until almost botak).
The weight of the J5 (tyre only) is similar to A-Drive but not as light as EP200.
This might be the reason why the EP200 react to be bouncer (stiffer) since the suspension should react softer as unsprung weight is heavier.

I'm lucky to make a decision to put the EP200 (few months tyres) to the Front and put J5 at the Rear as my Iswara rear suspension is harder (Gas Shock) and front suspension is slightly softer (Oil Shock). So now, the stiffer tyre pair with softer suspension and softer tyre pair with harder suspension. icon_rolleyes.gif

I can't test much of the J5 grip as it was not raining yet. Dry grip can't mentioned much as it was put at rear tyres.
Hopefully it doesn't disappoint me.

But worth the price as i get RM123 per tyre including GST and Balancing. Exclude Alignment and Tube Head (valve).
Tube Head (Valve) rubber cost RM5 per piece. thumbup.gif

Jasonlee1603
post May 10 2015, 01:47 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(Rojak @ May 9 2015, 02:40 PM)
Just changed 2 tyres to Dunlop SP Sport J5 this morning.

J5 is softer side wall than Ecopia EP200 and much more silent than A-Drive (used until almost botak).
The weight of the J5 (tyre only) is similar to A-Drive but not as light as EP200.
This might be the reason why the EP200 react to be bouncer (stiffer) since the suspension should react softer as unsprung weight is heavier.

I'm lucky to make a decision to put the EP200 (few months tyres) to the Front and put J5 at the Rear as my Iswara rear suspension is harder (Gas Shock) and front suspension is slightly softer (Oil Shock). So now, the stiffer tyre pair with softer suspension and softer tyre pair with harder suspension.  icon_rolleyes.gif

I can't test much of the J5 grip as it was not raining yet. Dry grip can't mentioned much as it was put at rear tyres.
Hopefully it doesn't disappoint me.

But worth the price as i get RM123 per tyre including GST and Balancing. Exclude Alignment and Tube Head (valve).
Tube Head (Valve) rubber cost RM5 per piece.  thumbup.gif
Ah I see. Actually before replacing my car's tyre to the J5, I've considered few tyres (Yokohama C.drive2, Bridgestone Ecopia EP200, and Yokohama Bluearth AE01), but C.drive2 being my most favorable choice among all due to all good feedbacks from sifus here and experience as well (was using C.drive2 on my old myvi last time). But this round's tyre change reminds me of the recent launch event which I was involved in (working as an event crew which happens to be Dunlop's SP Sport J5 and Formula D05 launching event), and get to know that Continental is now manufacturing these tyres. Happen to know that Continental made these tyres, I kinda gave the J5 (as the D05 do not have 14" variant) a try without much consideration.

After riding on these tyres for about 2-3 weeks now, I have to say that I'm satisfied with it, apart from it being a little bit soft (in terms of sidewall). Road noise generated is decently quiet but not the quietest I've ever had, grip is decent in dry and wet. However I might give other brand a shot during my next tyre change as I'm not much a brand-loyalty kind of person. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Jasonlee1603: May 10 2015, 01:47 AM
Rojak
post May 10 2015, 05:41 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(Jasonlee1603 @ May 10 2015, 01:47 AM)
Ah I see. Actually before replacing my car's tyre to the J5, I've considered few tyres (Yokohama C.drive2, Bridgestone Ecopia EP200, and Yokohama Bluearth AE01), but C.drive2 being my most favorable choice among all due to all good feedbacks from sifus here and experience as well (was using C.drive2 on my old myvi last time). But this round's tyre change reminds me of the recent launch event which I was involved in (working as an event crew which happens to be Dunlop's SP Sport J5 and Formula D05 launching event), and get to know that Continental is now manufacturing these tyres. Happen to know that Continental made these tyres, I kinda gave the J5 (as the D05 do not have 14" variant) a try without much consideration.

After riding on these tyres for about 2-3 weeks now, I have to say that I'm satisfied with it, apart from it being a little bit soft (in terms of sidewall). Road noise generated is decently quiet but not the quietest I've ever had, grip is decent in dry and wet. However I might give other brand a shot during my next tyre change as I'm not much a brand-loyalty kind of person.  tongue.gif
Seems like I have the same thought as u as I have consider to change to C Drive 2 before, but one of the shop owner mentioned, it does abit noisier and my thought was C Drive 2 was few years back product design and J5 consider as latest design, which may yield better noise control. Besides that, my tyre size is 185/60R14 which doesn't have D05 size. So I just make a try on this J5. The tyre dry grip is still consider as normal, not skidded yet.

Since the C Drive 2 has 4 big longkang and not much small pattern for dry grip, this makes me worry that it will have less dry grip considering that 185
Width has limited space for 4 big longkang instead of 3 big longkang on J5.

I believe J5 is better choice for 185 width size that will provide balance between wet and dry grip Rather than Wet grip more than dry grip.
This is my assumption and may not be 100% correct.
TSCalebraj
post May 13 2015, 10:07 AM

452 posts

Anyone else have their feedback on this tyre?
I really think there is nothing more "worth it" tyre brand/model compared to this.

Maybe just not that soft of tyre wall to me (also could be because my tyre pressure is 34 psi). Haha
Rojak
post May 13 2015, 01:05 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(Calebraj @ May 13 2015, 10:07 AM)
Anyone else have their feedback on this tyre?
I really think there is nothing more "worth it" tyre brand/model compared to this.

Maybe just not that soft of tyre wall to me (also could be because my tyre pressure is 34 psi). Haha
Maybe you can pump 32psi and try it out.
I found it softer side wall then Ecopia with the same Psi comparison and same tyre position (rear compare with rear).
Now I pump to 32psi.
jccf23
post May 16 2015, 11:49 PM

21 posts

Today just change 4 pcs J5 175/70/r13 at Citicars Empire. Total damage RM432+RM24 (rubber valve). BTW at this outlet, their staff are not in the proffesional way to serving customer. My personally does not recommend this outlet service. THe overall the tyres performance comparative to XM2, the side wall for J5 abit too soft. dry grip quite good, while the wet grip also not bad. Today has try in dry and wet as weather change too fast recently. water cutting not bad at all on water poodle. It is value for money.

This post has been edited by jccf23: May 16 2015, 11:50 PM
Rojak
post May 17 2015, 07:14 AM

58 posts

Last night, I able to try high speed cornering on the J5 tyre. The grip is good on the slightly wet road, start drizzling. Partial wet and partial dry. IMHO, good to test tyre grip.
I able to corner on 100-110 Kmh.
Not dare to drive faster as my car suspension and handling was not good. Able to chase the new C Class tongue.gif
Not bad consider this is not a high performance tyre.
Overall really statisfy with the J5 performance.
Jasonlee1603
post May 18 2015, 06:58 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(Rojak @ May 10 2015, 05:41 PM)
Seems like I have the same thought as u as I have consider to change to C Drive 2 before, but one of the shop owner mentioned, it does abit noisier and my thought was C Drive 2 was few years back product design and J5 consider as latest design, which may yield better noise control. Besides that, my tyre size is 185/60R14 which doesn't have D05 size. So I just make a try on this J5. The tyre dry grip is still consider as normal, not skidded yet.

Since the C Drive 2 has 4 big longkang and not much small pattern for dry grip, this makes me worry that it will have less dry grip considering that 185
Width has limited space for 4 big longkang instead of 3 big longkang on J5.

I believe J5 is better choice for 185 width size that will provide balance between wet and dry grip Rather than Wet grip more than dry grip.
This is my assumption and may not be 100% correct.
Yeah if I'm not mistaken the C Drive 2 is 2010-2011 year design. But nonetheless still one of the best choice when it comes to tyre choice. I'm riding on a same tyre size as you as well. After running in the tyre for about 1000 KM, the tyre actually got more comfortable and silent. Dry and wet grip is still the same as when it's new. Very satisfied with this tyre considering the price of it. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Rojak
post May 18 2015, 10:53 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(Jasonlee1603 @ May 18 2015, 06:58 PM)
Yeah if I'm not mistaken the C Drive 2 is 2010-2011 year design. But nonetheless still one of the best choice when it comes to tyre choice. I'm riding on a same tyre size as you as well. After running in the tyre for about 1000 KM, the tyre actually got more comfortable and silent. Dry and wet grip is still the same as when it's new. Very satisfied with this tyre considering the price of it.  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Yes, the quality is indeed very good value for money. rclxms.gif
I do recommend for others as well.
Jasonlee1603
post May 19 2015, 12:52 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(Rojak @ May 18 2015, 10:53 PM)
Yes, the quality is indeed very good value for money. rclxms.gif
I do recommend for others as well.
Yeah had to agree with you on that. For the next tyre change I'd probably get a new 15" shoe and try out the D05. rclxm9.gif
IiBbMm
post May 20 2015, 08:58 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(Jasonlee1603 @ May 19 2015, 12:52 PM)
Yeah had to agree with you on that. For the next tyre change I'd probably get a new 15" shoe and try out the D05.  rclxm9.gif
Any review / comment on Dunlop D05 VS J5 VS Goodyear Assurance Triplemax?
TSCalebraj
post May 20 2015, 09:32 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(IiBbMm @ May 20 2015, 08:58 AM)
I personally don't trust Good Year. Haha
IiBbMm
post May 20 2015, 11:40 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(Calebraj @ May 20 2015, 09:32 AM)
I personally don't trust Good Year. Haha
Any reason for your dun like Goodyear? Myself dun like rubbish Silverstone. And my car is riding on Bridgestone EP200, just dun like these donuts. What are the differences between D05 vs J5?

This post has been edited by IiBbMm: May 21 2015, 09:22 AM
Rojak
post May 20 2015, 01:05 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(IiBbMm @ May 20 2015, 11:40 AM)
Any reason for your dun like Goodyear? Myself dun like rubbish Silverstone.
I personally hate Silverstone especially I used Silverstone Synergy M3, very poor grip.
But depends on model, as Silverstone Atlantis V something is quite good.
Jasonlee1603
post May 20 2015, 10:22 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(IiBbMm @ May 20 2015, 08:58 AM)
I've personally did not try Dunlop Formula D05 nor Assurance Triplemax. As for Dunlop SP Sport J5, I have to say it's a pretty good tyre considering it's price point and performance. Very quiet and comfortable tyre with good grip in both wet and dry.

If compared to Michelin XM2, I believe J5 have better comfort due to softer compound compared to XM2 which is harder. XM2 tends of have slightly harsher ride IMO.
Jasonlee1603
post May 20 2015, 10:25 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(Rojak @ May 20 2015, 01:05 PM)
I personally hate Silverstone especially I used Silverstone Synergy M3, very poor grip.
But depends on model, as Silverstone Atlantis V something  is quite good.
Have to agree with you on that. Used to drive myvi which has stock Silverstone Powerblitz 1800 tyre on it. Real rubbish tyre. Skidded on straight damp road, and the best part is I'm not travelling fast at all (around 50km/h).

IMO Goodyear Duraplus is quite acceptable if compared to any Silverstone tyre within the 14" size range. My sister used that tyre before on her new myvi. Decent but her current Bridgestone Ecopia EP200 is much better than the Duraplus in terms of comfort and grip.

This post has been edited by Jasonlee1603: May 21 2015, 12:04 AM
Rojak
post May 21 2015, 07:05 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(Jasonlee1603 @ May 20 2015, 10:25 PM)
Have to agree with you on that. Used to drive myvi which has stock Silverstone Powerblitz 1800 tyre on it. Real rubbish tyre. Skidded on straight damp road, and the best part is I'm not travelling fast at all (around 50km/h).

IMO Goodyear Duraplus is quite acceptable if compared to any Silverstone tyre within the 14" size range. My sister used that tyre before on her new myvi. Decent but her current Bridgestone Ecopia EP200 is much better than the Duraplus in terms of comfort and grip.
Very interested to know that EP200 is better grip that duraplus. Maybe my other family member car in near future need to change to from Ducaro GA (assuming goodyear doesn't have much technology breakthru) to J5 consider the grip is quite good grip and soft, more comfortable. And price wise is cheaper than EP200 as well. smile.gif
PedangGila
post May 21 2015, 08:09 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(Jasonlee1603 @ May 20 2015, 10:25 PM)
Have to agree with you on that. Used to drive myvi which has stock Silverstone Powerblitz 1800 tyre on it. Real rubbish tyre. Skidded on straight damp road, and the best part is I'm not travelling fast at all (around 50km/h)
Wow i had good experience with powerblizt really, in heavy rain 100kmh, the right side hit water puddle while overtaking at that speed no skid ma. In fact change to it again before yhe shop recommended me oem myvi tires.
Jasonlee1603
post May 21 2015, 08:48 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(PedangGila @ May 21 2015, 08:09 AM)
Wow i had good experience with powerblizt really, in heavy rain 100kmh, the right side hit water puddle while overtaking at that speed no skid ma. In fact  change to it again before yhe shop recommended me oem myvi tires.
Wow. I've never tried travelling at that speed with the Silverstone tyre. Never trusted their tyre at all till I changed to C Drive 2 last time. I'm not sure about you though but I've skidded a little with that tyre for no apparent reason. Never going back to that brand anymore (at least for me).
PedangGila
post May 21 2015, 10:37 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(Jasonlee1603 @ May 21 2015, 08:48 PM)
Wow. I've never tried travelling at that speed with the Silverstone tyre. Never trusted their tyre at all till I changed to C Drive 2 last time. I'm not sure about you though but I've skidded a little with that tyre for no apparent reason. Never going back to that brand anymore (at least for me).
Yea the only reason that I switched to other brand/model is because you know la gatal mau try itu ini but powerblizt I really like it in sense price vs performance even Toyo Neo 3 is lagging behind in term of wet stability. But I do agree that road condition and other abnormalities experienced by each of us are different so I might've skidded too if I;m in the same situation as yours.
xxboxx
post May 22 2015, 01:29 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,259 posts

QUOTE(PedangGila @ May 21 2015, 10:37 PM)
Yea the only reason that I switched to other brand/model is because you know la gatal mau try itu ini but powerblizt I really like it in sense price vs performance even Toyo Neo 3 is lagging behind in term of wet stability. But I do agree that road condition and other abnormalities experienced by each of us are different so I might've skidded too if I;m in the same situation as yours.
Powerblitz wet performance is better than Neo 3??
I must be living in some alternate dimension then.
PedangGila
post May 22 2015, 03:56 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ May 22 2015, 01:29 PM)
Powerblitz wet performance is better than Neo 3??
I must be living in some alternate dimension then.
It's personal experience and i have at least did 40,000 km (changed to the same tires after the old one used in two years) with that powerblizt, it gave me confidence to go as fast as 100kmh in wet provided visibility is acceptable like 50 meters. Yea i have no video or official data but with neo3 100kmh im not that confidence. Had to reduce to 90kmh max.

