37 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

The SSD Thread V5, Solid State Drive

horns
post Jul 18 2016, 04:49 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jul 18 2016, 07:07 AM)
Corsair SSD is no longer in Malaysia market, am I right?
uh? i thought they promoted their value tlc ssd here a few months ago.

maybe they have other priorities now. it's tough to fight with the current top five in the market (intel, samsung, kingston, crucial, sandisk).

horns
post Jul 24 2016, 01:01 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(NeverX3 @ Jul 20 2016, 07:12 PM)
I have no idea whether this speed is considered fast or slow too. sweat.gif

Well at least I'm satisfied with it so far.
as long as you are using it for common use only, it should be good enough.

horns
post Jul 27 2016, 01:28 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(drunkonpiss @ Jul 26 2016, 05:29 PM)
guys, I would also like to know cause it says in my HDD that it has 859 GB of free space. Meaning it has 141 GB of used space. However, when I check my used space is only 70gb. My question is, is 120gb SSD enough to clone my HDD? i'm just afraid that I have to get an SSD with a bigger capacity. Appreciate your inputs. smile.gif
i guess you have a 1tb single-partitioned hdd, with usable space of 931gb, not 1000gb. 931gb - 859gb free space = 72gb so the used space is about 70gb that you mentioned.

if the above is the case, yes your 120gb ssd will fit. normally to avoid issues during cloning process, we defragment the hdd first, then use disk management to shrink the os partition to become smaller than the capacity of target ssd. (like 100gb in your case), then we do the cloning. after cloning you can use disk management to expand your os partition, if you don't intend to do over provisioning.
horns
post Jul 27 2016, 06:42 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(drunkonpiss @ Jul 27 2016, 06:11 PM)
Appreciate the feedback bro! I was able to get my HD migrated to SSD successfully. However, when I booted from my SSD, my screen flickers and the task bar frozen. Checked forums and Reddit that my cloning software did not clone my HD properly so I used a free software called Macrium Reflect where it allowed me to delete existing partitions in my SSD as well as copy all the partitions from HD in the same exact sequence. Ran the program and booted from the SSD. The reboot from the SSD took only 10 secs to boot from my Desktop. It was fast!
ok good to know that smile.gif

yes, there are hidden but related system partitions that need to be cloned as well, and not all cloning software will do that automatically.

tbh a clean install is always a better option.
horns
post Jul 28 2016, 12:20 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(drunkonpiss @ Jul 27 2016, 06:54 PM)
Thanks! I have one question tho. Just to be on the safe side, should I clone my SSD or make a copy of it while i'm at it? cause I bought a cheap but substandard brand which is PNY. I'm not really sure if it is reliable in terms of quality.
sure, it's a good practice to make system images from time to time. it give you a much faster system restores, plus other advantages.

tbh in general ssd is one of the most relatively reliable component in your system. pny is not a common name here, but as long as you're using it for client loads (more reads less writes) it should be fine for many years.
horns
post Jul 28 2016, 12:17 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(em0ti0n @ Jul 28 2016, 08:00 AM)
Are UV400 good enough for storing games only? Either steam games or MMORPG games..
i think it's ok to use for that.

first of all you have to know uv400 is a value ssd, and for a value ssd, usually its writes is slow after its built-in cache is used up (almost like hdd speed when you transfer gigabytes of large files).

however once you get past this, game loading should be improved relatively compared to hdd.

QUOTE(toonny @ Jul 28 2016, 10:50 AM)
Hi guys,

If I would like to use SSD at gaming partition, will those entry level SSD such as Kingston UV400 performs good enough? BTW, eyeing on EVO 850 250GB, but my usage is just normal usage, net surfing, light gaming.. sometime plays racing game..

Need some advice. Thanks. Appreciates any reply.

Thanks!
like i said above, yes you can use it for the purpose. performance wise, it's as simple as you get what you pay for.

as always, it's up to you to justify your investments. i will of course suggest you go for mainstream than value ssd, because of advantages that you might not care at all. (850 evo has much better sustainable read/write speed, a longer warranty period)

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Jul 28 2016, 11:18 AM)
anyone used avexir e100  before? planning to get avexir e100 240gig
hm.. better check out user reviews first.

horns
post Jul 28 2016, 06:15 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Jul 28 2016, 12:26 PM)
I have my games data in HDD. However I want to build a new system with SSD as OS and reusing my existing HDD as my games data. Will I be able to access the files on my old HDD ? Old and new PC using windows 10 home. Difference is old PC is sandy bridge while new pc is skylake.

Or do I have to reformat the HDD to make the new system/OS detect the drive ?
yes of course you can access the data in your old hdd, by connecting it to the new system.

QUOTE(KwJH @ Jul 28 2016, 02:52 PM)
Hello, I'm looking for a budget SSD 2.5" 120GB / 240GB for my old macbook.
Any recommend for me ?
maybe uv400 is good enough for you.

