Chubby Hamsters V3, New 3rd thread!
Syrian
Dec 17 2006, 11:32 PM
QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Dec 17 2006, 09:21 PM) Ur two syrians are of the same colour?? That day i bought two too - this cream syrian and another colour. Someone in this forum said cannot put two syrians together - so, i'm keeping this cream male and I'm giving the female syrian to a friend  . For the moment, I cannot keep them in separate tanks because I got no time to clean up so many tanks. Maybe in the future when I have the time, I'll get another syrian. I kept seeing people saying that they feed their hamsters with mealworms wor and it's suppose to make them look chubby. So, I wanna try on that  . But I think I'll need to get a forcep because I have worms phobia
kembara
Dec 18 2006, 12:30 AM
QUOTE(Syrian @ Dec 16 2006, 10:04 PM) my syrian  I can't get a good shot of him coz he kept moving  i saw these cute creature at petaling street this evening.... bigger and more fluffy...but the price ...rm60 la the shopkeeper said..  do not no 60 for a hamster or all three of them.. btw the ww sifu crazymouse give to me suddenly give birth hehehe ended our question if she (the ww) is pregnent or not bcoz so fat.. but she is very good..with pups also tame with me...still can hold her la.heheh
Syrian
Dec 18 2006, 09:12 AM
wah .. RM 60  . My syrian is still a baby .. hehee  . Don't hold the mama so much le r.. Later she stress then cannibalise her pups. I heard hamsters often cannibalise their pups when in bad mood . By the way, can i use Woody Pets for bedding?? I read that a lot said woody pets is good as absorbent of smell wor This post has been edited by Syrian: Dec 18 2006, 09:18 AM
kembara
Dec 18 2006, 10:51 AM
QUOTE(Syrian @ Dec 18 2006, 10:12 AM) wah .. RM 60  . My syrian is still a baby .. hehee  . Don't hold the mama so much le r.. Later she stress then cannibalise her pups. I heard hamsters often cannibalise their pups when in bad mood . yes rm60 la she said... hehehe only try hold once la..bcoz my rc previously tame but after give birth became wild and agressive.. but this winter white very very good la..this morning i look at her pups..look healthy..tummy also white..means they mom suckilng them..hope they will be ok until adult la heheh  btw crazymouse said this ww already experience la..so thats why very good hehe yasterday bought delikate snow bath sand for hammies and gerbs.. the dwarf troops enjoy bathing in that sand rolling rolling rolling on it...also pooing hehehe put syrian just dig and dig and dig..hehehe not rollong la..maybe syrian to big oo.. This post has been edited by kembara: Dec 18 2006, 11:17 AM
Syrian
Dec 18 2006, 09:45 PM
i was thinking of buying that chinchilla sand dust .. luckily havent buy yet
kembara
Dec 18 2006, 10:00 PM
buy la.. i think ur syrian is bulat so they can rolled la..mine is not bulat...thats why dont roll
Syrian
Dec 18 2006, 10:16 PM
huh ?? wht do u mean by bulat or not bulat ? my syrian's shape is also long long one when he stretches out  . Only when he curls up to sleep, then he is bulat bulat in shape LOL
kembara
Dec 18 2006, 10:34 PM
HEHEHE like that aaa same aa but ur syrian look so bulat la btw i think syrian not active fella la...so sand bathing also not roling rolling la..heheh mine only play with wheel..but sometimes notty climb here and there in the tank.. most of the time he will sleep.. but try la buy...who know your syrian roll roll in the sand.. i buy bcoz not only have syrian..also some rc and ww..all the dwarf enjoy berguling guling hehehee  the gerbil also like the bath sand.. btw the sand is effective la...my rodents look cleaner than before la after bath.. This post has been edited by kembara: Dec 18 2006, 10:36 PM
kembara
Dec 18 2006, 10:56 PM
QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Dec 18 2006, 11:53 PM) when i put my syrian into the sand, he just dig and dig and dig..no rolling la.. hehehe i also scary to handle mealworm with hand..so i use plastic fork la.. but compared with the dwarf, syrian dont each much mealworm la..lazy to catch hahaha..
Syrian
Dec 18 2006, 11:10 PM
wahlau kembara .. u use plastic fork ar ??? Meaning u stab stab the worm before giving it to ur syrian lar  . I was planning to use either chopstick or get a forcep or those "scissor" girls use to pluck eyebrow  . I also don't dare to touch wormmmmsssss ...  . But where can I get mealworms?
Yaozz
Dec 18 2006, 11:16 PM
Wanna ask how to see whether my hamster is pregnant or not?Wat should I do if pregnant?
