44 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Nintendo comes to Malaysia, Official Nintendo counter in Mid Valley

ying123
post Oct 16 2006, 03:16 PM

83 posts

Maxsoft IS an official distributor in Singapore. Just google Singapore and you'll see.
Didn't know about them being a distributor in SEA though.

AFAIK they are offering 3 months warranty in S'pore as well but I have no idea whether people there have to pay extra

This post has been edited by ying123: Oct 16 2006, 03:17 PM
thurtin
post Oct 16 2006, 04:37 PM

277 posts

The nintendo counters in Jusco Midvalley and One Utama are official and legit, and they are not set up by Jusco!

How Nintendo do its business in this region is the company appoint distributors/dealers to sell their wares (console and games). In the SEA region, the sole distributor is this company called Maxsoft and it is based in Singapore.

Maxsoft has set up an office in Malaysia but its not registered under the same name. It doesnt have a retail shop at this point in time, and Juscos around Malaysia will be used as a store front for now.

As for the warranty, the owner of Maxsoft personally told me that its "3 months 1-for-1 exhange". I did not clarify whether its just 3 months or otherwise, and I will though. Once I get the chance, I will definitely let u guys know.

But make no mistake, warranty is definitely provided and any hardware with technical/factory defects is eligible for a 1-for-1 exhange. I suspect some gamers got different answers because the sales staff that man the counters have not been briefed or trained properly yet.

As for yr feedbacks, I will pass them on the Maxsoft guy when I see him the next time.

firstknight
post Oct 16 2006, 05:33 PM

2,681 posts

Y just 3 months??? they dun have confidence in their own product?? hmmmm
reveur
post Oct 16 2006, 05:46 PM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

Its one on one exchange. not warranty.
Gilthoniel
post Oct 16 2006, 11:54 PM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

ANy idea if the Warioware Twisted is still available? it can fit into my DS Lite right?

thinking of getting it this thursday...
bidfordun
post Oct 17 2006, 03:28 AM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Oct 16 2006, 11:54 PM)
ANy idea if the Warioware Twisted is still available? it can fit into my DS Lite right?

of course, nds lite is compatible with any gba games.
cyclonekid
post Oct 17 2006, 08:18 AM

356 posts

I went there yesterday. Ask about the 3 months warranty. The warranty covers if a game cannot be played, screen is black and if the ds can't be activiated during the 3 months of purchase (I think it is a battery problem or something). I ask them about the wii, they said by next week they'll know weather they will get the wii in the stock. I quite enjoyed the kiosk since I lost my DS 6 month ago. Bring back good memories biggrin.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Oct 17 2006, 08:20 AM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

firstnight: I think thurtin did a good job of explaining the situation. Granted it's a new counter and I know how untrained employees can screw up PR worse than anything else. If anything I think it's ignorance and not that they aren't confident with their product.

Like reveur said, it's 1to1 exchange, which is different from warranty. We've just been "spoiled" with the Sg Wang version of warranty that we can't even tell when the real thing is in front of us.
firstknight
post Oct 17 2006, 09:05 AM

2,681 posts

haha.. i been to the booth yesterday... only one person is capable to answer all the question properly.. the rest BLUR unsure.gif The person is that indian lady which i am not able to talk to cos she was talking with one of the customer who is asking lots of questions but mor like chit chating... vmad.gif and they talk so long.. so i have to leave without getting info like you guys.. but all the guy said is that you get 1 2 1 excahnge... 3 months... well.. should be ok ler.. but how bout warranty.. dun you get it at all??? i found out the the distributor name.. is M.M. something Sdn Bhd....
kelvint83
post Oct 17 2006, 09:57 AM

120 posts

Well....then how about the cracked hinge thing? Does it cover inside the 1 to 1 exchange or the warranty? And how about the warranty for ds lite? Does it has one year warranty for ds lite?
thurtin
post Oct 17 2006, 12:32 PM

277 posts

Ok guys, here's the latest information i obtained from the horse's mouth.

1. Warranty is ONLY 3 months (I believe this is the same terms offered in Singapore). Any technical defects (hinge crack included) during this period will be eligible for a 1-to-1 exchange. Note that the warranty does NOT cover dead pixels. So, check before you buy.

2. Pre-orders are possible at the counters. Let the promoters know what you want and they will try their best to fulfill your request.

