488 Pages « < 255 256 257 258 259 > » Bottom

The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v5, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM89

tyenfei
post Apr 15 2020, 02:32 PM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(miss comet @ Apr 15 2020, 11:39 AM)
Anyone interested to upgrade "free" 100Mbps, hehe...

hmm... so far ok with 30Mbps.
another issue is .. my place still using copper line. think maximum support around 50Mbps only.

So ... no need ATM tongue.gif
miss comet
post Apr 15 2020, 02:40 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Apr 15 2020, 02:32 PM)
another issue is .. my place still using copper line. think maximum support around 50Mbps only.

Good. You are saved from the scam 😁
Tokik Siwok
post Apr 15 2020, 04:31 PM

312 posts

may i know how is this a scam since it will not refresh contract and can downgrade?

im planning to downgrade back to 30mbps after 1 month free 100mbps.

This post has been edited by Tokik Siwok: Apr 15 2020, 04:32 PM
numbertwo
post Apr 15 2020, 04:43 PM

1,787 posts

a company this big wouldn't do any 'scam' per se.. we only need to read the T&C thoroughly...
yongtjunkit
post Apr 15 2020, 04:49 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(miss comet @ Apr 15 2020, 11:39 AM)
Anyone interested to upgrade "free" 100Mbps, hehe...

for the 1st month only... if 100mbps for rm89 the ofc yes...

interesting... upgrade and downgrade don't need contract(unless need to change router)

joshHD, for Astro IPTV/astro&broadband, any upgrade(to the speed) will require a contract right also what about switching from Astro internet plan to maxis plans?
thamch
post Apr 15 2020, 05:11 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Apr 15 2020, 04:49 PM)

interesting... upgrade and downgrade don't need contract(unless need to change router)

joshHD, for Astro IPTV/astro&broadband, any upgrade(to the speed) will require a contract right also what about switching from Astro internet plan to maxis plans?
I've the conversation captured and sent to my email. So if any there any issues with the downgrade, I'll bring up the the chat history.
sitescope
post Apr 15 2020, 06:35 PM

4,493 posts

QUOTE(thamch @ Apr 15 2020, 05:11 PM)
I've the conversation captured and sent to my email.  So if any there any issues with the downgrade, I'll bring up the the chat history.
Should ss the conversation here
thamch
post Apr 15 2020, 07:02 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Apr 15 2020, 06:35 PM)
Should ss the conversation here
THAMCH 12:43 PM
Next question: I received an email for Home Fibre upgrade from 30Mbps to 100Mbps

THAMCH 12:44 PM
Since I'm still under contract, may I know after the upgrade, can I downgrade it back to 30Mbps let say after 1 month?
Maxis 12:44 PM
yes you may

THAMCH 12:44 PM
Will I get an penalty?
Maxis 12:45 PM
you won't

THAMCH 12:45 PM
Will my contract get reset to 24 months if I upgrade to 100Mbps?
and your contract will be renew only if you have to change routr
*router

THAMCH 12:45 PM
Will my contact get reset back to 24 months if I downgrade back to 30Mbps?
if there is no router change need to be done, your contract will remians
*remains

THAMCH 12:46 PM
Ok, thank you so much.
joshhd
post Apr 15 2020, 09:40 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Apr 15 2020, 04:49 PM)

Astro Broadband/Astro IPTV and Maxis Fibre works separately in terms of its billing system and stuff, so as you switch in between the two services, contract of 24 months will definitely restarted.
Usually if you switch from Maxis Fibre to Astro Broadband while you still have remaining 24 months contract on your Maxis Fibre, Maxis will just your penalty and let you switch to Astro Broadband with a new 24 months contract.
But if you want to switch from Astro Broadband/Astro IPTV to Maxis Fibre while still have remaining contract, can also, pay prorated penalty only mah. biggrin.gif
Then once you're on Maxis Fibre again, 24 months contract will restart on them.
silrave
post Apr 16 2020, 12:11 AM

5,893 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Apr 15 2020, 11:30 AM)
Won't make a big difference for international files. They're capped by all our local isps because of resource constraints/limitations.
haha
u sure ?
but when i try steam download games
the different come already
when torrent and direct download also come with different
except i not heavy usage

QUOTE(Quanta @ Apr 15 2020, 01:04 PM)
RM89 for first two months then tie u down for 24 months, rm129. Maxis is super kiam siap
TM also 2 years contract
yongtjunkit
post Apr 16 2020, 08:02 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 15 2020, 09:40 PM)
Astro Broadband/Astro IPTV and Maxis Fibre works separately in terms of its billing system and stuff, so as you switch in between the two services, contract of 24 months will definitely restarted.
Usually if you switch from Maxis Fibre to Astro Broadband while you still have remaining 24 months contract on your Maxis Fibre, Maxis will just your penalty and let you switch to Astro Broadband with a new 24 months contract.
But if you want to switch from Astro Broadband/Astro IPTV to Maxis Fibre while still have remaining contract, can also, pay prorated penalty only mah.  biggrin.gif
Then once you're on Maxis Fibre again, 24 months contract will restart on them.
What about upgrading plan in astro IPTV/Astro & broadband?

any upgrade in Astro will restart your contract?
year2020
post Apr 16 2020, 08:08 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Apr 15 2020, 02:32 PM)

Quite similar to my situation. Staying in apartment. Only first few floor can support 100MBPS. The rest only 30MBPS. So far so good with this speed. Will welcome cheaper price though. Haha.
joshhd
post Apr 16 2020, 08:54 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Apr 16 2020, 08:02 AM)

If upgrade, I think won't restart contract.
Maxis also same.