It could probably be another factor like SC pomen said my front stabilizer has worn off and suspension already clock more than two years and the car now has been driven for more than 205,000 km already so it might contribute to instability regardless of what tires used. I used powerblizt during the first and second change so it felt good probably because the car was still new. There you go
Jasonlee1603
post May 22 2015, 11:04 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(PedangGila @ May 22 2015, 03:56 PM)
It's personal experience and i have at least did 40,000 km (changed to the same tires after the old one used in two years) with that powerblizt, it gave me confidence to go as fast as 100kmh in wet provided visibility is acceptable like 50 meters. Yea i have no video or official data but with neo3 100kmh im not that confidence. Had to reduce to 90kmh max.

It could probably be another factor like SC pomen said my front stabilizer has worn off and suspension already clock more than two years and the car now has been driven for more than 205,000 km already so it might contribute to instability regardless of what tires used. I used powerblizt during the first and second change so it felt good probably because the car was still new. There you go
As for me I really don't favor Silverstone tyres at all due to bad experience. So far the best tyre I've used is Michelin XM2. Really long lasting and quiet for the first few K's of km. However as the tyre hits the 35k KM mark, the tyre starts performing badly. The side tread starts to peel and it gets so much more noisier, to the extent that I'm willing to trade in those for the J5 although it still has about 50% tread left.
PedangGila
post May 22 2015, 11:13 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(Jasonlee1603 @ May 22 2015, 11:04 PM)
As for me I really don't favor Silverstone tyres at all due to bad experience. So far the best tyre I've used is Michelin XM2. Really long lasting and quiet for the first few K's of km. However as the tyre hits the 35k KM mark, the tyre starts performing badly. The side tread starts to peel and it gets so much more noisier, to the extent that I'm willing to trade in those for the J5 although it still has about 50% tread left.
35k is good for i think because most of the tires i used dont last more than 25k. The worst was goodyear nct5. I wonder how this J5 will perform. The price is really attractive and hopefully it can withstand a few abuse.
Jasonlee1603
post May 22 2015, 11:46 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(PedangGila @ May 22 2015, 11:13 PM)
35k is good for i think because most of the tires i used dont last more than 25k. The worst was goodyear nct5. I wonder how this J5 will perform. The price is really attractive and hopefully it can withstand a few abuse.
So far I've travelled about 1.2k km on this set of tyres. Have to really give credits to it for the performance and comfort it offers. Glad that I've went for this tyre as I was contemplating between the C Drive 2 or this set. Really happy with it. The best part is as I travel, the tyre gets more quiet without any noticeable changes in grip. Thumbs up. thumbup.gif
TSCalebraj
post May 26 2015, 01:10 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(IiBbMm @ May 20 2015, 11:40 AM)
Any reason for your dun like Goodyear? Myself dun like rubbish Silverstone. And my car is riding on Bridgestone EP200, just dun like these donuts. What are the differences between D05 vs J5?
Don't like good year, as i think it's average grip/performance for much more expensive cost.
I guess it would be personal reasons. (always very hard after using it for 2 years-stiff tyres)

The difference between the D-05 and J5, is the D-05 is more of a performance tyre. And it's only available from certain 15 inch onwards.
While the J5 is more of a comfort tyres.

To be, the EP200 is noisy, even though it should be a LRR tyres.

IiBbMm
post May 27 2015, 09:44 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(Calebraj @ May 26 2015, 01:10 PM)
Don't like good year, as i think it's average grip/performance for much more expensive cost.
I guess it would be personal reasons. (always very hard after using it for 2 years-stiff tyres)

The difference between the D-05 and J5, is the D-05 is more of a performance tyre. And it's only available from certain 15 inch onwards.
While the J5 is more of a comfort tyres.

To be, the EP200 is noisy, even though it should be a LRR tyres.
May I know which Goodyear donuts you had previously? If to choose between comfort + fuel saving VS comfort + abit performance, I will go to 2nd one due to safety concern that I guess performance tyre has better handling and stability resulting in better safety compare to comfort tyre for normal average car drivers. Now in my mind, thinking which 1 to go, Goodyear Assurance Triplemax VS Dunlop D05 ? Any Goodyear Triplemax users can review ..? Thanks.

This post has been edited by IiBbMm: May 27 2015, 09:46 AM
TSCalebraj
post May 27 2015, 04:03 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(IiBbMm @ May 27 2015, 09:44 AM)
May I know which Goodyear donuts you had previously? If to choose between comfort + fuel saving VS comfort + abit performance, I will go to 2nd one due to safety concern that I guess performance tyre has better handling and stability resulting in better safety compare to comfort tyre for normal average car drivers. Now in my mind, thinking which 1 to go, Goodyear Assurance Triplemax VS Dunlop D05 ? Any Goodyear Triplemax users can review ..? Thanks.
I tried the Ducaro GA, GT3 and Duraplus before.
Didn't like all of them, as at times in wet, it will skid (for those used above 1 year from brand new).
So never again will i try. But i do note that the Eagle F1 range is damn good! Have to be said.
kethon27
post Jun 1 2015, 11:11 AM

111 posts

Bought J5 at RM110ea (175/70/13).
It is very comfortable tyre and very "floating" feeling while doing cornering (>80KMPH). I think due to huge sidewall..
TSCalebraj
post Jun 2 2015, 10:00 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(kethon27 @ Jun 1 2015, 11:11 AM)
Bought J5 at RM110ea (175/70/13).
It is very comfortable tyre and very "floating" feeling while doing cornering (>80KMPH). I think due to huge sidewall..
profile 70 sure like that. As the J5 have a softer sidewall compared to other brands. But hey, it works well so you don't feel "lubang" and gravel road as much as other brands. Hehe.

zzzhhhzzz
post Jun 18 2015, 01:07 PM

1,671 posts

hi guys does this dunlop j5 last as long as xm2 ? was considering this tyre as well.. how much do you reckon it will cost for a 185/65/14 tyre ?
TSCalebraj
post Jun 18 2015, 06:06 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(zzzhhhzzz @ Jun 18 2015, 01:07 PM)
hi guys does this dunlop j5 last as long as xm2 ? was considering this tyre as well.. how much do you reckon it will cost for a 185/65/14 tyre ?
Should be about as long, or longer due to better thread life.
XM2 compound will get hard after about 2 years, thus your grip would be lesser. J5 not sure, as the tyre only been out since early this year. But they claim is tropical weather friendly, so we will see...
IiBbMm
post Jun 23 2015, 09:58 AM

84 posts

[quote=Calebraj,Jun 18 2015, 06:06 PM]
Should be about as long, or longer due to better thread life.
XM2 compound will get hard after about 2 years, thus your grip would be lesser. J5 not sure, as the tyre only been out since early this year. But they claim is tropical weather friendly, so we will see...

[/quo

Any difference between D05 vs J5?
TSCalebraj
post Jun 24 2015, 12:23 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(IiBbMm @ Jun 23 2015, 09:58 AM)
Any difference between D05 vs J5?
Yes, it does. As the J5 is more of a comfort tyres, while the D-05 is more performance based tyres.
Unless your rims are above 15 inch, then the D05 sizes is available. If not, then only the J5 or the J3 is available for your rims.
iamoracle
post Jun 25 2015, 11:07 AM

614 posts

Just changed all 4 tyres to J5 195/60 R15. Old set was Yokohama C.drive2.

Though same size as the old C.drive2, I noticed its width is smaller. Optical illusion maybe.

I feel my car a little bit bumpy. Not sure if it was due to incorrect air pressure. No time to check yet.

Less road noise when on the move. Quiet indeed but time will tell after the wear and tear. The grip is as good as C.drive2. Feel stable when cornering.

A good buy and value for money.

This post has been edited by iamoracle: Jun 25 2015, 11:15 AM
zzzhhhzzz
post Jun 25 2015, 05:30 PM

1,671 posts

QUOTE(iamoracle @ Jun 25 2015, 11:07 AM)

Though same size as the old C.drive2, I noticed its width is smaller. Optical illusion maybe.

I feel my car a little bit bumpy. Not sure if it was due to incorrect air pressure. No time to check yet.

Less road noise when on the move. Quiet indeed but time will tell after the wear and tear. The grip is as good as C.drive2. Feel stable when cornering.

how much and where did you change you tyres ?
iamoracle
post Jun 30 2015, 09:12 AM

614 posts

QUOTE(iamoracle @ Jun 25 2015, 11:07 AM)

Just to give you a little update. I discovered one of the rear tyre wasn't properly inflated with the correct pressure. My car doesn't feel as bumpy as before now. biggrin.gif rclxms.gif

After about a week of using, it exceeded my expectation on tyre of this price range. thumbup.gif

iamoracle
post Jun 30 2015, 09:19 AM

614 posts

QUOTE(zzzhhhzzz @ Jun 25 2015, 05:30 PM)
how much and where did you change you tyres ?
RM180 inclusive of GST at Citicars Garden. Free balancing and alignment.

I think you can get it cheaper elsewhere if you search it on Mudah.my.

The advertised price on Mudah.my may be before GST added in and there is an additional 3% charge if using credit card. Citicars doesn't impose additional charge for credit card.

nujikabane
post Jul 27 2015, 01:04 AM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

Is J5 a replacement for J3 ?
If that is the case, then wouldn't the quality be somewhat similar?
Jasonlee1603
post Jul 27 2015, 01:15 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Jul 27 2015, 01:04 AM)
Is J5 a replacement for J3 ?
If that is the case, then wouldn't the quality be somewhat similar?
Not too sure about that. But as I know, the J5 has newer tread patterns and it's now made by Continental. Not sure about the J3 though as it's quite an old product already?
braline
post Jul 28 2015, 12:05 AM

38 posts

just changed to Dunlop J5 185/60/14 today.
Could not find the manufacturing date of the tyre
anyone else have the same issue ?

is the manufacturing date on the inside on the tyre ?
chng5255
post Jul 28 2015, 10:45 AM

109 posts

Any shop offering good price for this tire size 195 60R15 around Klang area? ( Preferably along Jalan Kapar)
chng5255
post Jul 28 2015, 10:45 AM

109 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by chng5255: Jul 28 2015, 10:46 AM
TSCalebraj
post Jul 29 2015, 12:22 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(Jasonlee1603 @ Jul 27 2015, 01:15 AM)
Not too sure about that. But as I know, the J5 has newer tread patterns and it's now made by Continental. Not sure about the J3 though as it's quite an old product already?
Both the J5 and J3 is a different model, targeting for different market segment anyway.
And yes, the J3 have been around for more than 1 year (maybe 2 years plus even).

Rule of thumb- if you got J3 and the J5 in the same size, go for J5 instead. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSCalebraj
post Jul 29 2015, 12:25 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(braline @ Jul 28 2015, 12:05 AM)
just changed to Dunlop J5  185/60/14 today.
Could not find the manufacturing date of the tyre
anyone else have the same issue ?

is the manufacturing date on the inside on the tyre ?
Yes, the manufacturing date is inside the tyre, thus make it hard for us as end user to find the info.
So is the indicator for the rain/dry grip. As it is on the thread on the inner side.

Not sure why they did that though.
chng5255
post Aug 1 2015, 12:15 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(iamoracle @ Jun 30 2015, 09:12 AM)
Just to give you a little update. I discovered one of the rear tyre wasn't properly inflated with the correct pressure. My car doesn't feel as bumpy as before now.  biggrin.gif  rclxms.gif

After about a week of using, it exceeded my expectation on tyre of this price range.  thumbup.gif
Hi, how much you inflate? My car stated inflate 230kpa for front and 210kpa for rear base on oem size 185/65R15. Now front change to J5 195/60R15 and not sure whether to follow the same pressure.
ktek
post Aug 1 2015, 02:16 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

QUOTE(chng5255 @ Aug 1 2015, 12:15 PM)
Hi, how much you inflate? My car stated inflate 230kpa for front and 210kpa for rear base on oem size 185/65R15. Now front change to J5 195/60R15 and not sure whether to follow the same pressure.
put same pressure first as base line, because pressure is different from volume.
smon80
post Aug 26 2015, 01:13 PM

100 posts

What is the current price for 185/65/R14? I am looking to change 4 biji.
Currently using Pireli, was goods been running 60k plus. Now the donut looks harden.

