Nintendo comes to Malaysia, Official Nintendo counter in Mid Valley

ying123
post Oct 9 2006, 11:17 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(Mudmaniac @ Oct 9 2006, 10:41 AM)
What is this hang-up with the words "official" and "authorized" anyways? Has anyone asked if this company is somehow dealing directly with Nintendo of Japan or NOA? In my opinion, official means that Nintendo has suddenly decided to set up a branch in Malaysia. Kinda like how Microsoft's regional centre in Singapore deals with all the Xbox issues.

If you check in Hong Kong, the price of a Nintendo DS and its individual games are actually comparable to the price of imported games down in sungei wang. an official dealer selling them more expensive means a step backwards from there.

My advice? Visit them. It sounds like they actually stock more stuff than most shops in KL. Heck, if they have some old GC titles i want then i might just pop in there. Find out where the chain of warranty goes to. If it sound like a reliable dealership, and your luck with nintendo stuff has been lousy the past few years, then go for it. Just please don't swallow the medicine they are selling just because its "OFFICIAL"

If anyone wonders, I got Minish Cap for RM110 about 3 months after it was released.
We don't really need Nintendo to set a branch here to get official prices. In Singapore, it is Maxsoft the distributor that does the job in supplying stuffs including warranty and setting up official prices.

ying123
post Oct 9 2006, 12:13 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(FayeChan @ Oct 9 2006, 12:00 PM)
But its better to have some presence of 'Officiality' because Malaysia is so notorious for its 'barangan lanun'.
A distributor is official enough as long as it has been granted the rights by Nintendo. Nintendo provides price lists and stocks to its local distributors and it only allows one or two local distributors in most countries.

ying123
post Oct 9 2006, 07:01 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(Ruff Bark @ Oct 9 2006, 06:48 PM)
Which games? I've pics of the prices for most of them.
Do you have third party NDS game prices?
ying123
post Oct 9 2006, 08:08 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(Ruff Bark @ Oct 9 2006, 07:44 PM)
Electroplankton - RM179
Tony Hawk: American Sk8teland - RM149
Guilty Gear: Dust Strikers - RM149
Megaman ZX - RM149
Trauma Center: Under the Knife - RM149
Trace Memory - RM149
Spiderman 2 - RM99
The Incredibles - RM129(?)
Bust-a-Move DS - RM99
Meteos - RM159
Magnetica - RM159
Narnia - RM99
Viewtiful Joe - RM149
True Swing Golf - RM129
Madden NFL 07 - RM149
Dino Master - RM99
Shrek: Super Slam - RM129(?)
Greg Hastings' Tournament Paintball Max'd - RM129(?)
Mech Assault: Phantom War - RM149
Burnout: Legends - RM129
Rainbow Islands Revolution - RM149
Ultimate Spiderman - RM149
Marvel Nemesis: Rise of the Imperfects - RM129
Age of Empires: Age of Kings - RM129
Sea world: Shamu's Deep Sea Adventure - RM129(?)

The ones with (?) I can't really make out in the picture so I hazard a guess. A few other games I wasn't able to capture a good clear image of the prices. Hope this list helps. smile.gif
It helps a lot! Thanks thumbup.gif
ying123
post Oct 10 2006, 10:37 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- @ Oct 10 2006, 10:19 PM)
Went there today too.. The counter is quite small.. Games quite pricey too.. RM 140+ like that.... At least they have the latest game like Pokemon  for NDS smile.gif
I thought they don't have Japanese games?
ying123
post Oct 16 2006, 03:16 PM

83 posts

Maxsoft IS an official distributor in Singapore. Just google Singapore and you'll see.
Didn't know about them being a distributor in SEA though.

