The SSD Thread V5, Solid State Drive

horns
post Jun 29 2016, 12:53 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Jun 28 2016, 11:21 AM)
Any advice where can I get M.2 screw as it doesn't come with Samsung 850 EVO M.2 SSD?
you should ask the shop that sells you the ssd for this. usually they have it if not they will tell you where to get it.

transcend mts800 also doesn't come with screw.

edit: from the net the size of m.2 screw is m2x3.0mm, or CM2X3-3.3.

http://www.moddiy.com/products/M2.0-x-3mm-...CFdgKgQodOKQAXA
https://world.taobao.com/item/14815622499.htm (200pcs for myr 1; there are cheaper packages)

This post has been edited by horns: Jun 29 2016, 01:16 AM
horns
post Jun 29 2016, 04:34 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Jun 29 2016, 01:50 PM)
CM2X3-3.3 will not help. This screw fits the M.2 slot but it wouldn't secure the SSD as the "ring" around the screw is too small to secure the SSD. THey help me to add a washer to solve everything.

thanks for pointing this out smile.gif

horns
post Jul 3 2016, 11:50 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jul 2 2016, 11:28 PM)
Just wanted to ask , where to get floppy bracket convert to 2.5 inch for ssd ? or 3.5 to 2.5 bracket for ssd ?
Does ssd screw hold different from 2.5 hard disk bracket ?
is it 3.5" bracket that can house a 2.5" ssd? you can use hdd screw to hold the ssd.
horns
post Jul 6 2016, 06:01 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(NeverX3 @ Jul 6 2016, 01:32 PM)
Hi guys, need some suggestion here.  sweat.gif

I'm thinking to get a 240GB SSD at lowyat, with a budget around 300. What drives are suggested at this price range?
i suggest you check out the price list of common shops that are available online, find and compare their offers then decide.

you should also scout garage sales section here. sometimes there are good deals over there.
horns
post Jul 6 2016, 07:47 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(NeverX3 @ Jul 6 2016, 06:17 PM)
I check out the price lists from hardwarezone.com.my but i got no idea which SSD is good to get.  hmm.gif

Currently eye-ing on Intel SSD 335 though.
I think you should take the suggestion of our friend above if you don't have any specific needs (ie. common use). From paper and reviews uv400 is ok as a low-cost tlc ssd.
horns
post Jul 9 2016, 07:14 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jul 9 2016, 10:42 AM)
haha nobody interested 2 join the 1TB SSD club here ya laugh.gif

i be jumping in the 1TB SSD pretty soon

when buy already going 2 post some pictures here

i bosan with 250GB already after 2 years and already looking ahead the 4x higher capacity drool.gif
i am using 1x samsung sm841 and 2x crucial m500 960gb (all with op 20%; yeah pretty old biggrin.gif) in my aw18 for a few years now. for large capacity ssds, i suggest getting mlc drives. it will last you for a really long time.

for now i am eyeing sm961 512gb / 1tb hehe

horns
post Jul 9 2016, 07:51 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jul 9 2016, 07:32 PM)
but samsung sm961 not selling in Malaysia right hmm.gif

you can either get it from outside, or just wait for some sellers to import it for you. yeah there are risks involved, to me it's worth it.
horns
post Jul 10 2016, 12:14 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jul 9 2016, 09:48 PM)
haha too expensive already cry.gif
er.. not really in terms of speed. it's like 6x sata ssd in raid0. well if you can use most of them, that is hehe

for common usage, sata ssd is fine smile.gif
horns
post Jul 10 2016, 12:54 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jul 10 2016, 02:10 AM)
ya true
yet I am noob in raid this kind of thing laugh.gif
well that's if you really need it. raid0 is not safe relatively in terms of long term data storage. i only use it for os drive (which i can recover easily), or scratch disk.

with pcie ahci/nvme ssd, you can reduce cables and free up sata ports and space for other purposes (e.g. additional storage; custom water cooling components). the system also boots relatively faster because there are less hardware connected to it. however, the real question is still whether or not it's worth to shave that few seconds of speed (in terms of common use) by paying more.

i tested samsung xp941 (128gb), and sm951 ahci (256gb, 512gb; didn't go for nvme version or 950pro because speed difference is not significant to me) for work they are much better (i create vms for testing very frequently); for home use, not really.

horns
post Jul 11 2016, 12:30 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jul 10 2016, 11:21 PM)
Hi all, just read article that can use a tools call crystal disk info to check your ssd & hdd health status, etc ...
so here mine, can I know what is total host writes (exist in ssd) , power on count and power on hours which exist on both ssd and hdd ?

for power on counts, is it I press my power button for 584 times (hdd) and 661 times (ssd)
as for power on hours, have been using 1281 hours on ssd, 1164 hours for hdd ?