HughieRmX
post Sep 9 2015, 03:22 PM

::.. ♬|♪ HaRdC0Re TrAnCE AddiCT ♬|♪..::
3,394 posts

First time trying to use Dunlop tire - just changed to J3 this morning .. I wonder how it goes
barbican
post Sep 12 2015, 07:02 AM

13 posts

Anyone, what tire is suitable for travelling job? Currently Im using falken for my viva but its looks not so ok. Have a crack everywhere. wacko.gif wacko.gif
megat89
post Sep 12 2015, 01:33 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Sep 9 2015, 03:22 PM)
First time trying to use Dunlop tire - just changed to J3 this morning .. I wonder how it goes
j3 is very old tyre..not that good when raining..j5 is way better..

This post has been edited by megat89: Sep 12 2015, 01:33 PM
leehernandez
post Sep 12 2015, 02:46 PM

QUOTE(barbican @ Sep 12 2015, 07:02 AM)
Anyone, what tire is suitable for travelling job? Currently  Im using falken for my viva but its looks not so ok. Have a crack everywhere.  wacko.gif  wacko.gif
dunlop j5 available for viva size.
barbican
post Sep 12 2015, 05:10 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Sep 12 2015, 02:46 PM)
Dunlop j5 how much now the price?
HughieRmX
post Sep 14 2015, 01:54 PM

::.. ♬|♪ HaRdC0Re TrAnCE AddiCT ♬|♪..::
3,394 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Sep 12 2015, 02:46 PM)
Really ? I wonder why they didn't recommend me ..
guess they wanted to clear the old stocks .. sleep.gif
Jasonlee1603
post Sep 21 2015, 08:01 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(barbican @ Sep 12 2015, 05:10 PM)
Dunlop j5 how much now the price?
Saw Dunlop J5 promo back in July @ RM98 per piece. Not sure about now though.

Jee88
post Sep 22 2015, 11:28 PM

94 posts

Guys. Any Citicars branch u all would recommend?
smon80
post Sep 23 2015, 01:07 PM

100 posts

How much Citicars charge for valve replacement? because there only include balancing, aligmnent and nitro gas only.
Jee88
post Sep 23 2015, 09:28 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(smon80 @ Sep 23 2015, 01:07 PM)
How much Citicars charge for valve replacement? because there only include balancing, aligmnent and nitro gas only.
44 for steel valves. 36 i think for rubber valves.

I paid 140/tyre. Size 185/60/R14 rclxms.gif
carlonese
post Oct 16 2015, 08:55 AM

46 posts

size 15/55/195 for J5 hve?
pacikmuda
post Oct 24 2015, 08:43 PM

25 posts

Tukar tayar dr Silverstone p dunlop j5..damn,xterfikir bole dapat tyr brand ni dgn hrga 195..Saiz195/60/15..kualiti??absolutely..syg xtkr 4 sekali..getah lembut compare to Silverstone.n mmg senyap berbnding silverstone..suitable for dry n wet condition..
carlonese
post Oct 27 2015, 09:26 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(Joeyskullz @ Mar 28 2015, 07:41 AM)
I'm gonna try this tyre see how good it is. If not change it back to Hankook.  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_idea.gif
hankook what model boss?
peet
post Nov 2 2015, 01:30 AM

397 posts

Just replaced my almost bald stock Goodyear tyres with Dunlop 185/60/14. The difference is immediate. Dunlop are much quieter and comfortable.

Paid RM145 x 4 = RM580 + 6% GST = RM614.80.

ArthurHew
post Nov 2 2015, 07:40 AM

149 posts

So far any criticize for J5? Haha.
Musikl
post Nov 2 2015, 10:58 PM

265 posts

I just changed my stock silverstones 195/55/15 (6k mileage) to j5 195/60/15. Immediate difference is theyre quieter. Cornering is abit weird. Feels like rubbery at the start of a corner. Probably because of the thicker sidewall.
Pressured at 32psi using N2.

bought them for 180/piece. Totaled RM664.20 after trading in stock tyres (rm100), inc balancing, N2 and alignment.
marvinben
post Nov 2 2015, 11:02 PM

249 posts

Drove them in heavy rain today. Excellent grip! No hydroplaning.
marvin_teow
post Nov 9 2015, 03:13 PM

210 posts

just ask citicars, their 175/60/13 now is RM115...hmm...I think better than take Falken SN828 right?
leehernandez
post Nov 9 2015, 03:15 PM

QUOTE(marvin_teow @ Nov 9 2015, 03:13 PM)
just ask citicars, their 175/60/13 now is RM115...hmm...I think better than take Falken SN828 right?
175/60/13 use for what car?and how much is sn828?i thought not being produced already as now have sn832?

This post has been edited by leehernandez: Nov 9 2015, 03:17 PM
marvin_teow
post Nov 9 2015, 03:18 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Nov 9 2015, 04:15 PM)
175/60/13 use for what car?
my old saga blm, 7 years old car, hahaha, all the while i use falken sn828, but frankly speaking, during wet road, really can buang, I only dare to drive 60km/h max during wet road, because I change my rear tyre every year since 2013, then current front tyre was poncek b4, thats why think to change lor, since J5 made by continental, give it a try then
leehernandez
post Nov 9 2015, 06:17 PM

QUOTE(marvin_teow @ Nov 9 2015, 03:18 PM)
my old saga blm, 7 years old car, hahaha, all the while i use falken sn828, but frankly speaking, during wet road, really can buang, I only dare to drive 60km/h max during wet road, because I change my rear tyre every year since 2013, then current front tyre was poncek b4, thats why think to change lor, since J5 made by continental, give it a try then
i think it is 175/70/13.can give a try.very good review. tried my friends car quiet and comfort ride.he bought rm 100 exlude gst.
marvin_teow
post Nov 9 2015, 06:59 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Nov 9 2015, 07:17 PM)
i think it is 175/70/13.can give a try.very good review. tried my friends car quiet and comfort ride.he bought rm 100 exlude gst.
so cheap? where he bought? KL area?
marvin_teow
post Nov 10 2015, 03:04 PM

210 posts

hahaha, lucky i also found the RM100 (exclude GST), well after drive, feel very different, especially use on the rear tyre, I want to say, Dunlop after acquired by Continental, quality improve a lot, no longer cheapo quality
DoomHammer
post Nov 19 2015, 04:09 PM

228 posts

I am wondering,size for my car is available or not? 165/65 R14?
leehernandez
post Nov 20 2015, 02:11 PM

QUOTE(DoomHammer @ Nov 19 2015, 04:09 PM)
I am wondering,size for my car is available or not? 165/65 R14?
is this the mitsubishi car stock tyres??
very hard to find size.
either change to 175/65/14 or 165/60/14 easier to get tyre.
DoomHammer
post Nov 20 2015, 02:50 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Nov 20 2015, 02:11 PM)
is this the mitsubishi car stock tyres??
very hard to find size.
either change to 175/65/14 or 165/60/14 easier to get tyre.
Yes Mitsu Mirage. Very difficult to find this size. If I change to other size, I will get error on my Speedo & ODO... hmm.gif
leehernandez
post Nov 20 2015, 06:13 PM

QUOTE(DoomHammer @ Nov 20 2015, 02:50 PM)
Yes Mitsu Mirage. Very difficult to find this size. If I change to other size, I will get error on my Speedo & ODO...  hmm.gif
a little bit lor.but the 165/65/14 can get hankook brand. new tyre have this size. as i know is a bit costly than those common size tyres.
Compelica
post Nov 24 2015, 02:45 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

Just swapped my Avanza from XM2s to Dunlop J5s - let's see how it is smile.gif
layzieboy
post Nov 30 2015, 09:51 AM

496 posts

my myvi front tyres are pretty bald already but rear still seems to be in good shape.
Thinking of changing just the front pair. Is it ok to get slightly wider tires, 185/60/r14?

Any adverse effects? Stock myvi is 175/65/r14. So tire height will be a little lower.

oops wrong thread blush.gif .. but my intention is in getting the j5..

This post has been edited by layzieboy: Nov 30 2015, 09:59 AM
halcyon27
post Nov 30 2015, 10:21 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(layzieboy @ Nov 30 2015, 09:51 AM)
my myvi front tyres are pretty bald already but rear still seems to be in good shape.
Thinking of changing just the front pair. Is it ok to get slightly wider tires, 185/60/r14?

Any adverse effects? Stock myvi is 175/65/r14. So tire height will be a little lower.

oops wrong thread  blush.gif .. but my intention is in getting the j5..
Going wider gains stability at the price on fuel economy. It'll wipe out 3-5km/l. I suggest to retain width. Don't know if Myvi or these tyres goes with 165/70R14 but I'll say that's pushing the envelope on road handling.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Nov 30 2015, 10:22 AM
layzieboy
post Nov 30 2015, 11:31 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Nov 30 2015, 10:21 AM)
Going wider gains stability at the price on fuel economy. It'll wipe out 3-5km/l. I suggest to retain width. Don't know if Myvi or these tyres goes with 165/70R14 but I'll say that's pushing the envelope on road handling.
its from 175/65 to 185/60, not 165/70. So much difference on fuel comsumption shocking.gif ?
leehernandez
post Nov 30 2015, 11:46 AM

QUOTE(layzieboy @ Nov 30 2015, 11:31 AM)
its from 175/65 to 185/60, not 165/70. So much difference on fuel comsumption  shocking.gif ?
my previous myvi change from 175/65 to 185/60 not much different.
halcyon27
post Nov 30 2015, 11:52 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(layzieboy @ Nov 30 2015, 11:31 AM)
its from 175/65 to 185/60, not 165/70. So much difference on fuel comsumption  shocking.gif ?
Yes. The narrower the tyre, the narrower the contact patch but have to beware of wet. Initial batches of hybrid always go for 165 or 175. The Insight and City and Jazz uses 185 but in US they initially use 175 with Eco tyres. Some on 16" 6.0JJ width even downgrade to 15" 5.5 JJ width then pakai 175/65.

This is the first principle of fuel economy but cannot be overly extreme and pakai too narrow. Each car model has a minimum for safety and handling perspective.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Nov 30 2015, 11:53 AM
shirohamada
post Dec 6 2015, 05:24 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Nov 30 2015, 11:52 AM)
Yes. The narrower the tyre, the narrower the contact patch but have to beware of wet. Initial batches of hybrid always go for 165 or 175. The Insight and City and Jazz uses 185 but in US they initially use 175 with Eco tyres. Some on 16" 6.0JJ width even downgrade to 15" 5.5 JJ width then pakai 175/65.

This is the first principle of fuel economy but cannot be overly extreme and pakai too narrow. Each car model has a minimum for safety and handling perspective.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HPh90yNX-mY
halcyon27
post Dec 6 2015, 09:00 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(shirohamada @ Dec 6 2015, 05:24 PM)
Wow, 125mm width on 468hp. Drift at every turn with traction control off. One man's caution is somebody else's adrenaline rush.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 6 2015, 09:03 PM
raidonymous
post Dec 8 2015, 03:37 PM

163 posts

Thinking of getting Dunlop J5 get quoted from tyre shop regarding to the price

RM145/pcs for 185/65/R14 inclu. GST

But the boss saying, don't have so much review on this DUNLOP. Cause order from continental malaysia and he don't think the tyre is quiet. How's the tyre noise from all sifu2.
leehernandez
post Dec 8 2015, 04:03 PM

QUOTE(raidonymous @ Dec 8 2015, 03:37 PM)

But the boss saying, don't have so much review on this DUNLOP. Cause order from continental malaysia and he don't think the tyre is quiet. How's the tyre noise from all sifu2.
tried this tyre when newly changed,quiet type..so far so good.no noise.
jeffrey2020
post Dec 8 2015, 04:22 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(raidonymous @ Dec 8 2015, 03:37 PM)

For above u say , Is this for Myvi tyre size ? Very cheap price u got from there , mind to share the shop ?
raidonymous
post Dec 8 2015, 05:45 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(jeffrey2020 @ Dec 8 2015, 05:22 PM)
For above u say , Is this for Myvi tyre size ? Very cheap price u got from there , mind to share the shop ?
Yeah man, stock myvi came with 175/65/R14 (if i'm not mistaken). GOODWOOD tyre shop @ Taman Desawan, Klang.
eelynsoon
post Dec 9 2015, 06:13 PM

49 posts

i thought of getting a michelin ps3 but was recommended to get this instead. as according to the guy this model is more or less similar to michelin... and its cheap... any comment?

so i tot if d05 is cheaper and yet near to ps3 might as well get smtg cheaper in order to save cost... coz i only tot of changing 2 front tires for ps3.. but my existing tires alrdy 4 yrs old... however still good except that it has harden up alrdy. i seldom drive.. my milage is about 13k km only..
Musikl
post Dec 12 2015, 08:51 AM

265 posts

Bought my j5 2 months back. Mileage around 2000km. Is this type of wear normal? Seems like bad composition design to me.

This post has been edited by Musikl: Dec 12 2015, 08:53 AM

[Ancient]-XinG-
post Dec 12 2015, 10:37 AM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

QUOTE(Musikl @ Dec 12 2015, 08:51 AM)
Bought my j5 2 months back. Mileage around 2000km. Is this type of wear normal? Seems like bad composition design to me.
I noticed almost every car in klang valley have this problem... Mainly due to the road condition in klang valley.