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Jul 28 2016, 02:55 PM)
so far not much reviews
yeah. you can either wait for them or be one of the first to get one.
horns
post Jul 29 2016, 02:10 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(em0ti0n @ Jul 28 2016, 06:58 PM)
thanks for answering.. just want an opinion as i thought 850 evo will be overkill for storing games so that i can have fast game loading..
right; imo just grab what you think good enough for you smile.gif
horns
post Jul 29 2016, 04:31 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(matt_rix @ Jul 29 2016, 07:32 AM)
hye guys,
i am currently using OCZ VERTEX PLUS for a few years. i think the max speed is only sata 3gbps

i am looking for upgrade as my main OS drive. budget around rm 200. have been looking at samsung 850 evo as the replacement.

do you think would this be a good upgrade?
Any other recommendation that come to mind?

for common usage, there will be a noticeable speed boost in file loading and responsiveness. whether it's significant or not, it depends on your actual usage.

it's the same when you convert from sata ssd to pcie ssd and use it for common usage. in my case, i compared samsung 840pro (running on sata2, then sata3 ports), xp941 (pcie 2.0 x4) and then sm951 ahci (pcie 3.0 x4).

the speed boosts for file loading and responsiveness are noticeable. however in terms of common use, it's not that significant. it's when i work that pcie ssd is relatively faster in general. (boot time is irrelevant here because it's affected by many things, like os optimizations, and the number of hardware components that are connected to the system during boot)

this is why i think most people will be fine with at least mainstream sata ssd. (maybe certain value ssds with good read speeds will suffice)

horns
post Jul 30 2016, 02:32 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kyogre @ Jul 30 2016, 12:42 PM)
Hi sifus,
I wanted to do a clean install of the OS onto a PNY 240gb SSD. I already have a 1tb 7200rpm HDD on board. Here are my proposed workflow and is it correct?
Inb4 ayam noob

Part 1: installing SSD
1. Install ssd onto optical drive caddy
2. Remove laptop optical drive
3. Install caddy onto optical drive slot

Part 2: installing OS
1. Remove/unplug on board HDD on HDD slot
2. Plug in recovery usb
3. Boot up pc into bios
4. Change boot up preference to usb stick
5. Install OS onto SSD
6. remove recovery usb and restart
7. enter bios and change the boot up for SSD
8. observe the SSD boot up

Part 3: Post-SSD-fication
1. Replug the onboard HDD
2. Make sure the drive is detected in My Computer

tq mengs
notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
firstly you should use the hdd bay for ssd. put the hdd into optical drive caddy instead.

usually i do this:
1. make a full data backup from current hdd to an external hdd storage;
2. find out if there is a new firmware for your ssd; download it first; the same goes to bios (optional; but apply this before doing anything else);
3. take out hdd and optical drive; put in ssd to hdd bay; apply ssd firmware if necessary (it's better to find out the process by reading instructions published by the manufacturer; usually i apply firmware updates using bootable usb downloaded from manufacturer's site);
4. boot from os usb stick; note that normally there is a key to call out a boot menu that let you select which device to boot, so you don't really need to go into bios to do adjustments;
5. install os;
6. after install go into bios and adjust it so that the ssd can boot as first device (for uefi just make sure windows manager is correctly selected);
7. boot the machine; then turn it off;
8. connect the hdd with external adapter to do cleanup (diskpart > clean); this is to free up everything, including making previously occupied os and hidden system partitions free space for storage;
9. install hdd into optical hdd caddy; install caddy into your system;
10. boot the machine then use disk management to initialize and format hdd (recommended disk type is gpt if you don't use it for other backward-compatible purposes)
11. copy backup data that you need to your hdd.

horns
post Jul 30 2016, 06:58 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kyogre @ Jul 30 2016, 06:42 PM)

thank you on your reply, but i have some question if u dont mind me asking

1. if the drive caddy is also sata3 connection, is there any effect if i continue to use the ssd in the caddy? in terms of speed and performance
2. is the ssd firmware can be done in a booted windows? (using the previous boot device, before the clean installation)
3. if i decide to do the cleanup of the hdd, not only the previous os is gone but also my personal data, right?
4. according to your step 9, it means i will be re-installing the hdd just like a new drive, correct?
1. theoretically no so you're good to go with that route.
2. firmware upgrade options depends on manufacturers. if they release a version that works with booted windows yes you can use that. however personally the safer path is to use bootable option.
3. yes you are correct, that's why there is step 1 in my steps. backing up data fully is a better fail-safe practice than to challenge something that might go wrong half way imo.
4. yes.

horns
post Aug 1 2016, 12:34 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(DjK @ Jul 31 2016, 03:59 PM)
Hi guys,

Would like to report on a matter regarding Kingston Savage SSD 480GB,

I have brought a unit on 22nd June and been using it until yesterday.