This post has been edited by thurtin: Oct 17 2006, 12:33 PM
Gilthoniel
post Oct 17 2006, 12:43 PM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

@thurtin,
so wii perorder is possible?
Mudmaniac
post Oct 17 2006, 12:49 PM

Creepy Uncle Liar
1,154 posts

do they accept preorders on japanese games i wonder.
Pr1me_Minister
post Oct 18 2006, 09:23 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Oct 16 2006, 11:54 PM)

Yes, There's still have 1 (or 2 if you count the display unit) more copy left. Be quick.

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Oct 17 2006, 08:20 AM)
firstnight: I think thurtin did a good job of explaining the situation. Granted it's a new counter and I know how untrained employees can screw up PR worse than anything else. If anything I think it's ignorance and not that they aren't confident with their product.

Like reveur said, it's 1to1 exchange, which is different from warranty. We've just been "spoiled" with the Sg Wang version of warranty that we can't even tell when the real thing is in front of us.
It's being fixed right now. It'll take a long time to understand the company policies as different (and weird) situation can occur. smile.gif

QUOTE(Mudmaniac @ Oct 17 2006, 12:49 PM)
do they accept preorders on japanese games i wonder.
Just tell the staff what game you want (and write your contact numbers) and they'll call you when they have it, but no promises. tongue.gif

More info:

Prices:
DS: RM599
DS Lite: RM699
Forgot the prices for GBAs, but the GBA SP and GBM have the same price.

Packages:
RM719 includes DS (not Lite), games (must be RM99 or lower) and Hori Screen Protector.
Add RM100 to change DS to DS Lite.
Add the price difference if you want higher priced games in the package instead of the RM 99 game.

Our beloved GameAxis editor Blake, err...I mean thurtin, have visited the counter in MV today.

A shipment of new games will arrive at the MV counter tommorow.

This post has been edited by Pr1me_Minister: Oct 18 2006, 09:32 PM
hamtarox
post Oct 18 2006, 11:25 PM

281 posts

wonder...if we buy original games ..can we collect points and redeem item on nintendo's club?hmm...
bidfordun
post Oct 19 2006, 12:15 AM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(hamtarox @ Oct 18 2006, 11:25 PM)
wonder...if we buy original games ..can we collect points and redeem item on nintendo's club?hmm...
of course, but the problem is the club is in usa, u may ask ur friend in usa to get it if u want.
exkay
post Oct 19 2006, 12:26 AM

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

just visited the booth today.. saw tonnes of nintendogs available.. i shall refrain my self from buying the DS as i'm waiting for Wii..... when are the wii coming out ?
SUScarnbyresurrected
post Oct 19 2006, 12:41 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(firstknight @ Oct 17 2006, 09:05 AM)
haha.. i been to the booth yesterday... only one person is capable to answer all the question properly.. the rest BLUR  unsure.gif The person is that indian lady which i am not able to talk to cos she was talking with one of the customer who is asking lots of questions but mor like chit chating...  vmad.gif  and they talk so long.. so i have to leave without getting info like you guys.. but all the guy said is that you get 1 2 1 excahnge... 3 months... well.. should be ok ler.. but how bout warranty.. dun you get it at all??? i found out the the distributor name.. is M.M. something Sdn Bhd....
Indian lady?..hmmmm...pretty ah?
hehehe..mwhahahaha...
bidfordun
post Oct 19 2006, 12:59 AM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(exkay @ Oct 19 2006, 12:27 AM)
just visited the booth today.. saw tonnes of nintendogs available.. i shall refrain my self from buying the DS as i'm waiting for Wii..... when are the wii coming out ?
usa november 17 i think. japan one december 3 i think.
firstknight
post Oct 19 2006, 08:41 AM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(carnbyresurrected @ Oct 19 2006, 12:41 AM)
Indian lady?..hmmmm...pretty ah?
hehehe..mwhahahaha...
eh you want to know.. go and visit the booth lor.. but i dunno wtr she is there on shifts or whole day.. hee..... whistling.gif

QUOTE(Pr1me_Minister)
It's being fixed right now. It'll take a long time to understand the company policies as different (and weird) situation can occur.

well i think they should be trained before they are employed.... its a service industry... you should know wat you are selling and not just emply any tom d*** and manny..... sweat.gif

44 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0280sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:18 PM