Lorry +busses make the road spoiled.
shirohamada
post Dec 12 2015, 01:34 PM

944 posts

Looks like a softer compound.
Did you hoon around?
Are you satisfied with the grip, comfort and noise?
If yes, it's normal.

You're probably just used to those hard eco tyres.
Musikl
post Dec 12 2015, 07:28 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(shirohamada @ Dec 12 2015, 01:34 PM)
Looks like a softer compound.
Did you hoon around?
Are you satisfied with the grip, comfort and noise?
If yes, it's normal.

You're probably just used to those hard eco tyres.
Yeah I suppose the wear for softer compound tyre is like this. I attack corner in full speed without much braking. Full confident with them. Haven't tried emergency stop yet. Previous tyres (silverstone m5) made my car skidded.
Noise wise, better than m5. Abit bouncy haha.. Less road feedback on potholes etc
haze
post Dec 14 2015, 02:45 AM

383 posts

Hi, just wanna give a short review for my J5. fitted to a proton savvy with 165/60 R14 tyres. Have used it for approx 1000km so i think this review is pretty preliminary.

Im gonna compare it to the previous tyres, goodyear NCT 5.

1. Price - Well the same goodyear tyre costs RM185/tyre while this J5 costs RM155/tyre. So J5 wins.

2. Noise - The noise is considerably quieter than the outgoing NCT 5. i give high praise for such a silent tyre. Two thumbs up.

3. Ride - For some reason it feels floaty compared to the NCT 5, probably because its softer? Anyway due to it making less noise, i have a tendency to think that its not making enough contact with the road. but that just probably my feeling. Overall, its a pretty comfortable tyre.

3. Dry Handling - comparing it to the NCT 5, there is no major difference to the feeling of handling. But due to its soft sidewall, i can feel that there is a bit of 'depression' on the tyres if there im doing a hard cornering. In all, it does it jobs well.

4. Wet Handing - Now here comes the interesting part. As we are in the raining season, i had many chances to test this tyre in the wet. And it gives be quite a bit of mixed feeling. Seems like this tyres have a tendency to hydroplane if you traverse in mid-depth puddles. Be advised to not drive hard in very wet/torrential rain weather. For normal rain/light rain, i feel that this tyre does its jobs perfectly. Also, grip while cornering in normal/light rain is good. Just remember to not drive/corner fast during hard rain as i think this tyre cant handle it. Comparing to the outgoing NCT 5 i believe that it performs slightly better (as i have a few near tail slides while on the NCT 5).

5. Fuel consumption - Ive read somewhere that it is suppose to have less rolling resistance? Cant really feel it. Anyway from my testing there seems to be no difference in fuel consumption while using this tyre.

In conclusion, i feel that this tyre performs well for its price range. Also kudos as it is available in many sizes so you should have no problem in finding the right tyre for your car. I would say that this is a good budget tyre with good performance and price. Just remember its not a racing tyre, so drive safe.
N33d
post Dec 14 2015, 02:47 PM

896 posts

more like a bad alignment/under inflation to me or u like cornering fast
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Dec 14 2015, 06:06 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Dec 14 2015, 02:47 PM)
more like a bad alignment/under inflation to me  or u like cornering fast
I think is þe problem of soft tyres. I am using re003 and having same thing on the front pair. Not really alignment problem..... clocking 3000km
Musikl
post Dec 14 2015, 06:38 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Dec 14 2015, 02:47 PM)
more like a bad alignment/under inflation to me  or u like cornering fast
Both inner and outer sides the same thing. Front and back. I think cause I go fast around corners. Picture was taken on LPT, after Karak highway...
halcyon27
post Dec 17 2015, 05:31 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(Musikl @ Dec 14 2015, 06:38 PM)
Both inner and outer sides the same thing. Front and back. I think cause I go fast around corners. Picture was taken on LPT, after Karak highway...
That's a sure sign of under inflation exacerbated by aggressive cornering. Over inflation would cause the middle to botak fast. Up the pressure by 4-6PSI above rated.
nickcct
post Jan 10 2016, 11:50 AM

Une Vie Fantastique
2,847 posts

Just change to J5 175/65/14 for 159 (Include GST).
The shop comment that in term of performance almost on par with Conti CC5, just CC5 will be more quiet. Since it come from same factory with Conti, then just decided to change to this.
leehernandez
post Jan 11 2016, 10:26 AM

QUOTE(nickcct @ Jan 10 2016, 11:50 AM)
The shop comment that in term of performance almost on par with Conti CC5, just CC5 will be more quiet. Since it come from same factory with Conti, then just decided to change to this.
change at citicars???
nickcct
post Jan 12 2016, 08:36 AM

Une Vie Fantastique
2,847 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Jan 11 2016, 10:26 AM)
change at citicars???
Nope. Shop nearby my house, somewhere in Pandan Jaya.
TSCalebraj
post Jan 26 2016, 11:11 PM

452 posts

I actually am impress with this model of tyres that i change the same model for my wife's car.
All tyre outlet says this J5 is their top seller (the shop i changed the tyre stacked the J5 until the roof- about 80% of all tyres are the J5 model) currently.

But my wife car is only 155/70r12, got it for RM 110 a piece.

Was using the GT Radial Classiro tyres.
Darn, it is so much difference campaign these 2 tyres. The J5 absorb the road bumps better, cornering better, steering feedback better and fuel economy also better. Also softer compound makes things more quiet inside.

Most importantly, the non-powered steering is easier to turn. Even my wife can feel the difference when she drives.
TSCalebraj
post Jan 26 2016, 11:22 PM

452 posts

On a side note, because my tyre pressure is +3 PSI more, the centre of the tyre is starting to go slight more botak. The small line is now no where to be seen...
mofisa
post Feb 22 2016, 03:33 PM

Just changed to J5. In searching of a good affordable tires, i found this T5 is excellence.. before this i change two of my 185/60/14 to viking citytech5 and put at the front. The dry grip is good. Love it. rm138/pc incl. GST.
Now changed to J5 and put it at the front. the dry grip is acceptable. Wet grip is marvellous. but the best part is the price. Only rm120/pc. So far the best in term of price & quality.
eastwest
post Feb 22 2016, 03:42 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(Calebraj @ Mar 28 2015, 09:25 PM)
I am personally using it now, worth every penny!

Better Grip than my Formula D-01
Less noisy
Good grip indication for both dry and wet.
Gives good confidence while driving both weather.
Good value for money
Good looking pattern
Also low rolling resistance.

Overall: Good value for affordable tyre.

Tyre used before: Falken Sincera, GT Radial Champiro, Good Year Assurance, Dunlop Formula D-01, Continental CC1, Continental CC-5, Silverstone Synergy M5.

All mostly comfort Tyres.

Cheers.
compared to CC5, which one is better?
szaku89
post Feb 23 2016, 10:53 AM

Amazing Z
1,351 posts

QUOTE(nickcct @ Jan 10 2016, 11:50 AM)
Hi bro, after using the J5, what's your comment? Is it very quiet? If compared to CC5.
choonyink
post Feb 23 2016, 11:01 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(mofisa @ Feb 22 2016, 03:33 PM)
Just changed to J5. In searching of a good affordable tires, i found this T5 is excellence.. before this i change two of my 185/60/14 to viking citytech5 and put at the front. The dry grip is good. Love it. rm138/pc incl. GST.
Now changed to J5 and put it at the front. the dry grip is acceptable. Wet grip is marvellous. but the best part is the price. Only rm120/pc. So far the best in term of price & quality.
I am actually consider these 2 tyres, which provide better grip overally? Is J5 wet grip far superior than CT5? Please share some experience.
nickcct
post Feb 23 2016, 11:17 PM

Une Vie Fantastique
2,847 posts

QUOTE(szaku89 @ Feb 23 2016, 10:53 AM)
Hi bro, after using the J5, what's your comment? Is it very quiet? If compared to CC5.
Never use CC5, but J5 is quite comfort, worth the value.
mofisa
post Feb 24 2016, 09:20 AM

QUOTE(choonyink @ Feb 23 2016, 11:01 PM)
I am actually consider these 2 tyres, which provide better grip overally? Is J5 wet grip far superior than CT5? Please share some experience.
From my experience, CT5 gave better grip in corner (dry). But J5 is slightly better in wet. Now the car got both tyres; front J5 and back CT5. I am a weekly traveller kuantan-shah alam. With this set of tyres i can said it's a good bargain and the performance is quite good. My other car got a set of Michelin PS3. Of course the feeling is difference but this cheap tyres is somehow suprisingly good. smile.gif
BlaBlaBoy
post Feb 27 2016, 12:43 PM

Make Malaysia a peaceful land
1,028 posts

Changed last yrs. After a yrs of using, J5 is using new silica technology. Quiet and wet grip is good. Value for money
TSCalebraj
post Feb 27 2016, 07:15 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(eastwest @ Feb 22 2016, 03:42 PM)
compared to CC5, which one is better?
I personally prefer the J5 compared to the CC5 (despite the CC5 being more expensive).

The only thing good about cc5 is their quietness. But some people told me the tyre "haus" very fast.
But i guess it depends on your driving la.
windson7618
post Mar 1 2016, 11:46 AM

Hi mofisa, can share the shop location for RM120/pc J5 ? Thanks.
mofisa
post Mar 8 2016, 02:22 PM

QUOTE(windson7618 @ Mar 1 2016, 11:46 AM)
Hi mofisa, can share the shop location for RM120/pc J5 ? Thanks.
SKC tyre Seksyen 15 shah alam
cyclone9
post Mar 9 2016, 10:43 AM

War Kills Love , Love Save War
2,949 posts

QUOTE(mofisa @ Mar 8 2016, 02:22 PM)
SKC tyre Seksyen 15 shah alam
do they have branch near cheras?
mofisa
post Mar 10 2016, 10:38 AM

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Mar 9 2016, 10:43 AM)
do they have branch near cheras?
Not sure bro...ampang got 1 if i'm not mistaken.
leehernandez
post Mar 10 2016, 11:04 AM

QUOTE(mofisa @ Mar 10 2016, 10:38 AM)
Not sure bro...ampang got 1 if i'm not mistaken.
the price is trade in tyre price right?
mofisa
post Mar 11 2016, 08:14 AM

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Mar 10 2016, 11:04 AM)
the price is trade in tyre price right?
i think so
ardhawk
post Mar 11 2016, 04:46 PM

I Want V!
545 posts

Why u guys get it so cheap? Haha
Mine around RM 160/tyre, free install + balancing only
yshiuan
post Mar 13 2016, 11:45 PM

2,126 posts

How is it perform when compare to xm2?
Plan to chg tyre, need something better than xm2
14" rim btw
mrsu
post Mar 15 2016, 03:56 PM

358 posts

Dunlop J5 is a very good tires, especially when you are using ori kancil, I think this is the best tires available. I have 2 kancil,

One is modified 13 inch rim with 13 165 60 Dunlop J5, the grip is very good especially in wet, very quiet and good handling, I try hard braking and the braking power is very good.

other one is ori 12 inch rim, will be changing to this Dunlop J5 very soon, the Goodyear GPS tires that I used is the worse tires I ever tried, worse grip in dry and wet, skid when I emergency brake at 30km/h, can you imagine that? and botak very soon (40k km mileage and according to TWI).

I recommended this J5 to you if you want a cheap and good tires, my brother just changed XM2 in his vios and the rolling resistance performance is superb but not really good in term of grip.
wca
post Mar 27 2016, 02:43 PM

189 posts

glad that i found this thread, both well priced and reasonably good performance.

currently using goodyear duraplus front tyres, which is really tough and so far the wear condition has not been good after ~20,000 km, downside is loud and not comfortable!

one thing to check with you all before i go ahead and change my rear tyres, would like your input on J5's durability? roughly how many km this tyre can last (understanding it is depending on personal usage and road condition).

tq in advance

RagingCandy
post Apr 1 2016, 02:45 PM

205 posts

May I know what is the current price of this tyre for Myvi?
SUSSouzaDE
post Apr 1 2016, 02:48 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(mrsu @ Mar 15 2016, 03:56 PM)
Dunlop J5 is a very good tires, especially when you are using ori kancil, I think this is the best tires available. I have 2 kancil,

One is modified 13 inch rim with 13 165 60 Dunlop J5, the grip is very good especially in wet, very quiet and good handling, I try hard braking and the braking power is very good.

other one is ori 12 inch rim, will be changing to this Dunlop J5 very soon, the Goodyear GPS tires that I used is the worse tires I ever tried, worse grip in dry and wet, skid when I emergency brake at 30km/h, can you imagine that? and botak very soon (40k km mileage and according to TWI).

I recommended this J5 to you if you want a cheap and good tires, my brother just changed XM2 in his vios and the rolling resistance performance is superb but not really good in term of grip.
How much did you pay for the 165/60R13?
mrsu
post Apr 1 2016, 08:23 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(SouzaDE @ Apr 1 2016, 02:48 PM)
How much did you pay for the 165/60R13?
In sarawak tires are way more expensive. Rm150 with wheel balancing.
SUSTham
post Apr 2 2016, 08:31 AM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 25 2015, 06:38 AM)
Same here.

I just found out yesterday that my left front tire has developed a
sidewall bulge just several months old.

Dunlop J3.

The previous counterpart, SP 70E, apparently made in Indonesia, has
seems to be more reliable and has a good reputation on the net. One is
still on my left rear.

The quality of Dunlop tires has deteriorated since the days of the Aquajet
of the 70s to 80s and the Lemans J-Cinq in the 90s.

