Dunlop SP Sport J5, new tyre in the market

TSCalebraj
post Mar 25 2015, 10:33 AM, updated 5y ago

452 posts

Hi Guys,

Wondering whether anyone have tried the new Dunlop SP Sports J5 tyres that was launched?

Just changed to it, and darn it is good!

Was a user of the Dunlop D-01 previously, almost went for Yokohama Advan Decible, but this tyres is not that far off!!

Anyone think the same?
TSCalebraj
post Mar 25 2015, 01:13 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(Rohan26 @ Mar 25 2015, 10:45 AM)
How much it costs and what size?
Mine is a 195/60 R15, got it for RM 190 a piece (free alignment and installation with purchase of 2 tyres and above).
Quite a fair price actually (they having a promo).

The new CityCars chain inside a mall. Nice concept (I am not an agent, just a user)
TSCalebraj
post Mar 25 2015, 02:42 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 25 2015, 02:38 PM)
my previous experience with dunlop sp sport j3 is not good.
btw, just found out dunlop is under continental group now
Yes, i saw it was made by Continental, that is why i have confidence in it. If not, then i surely won't touch.

Interesting thing is, it has Wet performance and dry performance indicator, that is something new that i have seen first in this model.

TSCalebraj
post Mar 28 2015, 12:23 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(Joeyskullz @ Mar 25 2015, 02:52 PM)
Now Got promotion at Citicars.  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Anyone else changing to this tyres?
At least can give people some review to read about.
(you'll be the first review in Malaysia flex.gif )
TSCalebraj
post Mar 28 2015, 09:25 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(Joeyskullz @ Mar 28 2015, 07:41 AM)
I'm gonna try this tyre see how good it is. If not change it back to Hankook.  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_idea.gif
I am personally using it now, worth every penny!

Better Grip than my Formula D-01
Less noisy
Good grip indication for both dry and wet.
Gives good confidence while driving both weather.
Good value for money
Good looking pattern
Also low rolling resistance.

Overall: Good value for affordable tyre.

Tyre used before: Falken Sincera, GT Radial Champiro, Good Year Assurance, Dunlop Formula D-01, Continental CC1, Continental CC-5, Silverstone Synergy M5.

All mostly comfort Tyres.

Cheers.
TSCalebraj
post Apr 10 2015, 01:03 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(shanyan @ Apr 9 2015, 02:11 PM)
Anyone know How much is the treadwear label?
on my 195/60R15. Threadwear is 340.
TSCalebraj
post Apr 24 2015, 10:12 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(sofastsofurious8 @ Apr 23 2015, 10:54 PM)
Just changed to it recently. So far so good. I thought it was worth a try as its made in Continental factory and the prices are much better compared to Continental smile.gif
Me too!

Felt like worth every penny!
I used to use the Dunlop D-01 before this, so i can feel that it was quite an improvement over the D-01.

Comparable to the CC5 that i used before. (maybe not as quiet)
TSCalebraj
post Apr 24 2015, 11:16 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(Jasonlee1603 @ Apr 24 2015, 10:18 AM)
So in terms of NVH, CC5 is better?
Just a slight better.
But very very close!
TSCalebraj
post Apr 24 2015, 01:28 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(moo_zai_mie @ Apr 24 2015, 11:38 AM)
CC5 good?  hmm.gif That is not what i usually heard from a lot of forumers. I heard that CC5 uses a hard compound, thus making it almost undriveable in the rain. Oh yea, plus its noisy too due to the hard compund. I dont dare to try it out as it scares me. Lol tongue.gif
Just sharing of what people thought of it.
Yes, the CC5 uses a harder compound. That is why their longkang is shallow compared to others between the grooves.
But many claims that because of this, noise is lowered compared to CC1.

But to me, the CC% was prices RM 100 more than the Dunlop J5 a piece! So tried to take a risk with the J5, and it is made by the same company, and it is new. So why not right?

Made up my mind with the Yokohama Advan DB, but this price made me think twice.
Haha

This post has been edited by Calebraj: Apr 24 2015, 01:28 PM
TSCalebraj
post Apr 25 2015, 09:59 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(Jasonlee1603 @ Apr 24 2015, 02:21 PM)
For me I believe harder compound tyres means more noise. As I'm a person who prefers comfort and silence with good grip, I find my 3 years old Michelin XM2 is making so much noise that I can't take it anymore. Going to change it even though there's still quite a lot of threads left.
Also, for Michelin XM2, after 3 years the grip would harden, thus it wont be grippy anymore like before.
I have heard some people "buang" when cornering.

So ya, jaga-jaga.
TSCalebraj
post Apr 28 2015, 09:31 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(Jasonlee1603 @ Apr 28 2015, 03:13 PM)
Sure thing. Just replaced my rear 2 tyres to J5 as well. After changing all to J5, cabin noise had reduced significantly. As for road handling and grip, I will report after I've traveled 1000km with this set of tyres.  icon_rolleyes.gif
I personally have done more than 2000 KM with these tyres.
Man, i never felt my money spent so well in a long while!