Syrian
Dec 18 2006, 11:24 PM
i oso don't noe wud sign. I only noe if it's syrian, then must separate daddy and mommy coz the mommy will canibalise the pups. If it's WW or Robo .. don't haf to separate the daddy and mommy. Not too sure either if my information is accurate .
TScrazymouse_yyh
Dec 18 2006, 11:58 PM
www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
All types of hamsters you gotta seperate.... why? Coz the male will automatically mate back with the female after birth and 20 days later give birth another litter.... I mean, for the sake of the hamster's health, you do not want to over breed and stress the female's life rite? Is like someone making you pregnant every 9 months without rest.... sure headache loh hahahah....
Anyway, Kembara, Congrats with the litter! I'm quite happy to hear that... anyway, I also no place for her new litter so kinda good timing lah... but make sure kalau you wanna give people or sell, do tell me about it. Also, how many babies are there?
The WW I gave Kembara is a good mom... she won't cannibalize unless the pup is sick or dying... anyway, quite safe to handle her as she got very good temprement lah. This would be passed on to her kids.... well, I can see that with the older litter I am having now heheheh....
Pregnancies.... you can tell if the hamster looks fat lah... from side view you can easily spot a buldge but then it would normally show around the 2nd week of pregnancy.... the female will just go larger and larger... shape a bit like pear.... sleep and eat more and one day will "pop" her pups after 20 days of pregnancy... also, if unsure bout the hamster's temperment.... never EVER touch the pups or the mom. Very VERY dangerous loh.... especially Syrians... other hamsters also must jaga jaga unless the female is very very tame and human friendly lah. It is still best never touch the pups until they open their eyes....
Reanne
Dec 19 2006, 12:08 AM
Elite is only a tag. So don't PM me to delete ur post.
Syrians dont really roll in the sand baths much. No point using or buying the sand bath for them.
the_catacombs
Dec 19 2006, 04:00 AM
QUOTE(Reanne @ Dec 19 2006, 12:08 AM) Syrians dont really roll in the sand baths much. No point using or buying the sand bath for them. yeap, syrians dont roll in sand baths... they only dig n dig n dig... thats why i changed mine to cat litter... 5kg for rm15.... much much cheaper compare to sand bath.... it isnt smelly and can use as potty.... my hamster pee on it only... haha.... syrians dont roll around arr... but they groom themselves quite often....
joanalooidog
Dec 19 2006, 09:44 AM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Dec 18 2006, 11:58 PM) All types of hamsters you gotta seperate.... why? Coz the male will automatically mate back with the female after birth and 20 days later give birth another litter.... I mean, for the sake of the hamster's health, you do not want to over breed and stress the female's life rite? Is like someone making you pregnant every 9 months without rest.... sure headache loh hahahah.... Anyway, Kembara, Congrats with the litter! I'm quite happy to hear that... anyway, I also no place for her new litter so kinda good timing lah... but make sure kalau you wanna give people or sell, do tell me about it. Also, how many babies are there? The WW I gave Kembara is a good mom... she won't cannibalize unless the pup is sick or dying... anyway, quite safe to handle her as she got very good temprement lah. This would be passed on to her kids.... well, I can see that with the older litter I am having now heheheh.... Pregnancies.... you can tell if the hamster looks fat lah... from side view you can easily spot a buldge but then it would normally show around the 2nd week of pregnancy.... the female will just go larger and larger... shape a bit like pear.... sleep and eat more and one day will "pop" her pups after 20 days of pregnancy... also, if unsure bout the hamster's temperment.... never EVER touch the pups or the mom. Very VERY dangerous loh.... especially Syrians... other hamsters also must jaga jaga unless the female is very very tame and human friendly lah. It is still best never touch the pups until they open their eyes.... After knowing the female is pregnant, need to separate? not like gerbils?coz gerbils male will help look after the babies rite? Correct me if I'm wrong, WW male will help the female to look after babies rite? so do need to be separated. But will it mate with the female again before the babies are weaned? Meaning just after the babies are mature, the female need to be ready for another litter again? dangerous leh.....
Syrian
Dec 19 2006, 09:59 AM
QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Dec 19 2006, 04:00 AM) yeap, syrians dont roll in sand baths... they only dig n dig n dig... thats why i changed mine to cat litter... 5kg for rm15.... much much cheaper compare to sand bath.... it isnt smelly and can use as potty.... my hamster pee on it only... haha.... syrians dont roll around arr... but they groom themselves quite often....  Can use cats littering for small animals mer ???