.:zep:.
post May 1 2016, 02:04 PM

1,120 posts

Just changed to this tyre. So far so good. Utterly smooth was passing thru bumps. the tyre is soft compound izzit? hope it lasts 2 years++

I bought for RM125 per pcs. 185/60 - 14 inch total of RM500 for all tyre. + RM20 rubber valve + wheel alignment RM25 + RM50 adjust chamber.

Total RM630.70 after GST.
Kaka23
post May 1 2016, 09:53 PM

8,259 posts

Anybody remember what size is proton wira stock type?

What is the pricing for the stock size if plan to use Dunlop J5?
TSCalebraj
post May 17 2016, 10:10 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ May 1 2016, 09:53 PM)
Anybody remember what size is proton wira stock type?

What is the pricing for the stock size if plan to use Dunlop J5?
Depends on whether yours is the Special Edition (last generation) of Wira or the old ones?

Old ones uses the 175/65R13.
While the SE edition uses a 215/35R16.

For pricing, i guess really depends on which area are you in, and what type of promotion the shop has.
Hope that answers.
TSCalebraj
post May 17 2016, 10:12 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(Tham @ Apr 2 2016, 08:31 AM)
Same here.

I just found out yesterday that my left front tire has developed a
sidewall bulge just several months old.

Dunlop J3.

The previous counterpart, SP 70E, apparently made in Indonesia, has
seems to be more reliable and has a good reputation on the net. One is
still on my left rear.
The quality of Dunlop tires has deteriorated since the days of the Aquajet
of the 70s to 80s and the Lemans J-Cinq in the 90s.
I guess those days, Dunlop has it good and bad days.
But the new model are licensed to Continental Malaysia for the whole brand. So i guess quality is better, and would be different than their international models elsewhere. And it is made in Continental Factory in Malaysia, thus i am confident to use it when i had the chance.

Never regret it since, and got another car of mine being on the same tyre too.

Kaka23
post May 17 2016, 07:05 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(Calebraj @ May 17 2016, 10:10 AM)
Depends on whether yours is the Special Edition (last generation) of Wira or the old ones?

Old ones uses the 175/65R13.
While the SE edition uses a 215/35R16.

For pricing, i guess really depends on which area are you in, and what type of promotion the shop has.
Hope that answers.
Thanks.. it is old model, not SE
yoshiki81
post May 29 2016, 03:10 PM

177 posts

Hi guys just a quick question..
Just change to Dunlop D05 205/55 R16 (Preve, carry 3 person)
As for rear tire pressure do I pump 28psi or more?
TSCalebraj
post May 30 2016, 12:35 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(yoshiki81 @ May 29 2016, 03:10 PM)
Hi guys just a quick question..
Just change to Dunlop D05 205/55 R16 (Preve, carry 3 person)
As for rear tire pressure do I pump 28psi or more?
I guess as a reference, use your original PSI recommendations. But i generally go up to 30 PSI on all my cars.

But i guess you can try ori first, then move on from there.
APX_GG
post Jun 4 2016, 08:37 PM

Hi guys, may I know price got SP Sport J5 165/55R/14 price? I'm living around KL area. wink.gif
ruzzaya
post Jun 6 2016, 03:39 PM

Just change my kelisa to this dunlop J5....rm150 for 165 60 r14 (.)
momuchi
post Jun 22 2016, 09:31 PM

1,065 posts

which one better for EXORA with standard 15 RIM

J05 or D05?

where shop selling cheapest now???

This post has been edited by momuchi: Jun 23 2016, 05:28 AM
leehernandez
post Jun 23 2016, 10:46 AM

QUOTE(momuchi @ Jun 22 2016, 09:31 PM)
which one better for EXORA with standard 15 RIM

J05 or D05?

where shop selling cheapest now???
exora size usually is the j5 only.dont have d05 for high profile series 15 inch.
momuchi
post Jun 24 2016, 12:30 PM

1,065 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Jun 23 2016, 10:46 AM)
exora size usually is the j5 only.dont have d05 for high profile series 15 inch.
what about wet condition??
TSCalebraj
post Jun 26 2016, 11:01 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(momuchi @ Jun 24 2016, 12:30 PM)
what about wet condition??
D05 is more for performance tyres.
While the J5 is more for comfort.

Surely the D05 is better, but also more expensive, and only can use it above 15 inch.
So depending on your pocket also lah...
feralee
post Jun 30 2016, 09:58 AM

Enthusiastic (R)(C)(tm)
4,897 posts

Will change my tires this saturday at skc Ampang front

Quoted RM 153.70 for 185/65/14.
zionanubis
post Jul 2 2016, 02:29 PM

27 posts

Changed my Atos 165/60 R13 to this today at cheras Batu13(near kajang town), at Rm135 per pc

This post has been edited by zionanubis: Jul 2 2016, 11:07 PM
TSCalebraj
post Jul 2 2016, 03:27 PM

452 posts

How are you guys feeling with other sizes?
Happy with what you have?

Do share your experience, as this is where we share ideas and thoughts, for others to benefit them.
Just a user here that is impressed with this model of tyres.

My tyres centre part starting to boats due to slightly over-inflate my tyres. Using 33 PSI normally, maybe that is why.
Haha.
putra23
post Jul 6 2016, 11:21 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(RoschaCH @ Jul 6 2016, 10:07 PM)
Unbelievable that Penang can get better price than in KL.
In general, klang valley can get more competitive pricing. Looks like Penang wins for this round. Which shop?
putra23
post Jul 7 2016, 10:08 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(RoschaCH @ Jul 7 2016, 08:03 AM)
Advance Tyre & Car Care in Sg. Ara. Penang price usually 10% to 20% higher than in klang valley.
Thx. Higher cost coz bridge toll. Mainland slightly cheaper compared to island.
tokdukun
post Jul 21 2016, 01:39 PM

376 posts

Does anyone know where to find this tyre size 185/65/R15? Location around klang valley, I'm willing to go, quite difficult to find this size for J5.
raidonymous
post Jul 22 2016, 12:05 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(tokdukun @ Jul 21 2016, 02:39 PM)
Does anyone know where to find this tyre size 185/65/R15? Location around klang valley, I'm willing to go, quite difficult to find this size for J5.
tumpang post, I looking for same 15" J5 too. Been to continental tyre shop said the boss no longer bring in this J5. But remmend me CC5 for RM160/pcs + 6% gst. lol!

I get 185/65/R14 J5 for RM145/pcs include GST last year december, any latest pricing for now?!

This post has been edited by raidonymous: Jul 22 2016, 12:10 PM
tokdukun
post Jul 22 2016, 01:46 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(raidonymous @ Jul 22 2016, 12:05 PM)
tumpang post, I looking for same 15" J5 too. Been to continental tyre shop said the boss no longer bring in this J5. But remmend me CC5 for RM160/pcs + 6% gst. lol!

I get 185/65/R14 J5 for RM145/pcs include GST last year december, any latest pricing for now?!
Not too bad price for cc5, but not interested too, cuz cc6 is already out for 195/55/R15. I suppose it's probably worth waiting conti msia to officially launch cc6, then other sizes will start to appear.
KL_menJERIT
post Aug 13 2016, 07:59 PM

340 posts

want to change my viva elite tyre
survey...and i choose this tyre
next week want to change

Dunlop J5 165/60/R14 RM140 exclude gst

tyre = rm560
tiub = rm40
alignment = rm18
balancing = free

total rm618 + 6% gst = rm655.08

raayeop
post Aug 15 2016, 05:11 PM

QUOTE(KL_menJERIT @ Aug 13 2016, 07:59 PM)
want to change my viva elite tyre
survey...and i choose this tyre
next week want to change

Dunlop J5 165/60/R14 RM140 exclude gst

tyre = rm560
tiub = rm40
alignment = rm18
balancing = free

total rm618 + 6% gst = rm655.08
check out https://mytayar.com at your convenience...

TheReaderReads
post Aug 23 2016, 04:08 PM

701 posts

Guys!

Viking PT5 vs Dunlop J5.

Which bestest?

TQ
TSCalebraj
post Aug 25 2016, 10:43 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Aug 23 2016, 04:08 PM)
Guys!

Viking PT5 vs Dunlop J5.

Which bestest?

TQ
Dunlop for sure lo!

But Continental Malaysia Categories it this way:
(Cheapest till Premium)
Viking-Barum-Dunlop-Continental

TheReaderReads
post Aug 25 2016, 12:41 PM

701 posts

QUOTE(Calebraj @ Aug 25 2016, 10:43 AM)
Dunlop for sure lo!

But Continental Malaysia Categories it this way:
(Cheapest till Premium)
Viking-Barum-Dunlop-Continental
Thx man

Been asking around. Seem like i cant get a good price for J5. Rm170 for 195/60/15

Getting goodyear if im paying that price
TSCalebraj
post Aug 25 2016, 05:56 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Aug 25 2016, 12:41 PM)
Thx man

Been asking around. Seem like i cant get a good price for J5. Rm170 for 195/60/15

Getting goodyear if im paying that price
I got myself the same size for RM195 a piece!
Surely you are getting a better price compared to me already.
But mine is already about 1 year now...

Even got it for my wife's car because it makes a big difference even by the way it turns corner.
So much easier.
TheReaderReads
post Aug 25 2016, 06:54 PM

701 posts

QUOTE(laith @ Aug 25 2016, 01:42 PM)
Where do you get J5 Rm170 for 195/60/15?
Citicar rm170
Skc shah alam & tyre pro malaysia rm175

But like my responder mention, mine is a bargain. But i feel i cud get better...
TSCalebraj
post Aug 26 2016, 11:25 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(laith @ Aug 26 2016, 09:39 AM)
Thanks. That's a bargain. In JB lowest can go is RM190 exlcude GST.

I got feedback from an authorized Dunlop dealer, they are saying that they would not recommend J5 when he knows i'm currently using the old CC1, they get bad review from customers especially for travelling long distance, instead get a new Continental CC6 which is just RM30 more.

I'm not sure if this is due to their marketing strategy or better margin. Perhaps an honest verdict.
For sure the CC6 is a newer and more comfortable tyre.
But that is more for comfort tyre though. Not sure about long distance travel though.

I travel with my J5, and i don't have any complain.
aredill
post Aug 26 2016, 11:41 AM

64 posts

Been using J5 for several months (185/60/14).
Previously on Mich XM2, same size.

J5 just slightly comfort...just dont know how long it will last.
XM2 also comfort, but the rubber gradually hardened...4yrs using, thread still deep.
XM2 wet performance too superb compared to J5.
After my J5 hardened/bald....i'll go back to Mich

Juz my personal review...others might differ.

RigerZ
post Sep 17 2016, 06:55 PM

On the way on the way
1,012 posts

These tires dont have the date of production stamped on it? blink.gif

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
leehernandez
post Sep 18 2016, 11:37 AM

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Sep 17 2016, 06:55 PM)
These tires dont have the date of production stamped on it? blink.gif
its on the other side of the tyre.sure have date for each tyre.
RigerZ
post Sep 18 2016, 03:37 PM

On the way on the way
1,012 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Sep 18 2016, 11:37 AM)
its on the other side of the tyre.sure have date for each tyre.
quite unusual for them to put it on the inside of the tire hmm.gif
leehernandez
post Sep 19 2016, 01:30 PM

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Sep 18 2016, 03:37 PM)
quite unusual for them to put it on the inside of the tire  hmm.gif
just realised dunlop j5 model have date in the inner side wall.
TSCalebraj
post Sep 20 2016, 10:05 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Sep 19 2016, 01:30 PM)
just realised dunlop j5 model have date in the inner side wall.
Yes, same here when i found out.
But i guess that is the only complain i have on it. )-)-
nuekkacak
post Sep 20 2016, 11:06 PM

109 posts

This j5 can withstands high milage driving like 5000km per month? Currently use xm2.. almost botak for almost 60k run..

This post has been edited by nuekkacak: Sep 20 2016, 11:07 PM
choonyink
post Sep 21 2016, 12:51 AM

456 posts

Had j5 for about 3months hitting 6~7k mileage. Dry performance is good and wet performance is quite good too. Used to get alot skidding with kumho kh17 on wet even with light braking (cheap car no abs). So far on j5 no skid before on wet road.

Got XM2 in some other cars at home, give me similar feedback in dry and wet conditions. But xm2 is generally 10% more expensive than j5 from few shops i asked around pj. So give j5 a try to see if can find an alternative choice for next replacement.

But i think there are some other better choices, i were limited to these cuz of the tyre size, 185/70/14 lol
.:zep:.
post Sep 21 2016, 07:28 AM

1,120 posts

This tyre is very good but little bit floating in fast speed.
stevenng97
post Dec 4 2016, 02:53 PM

1,057 posts

any shop recommend for j5 15 195 55 price
RE57
post Dec 6 2016, 09:10 AM

103 posts

previous tyre: dunlop sp sport 300 (mileage ~100,000k, f/c ~20km/l)
condition of tyre just reached the wear indicator, not even botak.

changed recently to :dunlop sp sport J5 (hope to hit another 100k with this tyre, but f/c ~19km/l) much quieter compared to sport 300

overall i still feel good choice. at least Buatan malaysia mah.
amad108
post Jan 29 2017, 07:55 PM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

QUOTE(RE57 @ Dec 6 2016, 09:10 AM)

changed recently to :dunlop sp sport J5 (hope to hit another 100k with this tyre, but f/c ~19km/l) much quieter compared to sport 300

Wow.. last quite long ya
Jeff_lwh
post Feb 1 2017, 09:14 PM

294 posts

Bought 4x Dunlop SP Sport J5 at RM583.00 incl GST, Balancing, Alignment and RM20 for 4x normal wheel valves. Averaged RM142 / piece only. After traded in old tires.