But it is only noisy when you are travelling above 160Km/H whistling.gif
So does what it suppose to, and i feel confident even when it is a wet day.

With the Full Silica compound, it does help with FC (comparing to the D-01 used before this).
So overall, must give award to this mode of tyre.

thumbup.gif
TSCalebraj
post May 13 2015, 10:07 AM

452 posts

Anyone else have their feedback on this tyre?
I really think there is nothing more "worth it" tyre brand/model compared to this.

Maybe just not that soft of tyre wall to me (also could be because my tyre pressure is 34 psi). Haha
TSCalebraj
post May 20 2015, 09:32 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(IiBbMm @ May 20 2015, 08:58 AM)
Any review / comment on Dunlop D05 VS J5 VS Goodyear Assurance Triplemax?
I personally don't trust Good Year. Haha
TSCalebraj
post May 26 2015, 01:10 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(IiBbMm @ May 20 2015, 11:40 AM)
Any reason for your dun like Goodyear? Myself dun like rubbish Silverstone. And my car is riding on Bridgestone EP200, just dun like these donuts. What are the differences between D05 vs J5?
Don't like good year, as i think it's average grip/performance for much more expensive cost.
I guess it would be personal reasons. (always very hard after using it for 2 years-stiff tyres)

The difference between the D-05 and J5, is the D-05 is more of a performance tyre. And it's only available from certain 15 inch onwards.
While the J5 is more of a comfort tyres.

To be, the EP200 is noisy, even though it should be a LRR tyres.

TSCalebraj
post May 27 2015, 04:03 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(IiBbMm @ May 27 2015, 09:44 AM)
May I know which Goodyear donuts you had previously? If to choose between comfort + fuel saving VS comfort + abit performance, I will go to 2nd one due to safety concern that I guess performance tyre has better handling and stability resulting in better safety compare to comfort tyre for normal average car drivers. Now in my mind, thinking which 1 to go, Goodyear Assurance Triplemax VS Dunlop D05 ? Any Goodyear Triplemax users can review ..? Thanks.
I tried the Ducaro GA, GT3 and Duraplus before.
Didn't like all of them, as at times in wet, it will skid (for those used above 1 year from brand new).
So never again will i try. But i do note that the Eagle F1 range is damn good! Have to be said.
TSCalebraj
post Jun 2 2015, 10:00 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(kethon27 @ Jun 1 2015, 11:11 AM)
Bought J5 at RM110ea (175/70/13).
It is very comfortable tyre and very "floating" feeling while doing cornering (>80KMPH). I think due to huge sidewall..
profile 70 sure like that. As the J5 have a softer sidewall compared to other brands. But hey, it works well so you don't feel "lubang" and gravel road as much as other brands. Hehe.

TSCalebraj
post Jun 18 2015, 06:06 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(zzzhhhzzz @ Jun 18 2015, 01:07 PM)
hi guys does this dunlop j5 last as long as xm2 ? was considering this tyre as well.. how much do you reckon it will cost for a 185/65/14 tyre ?
Should be about as long, or longer due to better thread life.
XM2 compound will get hard after about 2 years, thus your grip would be lesser. J5 not sure, as the tyre only been out since early this year. But they claim is tropical weather friendly, so we will see...
TSCalebraj
post Jun 24 2015, 12:23 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(IiBbMm @ Jun 23 2015, 09:58 AM)
Any difference between D05 vs J5?
Yes, it does. As the J5 is more of a comfort tyres, while the D-05 is more performance based tyres.
Unless your rims are above 15 inch, then the D05 sizes is available. If not, then only the J5 or the J3 is available for your rims.
TSCalebraj
post Jul 29 2015, 12:22 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(Jasonlee1603 @ Jul 27 2015, 01:15 AM)
Not too sure about that. But as I know, the J5 has newer tread patterns and it's now made by Continental. Not sure about the J3 though as it's quite an old product already?
Both the J5 and J3 is a different model, targeting for different market segment anyway.
And yes, the J3 have been around for more than 1 year (maybe 2 years plus even).

Rule of thumb- if you got J3 and the J5 in the same size, go for J5 instead. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSCalebraj
post Jul 29 2015, 12:25 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(braline @ Jul 28 2015, 12:05 AM)
just changed to Dunlop J5  185/60/14 today.
Could not find the manufacturing date of the tyre
anyone else have the same issue ?

is the manufacturing date on the inside on the tyre ?
Yes, the manufacturing date is inside the tyre, thus make it hard for us as end user to find the info.
So is the indicator for the rain/dry grip. As it is on the thread on the inner side.

Not sure why they did that though.

0.0279sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:05 PM