AFAIK they are offering 3 months warranty in S'pore as well but I have no idea whether people there have to pay extra

This post has been edited by ying123: Oct 16 2006, 03:17 PM
ying123
post Oct 20 2006, 09:57 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(Pr1me_Minister @ Oct 20 2006, 09:50 PM)
New shipments of games arrived in MV counter:

DS

Nintendogs: Dalmation and Friends
Mario Kart DS
Mario Hoops
Harvest Moon DS
Clubhouse Games
Little Mermaid
FIFA 07

GBA

Warioware Twisted (3 copies only)
Pokemon FireRed
Pokemon LeafGreen
Mario Kart: Super Circut
Zelda: A Link to The Past
Super Mario Advance 2: Super Mario World
Little Mermaid

Grab it before it gone!! rclxm9.gif
Wow, Clubhouse Games is pretty new, isn't it?
Hope they'll have Contact included in next shipment whistling.gif

Anyone knows how much is GBA pokemon?
ying123
post Oct 23 2006, 08:41 PM

83 posts

Do they hire part timer? tongue.gif
ying123
post Oct 27 2006, 12:33 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Oct 27 2006, 12:31 AM)
what is jay card? and also how much is the salary, prime?
Jay Chow Jusco card
ying123
post Oct 27 2006, 01:38 PM

83 posts

Later what if they offer a RM12 discount only for each puchase tongue.gif
Same as J-card annual fee
ying123
post Oct 28 2006, 05:56 PM

83 posts

Just came back from MV.
Yes there is still a copy of clubhouse.
Wanted to buy FR but have to save $ for Contact sad.gif
ying123
post Oct 28 2006, 05:59 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Oct 28 2006, 05:58 PM)
what is fr?
Pokemon Fire Red
Charmander RULEZ wub.gif
ying123
post Oct 28 2006, 06:04 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Oct 28 2006, 06:01 PM)
oh, later want to transfer the pokemon to latest pokemon series? dun want to buy japanese pokemon diamond or pokemon pearl meh?
Nope, going to wait for english ver.
I hate Katakana, because I'll spend a lot of time figuring how to pronounce the names in English, unintentionly.

ying123
post Oct 28 2006, 06:26 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(ashchia @ Oct 28 2006, 06:16 PM)
haha, i am the same as you, ying123. when i play any japanese game, i will spend lots of time figuring how to pronounce them in english  tongue.gif
I hate that, but I fail to control myself icon_question.gif
Shouldn't have spent time learning all this characters sad.gif
ying123
post Nov 10 2006, 03:23 PM

83 posts

PM, got Contact or not?
ying123
post Nov 10 2006, 03:35 PM

83 posts

bidfordun: I need a rpg to entertain me until svc reach my place mah. Not FF3 though, coz i think it'll be easier to get a 2nd hand copy

Ashe: You must be a very good negatiator or a regular customer I guess. Most try to sell me at 140-150(I smell sex discrimination here, hmm...) so I rather buy from official counter
ying123
post Nov 10 2006, 03:41 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Nov 10 2006, 03:37 PM)
haha, svc! my friend preordered it edy, u must be elated! ya, i feel the same too about ff3, so i am not too rush to get a new copy. better wait for a used copy. tongue.gif
svc~~svc~~ wub.gif
Actually even if I preorder FF3 I won't be able to play it until december. It comes out on my first exam day so my parents will definitely hide the parcel.

Lucky my mother didn't not look closely to the game cover where Djinn sticked a paper with the price of the game when EBA arrives to my house, or else my life would have worth only RM140
ying123
post Nov 10 2006, 11:06 PM

83 posts

Awww.
Guess I have to wait until december before going down to sg wang to get Contact... But then svc will cost me around 190-200...囧rz

It's great to see the counter bringing in Japanese game though, even if there's only 1 or 2. Maybe they should also consider bringing in Ouendan despite the game is pretty old by now.
ying123
post Nov 10 2006, 11:11 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Nov 10 2006, 11:08 PM)
haha, i asked my friend edy. rm190 nia. u can afford la.
In case mah, don't know the weight of the preorder gift which is a book

I can only afford a game per month... Except budget game coz I'll have rm40 left for meals...
ying123
post Nov 10 2006, 11:29 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Nov 10 2006, 11:27 PM)
what, rm40 can survive in kl meh?
snk versus capcom trading card.
Mostly lunch la, december got 2 weeks break mah. At most I can cut off my lepak, movie, dining expense lo. No choice, my life belongs to gaming.

0.0162sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:07 AM