Size: Hyundai i10 1.25... 165/60R14. Make 4116.
Shop: SKC Tyres Shah Alam
Date change: 30 Dec 2016.

Overall: Same feel as Formula D5. Great dry and wet grip, comfortable, silent... Best bang of the bucks.
N33d
post Feb 2 2017, 11:05 AM

896 posts

QUOTE(RE57 @ Dec 6 2016, 09:10 AM)

wow 100k km.. most of the time highway travel?
i do observe short trip and multi storey carpark shorten tires life a lot
halcyon27
post Feb 2 2017, 11:31 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Feb 2 2017, 11:05 AM)
wow 100k km.. most of the time highway travel?
i do observe short trip and multi storey carpark shorten tires life a lot
Multi story car park lots of cornering and some places the compound used in their car park pavement wears our tyre at a higher rate.
CasualMax
post Feb 10 2017, 08:40 AM

117 posts

Just changed from Goodyear Ducaro GA to Dunlop SP Sport J5 at RM 130 each including balancing, allignment and valve. Size: 185/60/14.

Noticed significant noise reduction, better dry grip but yet to test wet grip. Hopefully they can last long

This post has been edited by CasualMax: Feb 10 2017, 09:26 AM
N33d
post Feb 13 2017, 10:13 AM

896 posts

just curious how u guys test wet grip limit of the tire? jamming the brake on wet road? doing hard corner and see whether the car hold?
ktek
post Feb 13 2017, 11:29 AM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Feb 13 2017, 10:13 AM)
just curious how u guys test wet grip limit of the tire? jamming the brake on wet road? doing hard corner and see whether the car hold?
brake and hard corner only will not know. sendiri syok only.

use speedo meter + common road u pass.

there is a junction i always masuk @ 80kph with plenty random tyre. the car understeer out. i purposely see how bad it go.
so far not yet hit tiang or motor ah pek / pedestrian who not follow the red light

same pattern every day for pass 10yr becos i work there in and out.
so we have rainy day and sunny day.

brake is not easy becos the pad condition will affect. now car has abs will affect how i test. so i dunno.

anyway how do u test?

This post has been edited by ktek: Feb 13 2017, 12:03 PM
N33d
post Feb 14 2017, 10:36 AM

896 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 13 2017, 11:29 AM)
brake and hard corner only will not know. sendiri syok only.

use speedo meter + common road u pass.

there is a junction i always masuk @ 80kph with plenty random tyre. the car understeer out. i purposely see how bad it go.
so far not yet hit tiang or motor ah pek / pedestrian who not follow the red light

same pattern every day for pass 10yr becos i work there in and out.
so we have rainy day and sunny day.

brake is not easy becos the pad condition will affect. now car has abs will affect how i test. so i dunno.

anyway how do u test?
me find easier to test brake.. jam brake to a certain extend on some quiet wet roads from a certain speed usually around 70kph.. see how much effort i can put into the brake until the brake lock up.. it does not take much to make my iriz oem m5 wheel locked.. but for ps3, so far i have not find a right time to do that

but for cornering part really dont know how to test safely on public road.
ktek
post Feb 14 2017, 05:10 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Feb 14 2017, 10:36 AM)
me find easier to test brake.. jam brake to a certain extend on some quiet wet roads from a certain speed usually around 70kph.. see how much effort i can put into the brake until the brake lock up.. it does not take much to make my iriz oem m5 wheel locked.. but for ps3, so far i have not find a right time to do that

but for cornering part really dont know how to test safely on public road.
i have upgraded brake. so abs sure click click click disturb the test.
wow u got ps3
sharkz07
post Feb 16 2017, 11:15 PM

45 posts

which more better in term of noise & comfort J5 or D05?
leehernandez
post Feb 17 2017, 11:42 AM

QUOTE(sharkz07 @ Feb 16 2017, 11:15 PM)
which more better in term of noise & comfort J5 or D05?
j5
ktek
post Feb 17 2017, 07:40 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

just aim at random car. j5 treadwear is 340
ardhawk
post Feb 24 2017, 12:27 AM

I Want V!
545 posts

Warning!

If u buy this tyre, make sure dont parking outdoor/side road that got so many stone. Already change j5 2 times in 1 year because their soft side wall torn by those stone.
noien
post Feb 25 2017, 12:02 AM

3,184 posts

QUOTE(ardhawk @ Feb 24 2017, 12:27 AM)
Warning!

If u buy this tyre, make sure dont parking outdoor/side road that got so many stone. Already change j5 2 times in 1 year because their soft side wall torn by those stone.
Seems like it is too soft. Make me wonder if I should change to this

TSCalebraj
post Feb 25 2017, 10:47 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(noien @ Feb 25 2017, 12:02 AM)
Seems like it is too soft. Make me wonder if I should change to this
Same goes to other soft compound tyres to be honest.

Harder Compound tyres would have stiff ride, and noisy road noise.
SO i guess choose your type of poison? Haha devil.gif
noien
post Feb 25 2017, 12:35 PM

3,184 posts

QUOTE(Calebraj @ Feb 25 2017, 10:47 AM)
Same goes to other soft compound tyres to be honest.

Harder Compound tyres would have stiff ride, and noisy road noise.
SO i guess choose your type of poison? Haha devil.gif
Changed to d05 instead. Feels not bad but side wall is sure soft
195/55/15 rm149

This post has been edited by noien: Feb 25 2017, 08:36 PM
volrath
post Mar 6 2017, 05:42 PM

440 posts

Just changed Dunlop Sport J5 for my Myvi.

185/60 R14

RM118 per donut. (0417)

Ok anot the price
noien
post Mar 7 2017, 12:17 AM

3,184 posts

QUOTE(volrath @ Mar 6 2017, 05:42 PM)

185/60 R14

RM118 per donut. (0417)

Ok anot the price
Myvi ori size is 175/65/15 right? Did u ask how much for that?
I did ask and it is around 128++
volrath
post Mar 7 2017, 01:27 AM

440 posts

QUOTE(noien @ Mar 7 2017, 12:17 AM)
My myvi was 2010 model, 14 inch only. I didn't ask for yours, but I can try ask. It's Kota Kemuning area there.
CasualMax
post Mar 7 2017, 01:47 PM

117 posts

185/60 R14

RM118 per donut. (0417)

Ok anot the price
Wow, it's pretty cheap if you ask me. I changed mine (185/60/14) at RM 130/pc w/ free balancing, alignment and valve. Do they provide these too? If yes, I think it's a good deal.
volrath
post Mar 7 2017, 03:25 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(CasualMax @ Mar 7 2017, 01:47 PM)
Wow, it's pretty cheap if you ask me. I changed mine (185/60/14) at RM 130/pc w/ free balancing, alignment and valve. Do they provide these too? If yes, I think it's a good deal.
Oh? Then it isn't cheaper -.-

Tires are 118/each but I gotta pay RM5x4 valve.. The rest were free.
TSCalebraj
post Mar 7 2017, 05:41 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(volrath @ Mar 7 2017, 03:25 PM)

aiyo, still cheaper la... icon_rolleyes.gif
CasualMax
post Mar 8 2017, 04:25 PM

117 posts

They are still kinda cheap. I heard that they don't profit much from tyres and I think RM 123 is a deal you should take. Especially if it's nearby you where you don't need to fork out extra money on petrol to travel elsewhere further away to get a better deal.
volrath
post Mar 8 2017, 04:41 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(CasualMax @ Mar 8 2017, 04:25 PM)
They are still kinda cheap. I heard that they don't profit much from tyres and I think RM 123 is a deal you should take. Especially if it's nearby you  where you don't need to fork out extra money on petrol to travel elsewhere further away to get a better deal.
Thanks for the relieving ayat,haha.

I don't quite knew these tires are worth more than that.

Few days review of usage:

I like the comfort, but these tires are noisier than some forumers have claimed. But I don't mind the noise that much, especially for the price compared to other brands.
chenhui87
post Mar 21 2017, 02:16 PM

♥Jigeumeun So Nyuh Shi Dae♥
2,150 posts

185/60 R14

RM118 per donut. (0417)

Ok anot the price
I get quote for rm160/pc, same size as u, buy 4 pcs free alignment + balancing. jb area
chenhui87
post Mar 21 2017, 02:17 PM

2,150 posts

RM130 include GST?
neooren
post Mar 30 2017, 11:25 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(noien @ Mar 7 2017, 12:17 AM)
hi. where you got those price? 175 65 r15 for RM 128++
very cheap if compare to lazada rm165.57

128++ include everything? installation, valve, balancing?
noien
post Mar 30 2017, 11:33 AM

3,184 posts

QUOTE(neooren @ Mar 30 2017, 11:25 AM)
hi. where you got those price? 175 65 r15 for RM 128++
very cheap if compare to lazada rm165.57

128++ include everything? installation, valve, balancing?
In Kedah wor
neooren
post Mar 30 2017, 12:07 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(noien @ Mar 30 2017, 11:33 AM)
In Kedah wor
good rclxms.gif . i'm from kedah.
can change during raya time
Xcaliber
post Apr 3 2017, 01:28 PM

630 posts

which shop offer good price for Dunlop J5 in selangor
TSCalebraj
post Apr 4 2017, 06:05 PM

452 posts

Just had my tyre replace due to excessive pressure leak from tyres.
Until it actually becomes flat and the sidewall is koyak liao.

The rest 3 of the tyres all ok (one minor leak due to something masuk in the middle).
Wondering whether i should continue with J5 or change tyres.

Besides, it looks like it is getting more expensive for tyres soon, because of our wonderful currency.
neooren
post Apr 5 2017, 03:10 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(Calebraj @ Apr 4 2017, 06:05 PM)
Just had my tyre replace due to excessive pressure leak from tyres.
Until it actually becomes flat and the sidewall is koyak liao.

The rest 3 of the tyres all ok (one minor leak due to something masuk in the middle).
Wondering whether i should continue with J5 or change tyres.

Besides, it looks like it is getting more expensive for tyres soon, because of our wonderful currency.
is your rim bengkok?
that why excessive air came out or faulty valve
TSCalebraj
post Apr 7 2017, 09:37 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(neooren @ Apr 5 2017, 03:10 PM)
is your rim bengkok?
that why excessive air came out or faulty valve
Somehow the leak is from a sharp object in the middle of the tyres, patch it back and it is ok.
For the flat tyre, it was because the side wall too thin (due to some driving where tyre is flat, that causes the issue). So just replaced 1 tyre for the moment to see whether problem continue. Looks like it is fixed for the time being.

No, rim is still ok.
yshiuan
post Apr 26 2017, 04:08 PM

2,126 posts

anyone facing the tyre losing pressure very fast? like losing 10kpa per day?
yuss_yusoff
post Apr 26 2017, 11:56 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(yshiuan @ Apr 26 2017, 04:08 PM)
anyone facing the tyre losing pressure very fast? like losing 10kpa per day?
i once had similar problem as you, one of my tyre (rear right) easily losing air pressure like in every 7 to 10 days, always need to pump which i have no problem to do that (3 petrol station on my way home from office) for almost 5 months since it is my everyday car until one time i forgot to pump then go outstation (not using car, car left parked) for 3 days..after got back, tyre pancit already..it is troublesome to me at that time since i am already very tired after got back from long journey to change to spare tyres and go to the workshop..after checking the air is leaked from the previously patch area (patch cacing)..change to latex stick patch (this is my made up term) after that no problem until now

my advice is..just go to workshop and patch properly..u might regret later not doing this 15 minutes task when your tyre is really pancit

yshiuan
post Apr 27 2017, 08:50 AM

2,126 posts

QUOTE(yuss_yusoff @ Apr 26 2017, 11:56 PM)
i once had similar problem as you, one of my tyre (rear right) easily losing air pressure like in every 7 to 10 days, always need to pump which i have no problem to do that (3 petrol station on my way home from office) for almost 5 months since it is my everyday car until one time i forgot to pump then go outstation (not using car, car left parked) for 3 days..after got back, tyre pancit already..it is troublesome to me at that time since i am already very tired after got back from long journey to change to spare tyres and go to the workshop..after checking the air is leaked from the previously patch area (patch cacing)..change to latex stick patch (this is my made up term) after that no problem until now

my advice is..just go to workshop and patch properly..u might regret later not doing this 15 minutes task when your tyre is really pancit
I just change the tayar le. Now still monitoring
yuss_yusoff
post May 10 2017, 12:29 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(yshiuan @ Apr 27 2017, 08:50 AM)
I just change the tayar le. Now still monitoring
err too bad bro..never thought of that
sandkoh
post May 15 2017, 08:23 PM

817 posts

looking to buy 205/65/r15 tyre. is j5 a good choice?

shop quote rm210 incl gst. free alignment and balancing. price ok?

thanks!
Pain4UrsinZ
post May 16 2017, 08:46 PM

1,856 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ May 15 2017, 08:23 PM)
looking to buy 205/65/r15 tyre. is j5 a good choice?

shop quote rm210 incl gst. free alignment and balancing. price ok?

thanks!
where you get this price ?
sandkoh
post May 16 2017, 10:46 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ May 16 2017, 08:46 PM)
where you get this price ?
is it good price?
Pain4UrsinZ
post May 17 2017, 08:04 PM

1,856 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ May 16 2017, 10:46 PM)
is it good price?
im not sure, sorry i tot it is R16
Alert_RaZO
post Jun 17 2017, 03:51 PM

601 posts

185/60 R14

RM118 per donut. (0417)

Ok anot the price
Where is the shop?

volrath
post Jun 17 2017, 07:23 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(Alert_RaZO @ Jun 17 2017, 03:51 PM)
Where is the shop?
Oscar Tyre, Kota kemuning... You go to their Fb page can read reviews of the shop to give you better assurance if you need to.

leehernandez
post Jun 19 2017, 10:31 AM

QUOTE(Alert_RaZO @ Jun 17 2017, 03:51 PM)
Where is the shop?
if u are near to bukit kemuning,u can shop along that road.price range for 14inch j5 rm 115-125++
Alert_RaZO
post Jun 19 2017, 10:51 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Jun 19 2017, 10:31 AM)
if u are near to bukit kemuning,u can shop along that road.price range for 14inch j5 rm 115-125++
So cheap...
I asked many shop on Sunday, many dun carry dunlop.
I end up at ban hooi bought duraplus got promo RM142...
kingsora
post Jun 20 2017, 09:37 AM

Louis Litttt
1,407 posts

Guys, i have 195/60/R15. What is right amount of pressure? Forgot to ask the shop the other day.
raf
post Jun 20 2017, 09:58 PM

QUOTE(Calebraj @ Mar 25 2015, 10:33 AM)
Hi Guys,

Anyone think the same?
Just changed to Dunlop J5 size 155/70r12 for my Viva. Previous tyres: Front -Continental CC5, Rear - Dunlop J3.