Kindly refer the photo
*C = ssd, D = hdd

total host writes means how much data have been written to the disk, in general. for ssd, you can use it to estimate guaranteed shelf life of ssd. note that each hdd/ssd might have different formula to determine total host writes so the numbers can only be used to estimate stuff.

for the rest my guess is the same.

QUOTE(DellMalaysia @ Jul 10 2016, 11:38 PM)
I've been using m.2 950 pro 512GB as C drive and 850 evo 1TB as D drive for my laptop. My best advice for anybody whom wanted to do the same like me, just get the m.2 950 pro or m.2 850 evo for C drive then for D drive get a normal 2TB hdd or 1TB hdd or 1TB sshd or 2TB sshd. Nothing much different if you use D drive with SSD when your C drive already M.2 SSD. Rugi a little duit already but lesson learned.
for normal use/common work purposes, yes ssd + hdd is a much better and cheaper combo. it still depends on individual use case. for my work, hdd is slow if i wanna make stuff very quickly.
horns
post Jul 11 2016, 09:55 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(DellMalaysia @ Jul 11 2016, 12:33 AM)
M.2 (as C drive) + SSHD (as D drive) is the best combo so far for me.
personally not a fan of sshd. it's individual preference smile.gif

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jul 11 2016, 12:39 AM)
oh so by the time I take screenshot, it already write around 2TB on my ssd eh ?
but as for power count, how come 500+ times laugh.gif
I just get ssd for my laptop during last year Christmas, around 6 months and few more days only hmm.gif
well yeah. i think the total host writes in sdd depends on how you set the system up. with ssd optimizations, including use of ramdisk and ram cache, and the ways you populate os, apps and data in the system, you can reduce writes to ssd even further.

that's why after about 3 years plus, my samsung sm841 is still read at 2.44tb for total host writes.

actually you shouldn't worry about these numbers. with the ssd+hdd combo, where you use ssd for os/apps/games, and hdd for downloads, cache, and data storage, your ssd might outlive even your system.
horns
post Jul 11 2016, 01:21 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(nanpengyou @ Jul 11 2016, 11:19 AM)
Sorry to ask is Lenovo y580 supports m.2 hard disk?
Or only Msata ?
Thank you
from a quick search with search engine, y580 has a msata slot. there is no m.2 slot. your option is either sata (replacing hdd), or add msata ssd, or both.
horns
post Jul 12 2016, 02:08 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jul 11 2016, 03:21 PM)
oo, guess I worry too much
if ssd is spoiled then just get another one since by that time I think ssd price is even cheaper laugh.gif
yup smile.gif by that time you should be able to use nvme ssd or better hehe

QUOTE(kcirdenk @ Jul 11 2016, 08:43 PM)
Hi guys,

Need your help whether my motherboard only has 1 or 2 port for 6gbs and it is necessary to update the BIOS?

For the 2nd screenshot, it's show there's two port of 6gbs but the 1st screenshot only show 1.
[attachmentid=7063448][attachmentid=7063451]
sandy bridge should have 2x sata3 ports. you should look at sata ports instead of sata host controller. in your case it's likely that the current hardware (hdd, dvdrom?) limit the current sata speed (hardware that run at sata2 speed only), hence you saw
horns
post Jul 12 2016, 02:58 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kcirdenk @ Jul 12 2016, 09:25 AM)
my current hdd (boot) is using sata2 while the dvdrom convert to caddy is using sata3.

i only wanted to change the hdd (boot) to ssd while the caddy remain as it is.

is it possible to change the sata3 back to hdd (boot)?
the reason why i said you have sata2 hardware limiting max speed of existing sata3 ports was because in your first image, it showed that both current interface speed were at sata2. that means your hdd and dvdrom/caddy actually runs at sata2 speed.

yes you can replace the hdd with ssd, and i think the new ssd should run at sata3 speed.

i don't get the last question.

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Jul 12 2016, 10:45 AM)
How good is 'SP (Silicon Power)' branded SSDs?

I was quoted RM540 for 240Gb SP SATA III 2.5" SSD in Digital Mall!  blink.gif

I thought it was a mistake at that price... from Amazon reviews alone, failure rate is 40% after 2 months.