Yesterday the whole comp went stuck(window's mouse pointer circle looping) and i could not do anything(keyboard doesn't work, mouse doesn't work), then I force shutdown and rebooted the system. after bios startup, the screen says "could not find map". I rebooted into bios and could not locate my SSD. I though it maybe just wiring problem so i hook up another sata cable and power cable but still doesn't work. Worst case I thought maybe i didn't something wrong when cloning my previous system to this kingston SSD. so i booted into windows PE (used Macrium reflect to clone) but could not locate the OS.

went back to shop, proceeded to test with their service team and deemed the ssd has failed because could not detect it (disk management, bios, etc) hence concluded in need of RMA.

just wanted to know whether those who had Kingston Savage SSD would have encounter any problems? maybe i'm the unlucky one who got a faulty unit.
Something must have happened before the incident. I think this is power-related. Previously i had an incident that i unplugged my storage ssd (connected via usb external enclosure) without proper handling. The disk couldn't be detected, whether using usb or sata cable. All data was lost hehe (i have backups)

i did a power cycling to ssd (meaning, disconnect ssd totally from system; leave it alone for few hours; then connect power cable only to the ssd, no sata cable, and boot up the pc. After that turn the pc off. This time, connect sata cable to it and boot pc into bios to check if it's detected properly) and in my case, the ssd was detected successfully in bios after power cycling. The ssd is fine, besides the part that all data was lost in the process. I still use it for storage and file transfers. No problem so far (crystaldiskinfo's smart status is still good. This is an old sandforce oem drive)
horns
post Aug 2 2016, 12:01 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(DjK @ Aug 1 2016, 11:36 PM)
well...its been handed over for RMA. now i'm thinking of changing my original MSI power cable...are after markets reliable?
Looking at bright side you have a new ssd coming to you, at least smile.gif

Power cables from msi? I usually just use power cables that come with psu. Not sure about the quality of after market power cables. (Famous ones like cablemod should be good)
horns
post Aug 3 2016, 01:06 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Jayi @ Aug 3 2016, 12:08 PM)
Alienware M14x R2.
ohmy.gif Did not aware that there is such half height type  hmm.gif
But I believe for my case its full size, as currently using samsung ssd pm830

Picture from Internet

right you can use full-sized msata ssd.

from your list, i think micron m550 and liteon 256m6m should be ok.

horns
post Aug 3 2016, 02:42 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Aug 3 2016, 01:44 PM)
Alright, M14x R2 do use full sized mSATA
The short term warranty is kinda risky though

SSD rarely fails but we have to remember the lemon's law

Jayi I know your budget is only RM300 but I advise you to add a few more bucks to get a full warranty 240GB/250GB/256GB mSATA instead
120GB/128GB is way too small for current use unless you don't play games at all

Kingston MS200 240GB is available for RM348 with 3 year manufacturing warranty
http://www.lelong.com.my/kingston-ssdnow-m...7-01-Sale-I.htm
It's true it's risky. Well, i will take the risk haha

horns
post Aug 3 2016, 09:13 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Jayi @ Aug 3 2016, 06:08 PM)
Are both of them proven to be reliable?

Yeap, I am aware of the warranty length offered. I would not mind to have just 128gb, it will mainly serve the purpose of being boot drive with general PC usage. Dont game that often anymore  sweat.gif
For no reason, Kingston SSD just don't sounds convincing to me rclxub.gif
Btw is Samsung 850 Evo justify for its high price? 5 years warranty with some fancy 3D V-NAND technology?
proof on reliability, no. however i believe they are ok (considering they use mlc nand; marvell controllers; 240gb range is sweet spot in speed and relatively better endurance; and these two brands are common in oem, it's hard to believe people will buy large quantity of their products if they don't have acceptable qualities to cope with manufacturers' standards)

note that the above is just my two cents. it's up to you to pick what you want.
horns
post Aug 4 2016, 01:58 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kurz @ Aug 4 2016, 12:40 AM)
hi guys..i just got a HP 840 G3..an upgrade after 4 years! so it also means my hardware tech knowledge also was 4 years old! laugh.gif

since my default laptop setup is just a Sata HDD, I thought of adding an M.2 SSD since it can support dual drive. I'm thinking of making the SSD hold my OS and Softwares and the HDD only for the files.

can recommend me any good SSD?
please tell me if you need any more details on my laptop

thanks!
as of now, good ones are samsung 850evo (sata) and 950pro (pcie)

horns
post Aug 5 2016, 06:59 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kurz @ Aug 4 2016, 04:25 PM)
after reading around i think 850evo m2 would be adequate.

thanks!
yes, it's not bad.
horns
post Aug 10 2016, 01:58 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(matni01 @ Aug 8 2016, 09:21 PM)
between HyperX Savage and Samsung 850 EVO,
which one should i grab?
price quite competitive
looking for 240GB SSD perform well in video rendering and gaming.
both are fine.
horns
post Aug 10 2016, 04:50 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

when most of us are convinced that a 120gb sata ssd is sufficient for everyday use..

Seagate's new 60TB SSD dwarfs the others on the market

https://www.engadget.com/2016/08/09/seagate-60tb-ssd/

it's a prototype for now; said to be released some time in 2017; using micron's 3d tlc nand; 3.5" sas ssd; connection type is dual sas 12Gbps; reads at 1.5GB/s, writes at 1GB/s,random iops 150kIOPS.

This post has been edited by horns: Aug 10 2016, 04:51 PM

37 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0678sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:29 PM