Pros:

1. Tyre noise reduced significantly.
2. Humming noise almost gone.
3. Softer ride on uneven road surface.
4. Reduced the harsh ride.

Cons:

1. Pickup reduced little bit.
2. Softer when take corner

Overall - very satisfied and my next choice for time being.

awiekupo
post Jun 21 2017, 12:14 AM

Lucky to be coming home again..
1,481 posts

Bought dunlop sp sport j5 today, 185/70 R14 @ Rm200 per piece. Kinda like this tyre but price wise, I think more expensive than other shop eh? Darn..
fatani
post Jun 21 2017, 09:34 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(awiekupo @ Jun 20 2017, 11:14 PM)
Bought dunlop sp sport j5 today, 185/70 R14 @ Rm200 per piece. Kinda like this tyre but price wise, I think more expensive than other shop eh? Darn..
I just bought j5 195/60/15 today..rm180 per donut. I think you probably has paid dearly for yours.
kingsora
post Jun 22 2017, 02:02 PM

Louis Litttt
1,407 posts

QUOTE(fatani @ Jun 21 2017, 09:34 PM)
I just bought j5 195/60/15 today..rm180 per donut. I think you probably has paid dearly for yours.
Do you know what is the correct pressure for your tyres?
fatani
post Jun 22 2017, 02:48 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(kingsora @ Jun 22 2017, 01:02 PM)
i just follow the recommended pressure for my car (persona)..31 psi front, 29 psi rear.
putra23
post Jun 23 2017, 02:14 PM

654 posts

Same same.. got at RM180 excluding GST for 195/60R15.
kingsora
post Jun 24 2017, 10:04 PM

Louis Litttt
1,407 posts

QUOTE(fatani @ Jun 22 2017, 02:48 PM)
i just follow the recommended pressure for my car (persona)..31 psi front, 29 psi rear.
Tried 31 psi seems under inflated.
kingsora
post Jun 24 2017, 10:06 PM

Louis Litttt
1,407 posts

QUOTE(putra23 @ Jun 23 2017, 02:14 PM)
You use what pressure for front and back?
TSCalebraj
post Jun 27 2017, 03:24 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(kingsora @ Jun 20 2017, 09:37 AM)
Guys, i have 195/60/R15. What is right amount of pressure? Forgot to ask the shop the other day.
I normally put it around 33 PSI (you can try 30 PSI to start with).

putra23
post Jul 3 2017, 02:20 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(kingsora @ Jun 24 2017, 10:06 PM)
You use what pressure for front and back?
The tyre pressure should follow the car manufacturer's recommendation. Usually there is a sticker on the side of driver's door.

Anyway, I pump 240 KPa in front and 260-280 KPa at the rear.

This post has been edited by putra23: Jul 3 2017, 02:22 PM
awiekupo
post Jul 3 2017, 11:16 PM

Lucky to be coming home again..
1,481 posts

tx for d info.m bummerr
netmask8
post Jul 4 2017, 05:52 PM

Validating
1,525 posts

How is the tyre doing so far? mean, comparing to Conti, Michelin
Qare02
post Jul 13 2017, 11:17 PM

QUOTE(putra23 @ Jun 23 2017, 02:14 PM)
if 185/60/R14 what is the price? how is it ur exp using the tire?
putra23
post Jul 14 2017, 01:51 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(Qare02 @ Jul 13 2017, 11:17 PM)
if 185/60/R14 what is the price? how is it ur exp using the tire?
Did not enquire for R14.
So far so good, still new.
Qare02
post Jul 15 2017, 12:09 AM

QUOTE(putra23 @ Jul 14 2017, 01:51 PM)
Did not enquire for R14.
So far so good, still new.
hopefully, tire performance is good. going to change 4 tires altogether.
185/60/R14 price RM170. Discount % RM20.00 for each tire if change 4 tires. also got free alignment and balancing.
Cheap right? brows.gif

leehernandez
post Jul 15 2017, 11:02 AM

QUOTE(Qare02 @ Jul 15 2017, 12:09 AM)
hopefully, tire performance is good. going to change 4 tires altogether.
185/60/R14 price RM170. Discount % RM20.00 for each tire if change 4 tires. also got free alignment and balancing.
Cheap right? brows.gif
checked autoworld got pricing rm 125 per piece 185/60/14 j5
Qare02
post Jul 15 2017, 08:11 PM

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Jul 15 2017, 11:02 AM)
OMG! doh.gif if its true, it is super cheap mehh.. but maybe 2014-2015 tires made. maybe..
kiddly2
post Jul 15 2017, 11:22 PM

38 posts

i also jus change from 2 pcs from xm2 to 185/60/14 j5 rm160 exclude gst, hope can last long for run ohmy.gif
leehernandez
post Jul 16 2017, 10:23 AM

QUOTE(Qare02 @ Jul 15 2017, 08:11 PM)
OMG! doh.gif if its true, it is super cheap mehh.. but maybe 2014-2015 tires made. maybe..
date 1217
SeismicGeo
post Jul 26 2017, 08:42 AM

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Jul 15 2017, 11:02 AM)
After check with qutoworld, I got excited cos the price of rm125 is very low.
But I call this went geng, rm125 is only for Tyre with pasang and balancing. Valve tambah 5, alignment for Wira rm20 and then kena add gst. So total for 4 tyres, I kira rm572.40.. about rm143.10 each.

Bila check with Waze, went Heng 28 km from my office. sighhh... So, I tukar at nearby conti shop for rm145 each for everything...
leehernandez
post Jul 26 2017, 10:34 AM

QUOTE(SeismicGeo @ Jul 26 2017, 08:42 AM)
But I call this went geng, rm125 is only for Tyre with pasang and balancing. Valve tambah 5, alignment for Wira rm20 and then kena add gst. So total for 4 tyres, I kira rm572.40..  about rm143.10 each.

Bila check with Waze, went Heng 28 km from my office. sighhh... So, I tukar at nearby conti shop for rm145 each for everything...
depending on place,some members above change 160 before gst.so u need to calculate to see if it is worth.if u are near to that place then it should be okay.
putra23
post Jul 26 2017, 01:41 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(SeismicGeo @ Jul 26 2017, 08:42 AM)
But I call this went geng, rm125 is only for Tyre with pasang and balancing. Valve tambah 5, alignment for Wira rm20 and then kena add gst. So total for 4 tyres, I kira rm572.40..  about rm143.10 each.

For such a small price difference, I prefer the nearby shop.
Easier to provide on-site service for flat tyres and batteries.
leehernandez
post Jul 26 2017, 04:03 PM

QUOTE(putra23 @ Jul 26 2017, 01:41 PM)
For such a small price difference, I prefer the nearby shop.
Easier to provide on-site service for flat tyres and batteries.
agreed,if have problem also easier to manage.
Muq_mukhlisin
post Oct 5 2017, 02:03 PM

just changed my tyre for axia from silverstone to j5 for 120/donut 175/65/R14... shop in bukit raja klang.cant say much abt it yet.only happened like 30 minutes ago.lol
Muq_mukhlisin
post Oct 5 2017, 05:47 PM

QUOTE(kingsora @ Jun 22 2017, 02:02 PM)
according to perodua, its 250 front n rear (36 psi) but i always pump 240
peja5081
post Nov 9 2017, 09:20 AM

291 posts

Is this good offer?anyone go to this shop before?
Check out this item I found on Lazada! (4 Tyre Bundle) DUNLOP Sport J5 tyre Proton Persona 195/60R15 (with
installation)
http://www.lazada.com.my/4-tyre-bundle-dun...n-49658605.html
LemonKnight
post Nov 11 2017, 09:50 PM

155 posts

I checked out Lazada's page, there's this J5 for 185/60/r14 FLX selling for 108rm a piece. And that is without the voucher.

Should I buy two now or wait until my thread's gone? The front's halfway gone.
halcyon27
post Nov 11 2017, 11:32 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(LemonKnight @ Nov 11 2017, 09:50 PM)
I checked out Lazada's page, there's this J5 for 185/60/r14 FLX selling for 108rm a piece. And that is without the voucher.

Should I buy two now or wait until my thread's gone? The front's halfway gone.
Better grab the price while the 11.11 promo is on.
Alphawolf
post Jul 4 2018, 08:09 PM

92 posts

Just to add to this old thread..
Was looking to change the extremely worn Michelin front tires of my 2nd car.
Initially I was looking for budget tires like Hankook (currently my rear tires are Hankooks) and those funny Indonesian/Thai or China brands. But luckily I came across the Dunlop J5. So far (after a few days), it is good, handles well, cheap price, pretty quiet and engineered by Continental nowadays.

Conclusion is, for budget tires, can't go wrong with the Dunlop J5.

leehernandez
post Jul 5 2018, 11:20 AM

QUOTE(Alphawolf @ Jul 4 2018, 08:09 PM)
Just to add to this old thread..
Was looking to change the extremely worn Michelin front tires of my 2nd car.
Initially I was looking for budget tires like Hankook (currently my rear tires are Hankooks) and those funny Indonesian/Thai or China brands. But luckily I came across the Dunlop J5. So far (after a few days), it is good, handles well, cheap price, pretty quiet and engineered by Continental nowadays.

Conclusion is, for budget tires, can't go wrong with the Dunlop J5.
j5 is too underrated.maybe because the price is cheap.buyers have less confidence.haha
Alphawolf
post Jul 6 2018, 01:42 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Jul 5 2018, 11:20 AM)
j5 is too underrated.maybe because the price is cheap.buyers have less confidence.haha
I agreed. Generally Malaysians don't do much research on their own. They just listen to hearsays and what their friends told them etc. etc.

alucard31
post Jul 12 2018, 05:43 PM

284 posts

Changed da Yokohama C Drive of my 1st gen Persona to these Dunlop SP Sport J5 due to the recommendation of the regular tyre shop according to my requirement:

- No need performance tyre
- Provide above average grip for both wet and dry road condition
- Dont create weird noises

Used for around 6 months now.. I have to say, this should be the one to change if you looking for replacement for economy choice yet to have good grip on wet road condition.. yes, is abit "noisy" when I just change it, since is new tyres, i guess is pretty normal? After 1 month+ of driving, it's not that noisy anymore, I can't feel much difference from the previous Yokohama C Drive.. I didnt drive like some need for speed gamer on the street or highway.. so I can't comment on the high speed or fast brake situation.. but definitely should be 1 of the top tyre to look for if the budget is not high and looking for reliable tyres.
Oyaji
post Jul 18 2018, 12:55 AM

516 posts

I only got to know of dunlop J5 last year after I went to change my rear tires with viking ct5 in which after that I regret for not getting the J5.
leehernandez
post Jul 21 2018, 10:30 AM

QUOTE(Oyaji @ Jul 18 2018, 12:55 AM)
I only got to know of dunlop J5 last year after I went to change my rear tires with viking ct5 in which after that I regret for not getting the J5.
so u found out the j5 is quite good?
Oyaji
post Jul 21 2018, 11:30 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Jul 21 2018, 10:30 AM)
so u found out the j5 is quite good?
Haven't bought it yet so not sure.
raayeop
post Jul 23 2018, 09:44 AM

Dunlop Sport J5 is pretty decent tyre... It is reasonably priced too

leehernandez
post Jul 23 2018, 01:59 PM

QUOTE(Oyaji @ Jul 21 2018, 11:30 PM)
Haven't bought it yet so not sure.
haha..but u regret for not getting the j5 even u have not tried it. actually j5 it is pretty good tyre for for that size.
Oyaji
post Aug 2 2018, 01:24 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Jul 23 2018, 01:59 PM)
haha..but u regret for not getting the j5 even u have not tried it. actually j5 it is pretty good tyre for for that size.
Finally got the J5 for the front tyres. Been using it for almost a week and I say It is quieter than those silverstones.
leehernandez
post Aug 3 2018, 12:54 PM