Lucky said no and decided not to go SSD route for new laptop.
the price offer is high. if you don't have specific needs, just go for value ssd with at least 240gb. (around myr 260+ only)
horns
post Jul 13 2016, 01:22 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kcirdenk @ Jul 12 2016, 03:28 PM)
tq for the info. appreciate it.
np smile.gif

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jul 12 2016, 04:21 PM)
I think by that time make a new rig + nvme ssd  is better drool.gif
yeah that would be nice haha tbh i like rigs more than laptops these days. it's much more fun to deal with smile.gif

horns
post Jul 13 2016, 02:06 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(adilz @ Jul 13 2016, 11:00 AM)
Horns, I noticed that you are using SM951 SSD. Is it significantly faster than normal SATAIII SSD? Say in terms of boot time, app loading (games for examples) and doing video/ photo editing?

Also notice there's 2 types for SM951, NVME and AHC in terms of description? Or is it actually the same.
Yes it's faster in general after you're in windows environment. Game loading maybe faster but I don't pay attention. For work i create vms frequently. It's definitely faster.

For boot time, it still depends on number of hardware installed, and system optimizations. My system boots w10 in 20secs. (Because i disable fastboot and some other stuff) I'm ok with It. It's more important for me to work faster after boot.

Yes there are 2 types of sm951.they are not the same. Nvme is supposed to be faster, but I don't really notice the differences. (You can refer to 950 pro) I use ahci version because it's fast enough for me.

For new purchase I suggest you take a look at sm961, or retail equivalent.

Good ssd purchase is still about budget. For most purposes, to me sata3 ssds are good and cheap enough.

horns
post Jul 13 2016, 08:09 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(adilz @ Jul 13 2016, 02:27 PM)
Thanks for the info bro. Been reading some reviews, but most showed synthetics benchmarks (like sq read up to 2,000 MB/s, write 1,000+ MB/s). Synthetics sometime don't show the performance would be like if in real use. I think for normal app like office etc, no difference with SSD. Gaming, also maybe depends on the individual file sizes (maybe more beneficial with those consisting of few huge files than those with many small files). Based on your usage for VMS (I assume loading entire OS from single iso file in virtual machine), the high write/ read speed really matters.

I think my PC should be able to work fine with PCI-e NVME SSD if I do decide to go for it.. Have i7-4930K which has 40 PCI-E lanes,  so GPU only takes up 16 lanes (32 if I ever go SLI/ CFX), still have 8-lanes to left. My current SSD and HDD goes through the mobo Asmedia and Marvell SATA controller. As for SM961, way off what I can afford to pay.
np bro yeah it depends on usage. for home use, i don't think we can make full use of iops and other benefits provided by a pcie nvme ssd.

as long as the mobo bios supports uefi boot (in general nvme ssd needs uefi), and you're using uefi-capable os, it should be good to go. alternatively choose something like 950 pro that has nvme supporting options rom built-in.

Edit: i have read about a guide on how to mod bios for this previously. If i found it again i will post it here.

This post has been edited by horns: Jul 13 2016, 08:25 PM
horns
post Jul 14 2016, 12:23 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(adilz @ Jul 13 2016, 08:58 PM)
Ahaaaa. Will try to find out some more info on my own before I decide to get one or not. My mobo has UEFI with PCI Storage device boot and NVME support. Thanks again.
ok np smile.gif

horns
post Jul 15 2016, 07:12 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(evangelion @ Jul 14 2016, 10:47 PM)
I'm torned between Intel 535 or Intel 540s, please state reason.
Thx Sifu.
there are better choices out there but if you must choose between the two, maybe 535 because it uses mlc and the sf-2281 controller is proven to work fine today (after all the previous hiccups).

QUOTE(cattscratch @ Jul 14 2016, 11:53 PM)
i7 6700k
Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16gb 3000Mhz
Samsung 950 Pro 512gb
Cooler Master V750 80+ Gold
Corsair Hydro H100i
Gigabyte GTX 1070
WD 3tb Blue
Corsair Carbide 400C
Acer XB271HU

My boot up on windows 10 pro 64bit takes 50 seconds...is that normal? Nvme controller installed.

All startup programs on task manager disabled.
i think the first thing to try is to update mobo bios.

maybe sHawTY can help you too.
horns
post Jul 16 2016, 01:46 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jul 15 2016, 03:14 PM)
such as?
check out garage sales, e.g. kingston hyperx fury; transcend ssd370 (240gb range; all below myr300)

37 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0828sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:51 AM