If downgrade speed on Maxis Fibre, contract period won't be affected. But...
If downgrade speed on Astro Broadband, if still got remaining contract, prorated penalty.

So up to you lo, is it worth it to enjoy some tens of ringgit savings per month, in exchange for such contract terms and also uncertainty of after sales support.
yongtjunkit
post Apr 16 2020, 09:01 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 16 2020, 08:54 AM)
Maxis also same.

If downgrade speed on Astro Broadband, if still got remaining contract, prorated penalty.

So up to you lo, is it worth it to enjoy some tens of ringgit savings per month, in exchange for such contract terms and also uncertainty of after sales support.
😅, it seems like "here at Astro, we would like to welcome you with great deals, great saving with some well-hidden devil.gif "

Looks like I'm going to stick to Astro IPTV 30 Mbps for now then(no way to move up or down already).... Any move will incur 24 months contract, to switch from astro I guess just call Astro to transfer to maxis?

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Apr 16 2020, 09:05 AM
joshhd
post Apr 16 2020, 12:50 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Apr 16 2020, 09:01 AM)
😅, it seems like "here at Astro, we would like to welcome you with great deals, great saving with some well-hidden  devil.gif "

Looks like I'm going to stick to Astro IPTV 30 Mbps for now then(no way to move up or down already).... Any move will incur 24 months contract, to switch from astro I guess just call Astro to transfer to maxis?

Yeah I think so.
It's more like you want to separate your account, make it as standalone Astro and Maxis Fibre accounts.
If you do, contract of 24 months will restart on both services.
SUSCandy12
post Apr 16 2020, 01:00 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Apr 16 2020, 12:11 AM)
haha
u sure ?
but when i try steam download games
the different come already
when torrent and direct download also come with different
except i not heavy usage
Can your 800M Unifi line sustain anywhere close to 800M consistently with direct downloads from servers located in other regions such Europe/USA? You'll be lucky if it can even reach anywhere near 300M.

For your case in your household with less than 4 people, 800M is a waste from experience. Even my Singaporean friends who subscribed anything more than 1Gbps found that their lines were a pure waste because they paid more for nothing.

Unless you're talking about using it for some large office or organization with over 50 people who wants to go online simultaneously requiring a huge load of simultaneous connections, you won't need this much bandwidth. Also to take advantage of it requires enterprise grade routers that can handle that much amount of traffic.

Do you get satisfaction for what you pay for? Like buying a Ferrari which claims to have a top speed of 260MpH when you know our local highway speed limit is only 110km/h?
You spend 10X less buying a Honda Civic Type R which can easily speed around 160km/h. At the end who is more satisfied with his purchase?

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Apr 16 2020, 08:02 AM)

This Maxis Home Fibre offer is STRICTLY offered to selected Maxis subscribers only.
Does not APPLY to Astro Broadband and Hotlink Flex Plus Fibre or has any co-relation with them even though they share the same wholesale ISP as Maxis Broadband.

They DO NOT follow/share Maxis's Home Fibre contract terms in any way.

QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 16 2020, 08:54 AM)
Maxis also same.

@joshhd, there's a concern though. Even if opt out or downgrade from the 100M/300M plan after say 1 month when the MCO ends, you'll need to pay the FULL RM129/149 rate for that particular month itself before reverting back to the 30M plan's RM89 which will readjust back the following month thereafter.

Meaning say you decide to DOWNGRADE back to RM89 30M plan in May 2020, the rebates will be forfeited and you need to pay RM129+6% (additional RM40) for that month before the rate reverts back to RM89 in June 2020.
iz1011
post Apr 16 2020, 05:09 PM

515 posts

Hi guys,

Just wanted to know what router does Maxis provide to their customer?
yongtjunkit
post Apr 16 2020, 07:05 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(iz1011 @ Apr 16 2020, 05:09 PM)
Hi guys,

Just wanted to know what router does Maxis provide to their customer?
Tp link Archer C5V with maxis custom firmware on it
coo|dude
post Apr 16 2020, 10:43 PM

Cool By The Pool!
1,064 posts

Looking for a kind Astro subscriber that is willing to redeem a reward from Astro Rewards for me. Please let me know if you exist, and I'll PM you. Thank you so much! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by coo|dude: Apr 16 2020, 10:43 PM
ArmedandDangerous
post Apr 17 2020, 12:22 PM

Less QQ, more Pew Pew
933 posts

Anyone got their 100Mbps line upgrade yet? They mentioned within 3 days, and today is the 3rd day from when they sent the email to me. So it should be today or tomorrow if they don't count day 0, but tomorrow Saturday... Dono will activate or not.

488 Pages « < 255 256 257 258 259 > » Top

0.0163sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:37 PM