QUOTE(Oyaji @ Aug 2 2018, 01:24 PM)
Finally got the J5 for the front tyres. Been using it for almost a week and I say It is quieter than those silverstones.
sure..slverstone are one of the lousiest tongue.gif
47ronin
post Aug 19 2018, 12:35 PM

365 posts

Previously using Conti CC5 & recently changed the rear tyre to J5.
Compare to CC5, the road noise is noticeable for velocity below 110 km/j. Quite annoying really.
Having done around 300km mileage & will review it again once hit 2500km

This post has been edited by 47ronin: Aug 19 2018, 12:36 PM
sonicmaster
post Sep 8 2018, 07:18 AM

431 posts

Using three years on saga and sti working fine
AliBaBa_King
post Sep 20 2018, 12:33 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(sonicmaster @ Sep 8 2018, 07:18 AM)
Using three years on saga and sti working fine
How about the road noise? is it very noticeable when cruising at 90km/h? Planning to change both my front tyre to J5 biggrin.gif
sonicmaster
post Sep 20 2018, 06:41 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(AliBaBa_King @ Sep 20 2018, 12:33 PM)
How about the road noise? is it very noticeable when cruising at 90km/h? Planning to change both my front tyre to J5  biggrin.gif
Its noticable.. but my car is proton saga..
wkc
post Oct 2 2018, 01:14 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(sonicmaster @ Sep 20 2018, 06:41 PM)
Its noticable.. but my car is proton saga..
Where did you change the tyre? How much is it? i also plan to change it on my saga
sonicmaster
post Oct 2 2018, 02:14 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(wkc @ Oct 2 2018, 01:14 PM)
Where did you change the tyre? How much is it? i also plan to change it on my saga
Penang
wkc
post Oct 3 2018, 03:21 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(sonicmaster @ Oct 2 2018, 02:14 PM)
Penang
How does it perform so far?
lowyatloon
post Oct 19 2018, 02:51 AM

18 posts

Just change j5 from xm2 today. Felt very good.
qwxlxwp
post Nov 4 2018, 12:48 PM

19 posts

Anyone knows where to get Dunlop J5 185/60/R14 in Kuching with decent price? Yesterday ask one shop price range from RM200-210 per piece with free alignment etc,
btw driving 2006 MYVI...
leehernandez
post Nov 5 2018, 06:35 PM

QUOTE(qwxlxwp @ Nov 4 2018, 12:48 PM)
Anyone knows where to get Dunlop J5 185/60/R14 in Kuching with decent price? Yesterday ask one shop price range from RM200-210 per piece with free alignment etc,
btw driving 2006 MYVI...
if u can wait buy and pos from kl area cost about rm 120+ for 4 pcs
tyre is about rm 12o per piece in that area

qwxlxwp
post Nov 7 2018, 10:03 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Nov 5 2018, 06:35 PM)
if u can wait buy and pos from kl area cost about rm 120+ for 4 pcs
tyre is about rm 12o per piece in that area
Found another Dunlop shop at rm165 per piece, so just go for it and change 4pcs, hope it worth it and better than Viking, size 185 60 r14
volrath
post Nov 14 2018, 05:59 PM

440 posts

I've used J5 for quite some time d, really nice tire for the price, but damn, the noise level is pretty high. I can't really compare with others which may emit much louder noise, but it is loud for my ears.

But I love the value I get from it, nice grip and such low price, and sacrifices noise in the way.

Gonna try other brands next few months, wanna try quieter wan.
yeboke
post Nov 22 2018, 11:08 PM

Just changed all 4 tyres from XM2 to J5 for my 15 years old second car. After 1K, here is the verdict:

Pros:
- Comfort ride even on rough surface (better than XM2)
- Very good wet grip (better than XM2)
- Decent dry grip (similar to XM2)
- Short braking distance (feel better than XM2, maybe it is still new)

Cons:
- Very noisy (noise level same as the wear out XM2)
- Rolling Resistance (feel that XM2 is better)

Conclusion: J5 is a good choice if you are looking for budget tyre but do not want to compromise on safety. The only trade off is the noise.
shebbycs
post Nov 28 2018, 10:06 AM

302 posts

how about dunlop d05 any review??????????
yau63
post Dec 5 2018, 08:39 AM

bought 1 set 4 pcs J5 195/60 R15 with RM620. Price included valves, alignment and balancing.
KoYuKii
post Jun 1 2019, 12:29 PM

1,979 posts

QUOTE(qwxlxwp @ Nov 7 2018, 10:03 AM)
Found another Dunlop shop at rm165 per piece, so just go for it and change 4pcs, hope it worth it and better than Viking, size 185 60 r14
Bro mind to share where u got ur tyre in kch? Looking for tyre replacenent now
cybersim2
post Jul 2 2019, 08:39 AM

503 posts

How is this tyre compare to Toyo Energy 3 ?
Newbie838
post Jul 3 2019, 05:43 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(yeboke @ Nov 22 2018, 11:08 PM)
Just changed all 4 tyres from XM2 to J5 for my 15 years old second car. After 1K, here is the verdict:

Pros:
- Comfort ride even on rough surface (better than XM2)
- Very good wet grip (better than XM2)
- Decent dry grip (similar to XM2)
- Short braking distance (feel better than XM2, maybe it is still new)

Cons:
- Very noisy (noise level same as the wear out XM2)
- Rolling Resistance (feel that XM2 is better)

Conclusion: J5 is a good choice if you are looking for budget tyre but do not want to compromise on safety. The only trade off is the noise.
I've had the J5 on my 2010 myvi for 3 years now. Still a superb tyre for the price. I had continental cc something before this and the wet grip and comfort of the J5 just blows it out of the water. Noise level is ok for me, same as the previous tyre. Only negative i have is people's reaction. People are so dead set on the brand. The moment they hear Dunlop they go ewwww....cheap tyre.
chenhui87
post Jul 9 2019, 11:22 AM

2,150 posts

i switched to J5 to replace Myvi original silverstone tyre.
Overall is better than Silverstone...
Exgratia
post Aug 17 2019, 09:49 AM

Just change my axia hankook donut mileage 30k over 4.5 years old to J5 (175/65-R14), total cost RM600.
pretty23
post Aug 25 2019, 11:38 AM

1,791 posts

Just change this model 175/70R13 for my spare car.

1 pc RM120. Total RM480. MFG date 1919. Not bad.
leehernandez
post Aug 26 2019, 11:09 AM

QUOTE(pretty23 @ Aug 25 2019, 11:38 AM)
Just change this model 175/70R13 for my spare car.

1 pc RM120. Total RM480. MFG date 1919. Not bad.
j5 is decent tyre..used it,satisfy with the comfort,noise but rm 120 for 13inch is expensive.bought 14 inch at that price.
pretty23
post Aug 26 2019, 11:19 AM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Aug 26 2019, 11:09 AM)
j5 is decent tyre..used it,satisfy with the comfort,noise but rm 120 for 13inch is expensive.bought 14 inch at that price.
Then actually how much for J5 175/70R13 inch ?

I got ask the shop for 185/65R14 inch they sell RM175. If you said 14 inch @ RM120 then the shop price is expensive?
leehernandez
post Aug 27 2019, 06:15 PM

QUOTE(pretty23 @ Aug 26 2019, 11:19 AM)
Then actually how much for J5 175/70R13 inch ? 

I got ask the shop for 185/65R14 inch they sell RM175. If you said 14 inch @ RM120 then the shop price is expensive?
bought 185/60/14 rm 120
13inch is rm100+-

This post has been edited by leehernandez: Aug 27 2019, 06:16 PM
johnkoi P
post Aug 28 2019, 07:31 AM

Probation

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Aug 27 2019, 06:15 PM)
bought 185/60/14 rm 120
13inch is rm100+-
May I know where u brought?
pretty23
post Aug 28 2019, 10:00 AM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Aug 27 2019, 06:15 PM)
bought 185/60/14 rm 120
13inch is rm100+-
very good price. Where you change it?
leehernandez
post Aug 28 2019, 11:09 AM

QUOTE(pretty23 @ Aug 28 2019, 10:00 AM)
very good price. Where you change it?
sent u the contact.u can compare price there before u install next time.usually i ask a few shops from shah alam and klang before install.
di88di
post Oct 16 2019, 12:11 PM

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Aug 27 2019, 08:15 PM)
bought 185/60/14 rm 120
13inch is rm100+-
Hi, may I know the location of the tyre shop you went to? thank you
soonming
post Oct 29 2019, 11:58 AM

187 posts

Dear all
Looking for j5 in Kuching
Where has good price?
Seems this tyre is more pricey here compared to west
baocord
post Oct 29 2019, 10:32 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(di88di @ Oct 16 2019, 12:11 PM)
Hi, may I know the location of the tyre shop you went to? thank you
Oscar tyre Bukit kemuning
RM 110 August 2019
leehernandez
post Oct 30 2019, 11:06 AM

QUOTE(soonming @ Oct 29 2019, 11:58 AM)
Dear all
Looking for j5 in Kuching
Where has good price?
Seems this tyre is more pricey here compared to west
what is the size?
soonming
post Oct 30 2019, 05:35 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Oct 30 2019, 11:06 AM)
what is the size?
185 60R 14
OnGx2
post Dec 16 2019, 08:40 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(awiekupo @ Jun 21 2017, 12:14 AM)
What car u use? Ever compare this tyre with bridgestone ep150? Both similar price, not much choice for this size.

This post has been edited by OnGx2: Dec 16 2019, 08:40 PM
btslee
post Dec 17 2019, 03:06 AM

44 posts

How does this compare with yokohama es32?
Songchien
post Feb 17 2020, 07:59 PM

351 posts

Got mine 165/55/R14 for RM160 ea. Think this price is high. No choice since other shops are closed and both of my tyres are at least 4 years old with the left tyre expanded.
spreeeee
post Feb 19 2020, 02:24 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

did anyone able to locate the 4digits on the tyre, to check the manufacturing week+year?

my friend jz newly changed, but i couldnt find it..
LemonKnight
post Feb 19 2020, 03:22 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Feb 19 2020, 02:24 PM)
did anyone able to locate the 4digits on the tyre, to check the manufacturing week+year?

my friend jz newly changed, but i couldnt find it..
It's on the inside part of the tyre, you won't find it on the outside part (the side you're currently looking at).
spreeeee
post Aug 13 2020, 11:12 AM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(btslee @ Dec 17 2019, 03:06 AM)
How does this compare with yokohama es32?
wanted to know too
KKLeong
post Oct 1 2020, 12:29 AM

59 posts

This dunlop tyre dispersed water was too good compare to hanhook ex energy.
Benck
post Nov 4 2020, 12:14 AM

28 posts

How does J5 compare with LM704?

kokill
post Jan 1 2021, 01:38 PM

170 posts

Hi,any1 feel car a bit shaky after changed to this tyre?i feel my car not so stable after changed,got did alignment in shop when change tyre
TSCalebraj
post Jan 28 2021, 03:37 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(Benck @ Nov 4 2020, 12:14 AM)
How does J5 compare with LM704?

I thin LM704 is more performance type.
But i dont think i saw any LM704 being sold.

i think J5 is by Conti, so the character would surely be different, same with compound as well.

TSCalebraj
post Feb 16 2021, 06:55 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(kokill @ Jan 1 2021, 01:38 PM)
Hi,any1 feel car a bit shaky after changed to this tyre?i feel my car not so stable after changed,got did alignment in shop when change tyre
what tyres were you using before?
kokill
post Feb 19 2021, 10:53 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(Calebraj @ Feb 16 2021, 06:55 PM)
what tyres were you using before?
michelin xm2 and yokohama blue earth
TSCalebraj
post Mar 1 2021, 05:22 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(kokill @ Feb 19 2021, 10:53 PM)
michelin xm2 and yokohama blue earth
In that case ,the J5 sidewall is softer than the 2 above. So you might think it is shaky, but just due to softer sidewall.
Also means more geared towards comfort.

kokill
post Mar 1 2021, 10:15 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(Calebraj @ Mar 1 2021, 05:22 PM)
In that case ,the J5 sidewall is softer than the 2 above. So you might think it is shaky, but just due to softer sidewall.
Also means more geared towards comfort.
Thanks for ur reply bro, but the dunlop grip is good compared with previous 1
or maybe it just because of worn out blush.gif
TSCalebraj
post Mar 3 2021, 11:43 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(kokill @ Mar 1 2021, 10:15 PM)
Thanks for ur reply bro, but the dunlop grip is good compared with previous 1
or maybe it just because of worn out blush.gif
I personally think it is due to Continental technology inside the Dunlop this round.
As the tyres are developed by Conti Malaysia, while the older Dunlop are from Dunlop.
As the Dunlop company went bust, and lelong for all region.
So different people own dunlop in different places. So malaysia i say quite safe with Conti, without Conti Price.

haha.
kokill
post Mar 3 2021, 12:20 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(Calebraj @ Mar 3 2021, 11:43 AM)
I personally think it is due to Continental technology inside the Dunlop this round.
As the tyres are developed by Conti Malaysia, while the older Dunlop are from Dunlop.
As the Dunlop company went bust, and lelong for all region.
So different people own dunlop in different places. So malaysia i say quite safe with Conti, without Conti Price.

haha.
haha i see, i saw quite many comment this tyre is budget kind yet overall is good, so wish to try it out
maybe in future will try different tyre, based on budget as well biggrin.gif

0.2163sec    1.11    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:11 PM